43 Pages « < 29 30 31 32 33 > » Bottom

[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V12!

terence_nwb
post Dec 20 2016, 10:17 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(1234567AZX @ Dec 20 2016, 05:56 PM)
Hello PC master race sekalian, I need your help. Can help to suggest the best rig for my price range? Requirements are as per below:

Budget: RM4k, stretchable till 4.5k

Purpose: Gaming, video editing, 3d modelling, online, watching movies, torrenting, but mostly gaming

Reused hardware: I already have a keyboard and mouse. That's all lol. I'll need to buy everything else, including a new monitor. Don't need speakers at the moment, I got a headset.

Personal preference: Don't need all those flashy fancy stuff. As long as the engine under the hood is a V8, I couldn't be bothered if it looks like a proton outside. An SSD would be nice.

Thanks!
Intel Core i5 6500 - RM 902
Asus B150M-A - RM 372
Corsair 16GB (8GB x 2) DDR4 2133MHz Value RAM - RM 458
Palit GTX1060 6GB GDDR5 Dual - RM 1229
Kingston SSDNow UV400 240GB SSD - RM 315
Seagate Barracuda 1TB HDD - RM 219
Superflower Leadex Silver 550W - RM 359
Tecware Alpha - RM 229
BenQ GW2270H - RM 389

Total: RM 4472 (ETech price inclusive of GST)
terence_nwb
post Dec 21 2016, 09:03 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(richard1226 @ Dec 21 2016, 04:20 AM)
Going to build a new rig [NEW] and upgrade my brother's one [OLD] at the same time

[Budget]
[BOTH] - Total around RM10K

[Purpose]
[OLD] - A refresh on the hardware since it was 6 years from the last upgrade, might as well change it all
[NEW] - This new one is for intense multitasking, game dev and gaming on highest settings possible for 3-5 years into the future

[Hardwares that will be re-use]
[OLD] - Keyboard and speaker system

[Monitor resolution]
[BOTH] - 1080p (60Hz or above 144Hz?)

[Personal preferences]
[NEW]
MB - ??
CPU - INTEL CORE I7-6700 3.4GHz
PSU - ??
GPU - NVIDIA GTX 1060 6GB DDR5/1070 8GB DDR5
RAM - 2 X 8GB DDR4
STORAGE - 256/512GB SSD + 2TB HDD
COOLING - ??
CHASIS - ??
MONITOR - ??
KEYBOARD/MOUSE - ??
AUDIO - ??

[OLD]
MB - GIGABYTE GA-H10-HD3 (ATX)
PSU - SUPER FLOWER LEADEX GOLD 550W
GPU - GIGABYTE NVIDIA GTX 1060 3GB DDR5 G1 GAMING
RAM - CORSAIR 8GB DDR4 VALUE 2133MHz
STORAGE - WESTERN DIGITAL CAVIAR BLUE 1TD HDD
CHASIS - COOLER MASTER CM 690 III
MOUSE - DELL MS116 WIRED USB MOUSE
MONITOR - DELL 22" E2216H

*Won't be including OS since I have the ISOs and the "methods"

[Location]
Klang

It was a long time since I've done research and building PC so I may be abit confused and wrong about my current preferred build. Hoping sifus can help suggest the preferred build on the [NEW] one. TQVM!
The [OLD] rig will cost roughly 4.5k+ to upgrade, so you left 5.5k for the [NEW] rig.

I will just use the [OLD] rig specs as comparison and reference, change to GTX1060 3GB to full specs 6GB model, add in a 250GB SSD and get a decent 1080p60 IPS monitor then it will hit your budget limit already.
terence_nwb
post Dec 21 2016, 05:05 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(richard1226 @ Dec 21 2016, 05:01 PM)
For the [NEW] Rig, I was actually on the fence between the 1060 and the 1070. 1080 is way beyond the budget so it's out of the table. So say I'm future proofing the rig for 1080p gaming, is it worth getting the 1070 or the 1060 is just enough?

For the [OLD] Rig, originally it wasn't supposed to have that much replacement, like the monitor, but since their hardware is outdated and damaged, so I had to replace them as well.

Finally is there any way I can reduce the cost for both Rig without sacrificing any performance?
GTX1060 is more "friendly" towards your budget, if you are gaming on a single 1080p60 monitor then GTX1060 should perform marginally well.

To maintain the performance (both CPU and GPU), you can downgrade the PSU, get a cheaper casing and cheaper mobo (like mATX).
terence_nwb
post Dec 21 2016, 10:33 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(richard1226 @ Dec 21 2016, 05:49 PM)
Re-edited the specs and add in some little bits of optional if I ever wanted to get it:

[NEW]
MB - GIGABYTE GA-H170M-D3H (MATX)
GPU - GIGABYTE NVIDIA GTX 1060 6GB DDR5 G1 GAMING (OR 1070 8GB DDR5)
RAM - 2 X CORSAIR 8GB DDR4 VALUE 2133MHz
STORAGE - SAMSUNG 850 PRO 256GB (OR 512GB) SSD + WESTERN DIGITAL CAVIAR BLUE 2TB HDD
CHASIS - CORSAIR AIR 240 BLACK
KEYBOARD/MOUSE - STEELSERIES RIVAL 300 + STEELSERIES APEX 350
AUDIO - STEELSERIES SIBERIA 200
WEBCAM(?) - LOGITECH HD PRO WEBCAM C920

[OLD]
MB - GIGABYTE GA-H170M-D3H (MATX)
GPU - GIGABYTE NVIDIA GTX 1060 3GB DDR5 G1 GAMING
RAM - CORSAIR 8GB DDR4 VALUE 2133MHz
STORAGE - WESTERN DIGITAL CAVIAR BLUE 1TD HDD
CHASIS - CORSAIR CARBIDE 88R
MOUSE - DELL MS116 WIRED USB MOUSE

So is it way over the budget (Total RM10k) or should I reduce it more?
Based on my rough calculation, the total cost is around 11k for the parts/items/specs listed.

Get the normal 850 EVO instead of PRO and switch the WD Blue 2TB HDD to Seagate Barracuda 2TB (faster due to 7200 RPM and price is basically cheaper or the same), you may consider changing the i7 6700 to i5 6500 for the [OLD] rig, enough to power up that GTX1060 3GB model. You may also consider getting a cheaper variant of GTX1060, I will only consider those GTX1060 3GB models with price tag of below 1k, why? Basically because it is a trimmed down version of the full specs GTX1060 6GB and spending extra few hundred of bucks for just a "not-so-future-proof" 3GB model is not worth my money at all sweat.gif

QUOTE(Steven7 @ Dec 21 2016, 08:48 PM)
That's what I read too but somehow for instance, Infinite Warfare and Rise of Tomb Raider 1080p medium = overheat and auto restart. I always kept good care of it, just replaced TIM and cleaned its fan, somehow it can't handle these 2016 games. And I don't think it aged too much as I didn't even use it to mine BTC despite its high suitability.
Are you sure it is overheat and not PSU problem? Try to install some temperature monitoring software and track the temperature in real time if you haven't done so/or not confirm yet.
terence_nwb
post Dec 22 2016, 02:28 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(PrincZe @ Dec 22 2016, 12:37 AM)
guys , advice please.

i am looking at NZXT S340 BLACK Compact ATX Mid Tower Casing

does this fit the cooler for ID-cooling frostflow 240L?

Case :
Fan Support
Front: 2x 140/2x120mm
Top: 1x 140/120mm (1 x 120mm FN V2 Fans Included)
Rear: 1x 120mm (1 x 120mm FN V2 Fan Included)

Cooler :
http://www.eteknix.com/id-cooling-frostflo...-cooler-review/
Radiator Support:
Front - 2 x 140 or 2 x 120mm
Rear - 1 x 120mm

Front intake is possible while top exhaust is impossible.

QUOTE(clement7621 @ Dec 22 2016, 12:38 AM)
Sorry I forgot to add it , should be a PC build , is it possible?
Just rig? If yes then 3GB variant is possible, 6GB one will need some minor top up to your budget.

Asus H110M-K - RM 253
Corsair 8GB DDR4 2133MHz Value RAM - RM 229
FSP Hexa+ 550W - RM 188
Tecware F3 - RM 125

Total: RM 3145 (ETech price inclusive of GST)
terence_nwb
post Dec 22 2016, 02:38 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(eddmecha @ Dec 22 2016, 12:31 PM)
Hi guys can anyone quote me price for building a rig for Video editting( adobe premier) ,budget would be around 3k(max)
Thanks in advance notworthy.gif
Intel Core i7 6700 - RM 1402
Asus B150M-A - RM 372
CM Elite Power 350W - RM 126
Tecware F3 - RM 125

Total: RM 3017 (ETech price inclusive of GST)

Another possible build would be i5 + low end dedicated Nvidia GPU (most likely GTX1050 2GB) to enable GPU hardware acceleration (CUDA) support in Adobe Premier Pro.

QUOTE(derkoo9074 @ Dec 22 2016, 01:14 PM)
hi sifus, need some suggestions for brand new rig with a budget of 3k
purpose: main for gaming (dota 2 "smooth enough for highest setting if possible) & movie

P/S: is there any shop accept payment by installment?
Yes quite a few shops do accept installment via Maybank Credit Card like ETech and DotaTech (if not mistaken, the duration is 6 or 12 months, please check with them).

Asus H110M-K - RM 253
Zotac GTX1050Ti 4GB GDDR5 Mini - RM 729
FSP Hexa+ 450W - RM 169
Tecware F3 - RM 125

Total: RM 2941 (ETech price inclusive of GST)
terence_nwb
post Dec 22 2016, 07:31 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(5p3ak @ Dec 22 2016, 03:57 PM)
With the latest AMD ReLive Drivers out is it still worth to buy GTX 1060 6GB/3GB over RX 480/470? unsure.gif
Why not when the pricing is correct (or better than each other)? tongue.gif
terence_nwb
post Dec 22 2016, 08:24 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(derkoo9074 @ Dec 22 2016, 08:16 PM)
thank you thumbup.gif  shall check with them over the installment thingy.
one more question, is wifi adaptor included in the rig? i don't think i will be using the usb cable laugh.gif
Not included, need to buy separately and it's not USB cable, it's Ethernet cable biggrin.gif
terence_nwb
post Dec 22 2016, 09:24 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(derkoo9074 @ Dec 22 2016, 09:12 PM)
haha thanks for the correction tongue.gif
so any suggestion for that? biggrin.gif
If quality doesn't matter (but budget does) then cheap TP-LINK TL-WN722N will do (less than RM 50), it is a single band (2.4GHz) adapter, if your router supports dual band (2.4GHz and 5GHz) please top up more for a better dual band adapter.
terence_nwb
post Dec 23 2016, 02:36 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(nerozx2 @ Dec 22 2016, 10:51 PM)
Is there any GTX1060 models to introduce? Found some reviews still can't get a decision.  :confused:
So far I found PALIT GeForce® GTX 1060 Dual 3GB is quite cheap compare to the other model, is it a good to go?
Or others' 6gb version more preferable?
If you are on a tight budget then just get the cheapest available model. 3GB contains ~90% of the full specs 6GB variant, if you can fork out extra few hundred then the 6GB variant will be more preferred (more VRAM).

QUOTE(toomanyrulez @ Dec 23 2016, 12:10 AM)
Hi, recommend me gc for me running the Bluestacks to play games in it.
I'm running bluestacks but laggy at times when play games. My cpu will max at 100% when I start to play games.
My specs:
Intel Pentium G3220, 3.00GHz (Haswell) cpu
4GB ram (4GB x1)
FSP Hexa+ 550 Watt psu

Currently don't have any gc, just using what's in G3220 cpu. Is it becoz of the lack of it or my cpu is quite weak?

Btw, it is not bluestacks, when I play like flash games, like games on facebook, my cpu also will max at 100%
I just wanna make sure it is my lack of gc that causes this, before I go and buy it.
BlueStacks is about emulation (emulator of a virtual Android device), so you need a stronger CPU, i5 and better is recommended. And add another 4GB RAM if possible.
terence_nwb
post Dec 23 2016, 07:17 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(toomanyrulez @ Dec 23 2016, 05:06 AM)
Is it really of my cpu? Not the gc? I need to confirm this..
It doesn't use GPU AFAIK as it is a pure virtual Android device emulator, I tested it on a Pentium Core 2 Duo PC before with GTX650Ti installed and the result was a constant full 100% CPU usage and basically the emulator itself was lagging like crazy, everything was in slow motion, swapped to a modern i5 4460 and the problem solved.

This post has been edited by terence_nwb: Dec 23 2016, 07:17 AM
terence_nwb
post Dec 24 2016, 11:08 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(cle900706 @ Dec 23 2016, 03:22 PM)
hi guys, need recommendation for rig only. 3.5k
need for rendering and gaming
Asus H110M-K - RM 253
Kingston SSDNow UV400 120GB SSD - RM 203
FSP Hexa+ 550W - RM 188
Tecware Alpha - RM 229

Total: RM 3452 (ETech price inclusive of GST)
terence_nwb
post Dec 24 2016, 11:13 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(linkinawe @ Dec 24 2016, 02:37 AM)
Please suggest a rig for me

Usage : for programming , need high processor speed (no need GPU)

Hardware needed
1. Casing
2. SSD 250GB
3. PSU
4. Mobo
5. 8GB DDR4 x 2
6. Intel Processor

Budget 3k. Thanks
Intel Core i5 6500 - RM 1412
ASRock H170 Pro4 - RM 432
FSP Hexa+ 450W - RM 169
Tecware Alpha - RM 229

Total: RM 3015 (ETech price inclusive of GST)
terence_nwb
post Dec 25 2016, 11:39 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(asunakirito @ Dec 25 2016, 12:18 PM)
Do you mean Intel Core i7 6700 - RM 1412?
i5 6500 should cost around RM900.
Yup sorry.

QUOTE(cle900706 @ Dec 25 2016, 03:18 PM)
if going with i7?
You can swap the i5 with i7 directly with top up of RM 500+/-.
terence_nwb
post Dec 26 2016, 11:41 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(PortgasDerekAce @ Dec 26 2016, 05:58 AM)
Hi guys I have limited budget so please go easy on me

[Budget] MYR1~1.5k

[Purpose] Gaming, web browsing, Spotify, YouTube

[Hardwares that will be re-use] I already have headset, mouse, monitor, and keyboard

[Monitor resolution]

[Games & softwares that use frequently] Chrome with multiple tabs, ran online GS multiple instance, autohotkey(scripted auto keyboard software), Garena heroes of newerth, dota2

[Personal preferences] processing speed and able to support heavy multitask, new gen hardware
Intel Core i3 6100 - RM 520
Asus H110M-K - RM 253
FSP Hexa+ 450W - RM 169
Tecware F3 - RM 125

Total: RM 1515 (ETech price inclusive of GST)

i3 might suit you more, another build would be Pentium G4400 with low end GPU which packs of CPU processing power, use the iGPU (HD530) for gaming first, should be able to handle well in low or medium settings, add a dedicated GPU later when you have more funds (The PSU included in the build list should be able to power up the upcoming GPU without changing it again).

QUOTE(Speedodevo @ Dec 26 2016, 09:32 AM)
Good morning sifus

Is there any 2560x1440 IPS monitor with G-Sync? Around 27 inch? Budget 3-5k

Acer XB271HU or ViewSonic XG2703-GS, price is around 3.2k.
terence_nwb
post Dec 26 2016, 11:52 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(iguana_dude_619 @ Dec 26 2016, 10:26 AM)
[Budget] RM4k or 4.5k

[Purpose] Video Rendering & some gaming OW, Skyrim, & some rpg

[Hardwares that will be re-use] headset, mouse, monitor, and keyboard

[Monitor resolution] 1080p

[Games & softwares that use frequently] Adobe Premiere

[Personal preferences] Dont mind med-low setting.
Intel Core i7 6700 - RM 1412
Asus B150M-A - RM 372
FSP Hexa+ 550W - RM 189
Tecware Alpha - RM 229

Total: RM 4423 (ETech price inclusive of GST)

QUOTE(clement7621 @ Dec 26 2016, 12:08 PM)
Question here..... I was given a pc build with the specs

i5 6500
GA B150 D3H
Kingston DDR4 2133mhz 8gb
Gigabyte GTX 1060 3GB
Seagate Barracuda 1TB 7200rpm
FSP 550W
Tinytech TB015BR casing

So, is the motherboard overkill for this rig ? I asked for H110M series and they say gaming on this motherboard is a waste, thought ? Due to budget problem, should i choose gtx1050ti over this graphic card? Anything need to be changed? Please gv some advice , thanks!
Not overkill nor overkill, different mobo chipsets offer different onboard features, if you don't need the extra functionalities of B150 (form factor, RAM slots, SATA slots etc) then H110 will be enough. If your budget cannot fit GTX1060 3GB then you will have to downgrade to GTX1050Ti 4GB, PSU can be downgraded to 400W (true power unit) to save some money if you go for this way.
terence_nwb
post Dec 27 2016, 08:51 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(clement7621 @ Dec 27 2016, 12:44 AM)
So it should game fine on the H110M ? Do you this recommend Fsp PSU or could be better ?
Gaming on H110 is completely fine, it won't affect gaming performance, you only get lesser onboard features.

You can consider adding more budget or downgrade the 240GB SSD to 120GB SSD to cater the cost of a more decent PSU like Superflower Leadex Silver/Gold or EVGA SuperNova G2.
terence_nwb
post Dec 27 2016, 08:47 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(Davidtcf @ Dec 27 2016, 12:16 PM)
[Budget] RM2-3k

[Purpose] Gaming, Document editing (Word, Excel etc), browsing/home use

[Hardwares that will be re-use] Samsung 18.5" FHD LED Monitor, 1TB Hard drive, 2GB DDR3 RAM x 4 (shall I get a new hard disk and RAM? both used for >6 years), DVD writer/reader, keyboard & mouse. Shall I reuse my Core i5 processor? specs: Intel Core i5 750 2.66GHz 8MB 4.8G

[Monitor resolution] 1366 x 768

[Games & softwares that use frequently] Steam games, lots of it. Wanting to try out new games like Fallout 4, Witcher 3, Rise of Tomb Raider

[Personal preferences] will stick to SATA rather than SSD due to budget.

[Location] will be heading to PJ Digital Mall to clone the rig.

Reason for buying: suspect my current desktop's PSU died on me, can't boot up to Windows 10 (just a red light at MOBO even after many tries). Decided to get a new computer instead since this one giving me lots of issues (BSODs, crashes, sudden reboots etc) after upgrading to Windows 10 (got conned by the free update). Have been using it for >6 years (ATI 5850 card, Core i5, 8GB RAM)

thanks for the recommendations in advance  notworthy.gif
Those games listed by you are quite CPU demanding, so a full revamp is recommended.

Intel Core i5 6500 - RM 909
Asus H110M-K - RM 271
Corsair 8GB DDR4 2133MHz Value RAM - RM 255
MSI GTX1050Ti 4GB GDDR5 OC - RM 765
HDD reuse
Corsair VS450 - RM 169
Thermaltake Versa H25 - RM 169

Total: RM 2538 (Jayacom price inclusive of GST)

You will need a new Windows OS license key if your current key is an OEM key because it is not transferrable to new mobo.
terence_nwb
post Dec 27 2016, 09:02 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(yuuhi @ Dec 27 2016, 04:31 PM)
[B][Budget] RM2.5k

[Purpose] Gaming, Online gaming, Home use

[Hardwares that will be re-use] Logitech wireless keyboard & mouse combo

[Personal preferences] would like to play fallout 4, the witcher, battlefield 1 on at least medium settings, if possible

[Location] selangor

please help sifu,
or is this one here good enough??

http://www.idealtech.com.my/store/index.ph...price&order=ASC
CPU: Intel Core I3 6100
MOBO: GIgabyte H110M-WW
RAM: GSKill AEGIS 8GB DDR4 2133mhz
GPU: Gigabyte GTX1050 2GB DDR5
PSU: FSP HEXA+ 550W PSU
Case: SHarkoon VG4-W RED
SSD: Samsung 750 EVO 120GBS SSD
HDD: WD 1TB Caviar Blue HDD
WIFI: Tplink TL-WN727N 150mbps USB
The specs should be fine for medium settings (1080p), but you are advised to drop the SSD and use the extra fund to get a better CPU or GPU since SSD can be added later.

QUOTE(loobrother @ Dec 27 2016, 05:09 PM)
[Budget] RM1.5k

[Purpose] Dota2 , Home use

[Hardwares that will be re-use] Monitor, Graphic Card (Asus GTX 560), Harddisk

Doable?
Intel Core i3 6098P - RM 479
Asus H110M-K - RM 253
GPU reuse
Kingston SSDNow UV400 120GB SSD - RM 216 <optional>
HDD reuse
FSP Hexa+ 550W - RM 188
Segotep Gank II - RM 179

Total: RM 1544 (ETech price inclusive of GST)
terence_nwb
post Dec 29 2016, 06:38 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(Tabris995 @ Dec 28 2016, 07:07 PM)
[B][Budget] 2k

[Purpose] Gaming, Browsing, Streaming, Movies

[Hardwares that will be re-use] Monitor EW2240HZ,  Zotac GTX 750ti, Keyboard & Mouse

[Games & softwares that use frequently] Dota 2, Firefox

[Personal preferences] Intel Core i5 with SSD no need HDD for now

[Location]Subang Jaya
Intel Core i5 6500 - RM 913
Asus H110M-K - RM 271
Corsair 8GB DDR4 2133MHz Value RAM - RM 255
Kingston SSDNow UV400 120GB SSD - RM 219
Corsair VS550 - RM 219
Segotep Fighter C - RM 159

Total: RM 2036 (Techview price inclusive of GST)

43 Pages « < 29 30 31 32 33 > » Top

0.1061sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 01:58 AM