43 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Bottom

[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V12!

terence_nwb
post Nov 17 2016, 05:00 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Nov 17 2016, 04:54 PM)
Got any recommendation for Monitor 27" below 1500? tongue.gif

Edit : Its important to look nice... meaning aesthetically pleasing...
You are looking for 1080p or 1440p?
terence_nwb
post Nov 17 2016, 05:12 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(LuRu @ Nov 17 2016, 05:00 PM)
Yeah, that's what I thought. Thanks fir the reply!

Just another quick question then. Should I go for the RX 480 or is there another card that I should go for?
RX480 8GB is basically the only card that you can look for currently, Fury/Fury X is slightly faster than RX480 but it is more expensive.

QUOTE(MeToo @ Nov 17 2016, 05:01 PM)
Rig
i5-6600
GTX 1060 6GB
16GB RAM

got difference ka?
Maximum size that I would go for 1080p is 24", 1080p on 27" is just too "pixelated" for me due to its low PPI value.

1440p packs almost the twice of the pixel counts of 1080p, this certainly brings more workspace to your desktop and most of the people will love it if they multitask a lot (side by side window viewing etc.), but yea, frame rates in games will be lower in this case if compare natively with 1080p tongue.gif

terence_nwb
post Nov 17 2016, 05:59 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Nov 17 2016, 05:31 PM)
I definitely wanna go 27".... once you go big, you dont look back anymore.

Even 1440p... can downgrade to 1080p if framerate is important in some games ya? So far I have been surviving with 1080p on 27"...
Not recommended to run 1080p on 1440p (or any downscale), the images will look blurry and spoil your gaming mood sometimes. Just turn down the settings like AA to none (1440p doesn't need too much AA TBH due to high pixel counts) to achieve better frame rates.
terence_nwb
post Nov 17 2016, 08:03 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Nov 17 2016, 06:02 PM)
Hmm.. ok ok ....

So any monitor for me ah.. under 1500... prefer sexy looking ones.. cause my room is ID-ed and sexy looking tongue.gif

Edit : Abit regret spent RM425 on the Evo850... if not maybe can up GPU to 1070 and get a more decent monitor
Checked, only managed to find 1080p under 1.5k, better stick with your current one since it is not really an upgrade (feel like wasting money sweat.gif ).
terence_nwb
post Nov 18 2016, 08:46 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(carjack18 @ Nov 17 2016, 09:50 PM)
Hi guys/ gals,

Need some recommendation on getting a custom rig.

[B][Budget]RM1.5K

[Purpose] Gaming and movie watching

[Hardwares that will be re-use]Monitor and peripherals

[Games & softwares that use frequently] Dota/ Starcraft

[Personal preferences] Don't want to have a Full Tower Chasis, prefer M-ITX or M-Atx Chasis
Thank q
Intel Core i3 6100 - RM 488
ASRock H110M-HDV - RM 245
Corsair 8GB DDR4 2133MHz Value RAM - RM 225
Seagate Barracuda 1TB HDD - RM 206
Corsair VS450 - RM 162
Tecware F3 - RM 119

Total: RM 1445 (ETech price inclusive of GST)

Cannot fit a dedicated GPU (even with Pentium G4400) so just use the iGPU of the i3 (HD 530) for Dota or Starcraft.

QUOTE(DesktopLimousine @ Nov 17 2016, 10:17 PM)
Whats the estimate price for the dell? So I can start saving from now hahahah

Edit : i saw the price its about rm1899-2200. So its not possible to get gsync monitor here around 1100-1400.
RRP for Dell S2417DG is RM 1949, GSync is expensive, need prepare around 2k for that (add more if going for ultrawide or IPS panel biggrin.gif )
terence_nwb
post Nov 18 2016, 09:21 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(kundek @ Nov 18 2016, 09:14 AM)
hi my motherboad Biostar h61mgv3 |
just wan to ask if i buy a ssd....will it bottle neck by the motherboard sata slot?
Yes due to lower bandwidth throughput on SATA 2 port, but it is still significant faster than normal HDD.
terence_nwb
post Nov 18 2016, 10:45 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(Lynox @ Nov 18 2016, 10:04 AM)
need help here.

which one is better for gaming?

benq gw2470h / gl2460hm / dell se2417hg / acer 3241y ?

if anyone here have that monitor using now, feel free to give opinions too  biggrin.gif

if have other suggestion, my budget is rm600 max.
24" full hd fast response time
If you want fast response time then VA and IPS panel both are out of your choice already, TN is the only option left, BenQ GL2460HM and Dell SE2417HG both having similar response time (2ms).

QUOTE(carjack18 @ Nov 18 2016, 10:17 AM)
Hi sifu terence_nwb

Thanks for the reply. Based on your recommendation, that it means I need to get a ATX motherboard or a ATX casing in order for me to fit a dedicated GPU? Thanks
No, it's about budget constraint, mATX/mITX can fit dedicated GPU just fine smile.gif
terence_nwb
post Nov 18 2016, 11:19 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(carjack18 @ Nov 18 2016, 11:02 AM)
Thanks for the info. That good that I can upgrade later to a dedicated GPU later when I got the fund to buy a good GPU smile.gif
If you plan to get a high end GPU in the future, please consider swapping the current selected PSU to a better one so you don't have to upgrade the PSU next time when you do the GPU upgrade.
terence_nwb
post Nov 18 2016, 12:32 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(carjack18 @ Nov 18 2016, 12:26 PM)
Hi sifu terence_nwb,
Do you have any recommendation on the PSU? The dedicated GPU that I looking to buy is GTX1060. Thanks
Get the Corsair VS550/FSP Hexa+ 550W if you don't plan to fork out too much money for it, else you can go for a decent one priced > RM 350+.

Bear in mind that some CPU demanding games will require a more powerful CPU to fully unleash the performance of GTX1060, i3 will work fine (don't worry) but it might hold back the performance of the card in some games.
terence_nwb
post Nov 18 2016, 02:42 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(DesktopLimousine @ Nov 18 2016, 02:08 PM)
Thanks for the reply, does asus pg248q available here?
No
terence_nwb
post Nov 18 2016, 03:21 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Nov 18 2016, 03:00 PM)
Sad jor lor.... wanted a new sexy monitor...  cry.gif

This one also not bad tongue.gif

terence_nwb
post Nov 18 2016, 03:41 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Nov 18 2016, 03:34 PM)
Wah! poison poison!

Actually that model is not so expensive... liek ~1.1k... but spec wise.....  hmm.gif
It is the usual 1080p 60Hz IPS, 1.1k is quite expensive considering the new ViewSonic VX3209-2K only costs 1.2k with much larger screen size and 1440p biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by terence_nwb: Nov 18 2016, 03:41 PM
terence_nwb
post Nov 18 2016, 03:57 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Nov 18 2016, 03:53 PM)
32" for that price cheap cheap cheaappp...

But hor... 10ms...  rclxub.gif
Non-gaming grade IPS type panel is always like this, my Dell U2417H is on 8ms response time, well I use it for gaming too sometimes, doesn't look too bad though, my eyes aren't that powerful enough to differentiate between 1ms and 8ms yet tongue.gif
terence_nwb
post Nov 18 2016, 04:27 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(Moridin @ Nov 18 2016, 04:05 PM)
since we are on topics of monitors would like to ask terence sifu would you suggest the Acer Predator XB271HU or the Dell 27 Monitor S2716DG or any other suggestions would be great
It's the similar question again, response time and the respective panel type, no doubt that XB271HU is one of the most popular GSync monitors here thanks to its sleek design and IPS panel, S2716DG introduction price was very close to 3k initially before it got slashed to 2.6k now so XB271HU is a no brainer choice before this.

But yea if GSync is a must for you then you will have to ask yourself 2 questions, budget and panel type, if you aren't limited by the budget and would like to have a better color reproduction then XB271HU is the only choice (of course you can opt for the equivalent Asus PG279Q but that will cost you 4k). Bear in mind this is just a 1440p 16:9 GSync comparison, other resolutions and aspect ratio aren't included yet.
terence_nwb
post Nov 19 2016, 07:29 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(SheepGoesMoo @ Nov 19 2016, 02:49 AM)
Hey, need help suggest custom rig
Budget : RM 3.5 - 4k
Purpose : gaming
Hardware that will re use : headphones only
Monitor resolution : 1920x1080
Games and softwares that use frequently : rpg(wither 3) and LoL
Personal preference : none

Thanks in advance ^^
Intel Core i5 6500 - RM 862
MSI B150M Pro-VDH - RM 340
Palit GTX1060 6GB GDDR5 Dual - RM 1219
Kingston SSDNow UV400 120GB SSD - RM 196
FSP Hexa+ 550W - RM 188
Tecware Alpha - RM 229
BenQ GW2470H - RM 473
Logitech MK200 Wired Combo - RM 65

Total: RM 4003 (ETech price inclusive of GST)

This post has been edited by terence_nwb: Nov 19 2016, 07:29 PM
terence_nwb
post Nov 20 2016, 09:42 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(DesktopLimousine @ Nov 20 2016, 02:15 AM)
Hi guys, Help me decide to upgrade my monitor or gpu. Currently using gtx1070 oc strix and a monitor dell u2417h. Should I get gtx1080 and sell my current gpu or get a better monitor and sell my u2417h? Still can decide thanks lol
Upgrading to GTX1080 but stick with a 1080p 60Hz monitor? It seems a bit overkill to me, better go for monitor upgrade to fully unleash the power of GTX1070.

QUOTE(SheepGoesMoo @ Nov 20 2016, 07:35 AM)
Suggestion for a RM3.5k build?
Intel Core i5 6402P - RM 758
ASRock B150M-HDV - RM 283
FSP Hexa+ 550W - RM 188
Segotep Gank II - RM 179
BenQ GW2270H - RM 386
Logitech MK200 Wired Combo - RM 65

Total: RM 3509 (ETech price inclusive of GST)

This post has been edited by terence_nwb: Nov 20 2016, 09:43 AM
terence_nwb
post Nov 20 2016, 10:45 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(Alternation @ Nov 20 2016, 02:51 PM)
Bros, need help suggest gaming rig

Budget : RM 6k
Purpose : gaming
Hardware that will re use : monitor, keyboard mouse, ssd hd
Personal preference : GTX 1070

Thanks in advance ^^
Your budget can fit GTX1800, but if you want an overclockable CPU setup then you have to downgrade to GTX1070.

Intel Core i7 6700 - RM 1384
Gigabyte H170-HD3 (D4) - RM 446
Corsair 16GB (8GB x 2) DDR4 2133MHz Value RAM - RM 450
Palit GTX1080 8GB GDDR5X Gamerock - RM 2845
EVGA Supernova 650 GQ - RM 459
Segotep K7 Tempered Glass - RM 359

Total: RM 5943 (ETech price inclusive of GST)
terence_nwb
post Nov 21 2016, 03:36 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(ms749 @ Nov 21 2016, 12:14 PM)
Hi Terence,

I need suggestion for a rig for my dad as follow:

Budget : RM 1k
Purpose : Mostly internet surfing and some microsoft office works (not too heavy)
Hardware that will re use : Monitor, keyboard and mouse.

Thank you! smile.gif
Intel Pentium G4400 - RM 237
ASRock H110M-HDV - RM 245
Corsair 4GB DDR4 2133MHz Value RAM - RM 127
CM Elite Power 350W - RM 126
Armageddon V1x - RM 79

Total: RM 1020 (ETech price inclusive of GST)

You can save money by going for casing + PSU combo, I am not sure about the price but it should be cheaper than getting them separately, then you can upgrade the RAM to 8GB.
terence_nwb
post Nov 21 2016, 04:26 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(ms749 @ Nov 21 2016, 03:53 PM)
And if wanna cut budget to RM800?
You can do the same thing (get the casing + PSU combo) and get a 500GB HDD instead of 1TB HDD (500GB HDD will be slightly slower than 1TB due to lower RPM).
terence_nwb
post Nov 21 2016, 05:12 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Nov 21 2016, 04:29 PM)
HDD 7200 v 5400 should be same same gua...  hmm.gif

Buy 2TB Blue also 5400 nia...
Quite a significant difference if you transfer a lot of data in between disk drives, you will be grateful how much time you have saved from a 7200 RPM drive laugh.gif

For > 2TB storage HDD, please get Seagate Barracuda instead of WD Blue (7200 vs 5400 at almost same price).

QUOTE(foxray @ Nov 21 2016, 04:31 PM)
Looking to get a PC mainly for gaming purposes

[Budget] 3.5k

[Purpose]Gaming

[Hardwares that will be re-use] Just keyboard and mouse

Total newb in these kind of things. Can anyone recommend a good rig?
Best price/performance ratio rig, if you prefer to have SSD and not so picky on the graphics settings that you can run, then you can consider tweaking the build.

Intel Core i5 6402P - RM 758
ASRock B150M-HDV - RM 283
FSP Hexa+ 550W - RM 188
Segotep Gank II - RM 179
BenQ GW2270H - RM 386

Total: RM 3444 (ETech price inclusive of GST)

43 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Top

0.0963sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 12:12 PM