43 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Bottom

[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V12!

terence_nwb
post Oct 20 2016, 05:45 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(AizatSapphire @ Oct 20 2016, 05:11 PM)
Hi!  smile.gif

Need your help.

[B][Budget] RM2400

[Purpose] Gaming and Programming

[Hardwares that will be re-use] 500W PSU and 18.5" (720p) monitor

[Monitor resolution] 18.5" (720p)

[Games & softwares that use frequently] Overwatch, League of Legends, OBS, Skyrim, Fallout 4

[Personal preferences] Intel processor & mainboard, Nvidia GPU

[Location] Gombak, Selangor

Thanks in advance.  biggrin.gif
Are you in need of a new PC? If no, then you consider to wait for the newly announced GTX1050/GTX1050Ti to reach Malaysia first before making the final decision.
terence_nwb
post Oct 21 2016, 10:50 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(d3ck @ Oct 21 2016, 10:43 AM)
RM550/RM650 possible?
You mean the price of GTX1050/GTX1050Ti?

If yes then RM 650 is quite possible with Palit/Zotac brand (maybe), that's for GTX1050.
terence_nwb
post Oct 21 2016, 11:30 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(AizatSapphire @ Oct 21 2016, 11:15 AM)
Oh, ya, I just remembered, I'll wait for it then biggrin.gif

Already have the exact date?
Both of them are due to launch on 25 Oct, by looking at the past few trends in Malaysia, we are likely to get it by end of this month (or even on the exact launch date).
terence_nwb
post Oct 21 2016, 04:27 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(d3ck @ Oct 21 2016, 01:17 PM)
Yes. Was hoping to get Ti version at RM650
RM 650 is quite wishful thinking biggrin.gif

My personal guess would be RM 750 for GTX1050Ti and RM 650 for GTX1050 (starting price).

QUOTE(nateberuk @ Oct 21 2016, 02:42 PM)
hi all..im trying to upgrade my desktop after few years due to some problem i cant find the source..my existing rig is

mb - gigabyte880GMAUD2H
cpu - ph x2 955 be
gpu - saphire r7 265
ram - hyperx fury 4gbx2
ssd - hyperx 120gb
case - tt v5 be

so far in mind i have this build but i need your guys opinion
mb - b150m mortar (rm465)
cpu - i5 6500 (rm849)
gpu - saphire r7 265(re use)/1050ti
ram - corsair d4 vg (rm199)
ssd - hyperx 120gb (need opinion for 240gb+ ssd to add)
case - carbide air 540 (rm560)

in addition, i would like to have opinion regarding cpu cooler..atm im using cm 212+..should i stay or upgrade to better cooler such as noctua or AIO liquid cooler..im using this computer for game mostly but sometimes i play with autocad/solidwork..thx
What is your budget?

QUOTE(EvOKIdZ @ Oct 21 2016, 03:29 PM)
Hi, Can suggest a rig with budget around 1300-1700 without hdd.
This rig is for cybercafe usage, mostly can support game like dota2, cs and current popular online game.. don need a good casing, normal casing will do
Intel Core i3 6098P - RM 453
ASRock H110M-HDV - RM 245
Corsair 8GB DDR4 2133MHz Value RAM - RM 171
Palit GTX950 2GB GDDR5 StormX - RM 609
Corsair VS450 - RM 162
Armageddon T1x - RM 95

Total: RM 1735 (ETech price inclusive of GST)

Another build with slightly weaker GPU and CPU (your min budget).

Intel Pentium G4400 - RM 225
Palit GTX750Ti 2GB GDDR5 StormX - RM 488
Corsair VS450 - RM 162
Armageddon T1x - RM 95

Total: RM 1386 (ETech price inclusive of GST)

First build provides a more solid performance in gaming, you can expect to get a stable 60 FPS in Dota 2 and CS:GO.
terence_nwb
post Oct 22 2016, 05:07 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(nateberuk @ Oct 21 2016, 09:12 PM)
hey..thx for reply my post..i have budget around 4k to spare
4k budget can get i5 + GTX1060 6GB already (GTX1070 is possible too if you aren't too picky on parts and casing).

I noticed you wrote to reuse your current R7 265 or upgrade to GTX1050Ti, that's just the entry level Pascal card, may I know which genre of games do you play? Light weight games like Dota 2 and CS:GO only?

As for CPU cooler, you can just stick with the stock cooler since the i5 you picked cannot be overclocked on a non Z170 mobo.
terence_nwb
post Oct 22 2016, 05:14 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(AizatSapphire @ Oct 22 2016, 08:33 AM)
I will still wait for GTX1050  rclxms.gif

But my friend is in need of a new PC now, haha.  sweat.gif

Can you suggest one for my friend? The description is the same as given above.
Thanks again.  biggrin.gif
Intel Core i5 6402P - RM 732
Palit GTX1060 3GB GDDR5 Dual - RM 938
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 209
Tecware F3 - RM 119

Total: RM 2420 (ETech price inclusive of GST)

I assume PSU and monitor aren't required since you said the description is the same.
terence_nwb
post Oct 22 2016, 05:20 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(BillHCM @ Oct 22 2016, 09:32 AM)
[Budget] RM1,500 - RM1,800

[Purpose] Home workstation for family business accounts, printing and storage hub of family network and this computer will be on all day long.

[Hardwares that will be re-use] None, all new

[Monitor resolution] not going to buy another monitor

[Games & softwares that use frequently] good enough to play Dota 2 at game default setting

[Personal preferences] High ram + storage and kindly include the cost for home edition OS and MS office too

[Location] I will be buying all the parts at Plaza Lowyat
Please consider increasing your budget as the price of Windows 10 Home OEM and MS Office Home & Students 2016 is RM 349 and RM 419 respectively (according to Viewnet pricelist), both of them will take half of your available budget.
terence_nwb
post Oct 22 2016, 08:35 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(nateberuk @ Oct 22 2016, 06:51 PM)
yea i go for i5 6500 or i5 6600 non k ver as i wont be OC hence non Z170 mobo..

its not purely on light games tho..sometimes i play AAA games too so i think i need newer graphic card..im stuck at RX480 8gb ver or GTX1060 6gb ver before but since the announcement of GTX1050ti i might be reconsider

for cpu cooler i want to change for new one if possible since its quite broken (some fin is crooked)..rather i go for the same cooler or change it to AIO liquid..since my budget is higher than what i want to buy, i might buy a new SSD
Since your budget is able to fit GTX1060/RX480 then it would be better to get either of them straightaway, unless you plan not to use up all your available budget.

When you buy the CPU, it comes with a stock Intel HSF which is totally a new cooler for you, you don't have to reuse your current CPU cooler at all.

QUOTE(wulimaza @ Oct 22 2016, 07:33 PM)
tq Terence.

Jan 2017, Im kind of dilemma here , cry.gif
Well the answer is pretty straight forward, if can wait then just wait, if cannot then you go for whatever the market is available.
terence_nwb
post Oct 22 2016, 11:07 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(nateberuk @ Oct 22 2016, 09:36 PM)
well i dont think stock intel HSF is that good since im doing autocad/solidwork
Yea I know but they won't cause massive temperature issue to a locked i5 anyway, unless you are in a super hot environment where airflow is limited.

But of course if you want to spend more on a cooler, go ahead, it's good for whole rig too biggrin.gif
terence_nwb
post Oct 23 2016, 08:52 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(madmathiu @ Oct 23 2016, 12:42 PM)
Hello everyone. I am hoping for some advice and suggestions.

Looking for a new pc. Details as follows.

[Budget] RM3k

[Purpose] Gaming and movies. Only on 1080p. Will never go on higher resolution but would like to be able to run games on max settings if possible.

[Hardwares that will be re-use] I will be recycling my psu (cm v750), all my hdd and ssd as well as keyboard and mouse.

[Monitor resolution] Using on 1080p. Will not be buying a new monitor.

[Games & softwares that use frequently] Any new games. I play everything from fps to rpg to action and racing. Emulators also sometimes.

[Personal preferences] Hopefully i can get a 1070. Brand doesnt matter but i am hoping for best bang for buck. I also have windows and office so i dont need to get new software.

[Location] I am happy to buy different parts from different places and assemble everything myself. Or if there is a single location that sells it all and can help assemble, even better.
Thanks very much for your help!

Oh. And if anyone knows where i can trade in my old parts, i will be very grateful.

I5-2500 non oc
Intel dh67cl mobo
2x4gb kingston budget ram
Intel Core i5 6500 - RM 865
Gigabyte H170-HD3 (D4) - RM 446
Palit GTX1070 8GB GDDR5 Jetstream - RM 1848
Tecware Alpha - RM 199

Total: RM 3529 (ETech price inclusive of GST)

Sell off your old parts (CPU, mobo and RAM) at Garage Sales section and add the funds into your budget.

You might be able to find some cheap GTX1070 with discount code/voucher on Lazada/GemFive, have a search and look before making the final decision.

terence_nwb
post Oct 23 2016, 08:59 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(BillHCM @ Oct 23 2016, 02:35 PM)
Hmm, how about I change the budget to RM2,000 to RM2,500 and it doesn't need any GPU for gaming, making it strictly as work station.

P.S. I have no idea how to quote back my previous post, sorry for any inconvenience.
Intel Core i3 6100 - RM 469
Gigabyte H110M-DS2 (D4) - RM 299
Kingston 8GB DDR4 2133MHz Value RAM - RM 189
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 199
CM Elite Power 350W - RM 129
Chassis of your own choice ~ RM 100
Windows 10 Home OEM - RM 349
MS Office Home & Students 2016 - RM 419

Total: RM 2153 (Viewnet price inclusive of GST)

There are many ways to reduce the cost:

1. Get Pentium G4400 (with iGPU of HD510) if you workload is light.
2. Search for cheaper OS and MS Office key in Garage Sales section
3. Get cheap chassis with PSU included (be careful of cap ayam PSU though)

You can adjust the build if you need more memory or storage drive, the iGPU (HD530) of the i3 6100 can run Dota 2 at decent frame rate on a 1080p screen FYI.
terence_nwb
post Oct 24 2016, 09:39 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(alcali @ Oct 23 2016, 10:32 PM)
[B][Budget] Rm1000

[Purpose] WoW,Dota2 (medium gfx setting), Nox (android player to run Marvel Future Fight)

[Hardwares that will be re-use] everything except mainboard, ram, cpu

[Monitor resolution] re-use existing

[Games & softwares that use frequently] as per Purpose above

[Personal preferences] nil

[Location] KL/Old Klang Road
Thanks in advance. My mb,ram,cpu is dinosaur age version. gfx card still can run above mentioned games at medium setting. just that one of the ram is kaput.
Intel Core i3 6100 - RM 469
Gigabyte H110M-DS2 (D4) - RM 299
Kingston 8GB DDR4 2133MHz Value RAM - RM 189

Total: RM 957 (Viewnet price inclusive of GST)

QUOTE(madmathiu @ Oct 23 2016, 10:37 PM)
Any idea how much my old parts can go for?
Depends on the item condition, if they are still in good condition then you can put on sales for ~RM 500 (more or less).
terence_nwb
post Oct 24 2016, 11:50 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(xt11skelp @ Oct 24 2016, 11:00 AM)
Hi guys im very new to this and would apprieciate any info and recommandation

[Budget] Around 4k maybe 4.5k at most

[Purpose] Mainly real Hardcore high graphics gaming (gtaV, witcher 3, fifa 16, etc)
Of course other stuff like browsing, movies, and some presentations.

[Hardwares that will be re-use] Monitor keyboards mouse? May get new ones though(Not included in budget)

[Monitor resolution] 1080p basic monitors

[Games & softwares that use frequently] Gta V. Fifa 16. Other high graphic games

[Personal preference] Looking for graphics setup that will be able to support high end games for at least the next five or six years if possible.
Also looking for ones that does not heat up easily and runs cool.

[Location] KL

Real newbie here, so ill take any advice. Thanks in advance biggrin.gif
The best combination for your budget would be i5 + GTX1070, but the i5 may struggle a bit in GTA V, especially in city area where population/traffic density is high, causing massive CPU load and potentially some FPS drops throughout the gameplay, not really a problem if you are willing to tune down the settings a bit (those CPU demanding one). This applies to other CPU demanding titles as well.

Gigabyte H170-HD3 (D4) - RM 446
Palit GTX1070 8GB GDDR5 Super Jetstream - RM 1988
Kingston SSDNow UV400 240GB SSD - RM 487
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 209
Superflower Leadex Silver 550W - RM 339
Tecware Alpha - RM 199

Total: RM 4504 (ETech price inclusive of GST)

To keep below 4k, you can:
1. Downgrade to mATX mobo
2. Downgrade to GTX1060 6GB/RX480 8GB (around 60% of the performance of GTX1070)
3. Remove the SSD for now
4. Downgrade the PSU
terence_nwb
post Oct 24 2016, 12:29 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(bl0om @ Oct 24 2016, 12:09 PM)

I was thinking to upgrade my old so called gaming rig. Current setup as per below:

Intel® Core™ i3-2100
MSI H61M-P35 (B3)
MSI NVIDIA GeForce® GTX 750 Ti (N750 TI-2GD5T/OCV2)
Kingston HyperX FURY 8GB 1600MHz DDR3
Kingston HyperX FURY 4GB 1600MHz DDR3
FSP HEXA+ 550W 80 Plus
Western Digital Blue 1TB
Western Digital Blue 500GB
Samsung S22B300H 21.5" LED Monitor
BitFenix Nova Windowed
Keyboard, Mouse, & Speaker

I do have some disposable income for the upgrade, budget around RM500-RM750 but cheaper is better so I can spent on something else. I might sell some of these item to top up my budget. Other item I don't think need to change. Price is based on my assumption after some survey on Garage Sales:

Intel® Core™ i3-2100 - RM200
MSI H61M-P35 (B3) - RM75
MSI NVIDIA GeForce® GTX 750 Ti (N750 TI-2GD5T/OCV2) - RM450
Kingston HyperX FURY 8GB 1600MHz DDR3 - RM150
Kingston HyperX FURY 4GB 1600MHz DDR3 - RM80

My initial idea is to sell my GTX750Ti and get GTX1050Ti + SSD. But it might get bottleneck somewhere due to my old processor. I'm aware that both my RAM running on 1333MHz, I bought it before I know about computer and stuff. I spent most of the time using this rig to play Dota 2 & CSGO. Also I play PES & FIFA on regular basis. Sometimes playing new release game title like GTAV, COD with lowest setting possible. Kindly suggest me what should I upgrade with that kind of budget.
New GTX750Ti is just around RM 500+, it might drop further with the arrival of new GTX1050/GTX1050Ti, so I assume all of the items listed by you can get you an extra of RM 850.

By adding RM 850 to your existing budget, it would become RM 1600 (with your initial max available budget), this can get you the following.

Intel Core i3 6100 ~ RM 480
Cheap H110 mATX mobo ~ RM 250
8GB DDR4 RAM ~ RM 200
GTX1050 ~ RM 650 (estimation)

Price of GTX1050/GTX1050Ti is unknown yet, I don't put my hope too high for a good introduction price for these 2 cards due to many reasons (you know it wink.gif ), so I estimate the non-Ti 1050 will cost at least RM 650.
terence_nwb
post Oct 24 2016, 05:32 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(bl0om @ Oct 24 2016, 01:53 PM)
I saw Palit GTX1050Ti for USD160. You are right, I put so much hope. Forgot our conversion rate no longer ~3.0  sweat.gif
Remember to x5 instead of x3, you can use x4.5 too but that's normally won't be the final price here biggrin.gif

QUOTE(xt11skelp @ Oct 24 2016, 04:32 PM)
Thanks for the suggestions, i have a few questions though:
1. Where is ETech? I have checked the price at Czone and sri computers at Lowyat but the prices seems to be quite higher.
2. Is it better to opt for i5 with gtx 1070 or i7 with gtx 1060?
3. Is there a noticable difference between the gtx1060 6gb and the rx480 8gb? (Price diff aside) Does the extra memory come in handy? I heard that the Amd chips age better, is this true?
4. Is it recommanded to go for the asus B150M over the gigabyte H170?

Thankss smile.gif
1. ETech is located in Kepong, you can find their Lelong store here or visit their physical store in Kepong.

2. i5 + GTX1070 yields more frame rates than i7 + GTX1060 in most of the cases (provided CPU is not bottlenecking).

3. GTX1060 outperforms RX480 in DX11 games (most of them now) while RX480 excels in DX12/Vulkan titles (only few currently and will become mainstream in few years time). This little "rule" doesn't apply to all games, some games tend to favor either one of the camps and have one sided performance on it regardless of the graphics API used (DX11/DX12/Vulkan/OpenGL etc). More VRAM is certainly better, but 6GB is enough for 1080p for now, about the age (I assume you are referring to lifespan?), it is very hard to have a chipset failed on you, but artifact is something that is very hard to avoid (depends on your luck).

4. H170 > B150, I am pretty sure that Asus B150 will be more expensive than Gigabyte H170 due to brand name difference, unless you need the specific features of that mobo (or aesthetic purpose), I wouldn't recommend you to go for it.

terence_nwb
post Oct 25 2016, 08:52 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(XiuKeong @ Oct 24 2016, 06:13 PM)
Ok, my finalized build. Should be ok right?

CPU: i7 6700K
Cooling: Artic Cooling Liquid Freezer 120
Motherboard: Asus Z170-A
Ram: Corsair Vengeance DDR4 8GBx2 2666Mhz
GPU: TBC after GTX1050 released
PSU: EVGA SuperNova G2 650W
Casing: Segotep EOS
Main purpose/usage isn't gaming right? I tried to look for the previous posts and couldn't find any info regarding the purpose provided by you sweat.gif

QUOTE(xt11skelp @ Oct 24 2016, 07:29 PM)
Thank you very much for the advice

What i mean by 'age' is sort of like smartphones, where they perform very well at first but sort of slow down or lag with time and continued usage.
Technology is evolving rapidly and it is very hard to cope with latest requirements, I am not aware of either camp in getting a lengthier age than the other.

But what you get from AMD GPU is a better DX12/Vulkan performance (from what we can see now), but things might change in the future when Nvidia starts to pump in some of their secret recipes in optimizing their driver for better DX12/Vulkan performance, just like what they have in DX11/OpenGL era currently.
terence_nwb
post Oct 25 2016, 09:08 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(ayaizafri @ Oct 24 2016, 10:33 PM)
Anyone please suggest me gaming rig, budget below RM3k. Please maxed out the system.

Game that I play : GTA 5, Witcher 3, Blade and Soul and GUild wars 2

I want

Cpu : i5
Ram: 8Gb ram
Graphic : Gtx 1060 3gb
Kingston 8GB DDR4 2133MHz Value RAM - RM 198
Zotac GTX1060 6GB GDDR5 Mini - RM 1169
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 209
FSP Hexa+ 550W - RM 188
Tecware F3 - RM 125

Total: RM 2999 (ETech price inclusive of GST)
terence_nwb
post Oct 25 2016, 11:11 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(XiuKeong @ Oct 25 2016, 09:39 AM)
Previous V11 laugh.gif

Most of the time will be using Photoshop and mild gaming. When I was creating this build, I need to have one system that can lasts me at least 3 years before first upgrade nod.gif
No wonder cannot find in this thread biggrin.gif

QUOTE(SynexEvent @ Oct 25 2016, 10:03 AM)
Dear Sifus,

Building a rig from 0. Besides GTX 1060 and i5 6400 is in my mind I don't really have any idea. Mostly for gaming. Better if its built to be able to run also the latest games or future upcoming games in the next 3 years. Do I need a 144hz monitor as well?

Thanks sifus

[B][Budget] 4-5k

[Purpose] Gaming. Dota 2, Civ 6, CSGO, Overwatch, Witcher 3

[Hardwares that will be re-use] None
144Hz is optional, triple A titles are very hard to achieve high frame rate due to many factors and the results vary from games to games, 144Hz monitor will cost you around 1k, which left you 4k for the rig, I wouldn't recommend you to go for 144Hz monitor first if you are building from scratch, 144Hz is more towards "premium" quality gaming, luxurious yet expensive and doesn't always guarantee you can take full advantage out of it if you prefer graphics quality over frame rate. Why I said so? If you prefer to run games on the best available graphics settings (a.k.a ultra settings) then you probably won't be able to hit 144Hz in triple A titles and vice versa.

Gigabyte B150M-D3H (D4) - RM 379
Palit GTX1070 8GB GDDR5 Jetstream - RM 1848
Kingston SSDNow UV400 240GB SSD - RM 287
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 209
Superflower Leadex Gold 550W - RM 409
Tecware Alpha - RM 199
Acer R241Y IPS - RM 622

Total: RM 5016 (ETech price inclusive of GST)

But here is a build with 144Hz monitor, you can swap it with a normal 60Hz monitor to reduce the total cost.

Gigabyte B150M-D3H (D4) - RM 379
Palit GTX1060 6GB GDDR5 Dual - RM 1238
Kingston SSDNow UV400 240GB SSD - RM 287
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 209
Superflower Leadex Gold 550W - RM 409
Tecware Alpha - RM 199
Acer XB240H - RM 952

Total: RM 4736 (ETech price inclusive of GST)

terence_nwb
post Oct 25 2016, 11:47 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(Nickeolosophy @ Oct 25 2016, 11:26 AM)
Dear sifus, im planning to get a new desktop soon
Need sifus suggestions, tqtq  biggrin.gif

[Budget]
RM3k or less, including rigs+monitor+OS (can top up if needed)

[Purpose]
Photo editing, gaming

[Hardwares that will be re-use]
Mouse, kb, speaker

[Monitor resolution]
No idea

[Games & softwares that use frequently]
Games (Dota for now, might go better graphic game in future like GTA5?)
Softwares (Photoshop, Lightroom, all those editing softwares)

[Personal preferences]
At least 8gb RAM
SSD if possible

[Location]
Penang
May I know how much you can top up? 3k is enough to build something for Dota but if you plan to get on board with latest triple A titles, you are advised to go for a better specs unless you are ok with slightly lowered graphics settings and frame rate smile.gif

QUOTE(SynexEvent @ Oct 25 2016, 11:27 AM)
Sifu I noticed your first choice of GFX card is usually Palit rather than ASUS or the other brands. Any specific reason for that?
Price is the main concern, all of them are using similar chipset, so the performance isn't too far ahead for either brand. The differences are just the brand name, warranty (if any), design, clock speed (can be adjusted manually so it isn't a main problem), the performance difference is negligible but you have to fork out extra few hundred for it, worth or not?
terence_nwb
post Oct 25 2016, 12:42 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(daus89 @ Oct 25 2016, 12:04 PM)
max budget rm5k
can suggest me gaming pc under this budget?
possible to go for 4k monitor?
thx
Can fit a 4K UHD monitor but you also need the hardware required to drive it.

QUOTE(ayaizafri @ Oct 25 2016, 12:38 PM)
Casing excluded?
Casing is included.

43 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Top

0.1062sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 12:54 PM