Travel Travel To Japan V9.5, Konnichiwaaa

lucaswjk
post Jan 30 2017, 12:13 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(fondo @ Jan 30 2017, 11:41 AM)
How's the weather now in hokkaido and the next 2 weeks?

I'm going on the 8th but heard it's quite bad now the weather, i wanna have a wonderful honeymoon.
1. u can get next 2week weather forecast from yahoo weather, accuweather, etc etc

2. japan hv many live video feed 24x7, u can get realtime information there...
last time i found one for lake kawaguchico
u jus need to google hard enuf

oh, bad weather is actually GOOD for honeymoon
u know wat i mean rite πŸ˜‰
Immunityx7
post Jan 30 2017, 12:19 PM

111 posts

ayam bought the tickets to tokyo@feb planning to celebrate valentine day & my girlfriend's bday but we just broke up d sad.gif

anyone staying in japan willing to teman me or be my little tour guide ?
arafat
post Jan 30 2017, 01:54 PM

ROCK ON!
1,747 posts

I plan to buy the 2 days hakone free pass
I will go to hakone by romance car and over night at kawaguchiko.
Is the freepass include return ticket by bus?

Grimtooth
post Jan 30 2017, 02:23 PM

45 posts

Hey guys.

Will be spending 21 days total in Japan on April with 10 nights in Tokyo, 5 in Kyoto and 5 in Osaka in that order.

First of all, all my activities there are just tentative, aka free roam most of the times. I'm prepared to use Suica/Pasmo card for bus fair and misc spending.
I like leisure travelling where i just take my own time walking around the place/people(only apply to scenery places, coffee shops and not malls).

Tokyo(10 nights): Within Tokyo, probably use bus(Pasmo) to go around the city. Plenty of things and places to discover, but among them are Ikebokuro, Akihabara, Shinjuku area, Shibuya, Odaiba, and others. (not sure need to get train pass for these or not.. seems far.. sweat.gif )
Kyoto(5 nights): Arashiyama, Saganao, surrounding castles and temples (I think I listed 4 down). Originally wanted to drop by Kurama Onsen but the rail pass does not seem to include that. So I will need to find another onsen to enjoy. Hopefully a ryokan with wagyuu beef. Suggestions? brows.gif
Osaka: Nara was top of the list here since it seems nearer from here rather than Kyoto. Probably rent a bike to go around the park. Then comes the parks and shrines, Bunraku theater and Dotonburi. Will consider Koyasan when I'm there.

Tokyo Wide Pass only covers 3 days and Kansai Wide Pass 5 days. I highly doubt that 21 days JR Pass is worth the money since I will probably not use trains all the time(correct me if I'm wrong).
However I will need to get a ticket for Shinkansen from Tokyo to Kyoto. Also from Kyoto to Osaka. Should i get multiple 1-day Tokyo pass? I think I saw somewhere Shinkansen ticket is like 13900 yen or so.

Also got since Tokyo is not in the same region as Kyoto/Osaka cant get the regional pass rclxub.gif

OH! Got any suggestion on where else to go? During my stay there I might make an/multiple overnight trip somewhere. Maybe Nigata*cough*sakemuseum*cough or Nagano. Okunoshima seems to far to see rabbits. Might plan another trip next year for northern Japan to visit Miyagi, Yamagata, Iwate etc.
KillaWhale
post Jan 31 2017, 12:35 AM

13 posts

Here is my japan itinerary for osaka & japan!
Please advice me if anywhere is too rush or not worth going.
I'm not rushing to go every area, just dont want to not know where to go when I have free time.
Please please please advice, sifuu!

*Transportation is still a mess to me as most google map gave is in chinese or japanese for the bus.
Have to reach there to decide & ask around.

WEDNESDAY, 01 FEB 2017
8.00am flight from KLIA arrive KIX around 3.00pm
Buy ICOCA-Haruka to Kyoto Station est. time 1hr 15mins
Check-In AirBnb Kyoto ANEOMIYACHO NISHIGAWA
Night go to Pontocho Valley (small kyoto street) – 3.1km distance from airbnb

THURSDAY, 02 FEB 2017
Morning visit - Kiyomizeudera Temple
Walk to Ninen-zaka & Sannen-zaka district
Walk to Kodai Ji
Next go to Nishiki Market
After head to Fushimi Inari Shrine

FRIDAY, 03 FEB 2017
Morning visit Kinkaku-ji (golden temple)
Next to Arashiyama District:
Tenryu-ji Temple
Bamboo Forest
Okochi-Sanso Villa
Monkey Park
Next head est. 1hr by train to Karasuma Dori/Shijo Dori(downtown)

SATURDAY, 04 FEB 2017
Biwako Valley 12pm-5pm (skiing)
From ANEOMIYACHO NISHIGAWA bus > Kyoto Station (Tokaido Shikansen line) > Shiga Station > Bus Service
Night visit to Gion Market if possible

SUNDAY, 05 FEB 2017
Breakfast @ Kyoto Station
Check-in Hotel Osaka [Nipponbashi]
Head to Shinsaibashi (largest shopping)
Dotonbori + Tazaemon-bashi Bridge

MONDAY, 06 FEB 2017
Morning Osaka Castle
Head to Kuromon Market
After Sumiyoshi Taisha (temple)
Tsutenkaku (replica of the Effiel Tower)

TUESDAY, 07 FEB 2017
Shopping at Yodobashi Camera Multimedia Umeda
Abeno Harukas – obersvation + entirre osaka city
Osaka Aquarium Kaiyukan – rm90
Next to Tempozan Ferris Wheel
Tenjimbashi-suji Shopping Street (longest shopping street)

WEDNESDAY, 08 FEB 2017
Rinkyu Premium Outlet
Kansai Airport back to Malaysia

michlove
post Jan 31 2017, 09:56 AM

233 posts

help.....anybody stayed in Yunishigawa Onsen before? Need accommodation recommendation tongue.gif

QUOTE(Immunityx7 @ Jan 30 2017, 12:19 PM)
ayam bought the tickets to tokyo@feb planning to celebrate valentine day & my girlfriend's bday but we just broke up d sad.gif

That sounds so sad.....I'll be in Tokyo for Valentine's day

This post has been edited by michlove: Jan 31 2017, 09:59 AM
_ChAoS_
post Jan 31 2017, 10:11 AM

29 posts

QUOTE(Immunityx7 @ Jan 30 2017, 12:19 PM)

ouch ouch ouch.... shocking.gif

well.. on the bright side, you can spend all the money allocated on yourself now! Treat yourself well and go eat those super expensive kaiseki, kobe and matsusaka beef!! drool.gif
Immunityx7
post Jan 31 2017, 04:49 PM

111 posts

We celebrate last year Valentine's Day and her bday in japan too sad.gif it's going to be so heartache to see those couple on the street this time
SUShuaweie5830
post Jan 31 2017, 04:58 PM

967 posts

QUOTE(Immunityx7 @ Jan 31 2017, 04:49 PM)
We celebrate last year Valentine's Day and her bday in japan too sad.gif it's going to be so heartache to see those couple on the street this time
come change the tix name to me

I go with u

Sayang
SUShuaweie5830
post Jan 31 2017, 11:15 PM

967 posts

book 2 nights at daiichi takimotokan

Hopefully my parents will enjoy the onsen

Lel

michlove
post Feb 1 2017, 08:51 AM

233 posts

8days countdown...woohoo! snow snow....I'm coming!
_ChAoS_
post Feb 1 2017, 11:26 AM

29 posts

QUOTE(Immunityx7 @ Jan 31 2017, 04:49 PM)
Wow, i can totally relate to that cry.gif

avoid places where couples usually hang out and again.. treat yourself really well over there.... you have double the budget for yourself now... biggrin.gif
Belphegor
post Feb 1 2017, 10:49 PM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(michlove @ Feb 1 2017, 08:51 AM)
8days countdown...woohoo! snow snow....I'm coming!
Hi, how long you gonna be spending there? Are you going Tokyo? hmm.gif

Hi guys, my trip is mid of this month, and I sure hope to get some help from sifu here as I have already did my itinerary.

Day 1 (Arrive at 7.30am)
Shibuya
Takeshita Street
Harajuku
Meiji Jinggu

Day 2
Tsukiji Market
Namiyoke Inari Shrine / Tsukiji Honganji (either one)
Akibahara
Ameya Yokocho Street
Ueno Park
Senso Ji
Tokyo Skytree

Day 3
Odaiba
Rainbow Bridge
Oedo-Onsen Monogatari
Daiba Park
Odaiba Statue of Liberty
Gundam
Venus Fort

Day 4
DisneySea

Day 5
Lake Kawaguchi
Shinjuku
Kabuchiko

Day 6
Kamakura
Enoshima
Great Buddha of Kamakura
Hokoku-ji Temple
Bamboo Farm
Hase-dera Temple

Is there any places that I left out? Any suggestions? Arrangement? Please let me know. Thanks! smile.gif
inachi
post Feb 2 2017, 12:38 AM

i don troll
1,097 posts

QUOTE(Belphegor @ Feb 1 2017, 10:49 PM)

Hi guys, my trip is mid of this month, and I sure hope to get some help from sifu here as I have already did my itinerary.

Day 1 (Arrive at 7.30am)
Shibuya
Takeshita Street
Harajuku
Meiji Jinggu

Day 2
Tsukiji Market
Akibahara
Ameya Yokocho Street
Ueno Park
Senso Ji
Tokyo Skytree

Day 3
Odaiba
Rainbow Bridge
Oedo-Onsen Monogatari
Daiba Park
Odaiba Statue of Liberty
Gundam
Venus Fort

Day 4
DisneySea

Day 5
Lake Kawaguchi
Shinjuku
Kabuchiko

Day 6
Kamakura
Enoshima
Great Buddha of Kamakura
Hokoku-ji Temple
Bamboo Farm
Hase-dera Temple

Is there any places that I left out? Any suggestions? Arrangement? Please let me know. Thanks!  smile.gif
Yoyogi Park? Its walking distance to Meiji Shrine.
Roppongi? Tokyo Tower? Zojoji shrine?
michlove
post Feb 2 2017, 08:27 AM

233 posts

I'll be there for 10 days. You might want to consider Chinatown in Yokohama because it's still CNY. See how the Japs celebrate wink.gif

I'm doing side trips to Nikko to see snow smile.gif
_ChAoS_
post Feb 2 2017, 08:31 AM

29 posts

QUOTE(Belphegor @ Feb 1 2017, 10:49 PM)

Day 1 (Arrive at 7.30am)
Shibuya
Takeshita Street
Harajuku
Meiji Jinggu

Day 2
Tsukiji Market
Akibahara
Ameya Yokocho Street
Ueno Park
Senso Ji
Tokyo Skytree

Day 3
Odaiba
Rainbow Bridge
Oedo-Onsen Monogatari
Daiba Park
Odaiba Statue of Liberty
Gundam
Venus Fort

Day 4
DisneySea

Day 5
Lake Kawaguchi
Shinjuku
Kabuchiko

Day 6
Kamakura
Enoshima
Great Buddha of Kamakura
Hokoku-ji Temple
Bamboo Farm
Hase-dera Temple

Is there any places that I left out? Any suggestions? Arrangement? Please let me know. Thanks!  smile.gif
Isn't your day 2 and 5 a bit too packed?
Belphegor
post Feb 2 2017, 10:19 AM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(inachi @ Feb 2 2017, 12:38 AM)
Yoyogi Park? Its walking distance to Meiji Shrine.
Roppongi? Tokyo Tower? Zojoji shrine?
Yoyogi Park - mostly cosplayers right? My gf and I don't really fancy cosplays so didn't want to go there.
Tokyo tower replaced with Tokyo Skytree. tongue.gif
Roppongi wanted to go during Ginza day, but my friend say is quite a distances so I decided to drop it. Still in my plans if we have time to spare.
Zojoji shrine? Never heard of it. Will look into it and see if is fits into which day.

Thanks! notworthy.gif

QUOTE(michlove @ Feb 2 2017, 08:27 AM)

I'll be there for 10 days. You might want to consider Chinatown in Yokohama because it's still CNY. See how the Japs celebrate wink.gif

I'm doing side trips to Nikko to see snow smile.gif
Wanted to go Yokohama but then my schedule seem too packed. LOL.
I did have Nikko in my plans, but my gf decided not to go cause it's gonna spend whole day there. Not many days we can spend there also. sad.gif

Do let me know how's the weather as I think you'll be back when I'm heading there. tongue.gif

QUOTE(_ChAoS_ @ Feb 2 2017, 08:31 AM)
Isn't your day 2 and 5 a bit too packed?
Yes. But the itinerary is for reference. Can skip any of the location anytime. Created this itinerary just to make sure we don't wander when we have finished visiting places. Definitely won't have enough time to go all these places IMO. laugh.gif
_ChAoS_
post Feb 2 2017, 10:24 AM

29 posts

QUOTE(Belphegor @ Feb 2 2017, 10:19 AM)
Yoyogi Park - mostly cosplayers right? My gf and I don't really fancy cosplays so didn't want to go there.
Tokyo tower replaced with Tokyo Skytree. tongue.gif
Roppongi wanted to go during Ginza day, but my friend say is quite a distances so I decided to drop it. Still in my plans if we have time to spare.
Zojoji shrine? Never heard of it. Will look into it and see if is fits into which day.

Thanks! notworthy.gif
Wanted to go Yokohama but then my schedule seem too packed. LOL.
I did have Nikko in my plans, but my gf decided not to go cause it's gonna spend whole day there. Not many days we can spend there also. sad.gif

Do let me know how's the weather as I think you'll be back when I'm heading there. tongue.gif
Yes. But the itinerary is for reference. Can skip any of the location anytime. Created this itinerary just to make sure we don't wander when we have finished visiting places. Definitely won't have enough time to go all these places IMO. laugh.gif
It's great to have backups when you have extra time.. but just looking at Tsukiji, Akihabara, Ueno and Asakusa all in the same day does sends shivers down my spine... haha.. To assist your planning, maybe you can highlight which one of those is a must go and which ones are optional. It will help you to decide on the spot and not let go of places you really wanted to go in place of just "Meh" locations smile.gif
deodorant
post Feb 2 2017, 10:57 AM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

Belphegor I guess one problem with overpacking your itinerary like that is you end up not visiting places where you (presumably) want to visit. Unless your padded destinations are all your "second tier importance" places.

Anyway, "tsukiji market" means what? if you plan on attending tuna auction and queueing for those few famous sushi shops, be warned that you'll only finish at like close to noon. And since you'd have been awake since 3am, you'll probably be tired as heck and wanting either a nap to recharge or to finish the day early.

This post has been edited by deodorant: Feb 2 2017, 11:00 AM
lucaswjk
post Feb 2 2017, 11:10 AM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

tsukiji market i finish around 10am,
then go back sleep... πŸ˜ͺ
and wake around 2pm for lunch 😌
---
yoyogi park i nv been there, not enuf time
i read there not oni cosplay, got ppl dancing n singing too

---