43 Pages « < 26 27 28 29 30 > » Bottom

[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V12!

terence_nwb
post Dec 6 2016, 12:20 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(Lumiaaa @ Dec 6 2016, 12:00 PM)
[Budget] RM 3500 - 4500

[Purpose] Gaming, design work

[Hardwares that will be re-use] keyboard mouse, monitor

[Monitor resolution] 1080p, will get a second 1440p monitor in the future (dont include in my budget)

[Games & softwares that use frequently] Adobe CC software - Premire Pro, After Effects, Lightroom, Cinema 4D

Games - GTA V, Battlefield 1, CS GO, Dota 2

[Personal preferences] need SSD, i7 CPU
can gtx1060 run 1440p with minimum 30fps at high

how much is a single GTX 1060 and is it ok if I add another 1060 and SLI it next year
1060 cannot SLI?

What if I go for 1070 compare the price
Forget about SLI, SLI support from games developers is quite terrible and discouraging currently, only few big titles support it and not all of them have good scaling ratio, you might end up with a handicapped second GPU sitting inside your case doing nothing or only utilizing part of its power to render the games. Higher end single card is more preferred and it is the way to go if you want to game at high resolution, you don't have to worry about the SLI support and scalability, nor need to get a SLI ready mobo and PSU in return for multi GPU configuration support by going for single high end card (like GTX1080).

And yes GTX1060 doesn't support SLI.

Intel Core i7 6700 - RM 1399
Gigabyte H170-HD3 (D4) - RM 446
Corsair 16GB (8GB x 2) DDR4 2133MHz Value RAM - RM 458
Palit GTX1060 6GB GDDR5 Dual - RM 1219
Kingston SSDNow UV400 240GB SSD - RM 315
Seagate Barracuda 1TB HDD - RM 205
FSP Hexa+ 550W - RM 188
Tecware Alpha - RM 229

Total: RM 4459 (ETech price inclusive of GST)

Prepare at least RM 600+ more for GTX1070 8GB (add more if you want to include a better PSU/casing etc.)

terence_nwb
post Dec 7 2016, 08:34 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(tzai86 @ Dec 6 2016, 10:36 PM)
Hi sifus, need help to suggest a gaming rig. biggrin.gif

[Budget] RM4000-4500

[Purpose] Gaming (BF1, Overwatch and etc)

[Hardwares that will be re-use] Monitor, keyboard, mouse & RAM

[Games & softwares that use frequently] BF1 & Overwatch, COD series

[Personal preferences] Prefer Nvidia cards
RAM to reuse? What model is that? (DDR3/DDR4/speed/model name etc.)

QUOTE(Lineage @ Dec 7 2016, 05:50 AM)

My friend is looking to upgrade his monitor to better 1..he is interested to AOC Agon AG322FCX..

In order to use this monitor, what GPU he need to use to fully utilize the monitor?
This monitor supports FreeSync out of the box so a compatible AMD GPU with FreeSync support will be able to benefit from it, something like RX480/470/R9 Fury will do (or wait for RX490/upcoming Vega for Nvidia GTX1070/GTX1080 equivalent card).
terence_nwb
post Dec 7 2016, 10:13 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(tzai86 @ Dec 7 2016, 10:02 AM)
4GB X 3 DDR4 Kingston. Please quote including RAM as well. Thank you.  notworthy.gif
So you got 4GB x 3 DDR4 RAM to reuse and the build list doesn't have to include any new RAM quotation right? (I assume yes)

Intel Core i7 6700 - RM 1399
Gigabyte B150M-D3H (D4) - RM 379
Kingston 12GB (4GB x 3) DDR4 <unknown speed> RAM - reuse
Gigabyte GTX1060 6GB GDDR5 Windforce - RM 1319
Kingston SSDNow UV400 240GB SSD - RM 315
Seagate Barracuda 1TB HDD - RM 205
EVGA Supernova 550 G2 - RM 459
Tecware Alpha - RM 229

Total: RM 4305 (ETech price inclusive of GST)

GTX1070 is possible if you downgrade the PSU. If your DDR4 RAM is > 2133MHz (i.e. 2400MHz), it will be automatically downclocked to 2133MHz due to chipset limitation.
terence_nwb
post Dec 7 2016, 02:45 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(hanhanhan @ Dec 7 2016, 12:34 PM)
Hi, I'm super computer unsavvy as I  haven't change my computer for maybe around 5-7 years (even the internal battery died and have to set the clock everytime i on my computer.

Plan that it's time to change computer and maybe can play some newer games (i'm still on windows XP).

Please let me know what is what in your recommendation (eg HARD DISK - Kingston SSDNow UV400 240GB SSD) as I can't identify with the brand names and technical specs.. can't tell the difference between a RAM and CPU.

[Budget] below 3k

[Purpose] stream movies (non HD), play some new games (not required to be uHD or best settings)

[Hardwares that will be re-use]
mouse
keyboard
monitor (using HDTV)
speaker (using cheap 2.1 speaker)
not sure if i can reuse my HDD (please advise whether to get new one or retain current one which is about 5-7 years old)

[Monitor resolution] using 32 inch HDTV (i think full HD compatible)

[Games & softwares that use frequently] planning to play some newer games but no need to be highest settings

[Personal preferences] energy saving/electric saving (got such thing?), using only 2.1 sound system so no need so canggih sound card. Can use budget more on the graphic card. need to upgrade windows to latest /best windows. honestly i don't know what's the latest 'stable' windows as i've been using win xp until today.

[Location] PJ

Well, Kingston SSDNow UV400 240GB SSD isn't a Hard Drive, it is a Solid State Drive biggrin.gif

Intel Core i5 6402P - RM 769 [CPU]
Asus H110M-K - RM 271 [Motherboard]
Corsair 8GB DDR4 2133MHz Value RAM - RM 238 [RAM]
Zotac GTX1050Ti 4GB GDDR5 Mini - RM 729 [GPU]
HDD can re-use
Corsair VS450 - RM 169 [PSU]
Tecware Alpha - RM 199 [Casing]

Total: RM 2375 (Techview price inclusive of GST)

SSD can be added if you need it (not included in the build list, OS as well).

Windows 10 is the latest stable OS from Microsoft, Home OEM key costs around RM 250+/-, there are two standard Windows 10 version, Home and Pro (search online for the difference), as well as OEM and retail, OEM key is cheaper but not transferable to another PC and vice versa.
terence_nwb
post Dec 7 2016, 02:51 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(black_goat @ Dec 7 2016, 12:49 PM)
I would like to have some minor upgrade my pc in terms of adding more ram and changing the cpu cooler. My current rig is:

Intel core i5 3570k
Asus P8Z77 V-LK
Kingston Hyperx 1866Mhz 8gb 1.5V
Gtx 750ti 2gb
Cooler master Elite 500W
Armageddon T7 case

For the cpu cooler to I would like to change from stock to ID cooling FrostFlow240L, and adding another 1866Mhz 8gb ram as well. So my concerns are will the cooler fit in case/mobo and do I need to upgrade my psu as well?
Upon checking, your casing doesn't seem to have any mounting point for CPU AIO water cooler radiator, so you will need to change the casing as well (unless you mod the casing which can be a little bit troublesome).

Others can keep.

QUOTE(hellman44 @ Dec 7 2016, 01:14 PM)
Hai totally new to all of these pc stuff

My budget is 3k

For purpose is gaming and watch movies
Mostly game
Rig only or full set (including monitor and other peripherals)?
terence_nwb
post Dec 7 2016, 03:42 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(hanhanhan @ Dec 7 2016, 03:28 PM)
tq for the quick reply.

I'm guessing no requirement for sound card as it's using the motherboard sound card?

How important is buying a new casing, is there cheaper casing or can i reuse my existing casing?
Yes will use onboard sound card, it is decent enough for 2.1 speaker (most of the onboard sound card now supports 5.1 and 7.1 out of the box).

What's your current casing model? If it is a very old/aged casing with PSU installation location on top then I strongly recommend you to go for a new casing instead.
terence_nwb
post Dec 8 2016, 08:39 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(soket @ Dec 8 2016, 12:23 AM)
[Budget] 1.5k

[Purpose] web surfing, home use, minor pic editing and pic storage

[Hardwares that will be re-use] monitor (non-HD), speaker, keyboard and mouse

[Monitor resolution] 1366 x 768

[Games & softwares that use frequently] google chrome  laugh.gif

[Personal preferences] win 10 Home, energy saving (if possible)

[Location] Ampang
DotaTech is located in Ampang, but I couldn't find the price for certain parts, nevertheless, I will just state a build that should be well within your budget.

Intel Pentium G4400
Any cheap H110 mobo (mATX preferred as it is cheaper)
8GB DDR4 2133MHz Value RAM
1TB HDD
Low wattage PSU
Casing

If the Windows 10 key that you are able to find locally is cheap then you can use the extra money to upgrade the G4400 to i3 6098P/6100.

This post has been edited by terence_nwb: Dec 8 2016, 08:40 AM
terence_nwb
post Dec 8 2016, 08:47 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(Nostalgia @ Dec 8 2016, 01:55 AM)
[Budget] RM3-3.5k

[Purpose]Gaming (high usage), internet surfing, movies, music and general usage etc

[Hardwares that will be re-use] Monitor, speakers, mouse & keyboard

[Monitor resolution] Currently 1920 x 1080

[Games & softwares that use frequently] League of Legends, World of Warcraft, Hearthstone, Overwatch, Google Chrome, Firefox, Microsoft Office, etc

[Personal preferences] None

[Location] Petaling Jaya, Selangor

Pls recommend me something  smile.gif
Intel Core i5 6500 - RM 908
Asus H110M-K - RM 253
Corsair 8GB DDR4 2133MHz Value RAM - RM 229
Palit GTX1060 6GB GDDR5 Dual - RM 1229
Kingston SSDNow UV400 120GB SSD - RM 203
Seagate Barracuda 1TB HDD - RM 219
FSP Hexa+ 550W - RM 188
Tecware Alpha - RM 229

Total: RM 3458 (ETech price inclusive of GST)
terence_nwb
post Dec 8 2016, 02:07 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(dcared @ Dec 8 2016, 11:42 AM)
Sifus, planning to get something as per pic. Any idea what best price can i get for below at lowyat or someone can quote me. I'm getting for gaming (FPS,FIFA,GTA,Overwatch,DOTA2/media consumption) and maybe dual/triple monitor set-up. You can see the part i choose if of black/white combination.
There is no i5 6500K, if you can please get i7 6700K instead of i5 6600K for future proofing.

As for the real time price quotation, you can consult few retailers like those in Lowyat Plaza, ETech, Techview, DotaTech, Idealtech etc.

The PSU you have listed is out of stock everywhere and local distributor isn't going to restock it anytime soon so you will need a replacement unit, personally I recommend Superflower Leadex Gold 550W/EVGA Supernova 550 G2 (around RM 450+/-).
terence_nwb
post Dec 9 2016, 08:41 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(soket @ Dec 9 2016, 12:10 AM)
like this ok?

INTEL PENTIUM G4400 - 239
GIGABYTE H110M-DS2 - 305
G.SKILL NT Series 4GB DDR4 2133mhz(CL15) - 139
AVF 500W PSU - 60
Sharkoon SHARK ZONE C10 - 199
WD 1TB Caviar Red - 320
LG Internal 24X DVDRW - 69
Total and GST Included - 1331
Change the WD Red to WD Blue, it can save you RM 100, others are ok for your usage (get 8GB RAM if you multitask a lot).

QUOTE(hellman44 @ Dec 9 2016, 07:01 AM)
Full set pls
Intel Core i3 6098P - RM 475
Asus H110M-K - RM 253
Zotac GTX1050Ti 4GB GDDR5 Mini - RM 729
Kingston SSDNow UV400 120GB SSD - RM 203
FSP Hexa+ 550W - RM 188
Tecware Alpha - RM 229
BenQ GW2270 - RM 350
Logitech MK200 Wired Combo - RM 65

Total: RM 2940 (ETech price inclusive of GST)

If you prefer to run games at higher graphics settings, you can drop the SSD and opt for GTX1060 3GB.
terence_nwb
post Dec 10 2016, 08:50 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(pokchik @ Dec 9 2016, 05:30 PM)
[Budget]
Plan for ~RM6k (RM3k by end of Dec'16 & another RM3k in 2017) exclude GPU

[Purpose]
Future proofing - in other words, my last PC was an Intel Core 2 Duo used for the past 9yrs, showing chronic
hiccups now and I'm planning to setup for a decent 1080p gaming (probably by Jun'17).

Gaming purpose is really low prio at the moment.

Just 1 120GB 2.5" SSD + 2x 1TB HDD

[Monitor resolution]
1080p is good enough, interested in purchasing a Dell 24" monitor next year

[Games & softwares that use frequently]
Looking at Dead Rising, Tomb Raider or Battlefield.

[Personal preferences]

Casing : Corsair Carbide 400R [RM 455]
Mobo : ASUS H170 Pro Gaming ATX [RM 641]
CPU : Intel Core i7-6700 [RM 1,390]
Cooler : Corsair Hydro H100i [RM 560]
RAM : 16GB G.SKill Aegis DDR4 2400MHz [RM 459]
PSU : Cooler Master V650 80+ Gold [RM 549]
SSD : Intel 540s 240GB M.2 [RM 459]
HDD : Reuse old 2x 1TB
Monitor : Dell U2417 [RM 969]

Plan to split into 3 phases:

Phase 1 : Casing + Mobo + CPU + RAM + PSU = RM 3,494

Phase 2 : Cooler + M.2 SSD + Monitor = RM 1,988

Phase 3 : GPU = TBD (maybe GTX1050 or 1060? not sure what I'd need to plan for later)

[Questions]

1. Is it still possible to use i7 for normal usage (no gaming, pure surfing, Microsoft Office, etc.) with the stock i7 cooler which comes in the CPU box?

2. Not sure if my i7 preference is overboard, or should I just downgrade to i5 with highest spec instead (chosen i7 for 'future proofing', i.e. whatever is the highest rated without OC.

3. Without OC, does the rig still need watercooling, and if it's actually overkill?

4. Is there any other good casing for this build? I don't prefer any excessive internal lighting/whatsoever though.
Some tempered glass casings look tempting, too.  sweat.gif

[Location]
Melaka
1. Yes you can, that's the purpose of stock cooler on locked CPU.

2. i7 is overkill for your usage but if you have the budget then why not right? biggrin.gif

3. No need water cooling, air cooling is enough.

4. Personal preferences, by looking at the current trend (RGB and tempered glass), the 400R looks extremely expensive to me with its specs sweat.gif

QUOTE(hellman44 @ Dec 9 2016, 10:37 PM)
Thank you for the help sorry for being a noob in all these

But what happen if i switch the intel core to i7 will it be better?
If gaming is the main priority, focus more on the GPU instead of CPU, upgrade the CPU to i5 and GPU to GTX1060 will give you a better performance than i7 + GTX1050Ti. This is because i5 + GTX1060 is a more balanced setup compared to i7 + GTX1050Ti (the i7 will somehow be "bottlenecked" by the GPU because the GPU is not fast enough).
terence_nwb
post Dec 10 2016, 09:28 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(DesktopLimousine @ Dec 10 2016, 08:49 AM)
Hi terence! Im selling off my s2417dg LOL because of the pixel inversion which is I dont like. Im afraid this is out of topic but hope so it didnt. So im lowering my budget for a temporary monitor for daily gaming(144hz 1ms) to Rm1000-RM1400 (Its only for temporary, im saving for xb271hu). As far as I know a monitors that fit on my budget are Asus VG248Q, Aoc G2460PF, BenQ XL2411 Zowie and Acer XB240H. Do u have any idea on incoming models? Thanks.
Well, since you are saving money for XB271HU (or any other equivalent incoming model), just get the cheapest 1080p 144Hz 1ms monitor in the market will do (most likely XB240H smile.gif )

ViewSonic XG2703 is also a good alternative to XB271HU but with slightly different design language (same price though and already available locally).
terence_nwb
post Dec 10 2016, 09:46 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(DesktopLimousine @ Dec 10 2016, 09:40 AM)
Thanks for the reply bro, u never disappoint me LOL xD
How about XB240H if compares to zowie xl2411 and Aoc g2460pf? What if I take an IPS 144hz 4ms? Does 1ms really noticeable with 4ms?
G2460PF is more worth in this case since it supports AMD FreeSync. There is no 1080p 144Hz IPS monitor in Malaysia yet, all are TN and you will need to look for at least 1440p for IPS panel.

I don't play fast pace games so 1ms vs 4ms is literally negligible to me, you might want to ask someone who has superior eye-vision or FPS gamers for this biggrin.gif
terence_nwb
post Dec 10 2016, 09:55 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(DesktopLimousine @ Dec 10 2016, 09:50 AM)
Since Im using gtx1070, I think the freesync is useless. All of them are built with the same panel right? Maybe, im looking forward to get XB240H. Thanks terence, have a good day.
FreeSync is useless for Nvidia users but it might have a higher resell value, all of them are using TN panel but due to the nature of display panel, most of the high refresh rate panels suffer from various issues like backlight bleeding (very obvious in certain model like XB241H), please check the review online first before making the final decision.

Good luck.
terence_nwb
post Dec 11 2016, 05:09 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Dec 11 2016, 03:44 AM)
oh holy ones, would like to get some advise for a pc build.

Would like to build a gaming rig (actually i dont really play that many/any games atm) to play games at medium settings or higher. My budget hovers at around 3k, can push it up slightly by a few hundred (keeping it under 3.5k would be great). Also budgeting about an additional 500 for the screen (if one can point me towards a good monitor for that price, that would be jolly nice).

So far, am thinking of a build with at least a i5 6500 but i notice that the 6600 can be had for slightly more. Would it be worth the money to go for the 6600?
Am also thinking that the gtx 1060 would be more than enough for me. Which model would be best bang for buck? (Or would the equivalent amd card be a better bet?)

Thankyou oh holy ones.
6600 would be an extra burden to your budget, 6500 is a better pick in overall.

Intel Core i5 6500 - RM 908
Gigabyte B150M-D3H (D4) - RM 379
Palit GTX1060 6GB GDDR5 Dual - RM 1219 <AMD equivalent would be RX480 8GB but slightly more expensive>
FSP Hexa+ 550W - RM 188
Tecware Alpha - RM 229

Total: RM 3371 (ETech price inclusive of GST)

SSD is not included as it is not a compulsory part to run a PC but it is recommended to get one to improve system responsiveness and reduce boot time of OS/app etc.

As for monitor, there are few choices, cheap TN, mid end VA or premium IPS (search online for the difference if you don't know how to differentiate them), personally I will go for IPS for better viewing angle and color reproduction like Acer R241Y/ViewSonic VX2363/Dell S2316H etc.

QUOTE(MagnificM @ Dec 11 2016, 11:58 AM)
hi, can anyone suggest me a good AIO cooler ? any price but of course, cheaper is better
Good liquid cooler AIO never come cheap, but I have seen some positive feedback on ID-Cooling (240L only costs RM 300) tongue.gif

QUOTE(Speedodevo @ Dec 11 2016, 02:30 PM)
Can suggest me a good FHD monitor?

Any panel will do

1920x1080 resolution only

Budget around 600-700

Graphic card is 1050ti

Posting on behalf of next door friend biggrin.gif

Etech can, Techview also can

edit: size is around 24 inch, no need for G-Sync, Freesync, N-Sync
RM 600 - 700 can get IPS panel already, perhaps Acer R241/Dell S2316H? I don't think it is a good idea to pick TN (or even VA) unless your friend is looking for super low latency panel with such budget.
terence_nwb
post Dec 11 2016, 09:12 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(MagnificM @ Dec 11 2016, 08:02 PM)
I see, before this I also suggested him ID-cooling, but brand wise, he was reluctant and kept on asking the corsair one  sweat.gif
If your friend is aiming to get a Corsair 240L AIO then he needs to prepare at least RM 500, same goes to NZXT Kraken.

QUOTE(CyberTroop @ Dec 11 2016, 08:36 PM)
Hi all, am helping a friend to build a gaming desktop. Appreciate if I could get some advice on it. The details would be as follow:

[B][Budget] RM3000

[Purpose] It will be a gaming to play games such as Dead Rising 4, Fallout Series, Total War Series etc. Doesn't have to be the highest settings

[Hardwares that will be re-use] None, from scratch

[Monitor resolution] Preferably 1080p

[Games & softwares that use frequently] Dead Rising 4, Fallout Series, Total War Series etc

[Personal preferences] If possible, looking for the best bang of buck parts. Budget can be flexible to suit this.

[Location] Kuala Lumpur

Thanks alot!
Intel Core i5 6402P - RM 769
Asus H110M-K - RM 253
Palit GTX1060 3GB GDDR5 StormX - RM 889
FSP Hexa+ 550W - RM 188
Tecware F3 - RM 125
BenQ GW2270 - RM 350

Total: RM 3022 (ETech price inclusive of GST)

If SSD is a must, you can consider downgrading the CPU from i5 to i3 or GPU from GTX1060 3GB to GTX1050Ti, I prefer the first option though.
terence_nwb
post Dec 12 2016, 11:50 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Dec 12 2016, 06:39 AM)
Thx sifu!! Just wondering....
Is the gigabyte gtx1060 windforce PC 6gb a better GPU? Cause it seems to be generally more exp. (Asking cause i was offered one for a little bit less.)

Also would like to ask about the va2419-sh cause I see it being recommended here and there.
It has similar chipset (GP106) but with higher clock speed and better cooling efficiency.

The monitor is also ok considering the price tag matches the specs offered.
terence_nwb
post Dec 12 2016, 01:24 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(MagnificM @ Dec 12 2016, 12:01 PM)
can you just give a suggestion for the corsair and NZXT one, I'll tell him later, if he said the prices are too much, I'll just ask him to get the ID-cooling  sweat.gif
Corsair Hydro H100i V2/NZXT Kraken X52/Cryorig A40 Ultimate etc.

Make sure the casing has radiator mounting point and can fit 240L AIO (if cannot then please look for 120L, or if he wants larger size please look for 280L or 360L).
terence_nwb
post Dec 12 2016, 03:26 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(MagnificM @ Dec 12 2016, 02:22 PM)
he is using Corsair Carbide 400C, should have enough clearance right ? thanks for the suggestion  thumbup.gif
Yes enough.
terence_nwb
post Dec 12 2016, 05:32 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(suju2403 @ Dec 12 2016, 04:44 PM)
Hi guys,,
I'm thinking this build a long time ago..

do leave comment or suggestion would help

[B][Budget] :

4K max (can add up 100-200 if necessary lol )

[Purpose] :

Mainly for gaming , surfing, googling, movie. 

None

[Monitor resolution]

21-22'' ( not sure what monitor good for me. just not too big) . my friend want to sell his 22 acer monitor

[Games & softwares that use frequently] :

ROTR(high setting please), watch dogs, dota, sherlock holmes , prototype and etc

[Personal preferences] : here what is in my mind

Intel Core I5 6420P
Asus H110I - Plus ITX
8GB DDR4
GTX 1060 6GB
1TB HDD
500W PSU
Fractal Design Mini C

[Location] : Selangor
Fractal Design Mini C isn't a mITX only case, I suggest you to go for mATX mobo instead for more upgrade room.

43 Pages « < 26 27 28 29 30 > » Top

0.0964sec    0.75    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 11:43 AM