43 Pages « < 27 28 29 30 31 > » Bottom

[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V12!

terence_nwb
post Dec 12 2016, 09:29 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(suju2403 @ Dec 12 2016, 06:58 PM)
mmm.. i see then    biggrin.gif

i thought i was only for itx mobo.. haha..

then i may consider Asrock H110M - HDV (DDR4/mATX) then.. its cheaper too...

about my cooler should i go cryorig M9I or CM blizzard T2 (cheaper) / cm Xdream I117 (cheapest) - i look the price ad idealtech website though.  i know its pricey there but just incase i use max price so later if there is leftover money i can add up something.. hehe

is there any consequences of using cheaper cooler ? dunnow what to consider in choosing types of cooler actually.  hmm.gif  hmm.gif
Stock cooler will do for ultimate money saving, cheap cooler performs almost the same as stock cooler and doesn't seem to worth my money.
terence_nwb
post Dec 13 2016, 09:45 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(irangan @ Dec 13 2016, 01:41 AM)
[Budget] RM5k to 6k

[Purpose] Mainly for works and sometime games like Diablo 3 and Civ 6. Using a gaming laptop now. Want to replace my old desktop rig.

[Hardwares that will be re-use] Monitor and some old HDD

[Monitor resolution] 1920 x 1080

[Personal preferences]

Spec
Processor        INTEL SKYLAKE CORE I7-6700K PROCESSOR 1,570.00
Motherboard ASUS H170 PRO GAMING SOCKET 1151 MAINBOARD 583.00
Ram                G.SKILL AEGIS SERIES 16GB DDR4 2400MHZ 501.99
SSD                SAMSUNG 850 EVO M.2 250GB SOLID STATE DRIVE 460.00
HDD                WESTERN DIGITAL 3.5” 1TB 7200RPM 64MB SATA III (WD1003FZEX) 374.00
GPU                ASUS GEFORCE GTX 1060 DUAL 6GB GDDR5 192BIT 1,286.00
PSU                Silverstone Strider Gold S-Series 750W Power Supply ST75F-GS 529.00
Casing        NZXT SOURCE 530 FULL TOWER CHASSIS  405.00
Cooler        NOCTUA NH-U12S CPU COOLER FOR AMD & INTEL 299.00
                                                                                Total 6,007.99

Need opinion on these. Which one on my preferences are overkill and not needed? I wish to lower down my budget to 5k if possible.
[Location] KL

Thanks in advance
Few ways to save money:

1. Get 6700 instead of 6700K if you don't plan to overclock (recommended for your budget and usage).
2. Get Value RAM with 2133MHz speed instead of spending money on high performance RAM (like 2400MHz) which eventually will get downclocked to 2133MHz automatically due to lack of support from chipset (only Z170 supports > 2133MHz).
3. Get a SATA based SSD instead of M.2 unless clearance is an issue, you can save up to RM 150 by going back to SATA form factor.
4. Not necessary need to get 750W, a decent 500W is more than enough for your specs.
5. Aftermarket CPU cooler is not needed for your build (assuming you are going to get 6700).

QUOTE(lolzcalvin @ Dec 13 2016, 07:42 PM)
You cannot use the 6700K processor on H170 mobo. Only Z170 mobo is compatible with LGA1151 unlocked (K) processors.
You can use i7 6700K on H170 mobo, just cannot overclock, meaning it will run on stock 4.0GHz speed (4.2GHz turbo single core).
terence_nwb
post Dec 13 2016, 09:51 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(black_goat @ Dec 13 2016, 10:52 AM)
Dear sifus, here is my planning
[Budget] 1.5k

[Purpose] web surfing, home use, gaming

[Hardwares that will be re-use] HDD, speaker, keyboard and mouse, monitor(optional/might as well buy new ones within this budget)

[Games & softwares that use frequently] google chrome, dota 2

Can i get build suggestions with or without monitor for both 1150 and 1151 cpu socket.

[Location]Batu Pahat, Johor.
The price difference between LGA1150 and LGA1151 is very small and it is not easy to find any new LGA1150 hardware in the market now so I will just use LGA1151 as reference for the build list.

Intel Pentium G4400 - RM 240
Asus H110M-K - RM 253
Corsair 8GB DDR4 2133 Value RAM - RM 229
Palit GTX1050 2GB GDDR5 StormX - RM 565
FSP Hexa+ 450W - RM 166
Tecware F3 - RM 125

Total: RM 1578 (ETech price inclusive of GST)

QUOTE(char_les @ Dec 13 2016, 12:12 PM)

Please do provide the following info while posting

[B][Budget]

[Purpose]Counter Strike - Global Offensive (main)

[Hardwares that will be re-use]
- PSU - Gigabyte - Odin 500w
- Samsung Sync Master 931 BW @ 2ms
- Casing

[Monitor resolution]
- High – 1440 x 900
- Low – 800 x 600

[Games & softwares that use frequently]
Steam, BT Thunder, Counterstrike - Global Offensive, fallout, some FPS games like modern warfare.

[Personal preferences] -

[Location] Kuala Lumpur

Proposing ~

CORE i5-6402P  738
MSI - B150M Mortar Arctic 487
Kingston DDR4 4GB  129
ASUS EX GTX1050 - 2GB/128bits 659
Harddisk 1TB  219

2361 / (+-2400)

Is this setup ok ? or is there anything better ?
Thinking to run on existing Windows 7 only.
Get a cheaper mobo and upgrade the GPU to GTX1050Ti instead.
terence_nwb
post Dec 13 2016, 11:42 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(_x_ @ Dec 13 2016, 10:32 PM)
Is it possible to get a 1060 3gb  in a 2k build?

[B][Budget] - 2k

[Purpose]

[Hardwares that will be re-use]
monitor,mouse and keyboard.

[Monitor resolution]
1080p

[Games & softwares that use frequently]
Skyrim, gta5, portal 2
Not possible, even if it fits, it is likely to be bottlecked by the CPU because you can only fit a low end CPU (like dual core G4400) to cater the cost for a GTX1060 3GB. GTX1050Ti is a more appropriate choice.
terence_nwb
post Dec 14 2016, 08:49 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(black_goat @ Dec 14 2016, 12:53 AM)
Thanks a lot for the reply. I thought new LGA1150 hardware still widely available and might be cheaper than LGA1151. So I'll use this as reference. Thanks again.
CPU and LGA1150 mobo are harder to find now since it is long obsoleted (1 year already), DDR3 RAM still widely available though, what you can find is leftover stock but price difference is small (non-existent in some models doh.gif ), so just get onboard with Skylake or the upcoming Kaby Lake if you can wait (should be launching soon, maybe next month).
terence_nwb
post Dec 14 2016, 09:28 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(game4life @ Dec 14 2016, 08:51 AM)
Hey guys, i just want to ask whether it is worth it to upgrade my rig to i7? Whats the cheapest option to upgrade?

My current specs are
I5  2400
8gb ram
Gtx 1060
Seasonic s12ii 620w
What makes you feel like going for an i7 upgrade? Getting poor performance in games?

The cheapest option is to find an used i7 3770 (or new unit but chances are very low since it is long obsoleted and discontinued).
terence_nwb
post Dec 14 2016, 09:41 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(_x_ @ Dec 14 2016, 09:35 AM)
Noted. Do suggest a rig appropriate with the budget please. Thanks in advance!
Intel Core i3 6098P - RM 475
ASRock H110M-HDV - RM 245
Corsair 8GB DDR4 2133MHz Value RAM - RM 229
Palit GTX1050 2GB GDDR5 StormX - RM 565
Seagate Barracuda 1TB HDD - RM 219
FSP Hexa+ 450W - RM 166
Tecware F3 - RM 125

Total: RM 2024 (ETech price inclusive of GST)

If you have HDD to re-use, then you can upgrade to GTX1050Ti 4GB (around RM 750+/-).
terence_nwb
post Dec 14 2016, 11:12 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(Speedodevo @ Dec 14 2016, 11:03 AM)
i forgot to reply, is there any TN panel with super low latency such as 1, 2, 3 ms below stated budget for 24inch?  biggrin.gif
Yes please look for Acer G246HL (1ms TN), around RM 600+/-.
terence_nwb
post Dec 14 2016, 07:04 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(zacktan @ Dec 14 2016, 06:55 PM)
hi terence, can the RAM be upgraded to 16gb? can the rig support it?
im only using for net surfing, watching movie..

Yes, max is 32GB for this board.

QUOTE(thelung @ Dec 14 2016, 07:01 PM)
Hello sifus..

My fren just bought this Gigabyte GTX 970 G1 Gaming.. unfortunately he cant fit it in his current case doh.gif  doh.gif .. could anyone suggest a budget case for this GC?

would <RM 250 do for this purpose? icon_question.gif

thank you!
Looking for which form factor?
terence_nwb
post Dec 14 2016, 07:52 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(afeeqo120 @ Dec 14 2016, 07:17 PM)
RM3700 budget can get i7 + gtx 1070 in itx form factor?

only need cpu,gpu,mobo,psu,hdd,casing.

Things that could re-use old FSP 500W not confident if it have enough juice and reliability cos of age. Also hdd could be re-used but also age.

Old pc have been using 4-5 years I think, time for an upgrade. Any help is much appreciated thanks!
Not possible, PSU and HDD must be in re-use list to make it happen, this is because i7 6700 and cheapest GTX1070 already cost RM 1.4k and RM 1.8k respectively, you left RM 500 for the rest of the parts (8GB RAM + cheapest mITX mobo will take all the budget left) sweat.gif

QUOTE(thelung @ Dec 14 2016, 07:36 PM)
hello terrence.. i think his mobo is standard atx form.
Tecware Alpha then (around RM 220), nice looking case with plenty of clearance available for long GPU.
terence_nwb
post Dec 14 2016, 07:55 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(jajaosyaz @ Dec 14 2016, 07:40 PM)
can anyone suggest me below RM3K mATX gaming desktop consist of this,

i5 processor & gtx 1050 ti

Thanks! rclxms.gif
Just the rig or whole set?
terence_nwb
post Dec 14 2016, 08:46 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(jajaosyaz @ Dec 14 2016, 07:58 PM)
The whole set please
Intel Core i5 6402P - RM 764
Asus H110M-K - RM 253
Zotac GTX1050Ti 4GB GDDR5 Mini - RM 729
FSP Hexa+ 450W - RM 166
Tecware F3 - RM 125
BenQ GW2270H - RM 389
Logitech MK200 Wired Combo - RM 65

Total: RM 2939 (ETech price inclusive of GST)
terence_nwb
post Dec 14 2016, 08:47 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(MagnificM @ Dec 14 2016, 08:41 PM)
are the prices for all 3 mentioned AIO coolers above around the same prices ? around 500++ ?
Nope, Cryorig A40 is the cheapest, then Corsair H100i then NZXT X52.
terence_nwb
post Dec 14 2016, 11:08 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(jajaosyaz @ Dec 14 2016, 10:02 PM)
What if just the rig. RM3k for only the rig, + wifi card please. Thanks!  rclxms.gif
2 different builds if going this way.

1. GTX1060 6GB
2. GTX1060 3GB + 120GB SSD

First option will give you more frame rates in games.

Intel Core i5 6402P - RM 764
Asus H110M-K - RM 253
Palit GTX1060 3GB GDDR5 Dual - RM 930
Kingston SSDNow UV400 120GB SSD - RM 203
FSP Hexa+ 550W - RM 188
Tecware F3 - RM 125
TP-LINK TL-WN722N USB WiFi - RM 45

Total: RM 2956 (ETech price inclusive of GST)

QUOTE(Speedodevo @ Dec 14 2016, 10:28 PM)
please recommend a full modular psu for i5 6500, gtx 1060 build

cheaper, reliable is better biggrin.gif
The cheapest option should be Superflower Leadex Silver 550W (RM 359, 3 years warranty).

Other recommended options are:
1. Superflower Leadex Gold 550W - RM 429 (5 years warranty)
2. EVGA Supernova 550 G2 - RM 459 (7 years warranty)
terence_nwb
post Dec 15 2016, 08:53 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(xrain87 @ Dec 15 2016, 02:25 AM)
Hi Sifu.. I need some advise regarding my spec.

Budjet around RM 7.3k Max

Part I need to buy (Motherboard, Processor, GC)
Purposed to used for Gaming , some Work (Illustrator/Photoshop)
Monitor : Dell Ultrasharp U2417H (1080p Gaming Resolution)

I got 2 options in my mind :-

First :
i7-6700k
Asus Maximus Formula (1151)
Asus GTX 1080 OC

Second :
i7-6800k
Asus Rampage 10 (x99)
Asus GTX 1070 OC
1) Which options good for my next upgrade ?? (currently i use i5-2500k, gtx 560Ti, Asus p8p67-Pro motherboard)
2) I really need gtx 1080 for gaming ?? or 1070 will be good enof ?? (seem like for now i gonna use it for play game at resolution 1080p)
3) i7-6700k and i7-6800k ?? big different ?? Should i stay 1151socket ? or upgrade to x99 ??

Help me sifu sad.gif .. dilemma... everynight ... keep watch youtube/forum.. really cant help me make my decision. either first (1) option / second (2) option
i7 6800K requires mild overclocking to match the single core performance of i7 6700K thanks to the higher stock clock speed of 6700K, if the apps/games you use is heavy on single core (or single threaded) then 6700K will pull ahead of 6800K in stock speed, 6800K will edge out only when multithreaded operation/process is involved.

If you plan to play games on 1080p resolution only then don't spend too much on GPU, there are various videos showing resolution bottleneck symptoms (1080p) on high end Pascal card on YouTube (like Digital Foundry), you are strongly recommended to DSR to push more graphics details and better image render in games when going for GTX1070/GTX1080 (or higher).
terence_nwb
post Dec 15 2016, 10:44 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(xrain87 @ Dec 15 2016, 10:17 AM)
Thank brother for explanation.

my purposed use for work, not really required high end processor to work on.
I just use Illustrator, Photoshop for my work.

So in ur own opinion for my problem now.. I should go for i7-6700k right ? (work well on both gaming and workstation ?)

regarding GPU, yea currently i will stay on 1080p monitor.
Seem 4k monitor just to new in market, abit expensive to me.
Maybe i will wait couple year 1~2 year more then just spend on 4k monitor.
So i  should get GTX 1080 ?? play awhile with my 1080p monitor, while waiting my 4k monitor ??

I got a silly question / and idea..

should i get gtx 1070 for now.. use it for 2 year until i planning get 4k monitor.
Then that time i resell my gtx 1070 and get better GC at the moment to support my 4k monitor ??

or i just get gtx 1080 for now ? while waiting my 4k monitor. ??
If you don't plan to overclock at all, then i7 6700 is enough (can save up to RM 1000 since no need to get expensive Z170 + decent 3rd party CPU cooler + performance RAM).

As for GPU, GTX1060/GTX1070 is enough for 1080p for now, the highest end cards (like GTX1080/Titan X Pascal) in the market are still not fully qualified as 4K UHD card (too much compromise), wait for next gen card instead for 4K UHD gaming.
terence_nwb
post Dec 15 2016, 11:34 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(xrain87 @ Dec 15 2016, 11:23 AM)
Thank you brother. again for reply me.

brother, this really a silly question.

If.. i get the x99 motherboard now.
possibly the next gen processor release (maybe 3~4 year coming up)..
this motherboard x99 (2011-3) still will support next gen processor ??

take as example .
Kabylake and Cannonlake.

so which socket very convenience to use for now? ( i mean easy to upgrade processor in the future time)
1151 or x99 ?

Sorry for silly >, < question.

Just to research as much i can, so i wisely make my decision before spend my money biggrin.gif  rclxms.gif
No, next gen Intel Core i7 Extreme Series CPU (Skylake-X and Kaby Lake-X) will use LGA2066 socket, so Broadwell-E will be the last supported CPU on this socket.

LGA1151 is the mainstream CPU socket (for normal consumer), it supports Skylake (current 6th gen) and the upcoming Kaby Lake CPU (7th gen), performance gain between each generation is very low (at least for Intel CPU) so you don't really need to upgrade year by year unless you are too rich to donate the money to Intel laugh.gif

terence_nwb
post Dec 15 2016, 11:53 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(xrain87 @ Dec 15 2016, 11:43 AM)
hahaha xD

So if go for LGA2011 for this upgrade, abit like wasted right ?? unless go with i7-6900k (totally not in my budjet lolz... )

So LGA1151 still the best buck for upgrading for Game and work purposed right ??

Somemore AMD Zen aroudn the corner too..
If i keep thinking want to get best perfomance processor + GC ..
Forever i can't be able to upgrade... coz technology wont stop , will keep release better and good processor and GC ..
I think i just stick to my original plan i7-6700k + good mobo for OC .

Then brother.. 1 more thing ..
Asus Strix gtx 1080 haf release 2 type card :-
1 is Advance
1 is OC type

Price quite abit diff alot , around RM 250~300+

what the diff for this 2 ?? Good enof to go for Advance ??
Is it this advance will do pretty well on OC same like the other card (OC ?)

If was you.. which u will pick ? Advance (A8G) or OC (O8G) ??
Picking LGA2011-3 socket won't be a waste, you get what you pay for, it is still a beastly CPU platform with supreme overclocking ability, the performance gain per generation is too small to convince me for an upgrade from the previous generation.

The only noticeable difference is just the clock speed (couldn't find anything apart from this), Asus is really an expert in how to overcharge their customers doh.gif

terence_nwb
post Dec 15 2016, 12:25 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(xrain87 @ Dec 15 2016, 12:04 PM)
hmm really hard to decide now.

meanwhile sometime i thinking about get LGA2011-3 with i7-6800k .. just OC it + with gtx 1070
meanwhile sometime i thinking just stick to my original target upgrade .. LGA1151 with i7-6700k and go for gtx 1080 .. then slowly saving to get my 4k monitor.

as u say just now gtx 1080 still not fully qualified for UHD 4k monitor at the moment.
what you think if i upgrade my current spec to :-

LGA 2011-3 with i7-6800k (will overclock it)
and get GTX 1070 at the moment.

Maybe after 2 year + i resell back my GC + topup abit my money..
get 4k monitor + Latest GC that qualified to support 4k monitor ...

for overclock i7-6800k,
I think my current CPU Cooler, can help it ?
for now in my current rig, i use Corsair H110i-v2
Sounds like a good plan to me smile.gif

But SLI (and CF/multi GPU config) has a lot of issues currently, it doesn't always guarantee good scaling sweat.gif

This post has been edited by terence_nwb: Dec 15 2016, 12:26 PM
terence_nwb
post Dec 16 2016, 08:40 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(sonyfanzz @ Dec 15 2016, 10:46 PM)
hi,what is the lowest cost to build a rig of i5 6500+ rx480/1060 or i5 6500 +1070 ?
Lowest cost build consists of lowest end H110 mobo + 8GB DDR4 RAM (standard value RAM) + 1TB HDD (no SSD) + entry level true power 500W PSU + cheapest variant of GTX1060 6GB/RX480 8GB/GTX1070 8GB.

For i5 6500 + GTX1060 6GB/RX480 8GB, it will cost around 3.3k+/-.

For i5 6500 + GTX1070, it will cost around 3.8k+/-

QUOTE(Leon be here now @ Dec 16 2016, 07:10 AM)
This DSR, is just a software thing right? no need gsync monitor?
are you recommending for people with normal 1080 monitor, just get gtx1060 and push DSR for best bang/buck rather getting gtx1070
Yes, DSR is Nvidia's technology (AMD equivalent is VSR), you don't need a GSYNC monitor to enjoy this feature, activate it in NCP or NGE.

GTX1060 is a 1080p card so unless the games is really well-optimized, I wouldn't recommend you to use DSR (max out in games graphics settings instead of playing with higher resolution), GTX1070 (and higher) will benefit more from it on a FHD panel.

43 Pages « < 27 28 29 30 31 > » Top

0.0250sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 08:06 PM