Travel Travel to Japan V9, Please Read Page 1 before you post

tinyback
post Sep 2 2016, 02:00 PM

My wife and I will be making a brief trip to Osaka (22nd Oct. to 26th Oct. 2016).

I have made a booking at Hotel Mystay in Shin Osaka.

This will be our first trip to Japan so will really appreciate feed back from you guys who have visited Osaka/Kyoto.

My prime concern is the accessibility of this hotel in term of travelling to Kyoto and down town Osaka.

We plan to have a day trip to Kyoto and another day around Osaka and reserve third day for shopping.

We know time is no at our disposal so please recommend or propose what are the places we shall visit.

tinyback
post Sep 2 2016, 02:53 PM

QUOTE(lyc1982 @ Sep 2 2016, 02:19 PM)
osaka has usj...kaiyukan...cup noodles museum...osaka castle...one day to visit all isn't possible...
same goes to kyoto

suggest to just stay within osaka and maybe a day trip to nara

It will be nice if we can set foot at Kyoto.

Any option for us. We do not mind skip places in Osaka.
tinyback
post Sep 2 2016, 03:59 PM

QUOTE(stinger @ Sep 2 2016, 03:35 PM)
not recommended as it will be a rush... shin osaka is not like our KL sentral, it is huge and crowded on mornings + you are expected to be blur for a while to get familiarized - by then you wasted some time.

If you truly want kyoto only, please sleep at Kyoto - it will save you alot of time.

P/S : once you reach Kyoto remember that you still need to take bus/subway to your destinations !
Edit : I have a question too, anyone experienced visiting Tokyo Disneyland a day before or after publc holiday at Japan? Or is that place 365 days same crowded like USJ?
Really appreciate your comments.

Tentatively my itinerary is as follow;

1st day Arrived Shin Osaka in the late afternoon
Have dinner and just wlak around the vicinity of the hotel

2nd day Go to Kyoto - Kiyomizu -Dera n surrounding
if time permits then Kinkakuji.

3rd Day First Half day In Nara - Todaiji Temple
- Deer Park
2nd half day Osaka/Fuhsimi Inari

4th Day Osaka - Shitennoji Temple
- Osaka Castle
- Shopping around Dotonbori or Shinsaibashi

5th Day Osaka - Morning walk around Shin Osaka
- Mid -day depart for Airport
- My flight departs at 4.30pm

Sifu please comment n recommend changes.

tinyback
post Sep 2 2016, 07:51 PM

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Sep 2 2016, 04:36 PM)
Tokyo Disneyland got low season. You can refer to my Tips of the months Excel Helicopter ride. Around July are less people. So less people until like ghost town.  Really depends luck.
Day 1 can visit Umeda Area for Dinner + Umeda Sky Building after dinner leisure time. Not far away from Shin-Osaka Station.  [[Take Midosuji Line Metro]]

Day 2 Go very early morning. Must reach Fushimi Inari before 8am.  Then Visit Kiyomizu -Dera. Last Kinkakuji.  Dinner at Nishiki Market.
After Dinner, have a peaceful walk near Sanjo Station.  Walk along river.  Supper at Famous Pontocho Alley.

Day 3 From Osaka Namba Station take Kintetsu Nara Line to Nara.  Make it Full Day.  Dinner at Namba area.

Day 4 No problem. Follow your plan as you wish.

Day 5.....Please Reach Kansai Airport 3 Hours before your flight.  2 - 5pm are Kansai Airport most busiest time.  Custom Q are extremely long.

Thank you very much for the valuable advise.
Justwish to enquire further as regards to the 2nd day's itinerary. Is it possible for us to cover so much and
have supper in Kyoto because we are putting up in Osaka.

Really look forward to your comments and adviice.

tinyback
post Sep 3 2016, 03:21 PM

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Sep 2 2016, 10:56 PM)
This is a good question. This JR Yamatoji Line start from Kamo Station all the way down to Tennoji Station. Then It will share using the JR Loop Line to Shin Imamiya Station.
Most of JR Yamatoji Line Train stop at Shin Imamiya Station.
Only ''Yamatoji Rapid Service'' JR Yamatoji Line Train continue from Shin Imamiya to Imamiya Station. This mean ''Yamatoji Rapid Service'' train will be start from Kamo Station to Imamiya Station.
Only ''Rapid Service'' will reach Namba Station from Kamo Station.
It can be done.  I done this way more than 200 times.
Last train leaving Kyoto Station to Shin Osaka Station are 00:15 [[JR Kyoto Line]]
Please Used Google Map. All Places start from Dinner to supper are very closed each other. All walking distant
Thank you very much. Your advice is of tremendous help to us. We faced a lot of hassle trying to draw up the itinerary.

Yes one last thing if you can oblige is the wifi connection in Osaka n Kyoto. We are considering whether to buy a sim card or rent a oocket Wi fi.
Actually we just need the bare minimum data to surf for locatons n direction.
Sifu your suggestion will be most appreciated.
tinyback
post Sep 5 2016, 09:48 AM

QUOTE(tinyback @ Sep 3 2016, 03:21 PM)
Thank you very much. Your advice is of tremendous help to us. We faced a lot of hassle trying to draw up the itinerary.

Yes one last thing if you can oblige is the wifi connection in Osaka n Kyoto. We are considering whether to buy a sim card or rent a oocket Wi fi.
Actually we just need the bare minimum data to surf for locatons n direction.
Sifu your suggestion will be most appreciated.
Need sifu's advice on the wifi requirement (e.g pocket wifi or sim card) in Osaka/Kyoto mainly for
navigational purposes or little of What's App.
Paiseh. tongue.gif icon_question.gif

tinyback
post Sep 7 2016, 10:15 AM

QUOTE(tryifelsecatch @ Sep 7 2016, 09:39 AM)
hi guys, 2 main questions need help please:
1. do most of you buy travel insurance when visiting japan? if so, which one?

2. travel method from airport to hotel and around kyoto/osaka. please let me know if this make sense.
- buy icoca + haruka combo from (http://www.westjr.co.jp/global/en/ticket/icoca-haruka/)
- reaching japan : use haruka to travel from KIX - kyoto hotel (kyoto station)
- during stay at japan : icoca card to travel around kyoto/osaka by subway, buses
- leaving japan : use haruka to travel from osaka - KIX
We are having the same idea as per your inquiry. Mind sharing your travel itinerary.

Our trip to Osaka is from 22nd to 26th Oct. 2016. This is our first trip to Japan

We are travelling in pair (my wife and me). Tentatively we had booked a hotel in Shin Osaka for the whole duration.

Really grateful if you do not mind sharing your idea and itinerary/planning. Thanks.
tinyback
post Sep 8 2016, 04:33 PM

QUOTE(electron @ Sep 8 2016, 02:10 PM)
are you into temples?
your time should be about right to see autumn colours
many great place to do that but mainly in Kyoto - Kiyomizudera and the area around it, Kinkakuji all the way to Arashiyama Bamboo Forest and the Sagano railway from there, the Ginkakuji to the Philosopher's Path, the Fushimi Inari, Uji, etc
Yes but we will be having time constrain because our trip is 5d4n.
So will really appreciate it if you can highlight which are the spots we shall place our priority.
Your advise will definitely make our trip more enjoyable.
tinyback
post Sep 9 2016, 01:44 PM

QUOTE(electron @ Sep 8 2016, 05:41 PM)
There will be a festival going on in Kyoto on the 22nd of October, the Jidai Matsuri.
It could be a interesting experience for you.
Sifu please enlighten me. It is advisable to do as follow;

I have borrowed 2 ICOCA crads from my friend. I am thinking upon arrival at Kansai Airport I will proceed to top
up the cards with 3000 yen each and Board the Haruka Limited Express to Shin Osaka which cost 1360 yen. However if
I queue up at the counter to buy the discount trip ticket it only cost 1300 yen. The difference is only 60 yen. Is it worth the time to queue up?
Which I think it may take 30 minutes?

Your valuable advice is most appreciated.
tinyback
post Sep 9 2016, 02:31 PM

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Sep 9 2016, 02:02 PM)
From Kansai Airport Station to Shin-Osaka Station
JR Limited Express ''Haruka'' Fare are 1300 Yen + 970 Unreserved Seat Fee  + Tax = 2330 Yen Per Pax
JR Limited Express ''Haruka'' Fare are 1300 Yen + 1490 Reserved Seat Fee  + Tax = 2850 Yen Per Pax

If you choose unreserve seat, You have to find empty seat by your own inside Unreserved seat coach. If that coach was full. You have to stand all the way to Shin Osaka Station. If you leave your seat to toilet or something else, other people can take over your seat. Even you got GF / WIfe / friend jaga seat for you also cannot. You leave your seat , other people can take over. This is rules in unreserved seat.

BTW, If you really ''Suey'' Cannot find a seat, you have to stand all the way. That 970 Yen fees really wasted.
Reserve seat will be standard seat with number. Standard  biggrin.gif

JR ''Haruka'' train schedule was every 30 Minute one train leaving Kansai Airport Station.
If you saw the Q was long then don't waste time. Very common sense.
Sifu,

You mean when I opt for the unreserved seat JR Limited express "Haruka" I have to pay 1300 Yen + 970 yen + 2330 Yen
from KIX to Shin Osaka. Because I am having the impression that I only have the pay the fare of 1300 yen from KIX to Shion Osaka for the unreserved seat
JR Limited Express "Haruka".
Sorry I am a bit sorry to comprehend the fare computation.
tinyback
post Sep 11 2016, 02:30 PM

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Sep 9 2016, 02:02 PM)
From Kansai Airport Station to Shin-Osaka Station
JR Limited Express ''Haruka'' Fare are 1300 Yen + 970 Unreserved Seat Fee  + Tax = 2330 Yen Per Pax
JR Limited Express ''Haruka'' Fare are 1300 Yen + 1490 Reserved Seat Fee  + Tax = 2850 Yen Per Pax

If you choose unreserve seat, You have to find empty seat by your own inside Unreserved seat coach. If that coach was full. You have to stand all the way to Shin Osaka Station. If you leave your seat to toilet or something else, other people can take over your seat. Even you got GF / WIfe / friend jaga seat for you also cannot. You leave your seat , other people can take over. This is rules in unreserved seat.

BTW, If you really ''Suey'' Cannot find a seat, you have to stand all the way. That 970 Yen fees really wasted.
Reserve seat will be standard seat with number. Standard  biggrin.gif

JR ''Haruka'' train schedule was every 30 Minute one train leaving Kansai Airport Station.
If you saw the Q was long then don't waste time. Very common sense.
Now I am in dilemma over the travel itinerary to Osaka.
Due to time constrain we can only visit one place there is either Nara or Arashiyama.
I am in favour of Nara whereas my the other half is contending for Arashiyama.
Sifu sifu please help to overcome the impasse by highlighting the pro n con of the two
touristy spots.
rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
tinyback
post Sep 13 2016, 10:52 AM

QUOTE(adix4 @ Sep 13 2016, 08:19 AM)
hey guys if you want to save on wifi rental can try WiYo

RM12/day at Japan (deposit rm200 later when return they bank in back to you)

already compared with pururu, global advance etc.

for 1 week

RM84 compared to renting at Japan RM2xx
Actually I am looking for portable wifi for my coming trip to Osaka in Oct 2016.
Can you please enlighten me by showing me how to rent the WiYo

Thank you very much. Sifu notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
tinyback
post Sep 18 2016, 02:43 PM

QUOTE(Lingthau @ Sep 18 2016, 02:15 PM)
Travelling to Kansai or Tokyo?
Envy you have so many days in Osaka/Kyoto. We are going on 22/10/2016 and
return on 26/10/2016 five miserable days. It's kind of rush. cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif

0.0284sec    0.71    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 12:07 PM