265 Pages « < 44 45 46 47 48 > » Bottom

【Micro Four Thirds】Olympus & Panasonic Thread V8, OM System OM-3 Arriving In Malaysia 2025

bobds78
post Aug 2 2017, 08:34 PM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Aug 2 2017, 12:03 PM)
where is your laowa photo review...long anticipating tongue.gif
No time lah bro doh.gif

I will give it a go soonest I can.

However, here's my initial hands-on review.

Packages and Unboxing.
The package came with all Laowa original ultra-slim MC UV lens filter, an ND 1000 filter and a slim MRC CPL filter. All the packages display a premium feel to it. The lens itself is vacuum-packed in a tough plastic. It came with a Quality certificate, a Guarantee card and an Instruction manual.

Lens accessories
The Laowa 7.5/2,0 came with a small petal lens hood made of metal, aluminium I presumed, a front pinch lens cap and a standard rear m43 lens cap. It has a dark pink ring at the front of the lens. It looks cool. I like it.

Lens
It's a nicely built lens and has a nice feel to it. Very sturdy. I ordered the ultra-light version of course, which weighs 150gm, 20gm less than the standard version. I presume this is due to a lighter material like hard plastic being used, meant for aerial photography. It's apertures are from 2,0 - 22 with a 110degree FOV.

It is a tad shorter than the Olympus 12mm f2.0 (weight: 130gm) vs Laowa 7.5mm f2.0 (weight: 150gm - ultra-light version). Focusing ring is quite well-damped, not too loose and not too tight. With focus peaking, it works flawlessly. The aperture stops clicked into places very nicely, the clicks are not too hard but it still clicks into place. For video guys who wants to make full use of apertures during shoots this might not be good news blush.gif

Here's the special features of the lens as stated from the Manual:

Quote:

1) LAOWA C-Dreamer 7.5mm F2.0 MFT is a mirrorless interchangeable lens designed for m4/3 system cameras. Special double-sided aspherical glass elements are incorporated into the extremely compact lens which can provide remarkable optical performance and low distortion imaging.

2) Three pieces of ED (Extra-low-Dispersion) glass elements are included to achieve apochromatic effect.

3) All-metal mechanical construction ensures lens' high assembly precision and long-lasting durability.

4) The Frog Eye Water-repellent Coating, known as 'FEC', applied to the first glass of the lens front element surface contributes to protecting against water droplets, smudges and oil. Multi-layer anti-reflection (AR) Coating applied to every lens element is designed to eliminate ghosting and flare as possible."

Unquote.

Usage
The pana GX8 will detect an MF lens immediately once it's mounted on the body. So you will set the lens length once its mounted. Using the lens is easy. I prefer Focus Peaking as the focusing of choice as I don't have good eyesight so that is the next thing I do on the GX8. Once this is done then shooting is just a breeze.

The lens size compliment very well on the GX8 and make the whole setup small and not intimidating.

There you go.

Hopefully I will find time to test-drive the lens soon. I want to give it a good spin it deserves and not simply shoot my backyard.

This post has been edited by bobds78: Aug 2 2017, 08:35 PM
TSBOTAK_WAI
post Aug 2 2017, 09:21 PM

Blow Water First Class
4,165 posts

QUOTE(bobds78 @ Aug 2 2017, 08:34 PM)
No time lah bro doh.gif

Packages and Unboxing.
The package came with all Laowa original ultra-slim MC UV lens filter, an ND 1000 filter and a slim MRC CPL filter. All the packages display a premium feel to it. The lens itself is vacuum-packed in a tough plastic. It came with a Quality certificate, a Guarantee card and an Instruction manual.

Lens accessories
The Laowa 7.5/2,0 came with a small petal lens hood made of metal, aluminium I presumed, a front pinch lens cap and a standard rear m43 lens cap. It has a dark pink ring at the front of the lens. It looks cool. I like it. 

Lens
It's a nicely built lens and has a nice feel to it. Very sturdy. I ordered the ultra-light version of course, which weighs 150gm, 20gm less than the standard version. I presume this is due to a lighter material like hard plastic being used, meant for aerial photography. It's apertures are from 2,0 - 22 with a 110degree FOV.

It is a tad shorter than the Olympus 12mm f2.0 (weight: 130gm) vs Laowa 7.5mm f2.0 (weight: 150gm - ultra-light version). Focusing ring is quite well-damped, not too loose and not too tight. With focus peaking, it works flawlessly. The aperture stops clicked into places very nicely, the clicks are not too hard but it still clicks into place. For video guys who wants to make full use of apertures during shoots this might not be good news blush.gif 

Quote:

1) LAOWA C-Dreamer 7.5mm F2.0 MFT is a mirrorless interchangeable lens designed for m4/3 system cameras. Special double-sided aspherical glass elements are incorporated into the extremely compact lens which can provide remarkable optical performance and low distortion imaging.

2) Three pieces of ED (Extra-low-Dispersion) glass elements are included to achieve apochromatic effect.

3) All-metal mechanical construction ensures lens' high assembly precision and long-lasting durability.

4) The Frog Eye Water-repellent Coating, known as 'FEC', applied to the first glass of the lens front element surface contributes to protecting against water droplets, smudges and oil. Multi-layer anti-reflection (AR) Coating applied to every lens element is designed to eliminate ghosting and flare as possible."

Unquote.

Usage
The pana GX8 will detect an MF lens immediately once it's mounted on the body. So you will set the lens length once its mounted. Using the lens is easy. I prefer Focus Peaking as the focusing of choice as I don't have good eyesight so that is the next thing I do on the GX8. Once this is done then shooting is just a breeze.

The lens size compliment very well on the GX8 and make the whole setup small and not intimidating.

There you go.

Hopefully I will find time to test-drive the lens soon. I want to give it a good spin it deserves and not simply shoot my backyard.
nice preview...i have seen sample pic in china forum...the picture is astonishing.

COOLPINK
post Aug 3 2017, 08:36 AM

3,666 posts

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Aug 2 2017, 12:10 PM)
exactly same thought...

nowadays ppl tend to go with 25mm 1.4 or 15mm 1.7
see? see this is the poison im talking about.. rclxs0.gif laugh.gif
COOLPINK
post Aug 3 2017, 08:38 AM

3,666 posts

QUOTE(incubus_skj @ Aug 2 2017, 02:14 PM)
oh then take the 20mm!

the GF1 can throw one side let your baby play with it or something liao lol
no! no! dun throw away donate to me.
i poorfag..... cry.gif
bobds78
post Aug 4 2017, 12:46 AM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Aug 2 2017, 09:21 PM)
nice preview...i have seen sample pic in china forum...the picture is astonishing.
Please show the url address here bro, I love to see it for myself.

In it's feature sets, it was mentioned that "special double-sided aspherical glass elements are incorporated in the design", this is the first time I heard of such thing as "double-sided aspherical glass". Also there are 3 pcs of ED (extra low dispersion) lenses are lined up too in the design. With all this good things thrown into such a small lens, I wonder how sharp is this lens. How nice if DXOMARK can have a go at this little beauty.
TSBOTAK_WAI
post Aug 4 2017, 12:49 AM

Blow Water First Class
4,165 posts

QUOTE(bobds78 @ Aug 4 2017, 12:46 AM)
Please show the url address here bro, I love to see it for myself.

In it's feature sets, it was mentioned that "special double-sided aspherical glass elements are incorporated in the design", this is the first time I heard of such thing as "double-sided aspherical glass". Also there are 3 pcs of ED (extra low dispersion) lenses are lined up too in the design. With all this good things thrown into such a small lens, I wonder how sharp is this lens. How nice if DXOMARK can have a go at this little beauty.
http://forum.xitek.com/thread-1608966-1-1-1.html
incubus_skj
post Aug 4 2017, 02:58 PM

oh mai gotto
1,750 posts

i also interested to see the Laowa review leh

now in the market for a UWA lens since I sold off my 7-14mm 4.0 already
COOLPINK
post Aug 4 2017, 03:42 PM

3,666 posts

QUOTE(bobds78 @ Aug 2 2017, 08:34 PM)
No time lah bro doh.gif

Packages and Unboxing.

Lens accessories

Lens

Quote:

Unquote.

Usage

There you go.

surprisingly no one want to help you since you no time.
i was expecting the guys here to say "if you no time then we help you test la, so where can meet to borrow your lens?" laugh.gif
bobds78
post Aug 4 2017, 04:11 PM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(COOLPINK @ Aug 4 2017, 03:42 PM)
surprisingly no one want to help you since you no time.
i was expecting the guys here to say "if you no time then we help you test la, so where can meet to borrow your lens?"  laugh.gif
Come visit me at KK, you can have it out for a spin thumbup.gif
bobds78
post Aug 4 2017, 04:12 PM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Aug 4 2017, 12:49 AM)
Wow,love the page. rclxm9.gif .thanks brother notworthy.gif
COOLPINK
post Aug 4 2017, 04:13 PM

3,666 posts

QUOTE(bobds78 @ Aug 4 2017, 04:11 PM)
Come visit me at KK, you can have it out for a spin thumbup.gif
alrite bro.
where to meet in Kuala Kangsar? brows.gif
Someonesim
post Aug 4 2017, 04:16 PM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(incubus_skj @ Aug 4 2017, 02:58 PM)
i also interested to see the Laowa review leh

now in the market for a UWA lens since I sold off my 7-14mm 4.0 already
8mm f4 manual, but damn cheap drool.gif
https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/1322...m_f_4_lens.html

But not sure if it'll be sharp enough or not.
bobds78
post Aug 4 2017, 04:17 PM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(COOLPINK @ Aug 4 2017, 04:13 PM)
alrite bro.
where to meet in Kuala Kangsar?  brows.gif
KK as in Kota Kinabalu bro sweat.gif
COOLPINK
post Aug 4 2017, 04:18 PM

3,666 posts

QUOTE(bobds78 @ Aug 4 2017, 04:17 PM)
KK as in Kota Kinabalu bro sweat.gif
bye.gif cry.gif laugh.gif

incubus_skj
post Aug 4 2017, 04:29 PM

oh mai gotto
1,750 posts

QUOTE(Someonesim @ Aug 4 2017, 04:16 PM)
8mm f4 manual, but damn cheap  drool.gif
https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/1322...m_f_4_lens.html

But not sure if it'll be sharp enough or not.
f4 so slow hmm.gif

i'm a speed demon, need very low f punya laugh.gif
COOLPINK
post Aug 4 2017, 04:56 PM

3,666 posts

QUOTE(incubus_skj @ Aug 4 2017, 04:29 PM)
f4 so slow  hmm.gif

i'm a speed demon, need very low f punya  laugh.gif
yeah i agree.
i like to use f0.0.
but problem is picture blur.
oxizhe
post Aug 4 2017, 05:35 PM

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Aug 2 2017, 03:59 PM)
mana tak de...incubus_skj sold his 1 in garage sales.

3L Trading selling 1.1k new

Check out this item I found on Lazada! Panasonic Lumix G 42.5mm F1.7 ASPH Power O.I.S (Black)
http://www.lazada.com.my/panasonic-lumix-g...k-23436315.html
Ya 3L is selling the cheapest and for new with warranty on LZD.

Already dealth with incubus_skj too bad i was late tongue.gif
Other than that never seen much other used for sell.

bobds78
post Aug 4 2017, 06:49 PM

1,777 posts

Fortunately for Pen F users, this body is able to generate EXIF data for Laowa 7.5mm f2.0 lens as can be seen from one of the posts in the link provided by BOTAK_WAI.
see the photo below, Olympus made it so easy for their users to setup MF lenses as there is a list of MF lenses for users to choose from and once set, he Pen F will pick up the various shooting info and generate an EXIF data for each shot. How ingenious? Panasonic, please update our GX8 with proper firmware soon, if Olympus can do it, so can you!

huislaw
post Aug 4 2017, 07:55 PM

1,344 posts

Today's spam biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by huislaw: Aug 4 2017, 07:55 PM
Someonesim
post Aug 4 2017, 11:19 PM

In my way
9,132 posts