SBK V6, Everything two wheels
ZZR-Pilot
Jan 17 2017, 10:25 AM
QUOTE(billy_overheat @ Jan 17 2017, 11:02 AM) Guys, has anyone of you came across with the sides of having a steering stabilizer aka damper on your bike? Normal road use with patches and holes? There are totally different opinions regarding this. Steering dampers are used by serious or competitive riders to address the issue of tank slappers, which happens when the bike is ridden hard i.e. on the racetrack. But most people buy steering dampers simply because it looks cool. Nampak gempakkkk... padahal ride gi kerja je. Decide which category you belong to, then only decide whether or not you should cough up blood for an Ohlins one or a cheapo China one... or save the money for your children's education.
sanosizo
Jan 17 2017, 10:35 AM
your hands are good enough to be the steering damper for normal riding.
sanosizo
Jan 17 2017, 10:40 AM
QUOTE(ZZR-Pilot @ Jan 17 2017, 10:18 AM) Sambung bayar is ridiculous. You're paying so much money every month for a bike that isn't even yours, which also has insurance implications. Another stupid move is buying cheap Singapore or Thai bikes, bila jadi apa-apa terpaksa bikin fraud tipu itu tipu ini. Some people angan-angan besar mau pakai motor hebat, tapi budget ketat. In the end, beli motor besar last-last mampu guna weekend je... itu pun kadang2... because cannot afford the running cost, which is always the killer surprise to big bike ownership. Hutang loan satu hal, tambah lagi insurans & roadtax pastu tambah lagi running cost... after 3 years samada sendiri tak tahan atau tak tahan bini membebel, terus jual motor tu... Kalau duit berkepuk, syabas. Pejam mata, pilih motor & bayar.....  beli moto dengan loan, lepas tu pasang aksesori sana sini. cukup setahun kena renew roadtax/insurans, tukar tayar sepasang baru rasa realiti sebenar pakai big bike. beli boleh, bela belum tentu.
ciwi1166
Jan 17 2017, 10:56 AM
QUOTE(sanosizo @ Jan 17 2017, 10:40 AM) beli moto dengan loan, lepas tu pasang aksesori sana sini. cukup setahun kena renew roadtax/insurans, tukar tayar sepasang baru rasa realiti sebenar pakai big bike. beli boleh, bela belum tentu. typical thing is straight tukar ekzos after keluar kedai.
Quazacolt
Jan 17 2017, 11:04 AM
QUOTE(ciwi1166 @ Jan 17 2017, 10:56 AM) typical thing is straight tukar ekzos after keluar kedai.  Ekjos expensive and noisy
billy_overheat
Jan 17 2017, 11:04 AM
QUOTE(Hades76 @ Jan 17 2017, 10:10 AM) From my limited knowledge, steering dampers is to prevent tank slaps, because it makes turning the handle bars a little harder. Some steering dampers can be adjusted of course. Patches and holes dont really affect the dampers unless you hit the patches and holes at speed at your handlebars slap violently. I have done some research and there are some China ones ( universally fitted, so on so forth ) but dont know if they are really good. Ohlins cost an arm and a leg. In the end abandoned the idea as its too expensive for me. Steering is something I dont trust a China made product too, if you know what I mean. Just my dua sen. QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jan 17 2017, 10:21 AM) Apido Malaysia  Not cip cip  Yeah, I want that to avoid any loosening my hands of the handle grip once I hit the hole, which it just happened last week and I broke my rim. It was one hell of a frightening experience and luckily I managed to grip it back and avoided the tankslapping thingy. I saw apido too and wondering about the quality. Many said we don't need it for normal road use. While some said, install it first and who knows you might need it one day.
Hades76
Jan 17 2017, 11:05 AM
Bukan "loud pipes saves lives" kah ? LOL....muahhahhaha
Hades76
Jan 17 2017, 11:11 AM
QUOTE(billy_overheat @ Jan 17 2017, 11:04 AM) Yeah, I want that to avoid any loosening my hands of the handle grip once I hit the hole, which it just happened last week and I broke my rim. It was one hell of a frightening experience and luckily I managed to grip it back and avoided the tankslapping thingy. I saw apido too and wondering about the quality. Many said we don't need it for normal road use. While some said, install it first and who knows you might need it one day. Well bro, you also have to weigh in the cost of the dampers and how often you get this "pothole" experience. This will affect your steering so be carefull what you do with it as it will affect your handling of the bike on the move.
adibyusoff
Jan 17 2017, 11:17 AM
berubah lah kepada electronic steering damper....
Quazacolt
Jan 17 2017, 11:30 AM
QUOTE(billy_overheat @ Jan 17 2017, 11:04 AM) Yeah, I want that to avoid any loosening my hands of the handle grip once I hit the hole, which it just happened last week and I broke my rim. It was one hell of a frightening experience and luckily I managed to grip it back and avoided the tankslapping thingy. I saw apido too and wondering about the quality. Many said we don't need it for normal road use. While some said, install it first and who knows you might need it one day. Actually is the other way around, the more you try to correct and fight with the bike /death grip your handle bars, the easier it is to worsen a tank slapper /high side. I personally installed on my R25 because of how I ride.
Quazacolt
Jan 17 2017, 11:31 AM
QUOTE(Hades76 @ Jan 17 2017, 11:05 AM) Bukan "loud pipes saves lives" kah ? LOL....muahhahhaha Tak mampu
ciwi1166
Jan 17 2017, 11:36 AM
QUOTE(Hades76 @ Jan 17 2017, 11:05 AM) Bukan "loud pipes saves lives" kah ? LOL....muahhahhaha true to some extent. i used to ride both bikes with stock exhaust, vs full on with powerbomb. with the later cars slightly give way when u are approaching from far, means u got notice by from distant. concept is prevent mishap before it happen, rather than saving ur life during tragedy.  but that being said, still got cars who blast out loud music or wearing earphones during driving, which even loud exhaust wont help.
Cyphereza
Jan 17 2017, 12:14 PM
Jedi Catâ„¢
QUOTE(ciwi1166 @ Jan 17 2017, 10:56 AM) typical thing is straight tukar ekzos after keluar kedai.  Add more rice... tukar ekzos murah... fuel consumption naik & power loss, yapping kuat nyer minyak moto ni... QUOTE(ciwi1166 @ Jan 17 2017, 11:36 AM) but that being said, still got cars who blast out loud music or wearing earphones during driving, which even loud exhaust wont help. This, we need to use our left thumb...
Quazacolt
Jan 17 2017, 12:23 PM
QUOTE(Cyphereza @ Jan 17 2017, 12:14 PM) Add more rice... tukar ekzos murah... fuel consumption naik & power loss, yapping kuat nyer minyak moto ni... This, we need to use our left thumb... Just unplug the exhaust entirely straight pipe
billy_overheat
Jan 17 2017, 12:37 PM
QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jan 17 2017, 11:30 AM) Actually is the other way around, the more you try to correct and fight with the bike /death grip your handle bars, the easier it is to worsen a tank slapper /high side. I personally installed on my R25 because of how I ride. Indeed, but my hands were totally off the handle bar and I was just like, touched it rather than gripping/correcting it. Will a damper mitigate the tankslapping thing? What do you mean by how you ride? How do you ride? Lol
Quazacolt
Jan 17 2017, 12:40 PM
QUOTE(billy_overheat @ Jan 17 2017, 12:37 PM) Indeed, but my hands were totally off the handle bar and I was just like, touched it rather than gripping/correcting it. Will a damper mitigate the tankslapping thing? What do you mean by how you ride? How do you ride? Lol So far never experienced tank slapper. I new rider, dunno how to ride, so got as precaution.
billy_overheat
Jan 17 2017, 01:04 PM
QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jan 17 2017, 12:40 PM) So far never experienced tank slapper. I new rider, dunno how to ride, so got as precaution. I see. There's another friend of mine asked me not to buy any cheapo damper as it will cause more harms than good for the handling. Apido, goody or nah-uh? Lol Btw, which bike are you riding now? Feeling much better?
Quazacolt
Jan 17 2017, 01:27 PM
QUOTE(billy_overheat @ Jan 17 2017, 01:04 PM) I see. There's another friend of mine asked me not to buy any cheapo damper as it will cause more harms than good for the handling. Apido, goody or nah-uh? Lol Btw, which bike are you riding now? Feeling much better?  I think it's ok. Read previous post.
monaz
Jan 17 2017, 06:55 PM
Ohlins on my bikes - my Duc still a little tank slap alike when power wheelie during corner exit at track. Maybe from front end setting. - great stability when high speed. I never put my weight on bars. Yes.. I go 299 on speedway - no any handling issues when hitting objects, spikes, small potholes etc - if you are used with damper you are like counter steering so much when on bike without damper
snowberry
Jan 18 2017, 01:15 PM
guys anyone here ride sbk to work or not?
is it possible? lol