Popup ads while browsing LYN

se7en
post Aug 26 2016, 03:14 AM

resistance is futile
Admin
1,806 posts

More information needed, we can pro-actively block the particular ad, but i haven't been able to reproduce the issue on my nexus and s7.

se7en
post Aug 29 2016, 01:57 PM

resistance is futile
Admin
1,806 posts

Update

After some digging, it looks like it was specifically targeted to certain devices, on the Mobile section only.

We have blocked some of the ads which could be used to push the pop up (thanks google for NOT filtering malicious ads)

Do let us know if its still appearing.
se7en
post Aug 30 2016, 11:06 AM

resistance is futile
Admin
1,806 posts

QUOTE(latte36 @ Aug 30 2016, 10:40 AM)
Happened to me in kopitiam and garage sale (mobile)
Same. Had 1 incident this morning while opening a mobile phone wts thread.
Can you try to clear/force close your Chrome browser and see if it still happens, i can no longer replicate the issue on my s7 after blocking out the malicious ads from adsense.

se7en
post Sep 5 2016, 12:29 PM

resistance is futile
Admin
1,806 posts

looks like they added more ads, and google still isn't blocking them.

Blocked the new ads, do let me know if it still happens.

se7en
post Sep 21 2016, 12:01 AM

resistance is futile
Admin
1,806 posts

its not limited to this website. the ads are somehow bypassing google's filters and affecting a lot of tech websites that have high mobile viewership. Its also targeted to specific phone models, so its really annoying to weed out.

Its similar to this attack last year https://blog.sucuri.net/2015/01/adsense-abu...g-campaign.html (thanks wkkay) however its now evolved to use html5 to avoid google's filters.
se7en
post Sep 22 2016, 11:36 AM

resistance is futile
Admin
1,806 posts

is it still happening? we are unable to reproduce it at the moment.
se7en
post Oct 6 2016, 02:48 PM

resistance is futile
Admin
1,806 posts

we are really struggling to find the offending ad that is causing the issue. They are becoming more difficult to find - primarily because it doesn't pop up in any of our devices.

If you are experiencing it, please help by posting a screenshot, or any information to the ad that was displayed just before the malware notification appears, and we should be able to block it. A screenshot would be awesome.

0.0203sec    0.19    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 10:42 PM