119 Pages « < 113 114 115 116 117 > » Bottom

Venturing into Agriculture & Aquaculture, Co-Ordination & Implementation is KEY

Chisinlouz
post Feb 8 2018, 01:56 PM

848 posts

QUOTE(kamilnu @ Feb 8 2018, 01:19 PM)
Well hello there fellow durian farmer. I have 4.7 acres of land in Tapah, Perak Jln Cameron Highlands. Its basically an unkept dusun. I plan to start planting 110 durian trees combined of D200, D197, D168, D24 and durian kampung. Now land clearing.

What i can advice is drill a tube well for water source. U need to remove all the sawit trees prior bcos the durian saplings will lose out to the sawit trees (sawit trees sucks a lot of nutrients/fertilizer from the soil). They are hungry trees those sawits.

As for short term crops for cash flow my friend plants papaya in his sawit farm. Not beside the sawit trees but a dedicated area cleared for sawit. The issue now is wild boars and diseases. Wild boar u need to dig a trench and fill it with water. Beside the trench pile the sawit tandan, leaves that acts as a 2nd barrier against the wild boars. Ur papaya area shall be square shape with the trench along it.

U need to find resistant papaya seedling bcos papaya normallly prone to fusarium wilt and other type of fungus/viruses. Go to MARDI for the papaya seedling.

Send ur soil for a soil test, some sawit farms have masam soil, not good for durian.

Dont listen to other people laa. These folks dont know anything about farming. Let the pros talk maa.
We have professional here. rclxms.gif

Kg Teratai
post Feb 9 2018, 04:39 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(kamilnu @ Feb 8 2018, 01:19 PM)
Well hello there fellow durian farmer. I have 4.7 acres of land in Tapah, Perak Jln Cameron Highlands. Its basically an unkept dusun. I plan to start planting 110 durian trees combined of D200, D197, D168, D24 and durian kampung. Now land clearing.

What i can advice is drill a tube well for water source. U need to remove all the sawit trees prior bcos the durian saplings will lose out to the sawit trees (sawit trees sucks a lot of nutrients/fertilizer from the soil). They are hungry trees those sawits.

As for short term crops for cash flow my friend plants papaya in his sawit farm. Not beside the sawit trees but a dedicated area cleared for sawit. The issue now is wild boars and diseases. Wild boar u need to dig a trench and fill it with water. Beside the trench pile the sawit tandan, leaves that acts as a 2nd barrier against the wild boars. Ur papaya area shall be square shape with the trench along it.

U need to find resistant papaya seedling bcos papaya normallly prone to fusarium wilt and other type of fungus/viruses. Go to MARDI for the papaya seedling.

Send ur soil for a soil test, some sawit farms have masam soil, not good for durian.

Dont listen to other people laa. These folks dont know anything about farming. Let the pros talk maa.
4.7 acres for 110 tree, it will be very wide open.

Well tube is one of the option before, however, i am trying not to use the underground water. Overuse of underground water is not an environmental friendly option.

I will clear of all the sawit in the farm. Therefore, sawit will no be an issue for me.

The wild boar and monkey are not problem for my farm.

I will go Mardi to ask about the seeding.

Thank you.
kamilnu
post Feb 9 2018, 06:59 PM

1,170 posts

QUOTE(Kg Teratai @ Feb 9 2018, 04:39 PM)
4.7 acres for 110 tree, it will be very wide open.

Well tube is one of the option before, however, i am trying not to use the underground water. Overuse of underground water is not an environmental friendly option.

I will clear of all the sawit in the farm. Therefore, sawit will no be an issue for me.

The wild boar and monkey are not problem for my farm.

I will go Mardi to ask about the seeding.

Thank you.
MARDI recommends 35 durian trees for every 1 acre. I'm going for a lower ratio than that bcos i also want to plant other fruit trees and also a space for the farm house.

Good luck in ur agro endeavour my farming friend. Its time that we plan for the future and leave the rat race and the corporate drone life. Drop me a PM, maybe we can talk and share details.

This post has been edited by kamilnu: Feb 9 2018, 07:03 PM
Kg Teratai
post Feb 12 2018, 11:42 AM

85 posts

I can see you have different strategy by having different crops in your farm. It is good choice also.

If you really experience the durian price in 2002-2005, you will know how it feel when the durian price drop.
kamilnu
post Feb 12 2018, 03:52 PM

1,170 posts

QUOTE(Kg Teratai @ Feb 12 2018, 11:42 AM)
I can see you have different strategy by having different crops in your farm. It is good choice also.

If you really experience the durian price in 2002-2005, you will know how it feel when the durian price drop.
Everthing has its up and down.....including durian prices. In those days it was because of the flooding of thailand durians into this country. My happened again. I plan for export, lower grade we sell locally to the poor malaysian public at prevailing market price.

In the future, eating fruits are for the folks with money, u will see. No money eat kangkong maa

This post has been edited by kamilnu: Feb 12 2018, 03:53 PM
Kg Teratai
post Feb 13 2018, 11:06 AM

85 posts

Well, all we can do the best, hope for the good return.
Duperaider
post Feb 28 2018, 08:49 AM

257 posts

Reporting in - new farmer from formerly rat racer.

Farm stats - 20 acre filled with old oil palm trees (Need a lot of fert)

Have a capital of RM 100k (budgeted) , but no idea what to do with it, may experienced farmers give some ideas?

Duperaider
post Feb 28 2018, 08:51 AM

257 posts

QUOTE(Yveatel @ Oct 9 2017, 10:43 AM)
Yes. It is easy to DIY. However, from my humble knowledge of nothing, I am afraid of the material. Many like to use PVC etc for Hydroponic/Aquaponic. I do not know the long term effect of the material which will absorb by plants which might be toxic for human. Meanwhile, the material use specially for hydroponic are quite expensive compares to you buy the pipes etc.
Need to add in, once you plant a lot, then new problem will arise
kyen
post Mar 1 2018, 10:59 PM

71 posts

wow this thread springing to life again!
Duperaider
post Mar 16 2018, 09:29 AM

257 posts

Dear all, do you have any experience in renting land?, having quite a PITA problem here
Chisinlouz
post Mar 16 2018, 05:49 PM

848 posts

QUOTE(Duperaider @ Mar 16 2018, 09:29 AM)
Dear all, do you have any experience in renting land?, having quite a PITA problem here
What happen
@li
post May 23 2018, 01:41 PM

64 posts

QUOTE(Avatarchick @ May 22 2018, 03:06 PM)
Dear all, anyone know how to plant mangosteen?
buy grafted plant from nursery.
c-timhehe
post Jun 11 2018, 03:23 PM

17 posts

do anyone here uses liquid seaweed ?
lopo90
post Aug 5 2018, 05:57 PM

695 posts

With the oversupply of durians lately. What is the future prospect of growing this fruit? Will there still be a demand for it?

hmm.gif
powerbarr
post Aug 5 2018, 06:04 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(lopo90 @ Aug 5 2018, 05:57 PM)
With the oversupply of durians lately. What is the future prospect of growing this fruit? Will there still be a demand for it?

hmm.gif
imho demand is there. only the price will keep on fluctuating. see video in youtube. some of the durian orchard owners have been planting it since 1980s. it’s a long term investment.
lopo90
post Aug 5 2018, 07:31 PM

695 posts

QUOTE(powerbarr @ Aug 5 2018, 06:04 PM)
imho demand is there. only the price will keep on fluctuating. see video in youtube. some of the durian orchard owners have been planting it since 1980s. it’s a long term investment.
Oh alright. Hows the durian business so far for you?
Chrisjie
post Aug 14 2018, 03:28 PM

Hi all sifus,

I'm a research student who is trying to venture into testing my treatment in tilapia model. Does anyone know the best farm where can I purchase tilapia fingerlings (~3 inches) for about 200 in quantity? And also, what's the expected/estimated selling price?

Not sure if this is the right place to ask, but I would definitely appreciate any help/insight.

Thanks. =)
Yveatel
post Aug 14 2018, 10:24 PM

880 posts

QUOTE(Chrisjie @ Aug 14 2018, 03:28 PM)
Hi all sifus,

I'm a research student who is trying to venture into testing my treatment in tilapia model. Does anyone know the best farm where can I purchase tilapia fingerlings (~3 inches) for about 200 in quantity? And also, what's the expected/estimated selling price?

Not sure if this is the right place to ask, but I would definitely appreciate any help/insight.

Thanks. =)
Afnan Aquaponic

Amoeba

Good Luck
LengluihunteR
post Aug 15 2018, 09:13 AM

235 posts

HI all, I am looking to explore an opportunity of exporting artemia to Australia however I have no experience in this industry at all as I am in the banking industry, based in Australia.

Source orginates from Vietnam/ China with the cold storage based in Malaysia.

I am looking for someone who has experience in this industry or have done something similar before to explore this further.

Please drop me a PM and we can go from there.

Yveatel
post Aug 15 2018, 09:52 AM

880 posts

QUOTE(LengluihunteR @ Aug 15 2018, 09:13 AM)
HI all, I am looking to explore an opportunity of exporting artemia to Australia however I have no experience in this industry at all as I am in the banking industry, based in Australia.

Source orginates from Vietnam/ China with the cold storage based in Malaysia.

I am looking for someone who has experience in this industry or have done something similar before to explore this further.

Please drop me a PM and we can go from there.
wow... good business in Australia eh... all the best!!

119 Pages « < 113 114 115 116 117 > » Top

0.0241sec    0.25    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 06:06 AM