Venturing into Agriculture & Aquaculture, Co-Ordination & Implementation is KEY
MrFarmer
Jul 23 2017, 05:33 PM
QUOTE(Kennay @ Nov 7 2016, 12:07 PM) 1)How do you guys market your chili products in Klang Valley? Are you guys mostly supplying to local market e.g NSK, Tesco & etc or is there any middleman trader? 2) Is the demand rather secure if you are able to supply in significant quantity? *sorry had to ask such questions, I am totally new to this and have just started plantation @ home. Planning to loan for a piece of agri land for agriculture as side income. It will also serve as investment purpose if the venture does not work well. Hi Kenny, What do you have for sale? What quantity? Thanks.
MrFarmer
Jul 23 2017, 05:35 PM
QUOTE(chinyen @ Mar 9 2017, 11:12 AM) I wonder if a fb group is set up from this. Please advise, I would like to join. Thanks. I had taken the initiative to set up a Facebook page. Everyone is welcome to join. IT's a public open page. https://www.facebook.com/Venturing-into-Agr...39887089929770/
Aventador360
Jul 27 2017, 11:56 AM
Hi Guys. I have a house near mid valley that I want to partner with someone to do hydroponic farming. Partner would need to have expertise and funds to do the JV. We will just provide the property. 11,000sf Pls PM me if anybody keen. Thanks
This post has been edited by Aventador360: Jul 27 2017, 12:55 PM
Tomokitsu
Aug 2 2017, 03:16 PM

any sifus here have experience with tilapia breeding?
tiranz
Aug 9 2017, 11:47 AM

guys im looking for small scale partnership to grow vegetables. I have a passion for this but no land. Anywhere near rawang/gombak.
lopo90
Oct 8 2017, 05:27 PM
QUOTE(tiranz @ Aug 9 2017, 11:47 AM) guys im looking for small scale partnership to grow vegetables. I have a passion for this but no land. Anywhere near rawang/gombak. How about using hydroponic to grow? That will solve the land issue
Yveatel
Oct 9 2017, 08:40 AM
QUOTE(lopo90 @ Oct 8 2017, 05:27 PM) How about using hydroponic to grow? That will solve the land issue hard to find. rental also high price. not suitable for farming.
lopo90
Oct 9 2017, 08:50 AM
QUOTE(Yveatel @ Oct 9 2017, 08:40 AM) hard to find. rental also high price. not suitable for farming. Is it? From what I gathered. Hydroponics system is very affordable to DIY
Yveatel
Oct 9 2017, 10:43 AM
QUOTE(lopo90 @ Oct 9 2017, 08:50 AM) Is it? From what I gathered. Hydroponics system is very affordable to DIY  Yes. It is easy to DIY. However, from my humble knowledge of nothing, I am afraid of the material. Many like to use PVC etc for Hydroponic/Aquaponic. I do not know the long term effect of the material which will absorb by plants which might be toxic for human. Meanwhile, the material use specially for hydroponic are quite expensive compares to you buy the pipes etc.
tbhan08
Oct 9 2017, 03:14 PM
QUOTE(jack1113 @ Apr 11 2017, 07:23 AM) U interested for partnership? Am manning a sea cage currently, looking for ppl to join for expansion. Interested in sea cage. Can pm for more info?
lopo90
Oct 9 2017, 05:25 PM
QUOTE(Yveatel @ Oct 9 2017, 10:43 AM) Yes. It is easy to DIY. However, from my humble knowledge of nothing, I am afraid of the material. Many like to use PVC etc for Hydroponic/Aquaponic. I do not know the long term effect of the material which will absorb by plants which might be toxic for human. Meanwhile, the material use specially for hydroponic are quite expensive compares to you buy the pipes etc. Ah yes  the hydroponics I came across, they use pvc pipes. As for toxic contamination from the pvc pipes that the plants will absorb. Not entirely sure  need to do lil. Bit of research on that
mkcmeng
Nov 12 2017, 11:47 PM
Dear Sifus, I am currently looking for a mahachanok mango tree. I've tried searching on the web and around Selangor area but unable to find one now. There are many Irwins and nam dok mai but no maha. Could some kind soul help me to locate a mahachanok?
Many thanks in advance!
MrFarmer
Dec 8 2017, 05:54 PM
QUOTE(mkcmeng @ Nov 12 2017, 11:47 PM) Dear Sifus, I am currently looking for a mahachanok mango tree. I've tried searching on the web and around Selangor area but unable to find one now. There are many Irwins and nam dok mai but no maha. Could some kind soul help me to locate a mahachanok? Many thanks in advance! You can try Seng Kee in Sg Chua, Kajang.
fadz8L
Dec 10 2017, 12:31 PM

I am thinking to jump to Agriculture field.
Which vege / fruit do I need to start for noob ?
I've searched on internet, many of them suggest for ladyfinger (bendi). Easy to manage and high demands.
Anyone has other different ideas / opinions ?
Chisinlouz
Dec 10 2017, 01:03 PM
QUOTE(fadz8L @ Dec 10 2017, 12:31 PM) I am thinking to jump to Agriculture field. Which vege / fruit do I need to start for noob ? I've searched on internet, many of them suggest for ladyfinger (bendi). Easy to manage and high demands. Anyone has other different ideas / opinions ? Stick to yr job
NightHeart
Jan 10 2018, 11:16 PM
QUOTE(MrFarmer @ Dec 8 2017, 05:54 PM) You can try Seng Kee in Sg Chua, Kajang. Sorry random question, are you familiar with natural/organic products retailer like BMS or Justlife? I’m looking for a retail channel to distribute my products.
Kg Teratai
Feb 6 2018, 05:19 PM

I am planning to replant my 5 acres oil palm to durian. While waiting for the durian tree to grow. I also plan to have the short term chops
Less than 1 year 1. Banana. 2. Papaya.
3-4 years 1. Limau 2. Ciku
May I know if there is any others short term chops that is available?
The main concern is no water run thru my farm.
This post has been edited by Kg Teratai: Feb 6 2018, 05:22 PM
Yveatel
Feb 6 2018, 05:38 PM
QUOTE(Kg Teratai @ Feb 6 2018, 05:19 PM) I am planning to replant my 5 acres oil palm to durian. While waiting for the durian tree to grow. I also plan to have the short term chops Less than 1 year 1. Banana. 2. Papaya. 3-4 years 1. Limau 2. Ciku May I know if there is any others short term chops that is available? The main concern is no water run thru my farm. Two problem I can see: 1) Lack of nutrients in the soil. I believe you should heal the land first. After cut the oil palm, the leaves can be buried underneath sparingly. It takes lot of efforts and time. Once I come across an organic farmer who revitalise the land of oil palm, took him nearly 3 to 4 years to grow banana. The trees grow, but skinny and small. However, if you do not care about the natural nutrients, then you may use chemical fertilizers. 2) Water is your biggest enemy here. Any chances dig a well or pond? Fruits require lots of water during flowering and fruits.
Chisinlouz
Feb 7 2018, 01:21 AM
QUOTE(Kg Teratai @ Feb 6 2018, 05:19 PM) I am planning to replant my 5 acres oil palm to durian. While waiting for the durian tree to grow. I also plan to have the short term chops Less than 1 year 1. Banana. 2. Papaya. 3-4 years 1. Limau 2. Ciku May I know if there is any others short term chops that is available? The main concern is no water run thru my farm. Where is yr location? No water. Dont waste resources. 5acre too little for banana getting substantial return. Papaya no water cant. Limau maybe but pricing fluctuates. Ciku no idea.
Kg Teratai
Feb 7 2018, 09:36 AM

QUOTE(Yveatel @ Feb 6 2018, 05:38 PM) Two problem I can see: 1) Lack of nutrients in the soil. I believe you should heal the land first. After cut the oil palm, the leaves can be buried underneath sparingly. It takes lot of efforts and time. Once I come across an organic farmer who revitalise the land of oil palm, took him nearly 3 to 4 years to grow banana. The trees grow, but skinny and small. However, if you do not care about the natural nutrients, then you may use chemical fertilizers. 2) Water is your biggest enemy here. Any chances dig a well or pond? Fruits require lots of water during flowering and fruits. 1. I will use mix organic and chemical fertilizers. The farm have been left unattended for quite a long time already. It will definitely have to invest in the fertilizers. The oil palm tree will be cut down and put at the side of the farm. The oil palm root will be taken out from the land also. 2. Water. Yes. this is a my big concern. Initially I am thinking of underground water, but I drop the idea because of future. This land used to plan durian tree before oil palm. I believe durian can survive unless it is a long dry session. It is the short term fruit tree. I need to find those short term fruit tree that do not require high volume of water. Currently, I am still checking if there is water supply from Syabas. It used to have a village near by.