Venturing into Agriculture & Aquaculture, Co-Ordination & Implementation is KEY

MrFarmer
post Sep 9 2011, 07:31 PM

478 posts

QUOTE(teteret @ Sep 9 2011, 02:39 PM)
Has anyone started large scale organic farming in malaysia?
Hi Teteret, how large scale is your "large scale"? There are more and more organic farm now a days.
Maybe you can try checking out DQ Farm.
http://dqfarm.blogspirit.com/
Hope it helps.
Regards
Mr Farmer.

TSParaOpticaL
post Sep 9 2011, 10:05 PM

Planter - Durian, Jackfruit, Papaya
2,348 posts

you plan on doing Organic Farming ?

where is your location ?

QUOTE(teteret @ Sep 9 2011, 02:39 PM)
Has anyone started large scale organic farming in malaysia?
kianwei8
post Sep 11 2011, 11:08 AM

163 posts

visit my 'patient' and offer solution to Farmer at Hutan Melintang

MrFarmer
post Sep 11 2011, 07:07 PM

478 posts

QUOTE(kianwei8 @ Sep 11 2011, 11:08 AM)
visit my 'patient' and offer solution to Farmer at Hutan Melintang

Hi Kianwei8, can kindly enlighten and educate us also? What seems to be the problem and what solution was offered, most importantly keep us informed about the results. Who knows, maybe one of the guys/gals here may go into Palm Oil.
kianwei8
post Sep 11 2011, 07:47 PM

163 posts

The Palm show multi Symptoms of Mineral Deficiency . Soil Type : Clay soil

Solution : Kieserite (Mg) - 1kg
Borax (Boron)-0.1kg
Zinc- Copper- 0.15Kg

Mix it and put to every tree.

After 1 month, 3 kg of W product with Content (%) will put to every palm again (Last time put fertilizer was May/June)
N -10
P2O5 (DAP) -5
K2O - 20
OM -12
HA -5
Azomite-3

OM- Organic Matter
HA-Humid Acid
Azomite-67 type Trace element and mineral

M.J, how do u think?

This post has been edited by kianwei8: Sep 11 2011, 07:49 PM
teteret
post Sep 11 2011, 11:41 PM

27 posts

That's very informative. Thank you mr farmer. Because I recently acquired a plot of land. Around 100 acres and am deciding whether to go the usual route of oil palm or organic vegetables.

Added on September 11, 2011, 11:56 pm
QUOTE(ParaOpticaL @ Sep 9 2011, 10:05 PM)
you plan on doing Organic Farming ?

where is your location ?
Yes I'm considering. I'm in Sarawak. Any suggestions?

This post has been edited by teteret: Sep 11 2011, 11:56 PM
Michael J.
post Sep 12 2011, 09:12 AM

596 posts

kianwei:

Maybe you could list some of the symptoms?

I'd also look at the soil moisture. Palms look dehydrated. Can't determine properly from photos, but seems like some palms have quite a lot of rolled-leaves symptoms. This could be due to boron deficiency, or it could just be due to soil compactness and water table issue. Found any "blind-tips" on the young leaves? Or "crinkled-leaves" that look like zig-zag shapes?

Can't see the older leaves properly, however does seem to have some chlorosis, so Magnesium deficiency could be present. I would be a little hessitant to say the same about zinc deficiency; no harm adding a little zinc now and then though. Would help palms grow better, and produce better bunches. Copper deficiency is also a question mark, so I would like to know if the palms were already characteristically limpy like in the picture, or was this a more recent development. Copper deficiency could also somewhat explain the rolled-leaves I see in some pictures.

Overall, I believe you're on the right track in your recommendation lar. Place looks very familiar. Which part of Hutan Melintang is this? Towards the river end?

This post has been edited by Michael J.: Sep 12 2011, 09:14 AM
hitsugaya2010
post Sep 13 2011, 12:21 PM

946 posts

Hi sifus...

any info on kayu gaharu i can read up?
teteret
post Sep 13 2011, 10:11 PM

27 posts

What would you like to know about gaharu?
hitsugaya2010
post Sep 14 2011, 10:54 AM

946 posts

QUOTE(teteret @ Sep 13 2011, 10:11 PM)
What would you like to know about gaharu?
erm...anything with gaharu i think..wanna do some research on it...
teteret
post Sep 14 2011, 09:24 PM

27 posts

I do have gaharu trees. But what I can tell you is that planting gaharu is not as lucrative as many of us are led to believe. Wild agarwood is still better. I'm an agarwood wholesaler actually and I would welcome any buy/sell inquiries
singa89
post Sep 15 2011, 09:45 AM

long live play
1,204 posts

teteret. im from kuching. interested in farming too! can i do that without owning a land of my own?
teteret
post Sep 15 2011, 01:22 PM

27 posts

u can try approaching a land owner, tell him that you will manage his land and you split the profits smile.gif. Quite common practice for real estate development. im from miri btw. haha two sarawakians
TSParaOpticaL
post Sep 16 2011, 04:53 PM

2,348 posts

am beginning work on another land.

its water-logged whenever it rains. need to find a solution to this

and doing the below :-

1) am planting a few varieties of passion fruit
2) place for fertigation trial
3) vege plot
4) herb plot
teteret
post Sep 17 2011, 12:59 AM

27 posts

Paraoptical, you doing crop rotation? Banana trees seem to do well in places with excessive water (from observation not sure if it's proven)
TSParaOpticaL
post Sep 17 2011, 10:12 AM

2,348 posts

teteret,

not at the moment. still trying out on diff plants

but my main would be fertigation & corn & fruit trees

havent any plans for banana yet as my boss needs to build a bridge across the land because the front plot is divided by a river...lolx

QUOTE(teteret @ Sep 17 2011, 12:59 AM)
Paraoptical, you doing crop rotation? Banana trees seem to do well in places with excessive water (from observation not sure if it's proven)
RUI
post Sep 18 2011, 12:33 AM

722 posts

I'm interested in venturing vercompost...may I get contact of ppl that sells red worms (Eisenia fetida) and let me know price per kg?
Michael J.
post Sep 19 2011, 08:16 AM

596 posts

Para:

Check your water table and soil type. You mentioned it is near a river. Chances are the land is made up of largely heavy clay soil, and the water table could be relatively higher. It will be a costly affair, but building scupper drains and doing cambering on the planting rows could help you manage the water-logging and cropping a little better.

Added on September 19, 2011, 8:31 amteteret:

Although banana plants require a lot of water, the rhizome will suffocate and die (rot) in soil that is saturated in water. However, I think it is more of a soil management problem, correct me if I'm wrong Para.

Para:

If the surface run-off is not very bad, you could do light cambering. The land would then be more useful for fertigation. However if you are going to plant corn, I would be rather cautious, especially if the land is perpetually water-logged. For this, you might need to do quite extensive cambering plus build scupper drains parallel to the planting rows to carry off excess water. Again, if your land is really heavy clay soil, then you need to consider ways of ensuring the root zone of your plants is adequately aerated.

This post has been edited by Michael J.: Sep 19 2011, 08:31 AM
MrFarmer
post Sep 20 2011, 09:44 PM

478 posts

QUOTE(teteret @ Sep 14 2011, 09:24 PM)
I do have gaharu trees. But what I can tell you is that planting gaharu is not as lucrative as many of us are led to believe. Wild agarwood is still better. I'm an agarwood wholesaler actually and I would welcome any buy/sell inquiries
Hi Teteret,
what sort or pricing are we looking at now. The cost for "injection" is also high. I have about 200 small seedlings plant-lets in poly bags with me, am still undecided about planting those. What the pro / con?

Added on September 20, 2011, 9:53 pm
QUOTE(Michael J. @ Sep 19 2011, 08:16 AM)
Para:

Check your water table and soil type. You mentioned it is near a river. Chances are the land is made up of largely heavy clay soil, and the water table could be relatively higher. It will be a costly affair, but building scupper drains and doing cambering on the planting rows could help you manage the water-logging and cropping a little better.

Added on September 19, 2011, 8:31 amteteret:

Although banana plants require a lot of water, the rhizome will suffocate and die (rot) in soil that is saturated in water. However, I think it is more of a soil management problem, correct me if I'm wrong Para.

Para:

If the surface run-off is not very bad, you could do light cambering. The land would then be more useful for fertigation. However if you are going to plant corn, I would be rather cautious, especially if the land is perpetually water-logged. For this, you might need to do quite extensive cambering plus build scupper drains parallel to the planting rows to carry off excess water. Again, if your land is really heavy clay soil, then you need to consider ways of ensuring the root zone of your plants is adequately aerated.
From my experience, Banana & Corn die in water logged land, root rot.
We have Yam growing well in water logged/creek side. Other plants are water Kang Kong & Sai Yong Choi (sorry, can think of the English name at the moment)

This post has been edited by MrFarmer: Sep 20 2011, 09:53 PM
TSParaOpticaL
post Sep 20 2011, 10:10 PM

2,348 posts

Corn confirmed die in water logged places. just a few died yesterday when i checked...haha

sai yong choi = Water Cress

i love the Water Cress Soup....

=================================

MichaelJ.

i need to google on scupper drain and cambering and if i cant find any then i need to call or email you to check biggrin.gif

QUOTE(MrFarmer @ Sep 20 2011, 09:44 PM)
Hi Teteret,
what sort or pricing are we looking at now. The cost for "injection" is also high. I have about 200 small seedlings plant-lets in poly bags with me, am still undecided about planting those. What the pro / con?

Added on September 20, 2011, 9:53 pm
From my experience, Banana & Corn die in water logged land, root rot.
We have Yam growing well in water logged/creek side. Other plants are water Kang Kong & Sai Yong Choi (sorry, can think of the English name at the moment)

119 Pages « < 39 40 41 42 > » Top

0.0248sec    0.35    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 04:37 PM