Ask questions and someone will try to answer...
Most welcome to join....interested let me know so i can put your name there...
QUOTE(chinyen @ Mar 15 2011, 12:11 PM)
Venturing into Agriculture & Aquaculture, Co-Ordination & Implementation is KEY
Mar 15 2011, 01:12 PM
2,348 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: Ch3r@s |
We dont have a specific agenda or topic. Its people driven.
Ask questions and someone will try to answer... Most welcome to join....interested let me know so i can put your name there... QUOTE(chinyen @ Mar 15 2011, 12:11 PM) |
Mar 15 2011, 09:31 PM
754 posts Joined: Jul 2009 |
QUOTE(MrFarmer @ Mar 14 2011, 10:24 PM) This land I'm working on, Parcel 5 is in Sabah. ants...i guess you have to rear its own natural predator...try google it...As with all business, everything is 'not easy'. If it were, then every1 would be doing it Vermicompost, I'm starting this for own use, hence no need to worry about the marketing at the moment. I'll gladly share with you guys when I do the marketing Food Waste, we also feed the chicken (Kampung) and dogs with these everyday. Meat waste are cooked, hence it takes care of the hygiene aspect. Fruits / vege are just given as is. The few Kampung chicken is having a feast of tapioca these few days as we are still clearing the Parcel 5. Of course the tapioca were offered to all our neighbors first and those remainder (small size / partially rotten) are given to the Chicken. Talking about tapioca, they can become quite a nuisance, as it difficult to rid them off. We are currently picking up all the branches (collecting into pile and dry it) and digging up the tapioca. Any1 has a better/faster option on how to go about this? Got some results with the ants today, but i guess the result is just a short term thing as it's raining everyday, washing away the insecticide. Any suggestion on a long term solution? your plot is in sabah...i'm in kl leh...will inform you when i go there, ok? i thought of collecting food wastes from eateries to lower the cost if i plan to go large scale(provided if i do it with a bicycle around the area)...after surveying a couple of them, the feedbacks are better than what i have expected to get. the foodstallers are more than willing to let me have these wastes as food wastes are just rubbish to them and wouldnt cost anything. i asked how would they like to be paid in return for the food wastes that i will be collecting everyday, they reacted like 'why would i charge you to have my rubbish? it's just...rubbish' . i wonder if it is illegal to collect wastes like this? (i havent start though, havent find a right place) because, according to the law of waste management, it is illegal to gather or assemble large amount of wastes without permission. that means we have to get a permit to do so. if it is avoidable or unnecessary, of course it will be much easier..so is this act of collecting wastes considered as an illegal one? Added on March 15, 2011, 9:32 pmoh, thanks TS!! i will confirm you as soon as possible!! This post has been edited by chinyen: Mar 15 2011, 09:32 PM |
Mar 19 2011, 10:36 AM
currently i am looking for Corn/Maize & Papaya Collector...
i am deciding whether to plant corn/maize or papaya for supply to the local market. |
Mar 19 2011, 01:47 PM
1,110 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
Hey guys,
Do we have a method to procure land to start farming? An acre of land is costing RM 20k a piece. I mean govt wants us to farm but if no land how to farm? I am not a Bumi btw. Cheers Kai |
Mar 19 2011, 06:10 PM
478 posts Joined: Mar 2011 From: Sabah |
QUOTE(kaiserwulf @ Mar 19 2011, 01:47 PM) Hey guys, Hi kaiserwulf, not to sound rude, land in Malaysia can be bought/sold/leased/rented or even borrowed. Land can cost from a token sum of very minimal to very expensively high, depending on location. Yes every government throughout the world would like to increase food production because statistic is showing that we are running out of food. Also there is no law stating that all Farmers have to be Bumi in Malaysia. Sorry if I sound offensive, but if you spend more time, and think more on it, like other people can do it, not not you? Solution can be found, you can work around/over/above it. This apply in almost every aspect in life. I did visit MAHA 2011, there are a lot of non- Bumi winning competition in farming. If you are interested, i can post some pictures.Do we have a method to procure land to start farming? An acre of land is costing RM 20k a piece. I mean govt wants us to farm but if no land how to farm? I am not a Bumi btw. Cheers Kai Added on March 19, 2011, 6:20 pm QUOTE(chinyen @ Mar 15 2011, 09:31 PM) ants...i guess you have to rear its own natural predator...try google it... Anteater, Pangolin (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pangolin) is a protected species in Malaysia. Even if you manage to 'invite' one to stay at your farm, it'll go missing almost immediately as i heard the 'current rate' is that you can exchange a motorbike with it!. Am having a little success with 'ant powder' problem is that it's raining everyday and it washes the powder away. There is a liquid type, by spraying, might try it out.because, according to the law of waste management, it is illegal to gather or assemble large amount of wastes without permission. that means we have to get a permit to do so. if it is avoidable or unnecessary, of course it will be much easier..so is this act of collecting wastes considered as an illegal one? Added on March 15, 2011, 9:32 pmoh, thanks TS!! Maybe naming it with 'recycling center' you'll have better 'luck' over waste management? Say planting corn is easy. ![]() 4 days later ![]() This post has been edited by MrFarmer: Mar 19 2011, 06:47 PM |
Mar 19 2011, 08:33 PM
mr.farmer...
haha...then try to cover ur plants when it is going to rain...to reduce draining of those powder.. i mean something like this http://www.associatedcontent.com/article/1...or_organic.html but not sure of the cost of breeding the flies or what other problem might occur.. recycling centre..hmm..is composting counted as recycling or reusing waste? but anyway, i guess it might be a better way though..thank you!! kaiserwulf..frankly saying, getting the land is not as difficult, maybe applying for loan is. but as long as you highlight in your proposal that you might be recruiting bumi employees or anything benefitting them, or giving solution to the country's current issue, the bank will approve your application. correct me if i'm wrong |
Mar 20 2011, 10:13 AM
QUOTE(MrFarmer @ Mar 19 2011, 06:10 PM) Hi kaiserwulf, not to sound rude, land in Malaysia can be bought/sold/leased/rented or even borrowed. Land can cost from a token sum of very minimal to very expensively high, depending on location. Yes every government throughout the world would like to increase food production because statistic is showing that we are running out of food. Also there is no law stating that all Farmers have to be Bumi in Malaysia. Sorry if I sound offensive, but if you spend more time, and think more on it, like other people can do it, not not you? Solution can be found, you can work around/over/above it. This apply in almost every aspect in life. I did visit MAHA 2011, there are a lot of non- Bumi winning competition in farming. If you are interested, i can post some pictures. Mr. Farmer, no offense taken at all. Added on March 19, 2011, 6:20 pm Anteater, Pangolin (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pangolin) is a protected species in Malaysia. Even if you manage to 'invite' one to stay at your farm, it'll go missing almost immediately as i heard the 'current rate' is that you can exchange a motorbike with it!. Am having a little success with 'ant powder' problem is that it's raining everyday and it washes the powder away. There is a liquid type, by spraying, might try it out. Maybe naming it with 'recycling center' you'll have better 'luck' over waste management? Say planting corn is easy. ![]() 4 days later ![]() |
Mar 20 2011, 06:33 PM
QUOTE(kaiserwulf @ Mar 20 2011, 10:13 AM) Mr. Farmer, no offense taken at all. Yes, that's the way to Go! Wishing the best of luck, and wishing you are going to get your plot soon. Kindly share your experience when you start your farming. |
Mar 20 2011, 10:20 PM
I think I will visit your farm first before clearing the bought land by then. Would love to have your contact details. PM me! We can be friends.
Mar 21 2011, 08:21 AM
hi chinyen,
are you into farming now ?? where is your farm located ? thank you » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « |
Mar 21 2011, 11:31 AM
Thanks para for the reply. I will go check with brokers on the land I wanna buy then check with AgriBank for loans. That is the logical step, unless I got an uncle I dunno who suddenly passed away and he will to me 900 acres of 10 year old oil palms.
So far any free land provided for people who want to start farming? This post has been edited by kaiserwulf: Mar 21 2011, 11:31 AM |
Mar 21 2011, 11:57 AM
** 1st Page updated for the gathering **
--------------------- kaiser : MrFarmer's land is in Sabah. I would suggest you go to the State Agriculture Dept and ask them about abandon land and check if you can start your farming adventure using those lands. |
Mar 21 2011, 08:20 PM
para.i am into farming but i'm still a student...no farm..not like you guys..haha...
so, compared to you guys, i'm even smaller than a fry This post has been edited by chinyen: Mar 21 2011, 08:20 PM |
Mar 21 2011, 11:14 PM
QUOTE(kaiserwulf @ Mar 20 2011, 10:20 PM) I think I will visit your farm first before clearing the bought land by then. Would love to have your contact details. PM me! We can be friends. Thank you for your interest, I do have a couple of people interest to visit my farm, but unfortunately it's not ready to receive guest yet. One very important ingredient is not ready, the toilet. Had an emergency myself due to too much pisang emas & papaya, and have to do it the real natural conventional way, Hahaha. Building one, should be ready in Parcel 5 by the end of the year. You can post here or PM me if you need any information that I have.As for land, I'm sure you have your strong reasons to choose Southern Kedah, my research points to East Malaysia if you want to have the cheapest land. As for bank loan, last i checked, only 60% max and that too you'll need strong connection. Also note that the Land is not worth much unless you have a structure there. Not sure about the current situation. You shall have another option, if you don't have a rich uncle, you can look for a rich spouse with plenty land, hahaha. Free land is very difficult to come by and most probably with a lot of string attached / high risk. This post has been edited by MrFarmer: Mar 21 2011, 11:18 PM |
Mar 22 2011, 05:55 PM
596 posts Joined: Jan 2006 |
Free-handout land to own: Quite impossible
Free-handout land to work: Likely Handout land to rent: Abounding I think I've noted this before somewhere. There's this very enterprising group of guys who go about leasing land from government agencies or GLCs. The rental is usually dirt cheap, like RM50/acre a year. Some of the likes are Rubber Research, TNB etc. Try spotting for agencies that are supposed to relocate to a new plot of land, but would only do so after a couple of years (when the funding is finalized). Or, lease the land under TNB cables to plant short term crops. There's this chap in Teluk Intan who leased the entire stretch of land under TNB cables from Simpang Empat all the way to Bagan Nakhoda, and he planted banana for 3 years, followed by sugarcane, and then banana again. He's doing pretty well. |
Mar 24 2011, 02:01 PM
QUOTE(Michael J. @ Mar 22 2011, 05:55 PM) Free-handout land to own: Quite impossible Yeah agreed with Micheal. Free-handout land to work: Likely Handout land to rent: Abounding I think I've noted this before somewhere. There's this very enterprising group of guys who go about leasing land from government agencies or GLCs. The rental is usually dirt cheap, like RM50/acre a year. Some of the likes are Rubber Research, TNB etc. Try spotting for agencies that are supposed to relocate to a new plot of land, but would only do so after a couple of years (when the funding is finalized). Or, lease the land under TNB cables to plant short term crops. There's this chap in Teluk Intan who leased the entire stretch of land under TNB cables from Simpang Empat all the way to Bagan Nakhoda, and he planted banana for 3 years, followed by sugarcane, and then banana again. He's doing pretty well. Speaking of banana, bought some of these tissue culture Cavendish. ![]() and had it transplanted ![]() Note the wild varieties in the background. |
Mar 25 2011, 04:28 PM
These are my 3 Specimen for my World Eco Products
Papaya A » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Papaya B » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Papaya C » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « |
Mar 26 2011, 09:55 AM
QUOTE(ParaOpticaL @ Mar 25 2011, 04:28 PM) These are my 3 Specimen for my World Eco Products Care to elaborate on your specimen A, B & C? ThanksPapaya A » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Papaya B » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Papaya C » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « |
Mar 26 2011, 09:38 PM
anyone made it to the Organic's Day at SS2 just now? there were lots of organisations supporting permaculture,organic farming , composting, enzyme making and a lot more...
Mar 28 2011, 09:16 AM
All 3 specimens are being sprayed by naturally sourced product from my company
i am taking photos for recording purposes what i am looking for are: - a) thicker & larger leaves b) more fruits c) larger fruits on veges the effect is faster noticeable because on average veges are 35-40 days crop QUOTE(MrFarmer @ Mar 26 2011, 09:55 AM) |
| Change to: | 0.0225sec
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 05:56 AM |