LYN Official FIA F1 World Championship 2007 Thread, Another McLaren 1-2

TSlinkinstreet
post Mar 15 2007, 12:16 AM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

No, Ahsutoro uses Star Sports broadcaster.
blah1134
post Mar 15 2007, 02:23 AM

563 posts

nop astro definately not ITV, ESPN themselves or speedtv i think

Added on March 15, 2007, 2:24 amanyone going to sepang this april ?

This post has been edited by blah1134: Mar 15 2007, 02:24 AM
SUSRaikkonen
post Mar 15 2007, 10:56 AM

I'll be your ♡ ☁ ☼ ☂
8,635 posts

QUOTE(blah1134 @ Mar 15 2007, 02:23 AM)

Added on March 15, 2007, 2:24 amanyone going to sepang this april ?
grand stand? sweat.gif

Me at my own grand stand...home laugh.gif

Added on March 15, 2007, 1:41 pmMELBOURNE F1 TRACK

the pits
http://img175.imageshack.us/img175/4893/pitexitbs3.jpg

Start / Finish straight
http://img136.imageshack.us/img136/5372/3l...npitstrawo5.jpg
http://img110.imageshack.us/img110/1103/straight1xh2.jpg

T1
http://img99.imageshack.us/img99/8093/2turn2bn9.jpg

looking out of T2 towards T3
http://img222.imageshack.us/img222/8782/im...65mediumim6.jpg

T6-T7
http://img138.imageshack.us/img138/6797/15turn6uh7.jpg

sattelite picture of the melbourne circuit (in no-race configuration) - thanks to miss Gilraen
http://www.wikimapia.org/#y=-37847951&x=14...91&z=15&l=0&m=a

This post has been edited by Raikkonen: Mar 15 2007, 01:41 PM
acougan
post Mar 15 2007, 02:10 PM

590 posts

hmm.... some undertable negotiations going on, will torro rosso and s.aguri be giving up their points(if any) this year to placate williams and spyker?
eXyzt
post Mar 15 2007, 03:45 PM

1,410 posts

QUOTE(edison_84 @ Mar 14 2007, 08:42 PM)
Melbourne for Night Race?
Melbourne also want host night race shocking.gif  rclxub.gif  rolleyes.gif

Super Aguri SA07
SA07
everyone want to attract the europian tv viewers... let them lah, then we can still promote "the Hottest GP" thumbup.gif
TSlinkinstreet
post Mar 15 2007, 04:20 PM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

QUOTE(acougan @ Mar 15 2007, 02:10 PM)
hmm.... some undertable negotiations going on, will torro rosso and s.aguri be giving up their points(if any) this year to placate williams and spyker?
i don't think so, ecspecially in Torro Rosso's case. The rule is that while 1 team cannot build car for another, it does say that 1 company can provide car to 2 teams. Teh cars are built by Red bull Engineering, and not Red bull Racing. Also, different engines means that both cars will be different anyways.

TSlinkinstreet
post Mar 16 2007, 12:23 AM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

Alonso confident of 3rd title
World champion Fernando Alonso is confident his switch from Renault to McLaren will enable him to pursue a third successive championship title.

The 25-year-old is part of a new-look McLaren team alongside hot British prospect Lewis Hamilton, and much is expected of the new MP4-22 car.

And, ahead of the opening race of the season in Australia this weekend, Alonso admits he feels at home with his new team.

"At McLaren I have found a great atmosphere," he said. "The people are really very focused on the target to come back with success and to regain the dominant position in Formula One, and I have to say thanks to the team for all the huge work they did in the winter.

"They have improved and developed the car a lot compared to last year.

"They work day and night and I think we arrive here in Australia with a really competitive car and I think we can fight for victory.

"I feel really, really happy with the move and really confident for the championship."

Alonso will be keen to ensure his tenure at McLaren gets off to a good start at Albert Park in Melbourne.

The Oxfordshire resident seems to perform well on the circuit and won the race last year on the way to his second drivers' title.

But he admits it is difficult to make any predictions as to who will be challenging at the top of the points table.

He added: "To be honest, I've always had very good races here in Melbourne. In 2005 I started 16th and finished third, last year I won here.

"But I think this year we arrive with a very interesting championship, very open in the first races.

"Ferrari has been the strongest, especially the last part of the winter, but last year we saw in some tests that Ferrari was very, very quick in August and September and then we arrived at races and everything was really, really close between all of us.

"The important thing is our team will be there in the fight and then it's up to us to do the job."

One of the biggest changes to the rules this season is the uniform use of Bridgestone tyres.

Each team receive just two specifications of tyres in each race and both have to be used during an event.

And Alonso believes it could cause a few surprises this season, with drivers able to take advantage over those who have been used to Michelin rubber.

He said: "I think there's a big difference in the cars now with the new tyres and I think it's the same for everybody.

"We've lost grip, performance and I think the driving style is a little bit more complex and a little bit different.

"I think all the Michelin drivers, including me, have been used to them and we accommodate our driving style to suit the Michelin tyres and I think new drivers who have come in this year have a big advantage because they don't have past experience of Michelin tyres.

"It has been a very long winter and now finally here we are at the first race and now it's time to put everything on the table."

While Hamilton feels that they don't need to be afraid of Ferrari
McLaren driver Lewis Hamilton insists he is unconcerned by Ferrari's promising form over the winter testing period ahead of the curtain raiser in Melbourne on Sunday.

Ferrari set the pace in testing in Bahrain last month but rising British star Hamilton has been pleased with his own team's efforts and insists anything could happen this weekend.

"We have done all the testing that has been needed and we have arrived here very optimistic about the weekend and with our package," he said.

"If you do look at the testing then Ferrari have been reasonably quick in their last few tests, so some could say that Ferrari are the strongest at the moment.

"But you don't know what programme they are on so we won't know until tomorrow or Saturday exactly who is where, but I am sure we are going to be very competitive."

Hamilton has been participating in an intense testing period since stepping up to full-time driver as McLaren strive to ensure their new MP4-22 car will perform to the best of its ability at Albert Park.

And though he knows there is still room for improvement, the 22-year-old is confident it will continue to get better as the season progresses.

Hamilton added: "All the preparations have gone really well, we have covered a lot of mileage and it has been a pretty intense winter testing.

"Obviously I have done testing in winter before but with us developing a new car we have had to be in it near enough every week just to maximise the mileage and learn as much as I can.

"We have got a solid package and we have made some really good steps forward.

"There is still room for improvement but I am sure throughout the season we will improve on that."

Button meanwhile said that Honda cannot even get into the top 10
Jenson Button has written off Honda's chances of success at this weekend's Australian Grand Prix.

Honda struggled for pace during pre-season testing, especially over one lap, which has led to Button predicting that neither himself nor team-mate Rubens Barrichello will be able to achieve a top-10 grid slot on Saturday.

"It's not a nice way to start a season. Arriving with a car that isn't challenging for victory hurts," Button said.

"Here I can't see us qualifying in the top 10.

The Briton, though, does believe Honda can make up some places during Sunday's grand prix, however, doubts that it will be enough to challenge for a podium finish, never mind the race victory.

"I think if we have a good race - because we are very reliable and some of the teams aren't - I can see us finishing in the top 10.

"We're not going to get on the podium, we're not going to win the race."

In fact Button even went as far as to claim that this weekend's race will be more of a test session for Honda than a grand prix.

"It's an important race but it's not about the end result," he continued.

"We've got to look at the areas where we're lacking and the areas where we need to work on compared to the top teams.

"It's more of a big test session for us, to learn why we're so far off.

SUSRaikkonen
post Mar 16 2007, 05:17 AM

I'll be your ♡ ☁ ☼ ☂
8,635 posts

4/2/2006 - Grand Prix of Australia

Albert Park Grand Prix Circuit
Winner Fernando Alonso - 1:34:27.870
Pole Position Jenson Button - 1:25.229
Fastest Lap Kimi Raikkonen - 1:26.045

We'll compare this times with the 2007's times to see how fast/slow the cars this season.

This post has been edited by Raikkonen: Mar 16 2007, 05:19 AM
evoHahn
post Mar 16 2007, 09:36 AM

Mika !
1,711 posts

today is practice day! lets see who's on top....
TOYO
post Mar 16 2007, 10:24 AM

501 posts

Friday free practice (1) - Australian Grand Prix.

1. Fernando Alonso ESP McLaren-Mercedes 1m 29.214s
2. Felipe Massa BRA Ferrari-Ferrari 1m 30.707s
3. Sebastien Vettel GER BMW-Sauber 1m 30.857s
4. Lewis Hamilton GBR McLaren-Mercedes 1m 30.878s
5. Jenson Button GBR Honda-Honda 1m 31.162s
6. Kazuki Nakajima JPN Williams-Toyota 1m 31.401s
7. David Coulthard GBR Red Bull-Renault 1m 31.528s
8. Heikki Kovalainen FIN Renault-Renault 1m 31.571s
9. Mark Webber AUS Red Bull-Renault 1m 31.661s
10. Rubens Barrichello BRA Honda-Honda 1m 31.737s
11. Takuma Sato JPN Super Aguri-Honda 1m 31.782s
12. Giancarlo Fisichella ITA Renault-Renault 1m 32.011s
13. Alex Wurz AUT Williams-Toyota 1m 32.194s
14. Adrian Sutil GER Spyker-Ferrari 1m 34.043s
15. Vitantonio Liuzzi ITA Toro Rosso-Ferrari 1m 34.627s
16. Christijan Albers NED Spyker-Ferrari 1m 35.055s
17. Nick Heidfeld GER BMW-Sauber 1m 37.249s
18. Anthony Davidson GBR Super Aguri-Honda 1m 39.221s
19. Kimi Raikkonen FIN Ferrari-Ferrari 1m 39.242s
20. Ralf Schumacher GER Toyota-Toyota 1m 39.550s
21. Scott Speed USA Toro Rosso-Ferrari 1m 41.763s
22. Jarno Trulli ITA Toyota-Toyota 1m 44.130s

binary
post Mar 16 2007, 11:14 AM

PreBeT_LaPok
1,535 posts

wonder why Kimi's time so bad... 1m 39. Huh.. still struggling with Ferrari car is it?..
htkaki
post Mar 16 2007, 11:39 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Night race? Hmm.... In WRC, they have these huge lights. Will they install on F1 cars too for night race? LOL
SUSRaikkonen
post Mar 16 2007, 12:19 PM

I'll be your ♡ ☁ ☼ ☂
8,635 posts

Saw an interview at Engine Block.
Wah...that Heikki kid quite good.
1st shot already gave nice car..Renault.

A smart kid.
Has a helicopter licence notworthy.gif

He's rookie of the year I reckoned.

Another Kimi in the making.

And he speaks better english than Kimi tongue.gif

Heikki Kovalainen

DOB:19/10/1981
Place of birth:Suomussalmi, Finland
Nationality:Finnish
Height:1.72 m
Weight:66 kg
Hobbies:Gym, cycling, cross-country skiing, golf
Heroes:None
Ambitions:Race seat in Formula 1

Heikki started his motor racing career karting in the early 90's. Recognition came with finishing runner-up in the Finnish Formula A championship in 1999 and 2000. That year also saw Heikki adding the Scandinavian championship and winning the Elf Masters at Paris Bercy to his achievements earning him title of Karting Driver of the Year in his native Finland.

Heikki's success saw him move up to the British Formula Renault Championship in 2001, bringing two wins, two poles and three fastest laps, enough to give him fourth place in the Championship plus "Rookie of the Year" award 2001 by the Finnish Automobile Sports Federation. That same year, Heikki made his F3 debut, at the Macau Grand Prix, finishing 8th.

In 2002 Heikki moved on to compete in the British F3 Championship with five wins, 3 poles and 3 fastest laps securing 3rd position in drivers' standings, he was once again announced "Rookie of the Year", and won the prestigious support race at the British Grand Prix. He also finished second in Macau and fourth in the Marlboro Masters at Zandvoort.

In 2003 Heikki went to Japan to contest in the World Series by Nissan: a win and two poles were enough to get 2nd place in the Championship. That same year he also made his F1 test debut driving the Renault R23 at Barcelona and then the Minardi Cosworth during the Vallelunga test session just a couple of weeks later.

The next year saw Heikki as the 2004 World Series by Nissan champion. Driving for the Pons Team he crushed the opposition securing 6 wins, 9 poles and 10 fastest laps competing alongside Tiago Monteiro, Enrique Bernoldi and Narain Karthikeyan. As a member of the Renault Driver Development Program Heikki assisted with the development of Renault's championship winning R24.

Q & A with Heikki

Q: Who do you like to hang out with in the F1?
A: Kimi
tongue.gif
I saw Mika talked to Kimi in Sepang while he's in the McLaren and Kimi in Sauber.
I guess anyone would love to see a fellow countrymen..I know I would.

Source: http://www.heikkikovalainen.net

This post has been edited by Raikkonen: Mar 16 2007, 02:52 PM
TSlinkinstreet
post Mar 16 2007, 01:17 PM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

Practice 2 result
Times

01 F. Massa Ferrari 1:27.353 32 laps

02 K. Rikknen Ferrari 1:27.750 33 laps

03 L. Hamilton McLaren 1:27.829 29 laps

04 G. Fisichella Renault 1:27.941 33 laps

05 N. Heidfeld BMW 1:27.970 27 laps

06 A. Wurz Williams 1:27.981 31 laps

07 F. Alonso McLaren 1:28.040 25 laps

08 N. Rosberg Williams 1:28.055 29 laps

09 R. Kubica BMW 1:28.281 26 laps

10 D. Coulthard Red Bull 1:28.495 23 laps

11 A. Davidson Super Aguri 1:28.727 28 laps

12 J. Trulli Toyota 1:28.921 33 laps

13 T. Sato Super Aguri 1:29.009 23 laps

14 J. Button Honda 1:29.066 30 laps

15 R. Barrichello Honda 1:29.542 12 laps

16 R. Schumacher Toyota 1:29.574 26 laps

17 M. Webber Red Bull 1:29.801 11 laps

18 H. Kovalainen Renault 1:30.097 10 laps

19 S. Speed Scuderia Toro Rosso 1:30.383 28 laps

20 A. Sutil Spyker F1 1:31.108 35 laps

21 C. Albers Spyker F1 1:31.175 32 laps

22 V. Liuzzi Scuderia Toro Rosso 1:31.693 16 laps

WhitE LighteR
post Mar 16 2007, 02:26 PM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

TV not showing F1 ar?? I check 8tv schedule... ntg
TOYO
post Mar 16 2007, 02:37 PM

501 posts

QUOTE(Raikkonen @ Mar 16 2007, 12:19 PM)
A smart kid.
Has a helicopter licence  notworthy.gif

kiki (nurul alis), sport presenter on tv1,mother's to 2 child... got aircraft licence what, no biggie nod.gif

TSlinkinstreet
post Mar 16 2007, 02:37 PM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

TV2 lor, already confirmed in page 17~18
SUSRaikkonen
post Mar 16 2007, 02:40 PM

I'll be your ♡ ☁ ☼ ☂
8,635 posts

TV2 ok la also since the frequency signal easy to get and clear compare to 8TV.
8TV can only get clear broadcast in Channel 18 on ASTRO.

QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Mar 16 2007, 01:17 PM)
Practice 2 result
That's more like it from Ferrari rclxms.gif

QUOTE(TOYO @ Mar 16 2007, 02:37 PM)
kiki (nurul alis), sport presenter on tv1,mother's to 2 child... got aircraft licence what, no biggie  nod.gif
biggie a.k.a cool2.gif to me
How many hours did she flown?
notworthy.gif her too
Saw in the papers few days ago...our own young female pilots notworthy.gif
Where are the guys?
Head blown off like a watermelon under a truck as result of Rempit? nod.gif

Heikki has the licence but I don't know whether he flown it or not.
He said he might be a pilot if he does not race in F1.
Don't underestimate a Finn.
Well...Mika Salo is an exception laugh.gif tongue.gif

It's not easy to fly an air vehicle.
Lots of switches etc.
To me, those (pilots, captain - fighter pilots, passenger pilot) who good at it truly a genius.
But disaster can happened though icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by Raikkonen: Mar 16 2007, 02:55 PM
WhitE LighteR
post Mar 16 2007, 02:52 PM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Mar 16 2007, 02:37 PM)
TV2 lor, already confirmed in page 17~18
Thanks......
SUSRaikkonen
post Mar 16 2007, 04:18 PM

I'll be your ♡ ☁ ☼ ☂
8,635 posts

Practice 2 time.
2 second slower than last years pole.

127 Pages « < 17 18 19 20 21 > » Top