Tech Enthusiast
1,865 posts

QUOTE(cloudwan0 @ Sep 6 2016, 12:38 PM)
if you aiming on hokkaido, i will suggest you take option 1
cheaper compare with shinkansen, if you buy early
less travel time

last year early of summer, i took option 2
but i cover tohoku area

taking shinkansen from tokyo to hakodate take about 5 hours, which is a very long time
QUOTE(electron @ Sep 8 2016, 01:55 PM)
Have you considered flying to Hokkaido and use a mix of train (around Sapporo, Otaru, Yoichi) and rental car (for area further like Asahiyama, Sounkyo, Biei, Furano, etc)
may make good sense if your travelling group has 2 person or more
Depending on what airline you use to get to Japan, you may be qualified to use their domestic promo fare (around 10k yen) which can work out to quite close to low cost airline depending on booking time and add ons
Anyway, you can stay at hotels around Haneda, more options at shorter distance compared to Narita

Just noticed that you are goind December. Driving there in December is not a good idea
Thanks for the input. In the end I've opted to go with flight (KL -> Haneda -> Chitose -> Haneda -> KL) via ANA. Got myself a pretty nice deal in total which is surprisingly cheaper too.

As a first timer to Hokkaido, would it be advisable to rail travel and stay at places (e.g. Asahikawa, Biei etc) during December ? Concern is more towards public transport services which may close early due to unforeseen weather conditions. Furthermore have to play around with the no. of days from the hokkaido rail pass to effectively travel around Hokkaido.

My current plan would be

Sapporo (3D2N) -> Asahikawa (3D2N) -> Otaru (2D1N) -> Hakodate (3D2N) -> Sapporo (1N) -> Tokyo

I'm still undecided on the traveling direction as Sapporo is smack in between the places I'm about to travel sweat.gif
sacwoc
post Sep 8 2016, 03:12 PM

306 posts

QUOTE(calvin @ Sep 8 2016, 04:08 PM)
Thanks for the input. In the end I've opted to go with flight (KL -> Haneda -> Chitose -> Haneda -> KL) via ANA. Got myself a pretty nice deal in total which is surprisingly cheaper too.

As a first timer to Hokkaido, would it be advisable to rail travel and stay at places (e.g. Asahikawa, Biei etc) during December ? Concern is more towards public transport services which may close early due to unforeseen weather conditions. Furthermore have to play around with the no. of days from the hokkaido rail pass to effectively travel around Hokkaido.

My current plan would be

Sapporo (3D2N) -> Asahikawa (3D2N) -> Otaru (2D1N) -> Hakodate (3D2N) -> Sapporo (1N) -> Tokyo

I'm still undecided on the traveling direction as Sapporo is smack in between the places I'm about to travel  sweat.gif
Not sure if you have purchased the ticket and if not, you can check what is the cost of flying out from Hakodate to Tokyo instead of you going back to Sapporo.
tinyback
post Sep 8 2016, 04:33 PM

QUOTE(electron @ Sep 8 2016, 02:10 PM)
are you into temples?
your time should be about right to see autumn colours
many great place to do that but mainly in Kyoto - Kiyomizudera and the area around it, Kinkakuji all the way to Arashiyama Bamboo Forest and the Sagano railway from there, the Ginkakuji to the Philosopher's Path, the Fushimi Inari, Uji, etc
Yes but we will be having time constrain because our trip is 5d4n.
So will really appreciate it if you can highlight which are the spots we shall place our priority.
Your advise will definitely make our trip more enjoyable.
electron
post Sep 8 2016, 05:32 PM

1,329 posts

QUOTE(calvin @ Sep 8 2016, 03:08 PM)

My current plan would be

I'm still undecided on the traveling direction as Sapporo is smack in between the places I'm about to travel  sweat.gif
For trip to Otaru, you can stay in Sapporo if you want to reduce checking in and out of hotel.
otherwise, you can pack a lighter luggage for Asahikawa and shipped your luggage to the destination which you are going after returning from Asahikawa using Ta-Q-Bin/Yamato for a small fee and inform the hotel ahead. They are usually ok to help you store the luggage and you can specify when you want the luggage to arrive at the hotel.
Since it will be winter, are you targetting any ski spots?
electron
post Sep 8 2016, 05:41 PM

1,329 posts

QUOTE(tinyback @ Sep 8 2016, 04:33 PM)
Yes but we will be having time constrain because our trip is 5d4n.
So will really appreciate it if you can highlight which are the spots we shall place our priority.
Your advise will definitely make our trip more enjoyable.
There will be a festival going on in Kyoto on the 22nd of October, the Jidai Matsuri.
It could be a interesting experience for you.

TSRegentCid
post Sep 8 2016, 06:30 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(electron @ Sep 8 2016, 04:32 PM)
For trip to Otaru, you can stay in Sapporo if you want to reduce checking in and out of hotel.
otherwise, you can pack a lighter luggage for Asahikawa and shipped your luggage to the destination which you are going after returning from Asahikawa using Ta-Q-Bin/Yamato for a small fee and inform the hotel ahead. They are usually ok to help you store the luggage and you can specify when you want the luggage to arrive at the hotel.
QUOTE(electron @ Sep 8 2016, 04:41 PM)
There will be a festival going on in Kyoto on the 22nd of October, the Jidai Matsuri.
Please quote all message you want reply and post under one.
calvin
post Sep 8 2016, 11:12 PM

Tech Enthusiast
1,865 posts

QUOTE(sacwoc @ Sep 8 2016, 03:12 PM)
Not sure if you have purchased the ticket and if not, you can check what is the cost of flying out from Hakodate to Tokyo instead of you going back to Sapporo.
i've already booked the ticket, so that option is out sad.gif overlooked that

QUOTE(electron @ Sep 8 2016, 05:32 PM)
I was planning to stay at Otaru for 2N, would that be a lot for that place ? unsure.gif

I have tried shipping luggage within Tokyo might look into this as well when I'm staying at Hokkaido. Would there be any restrictions if I brought luggage onboard limited express rail rides to my destinations (Asahikawa/Otaru/Hakodate) ? I've been to Ski at Niigata last winter, so this time would give it a pass smile.gif
electron
post Sep 9 2016, 08:52 AM

1,329 posts

QUOTE(calvin @ Sep 8 2016, 11:12 PM)
i've already booked the ticket, so that option is out sad.gif overlooked that
I was planning to stay at Otaru for 2N, would that be a lot for that place ? unsure.gif

I have tried shipping luggage within Tokyo might look into this as well when I'm staying at Hokkaido. Would there be any restrictions if I brought luggage onboard limited express rail rides to my destinations (Asahikawa/Otaru/Hakodate) ? I've been to Ski at Niigata last winter, so this time would give it a pass smile.gif
I think you meant 2D1N in Otaru? That should be ok, especially if you are arriving there later in the day. Gets dark earlier in the winter.
As for the luggage, my preference is to try not having to lug around too many bags if possible, especially the big ones. Sometimes, space for big luggage can get be limited especially on major tourist areas.

calvin
post Sep 9 2016, 01:22 PM

Tech Enthusiast
1,865 posts

QUOTE(electron @ Sep 9 2016, 08:52 AM)
I think you meant 2D1N in Otaru? That should be ok, especially if you are arriving there later in the day. Gets dark earlier in the winter.
As for the luggage, my preference is to try not having to lug around too many bags if possible, especially the big ones. Sometimes, space for big luggage can get be limited especially on major tourist areas.
it's 3D2N smile.gif as I would be traveling directly from Asahikawa to Otaru, and by the time reaching there would be late evening. Hence I slotted in a full day stay there for exploration smile.gif

As my next destination after Otaru would be Hakodate, so if i'm staying 2D1N and arriving late at Otaru would feel like more of a stopover than a visit sweat.gif

This post has been edited by calvin: Sep 9 2016, 01:24 PM
tinyback
post Sep 9 2016, 01:44 PM

QUOTE(electron @ Sep 8 2016, 05:41 PM)
Sifu please enlighten me. It is advisable to do as follow;

I have borrowed 2 ICOCA crads from my friend. I am thinking upon arrival at Kansai Airport I will proceed to top
up the cards with 3000 yen each and Board the Haruka Limited Express to Shin Osaka which cost 1360 yen. However if
I queue up at the counter to buy the discount trip ticket it only cost 1300 yen. The difference is only 60 yen. Is it worth the time to queue up?
Which I think it may take 30 minutes?

Your valuable advice is most appreciated.
TSRegentCid
post Sep 9 2016, 02:02 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(tinyback @ Sep 9 2016, 12:44 PM)
Sifu please enlighten me. It is advisable to do as follow;

I have borrowed 2 ICOCA crads from my friend. I am thinking upon arrival at Kansai Airport I will proceed to top
up the cards with 3000 yen each and Board the Haruka Limited Express to Shin Osaka which cost 1360 yen. However if
I queue up at the counter to buy the discount trip ticket it only cost 1300 yen. The difference is only 60 yen. Is it worth the time to queue up?
Which I think it may take 30 minutes?

Your valuable advice is most appreciated.
From Kansai Airport Station to Shin-Osaka Station
JR Limited Express ''Haruka'' Fare are 1300 Yen + 970 Unreserved Seat Fee + Tax = 2330 Yen Per Pax
JR Limited Express ''Haruka'' Fare are 1300 Yen + 1490 Reserved Seat Fee + Tax = 2850 Yen Per Pax

If you choose unreserve seat, You have to find empty seat by your own inside Unreserved seat coach. If that coach was full. You have to stand all the way to Shin Osaka Station. If you leave your seat to toilet or something else, other people can take over your seat. Even you got GF / WIfe / friend jaga seat for you also cannot. You leave your seat , other people can take over. This is rules in unreserved seat.

BTW, If you really ''Suey'' Cannot find a seat, you have to stand all the way. That 970 Yen fees really wasted.

Reserve seat will be standard seat with number. Standard biggrin.gif

JR ''Haruka'' train schedule was every 30 Minute one train leaving Kansai Airport Station.
If you saw the Q was long then don't waste time. Very common sense.

This post has been edited by RegentCid: Sep 9 2016, 02:14 PM
tinyback
post Sep 9 2016, 02:31 PM

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Sep 9 2016, 02:02 PM)
JR Limited Express ''Haruka'' Fare are 1300 Yen + 970 Unreserved Seat Fee  + Tax = 2330 Yen Per Pax
JR Limited Express ''Haruka'' Fare are 1300 Yen + 1490 Reserved Seat Fee  + Tax = 2850 Yen Per Pax

If you choose unreserve seat, You have to find empty seat by your own inside Unreserved seat coach. If that coach was full. You have to stand all the way to Shin Osaka Station. If you leave your seat to toilet or something else, other people can take over your seat. Even you got GF / WIfe / friend jaga seat for you also cannot. You leave your seat , other people can take over. This is rules in unreserved seat.

BTW, If you really ''Suey'' Cannot find a seat, you have to stand all the way. That 970 Yen fees really wasted.
Reserve seat will be standard seat with number. Standard  biggrin.gif

JR ''Haruka'' train schedule was every 30 Minute one train leaving Kansai Airport Station.
Sifu,

You mean when I opt for the unreserved seat JR Limited express "Haruka" I have to pay 1300 Yen + 970 yen + 2330 Yen
from KIX to Shin Osaka. Because I am having the impression that I only have the pay the fare of 1300 yen from KIX to Shion Osaka for the unreserved seat
JR Limited Express "Haruka".
Sorry I am a bit sorry to comprehend the fare computation.
TSRegentCid
post Sep 9 2016, 02:35 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(tinyback @ Sep 9 2016, 01:31 PM)
Sifu,

You mean when I opt for the unreserved seat JR Limited express "Haruka" I have to pay 1300 Yen + 970 yen + 2330 Yen
from KIX to Shin Osaka. Because I am having the impression that I only have the pay the fare of 1300 yen from KIX to Shion Osaka for the unreserved seat
JR Limited Express "Haruka".
Sorry I am a bit sorry to comprehend the fare computation.
2330 Yen are Final Price. 1300 Yen + 970 Yen + Tax = 2330
tryifelsecatch
post Sep 9 2016, 09:22 PM

474 posts

QUOTE(electron @ Sep 8 2016, 05:41 PM)
any idea what time the parade start and where to watch the parade better?
adix4
post Sep 10 2016, 09:30 AM

ich bin eine Katze :3
1,254 posts

JR Limited Express ''Haruka'' Fare are 1300 Yen + 970 Unreserved Seat Fee  + Tax = 2330 Yen Per Pax
JR Limited Express ''Haruka'' Fare are 1300 Yen + 1490 Reserved Seat Fee  + Tax = 2850 Yen Per Pax

is it always full? I mean the unreserved Haruka seat

im getting the kansai-hiroshima pass mega_shok.gif
tinyback
post Sep 11 2016, 02:30 PM

Now I am in dilemma over the travel itinerary to Osaka.
Due to time constrain we can only visit one place there is either Nara or Arashiyama.
I am in favour of Nara whereas my the other half is contending for Arashiyama.
Sifu sifu please help to overcome the impasse by highlighting the pro n con of the two
touristy spots.
rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
ryan18
post Sep 11 2016, 06:51 PM

2,406 posts

So many type of pass and so many train line(JR, private lines) lol
5D 4N trip to Osaka.plan to include Osaka City, Universal Studio, Kyoto and Nara

So need to get 2 type of pass right ? One by JR West( Kansai Area pass) and another maybe Amazing Osaka pass

Any hotel recommendation that can fit comfortably for 3 people.look around all the booking sites,and most rooms seems small.preferably near train stations(Umeda or Namba)
lencent
post Sep 11 2016, 08:34 PM

1,719 posts

Hi all, i will be travelling to Hokkaido from 3rd-4th week of October. Do you all think the flower farms in Furano and Biei still have anything to see? Worry that by the time it is already too cold and all the flowers ahve withered...
look416
post Sep 11 2016, 11:57 PM

167 posts

QUOTE(tinyback @ Sep 11 2016, 02:30 PM)
Now I am in dilemma over the travel itinerary to Osaka.
Due to time constrain we can only visit one place there is either Nara or Arashiyama.
I am in favour of Nara whereas my the other half is contending for Arashiyama.
Sifu sifu please help to overcome the impasse by highlighting the pro n con of the two
touristy spots.
rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
Nara -
close touch with deer,
most chilling place you will enjoy during your trip in Japan.

Arashiyama -
Bamboo forest,
togetsu bridge,
torokko/sagano sightseeing train,
hozugawa river boat trip.

QUOTE(ryan18 @ Sep 11 2016, 06:51 PM)
So many type of pass and so many train line(JR, private lines) lol
5D 4N trip to Osaka.plan to include Osaka City, Universal Studio, Kyoto and Nara

So need to get 2 type of pass right ? One by JR West( Kansai Area pass) and another maybe Amazing Osaka pass

Any hotel recommendation that can fit comfortably for 3 people.look around all the booking sites,and most rooms seems small.preferably near train stations(Umeda or Namba)
No need Kansai Area Pass or even Amazing Osaka Pass. Just ICOCA is good enough to cover you.
Reason:
1. Just going to Nara, Kyoto and Osaka doesnt justify the amount of money you pay for it since traveling between Nara, Osaka and Kyoto will be costing around 500 yen for one way trip. (Nara around 600 yen)
2. Amazing Osaka Pass contains a lot of promotion, however you dont have that luxurious time to go for all of it. At most, you will only get to enjoy one or two promotion from the pass itself.
Doesnt worth the money to get, especially you are only going for 5 day 4 night.
Recommend you just to focus on one place enough. Kyoto or Osaka itself is sufficient for you to enjoy for 5 days.

Accomodation
Last time, I used AirBnB. Its cheap and located in America Village, so very convenient for me to go anywhere. If you want, you can pm me for the details.

Universal Studio
Get the entrance ticket in Malaysia, its cheaper here then buying over there. Don't forget to buy express tickets as well. Its damn tiring if you have to spend long hours queuing. Be there early. I mean very early and go for those famous place first, like harry potter and the flying dinosaur.
deodorant
post Sep 12 2016, 12:09 AM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(lencent @ Sep 11 2016, 08:34 PM)
Hi all, i will be travelling to Hokkaido from 3rd-4th week of October. Do you all think the flower farms in Furano and Biei still have anything to see? Worry that by the time it is already too cold and all the flowers ahve withered...

I dunno about 3rd/4th week, but here was Furano/Biei in the 2nd week of Oct

(blogwh0re link)

14 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0295sec    0.76    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 07:26 AM