6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Popup ads while browsing LYN

ace-user
post Aug 26 2016, 12:18 AM

Easily Poisoned
2,154 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Aug 25 2016, 11:28 PM)
you guys might also want to check your Google Settings under go settings -- Google. if ad personalIzation not enabled, I suspect likely to get more such ads.
Mine is disabled.
preducer
post Aug 26 2016, 01:55 AM

2,839 posts

QUOTE(ace-user @ Aug 26 2016, 12:17 AM)
Yes I started getting these ads when I got my new nexus 6P back in June and now getting worst till the point I cannot tahan ady.
Can the mods please give us some clarification damn it?!
Refer back to wkkay's response.. I guess nothing much they are willing to do.
se7en
post Aug 26 2016, 03:14 AM

resistance is futile
Admin
1,806 posts

More information needed, we can pro-actively block the particular ad, but i haven't been able to reproduce the issue on my nexus and s7.

mydragoon
post Aug 26 2016, 06:21 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(se7en @ Aug 26 2016, 03:14 AM)
More information needed, we can pro-actively block the particular ad, but i haven't been able to reproduce the issue on my nexus and s7.
I think you need to try using a new device. disable Google ad personalization. and.. maybe use new amount on LYN since iinm, admin/ mod may have different views in the forum.
ace-user
post Aug 26 2016, 11:40 AM

Easily Poisoned
2,154 posts

QUOTE(se7en @ Aug 26 2016, 03:14 AM)
Should try it on new device with old Google account. The pop-up first appeared with I got a new nexus 6P and I immediately I was greeted with this pop-up in forum Lowyat. On my old OnePlus 2 never have this problem.
SUSAmeiN
post Aug 26 2016, 04:15 PM

★★★★★★★
4,735 posts

me used this browser, no problem

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?...x.browser&hl=en
ace-user
post Aug 26 2016, 06:55 PM

Easily Poisoned
2,154 posts

QUOTE(AmeiN @ Aug 26 2016, 04:15 PM)
The pop-up occurs with any browser without adblock.
ace-user
post Aug 28 2016, 09:51 PM

Easily Poisoned
2,154 posts

Hopefully Google will take action soon:
http://www.theverge.com/2016/8/23/12610890...nterstitial-ads
hirano
post Aug 29 2016, 12:09 AM

凸(`△´#)
3,335 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Aug 25 2016, 09:40 PM)
i use chrome on mobile, never had any popups.

cant help but find that part funny "because of four harmful viruses from recent adult sites."

but anyway, have u tried removing cookies?
I'm having this annoying popup ads on my phone everyday while surfing /k/. Also on chrome.

This is a new phone and i hardly surf anything else other than LYN forum and a manga site. Problem only occur on LYN.

This post has been edited by hirano: Aug 29 2016, 12:09 AM
degraw1993
post Aug 29 2016, 12:16 AM

1,892 posts

QUOTE(hirano @ Aug 29 2016, 12:09 AM)
I'm having this annoying popup ads on my phone everyday while surfing /k/. Also on chrome.

This is a new phone and i hardly surf anything else other than LYN forum and a manga site. Problem only occur on LYN.
What manga u reading right now?
ace-user
post Aug 29 2016, 11:10 AM

Easily Poisoned
2,154 posts

QUOTE(hirano @ Aug 29 2016, 12:09 AM)

I tried nearly every possible method and yet the problem will still appear after a few days. It's freaking frustrating.
GameSky
post Aug 29 2016, 11:11 AM

Nyancat too much
6,381 posts

just use TugaBrowser if using snapdragon phone.
https://www.androidfilehost.com/?w=files&fl...e&sort_dir=DESC
ace-user
post Aug 29 2016, 12:10 PM

Easily Poisoned
2,154 posts

Previously I mentioned that the pop-up only occurs on wifi, but now it occurs on mobile data as well. Only occurs on LYN forum, other websites are fine.
latte36
post Aug 29 2016, 12:38 PM

Lejen
2,748 posts

I just kena.

Using samsung stock internet browser.

Clear cache/data. Hope dont kena again.

My internet usage is 90% lowyat.net. unlikely kena from other website. I opened 1 thread and it popped.
Ryutaro
post Aug 29 2016, 12:46 PM

~ Just a noob programmer ~
545 posts

Out of curiosity I tried browsing /k/ using chrome browser on my Nexus as well and I did not encounter any popup ads.. Can you guys post more specific details such as the thread you went that causes popup ads to happen, the period you have been browsing until popup ads happen.

Example: 10 minute into browsing /k/ OR opening TM Unifi Highspeed Broadband thread OR it happen randomly
latte36
post Aug 29 2016, 12:52 PM

Lejen
2,748 posts

Just happened again. Argh. Annoying douuuu

Edit: seems like getting more severe. Almost every thread i open links me to that virus ad.

Even after posting this, i had a pop up..

On digi mobile data.

This post has been edited by latte36: Aug 29 2016, 12:55 PM

ace-user
post Aug 29 2016, 12:59 PM

Easily Poisoned
2,154 posts

QUOTE(Ryutaro @ Aug 29 2016, 12:46 PM)
Out of curiosity I tried browsing /k/ using chrome browser on my Nexus as well and I did not encounter any popup ads.. Can you guys post more specific details such as the thread you went that causes popup ads to happen, the period you have been browsing until popup ads happen.

Example: 10 minute into browsing /k/ OR opening TM Unifi Highspeed Broadband thread OR it happen randomly
It happens randomly, but once it starts happening, you can't get rid of it.
I've encountered this pop-up when accessing the LYN forum home page, Android section, nexus 6p thread, oneplus 3 thread, note 7 thread, S7 and S7edge thread.
There's no time frame to when it will happen, sometimes immediately, sometimes half way when I'm reading through a thread that it'll suddenly redirect me. So freaking annoying. Only happens at this forum.
ace-user
post Aug 29 2016, 01:01 PM

Easily Poisoned
2,154 posts

QUOTE(latte36 @ Aug 29 2016, 12:52 PM)
Just happened again. Argh. Annoying douuuu

Edit: seems like getting more severe. Almost every thread i open links me to that virus ad.

Even after posting this, i had a pop up..

On digi mobile data.
It will get more severe if u don't take action. there's no permanent fix but u can try this:
Reset advertising ID
Clear browser history and cookies
Wipe browser data and cache

It will stop the pop-up for a few days until it reappears again, but at least u'll have a piece of mind for a few days.
latte36
post Aug 29 2016, 01:07 PM

Lejen
2,748 posts

QUOTE(ace-user @ Aug 29 2016, 01:01 PM)
It will get more severe if u don't take action. there's no permanent fix but u can try this:
Reset advertising ID
Clear browser history and cookies
Wipe browser data and cache

It will stop the pop-up for a few days until it reappears again, but at least u'll have a piece of mind for a few days.
I just reset id.

Reason i opted to not use chrome was solely because of this...
mpyw
post Aug 29 2016, 01:08 PM

3,603 posts

I used to get that very often

then I download ghostery from playstore as my main browser for mobile and install their chrome extension to my desktop ... then all good, brows faster and best of all, NO ADS!

and it's FREE!

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0234sec    0.25    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 04:34 PM