6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

> myvi got weird cranking sound, car expert come pls, what is the issue?

TSjeffro
post Jun 30 2016, 05:28 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(nko6213 @ Jun 30 2016, 04:37 PM)
1st time: correct could be spark plug
2nd time: mechanic could make some mistake. ignition problem will cause valve / spark coil to go haywire which causes jerking (once the car jerks either one of this three could be the issue).
3rd time: once got metal cranking sounds, problem lai liao. got metal cranking sound means mechanical problem occur d. i suspect camshafts / valves / piston rings kong.

now, i would reckon you to perform top overhaul. definitely must do. then sell the car because these problem may come again unless if you do complete overhaul.
but but but.. really need to overhaul? i know only cars go beyond certain mileage or age need to do that.. 9 years + with approx 100,000km is quite young right?

QUOTE(popopi @ Jun 30 2016, 04:41 PM)
9yrs car... do 1 time engine top & bottom service. pain pain 1 time. then no more problem... gasket all also change new. piston ring also... every replaceable part...

expect few k for that service yooo
ya lo, i think if want pain then pain all one shot..
i compared to buying another car, this is the more economical choice.. sad.gif

ledtechn
post Jun 30 2016, 05:40 PM

60 posts

Go perodua sc la. Easiest

This post has been edited by ledtechn: Jun 30 2016, 05:41 PM
max_cavalera
post Jun 30 2016, 05:47 PM

rebirth
5,614 posts

most probably alternator....

change new one...

i kena before...
fireballs
post Jun 30 2016, 10:05 PM

5,650 posts

whoever is your mechanic, time to stop feeding him money.
you have been water fish for too long
Revamperz
post Jul 1 2016, 05:50 AM

im freaking IN! ™
5,164 posts

QUOTE(jeffro @ Jun 30 2016, 02:27 PM)
fully paid, but not worth selling it to buy a new one.. just got out of a loan, trying not to get back into one..
sure. another comitment is indeed a hastle. then again, keep paying for repairs and more important, the reability of ur car?

whats if there energency n it broke down?
homicidal85
post Jul 1 2016, 08:39 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(5tar5cr3am @ Jun 30 2016, 02:16 PM)
I don`t agree on this,

1. Even if you lose one, the car won`t just die, especially when you`re driving. the engine will just feel rough due to 1 piston not igniting.

2. If the piston ring is damaged, you would see black smokes by now. do see any? black smoke is due to engine oil is burnt together with fuel due to engine oil sip through the piston ring.
usually people dont damage just one piston ring at a time. its probably due to missing a service so all 4 pistons damaged.
also, black smoke is not caused by burning engine oil.
TSjeffro
post Jul 1 2016, 10:25 AM

62 posts

QUOTE(Revamperz @ Jul 1 2016, 05:50 AM)
sure. another comitment is indeed a hastle. then again, keep paying for repairs and more important, the reability of ur car?

whats if there energency n it broke down?
no guarantees with a new car / another used car, that the car won't have problem right?
my friends who bought new VW, Mazda and Honda has issues within 6 months.. but of course under warranty (FOC repairs/replacements)..

so i guess when it comes to emergency case, it wont make any difference here?
Aparaa
post Jul 1 2016, 10:38 AM

72 posts

QUOTE(hcmalaya @ Jun 30 2016, 04:34 PM)
9yrs old Myvi 1.0 manual value how much much today?
10k?
Ur damage adi 2k and counting
Solution: Change the car
This matematik no so good.

T.s no debt now. Just want to repair car. Buy new car, got debts.
Revamperz
post Jul 1 2016, 10:58 AM

im freaking IN! ™
5,164 posts

QUOTE(jeffro @ Jul 1 2016, 10:25 AM)
no guarantees with a new car / another used car, that the car won't have problem right?
my friends who bought new VW, Mazda and Honda has issues within 6 months.. but of course under warranty (FOC repairs/replacements)..

so i guess when it comes to emergency case, it wont make any difference here?
still the percentage comparing brand spanking new to almost 10 year old car? well i guess no point convincing u. good luck i hope u wont learn it the hard way icon_rolleyes.gif
nko6213
post Jul 1 2016, 11:02 AM

51 posts

QUOTE(jeffro @ Jun 30 2016, 05:28 PM)
but but but.. really need to overhaul? i know only cars go beyond certain mileage or age need to do that.. 9 years + with approx 100,000km is quite young right?
ya lo, i think if want pain then pain all one shot..
i compared to buying another car, this is the more economical choice..  sad.gif
top overhaul and major overhaul is different. top overhaul only overhauls the valves, camshafts. cam chain, cam gears, spark coil etc.

however during top overhaul if mechanics identify issue below the piston which is crankshaft, piston arm etc, then full overhaul is needed.

once there's mechanical cranking sound i'd definitely recommend to open up the engine and check.

and be sure to get proper mechanics to do it. never ever pass to noobs even if it's cheaper.
TSjeffro
post Jul 1 2016, 11:04 AM

62 posts

QUOTE(Revamperz @ Jul 1 2016, 10:58 AM)
still the percentage comparing brand spanking new to almost 10 year old car? well i guess no point convincing u. good luck i hope u wont learn it the hard way icon_rolleyes.gif
actually this is the first i'm having all these issues.. it occurred early june sweat.gif
prior to this, no issue, as i do timely servicing (twice a year)..
so that's why i believe there's no need to change car yet, unless the fixes required is beyond price of the car itself..
I did considered getting another car, but after finding out the cost of it, i find it's not really worth breaking my wallet just for some convenience..
mousqy
post Jul 1 2016, 11:04 AM

758 posts

its a myvi and its 9 years old
SUSEdBaaBaa
post Jul 1 2016, 11:11 AM

67 posts

QUOTE(jeffro @ Jun 30 2016, 03:21 PM)
cry.gif because i've been servicing my cars (family car and mine) there for a while now.. and they are nearby my house, so i figured they are trustworthy..
Gotten recommendation on other places, but so far away.. If car is able to move smoothly and not 'fall asleep' in the middle of road, then i'll gladly go there..
but unable to do so.. ayam sadzz don't scold me sad.gif
no need drive the car to wherever the recommended mechanic is la.

Car insurance usually come with emergency service which includes FREE towing.

just call the emergency service, say car broke down kenot move, ask for towing, give your location and the recommended mechanic's location.

kaotim.
TSjeffro
post Jul 1 2016, 11:45 AM

62 posts

QUOTE(EdBaaBaa @ Jul 1 2016, 11:11 AM)
no need drive the car to wherever the recommended mechanic is la.

Car insurance usually come with emergency service which includes FREE towing.

just call the emergency service, say car broke down kenot move, ask for towing, give your location and the recommended mechanic's location.

kaotim.
yaya in this case, actually wanna ask, if frequent call for Free towing, will i get blacklisted in the future?
I called tow 3 times ady so far, week after week..
SUSEdBaaBaa
post Jul 1 2016, 12:10 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(jeffro @ Jul 1 2016, 11:45 AM)
yaya in this case, actually wanna ask, if frequent call for Free towing, will i get blacklisted in the future?
Sorry i really dont know. Need to ask insurance k/tard roystevenung maybe he know ir can find out.

BUT i hv true setori on this.

a friend used towing service about 52 times (saya pun terkejut n laughed when told this) then insurance company told her after that she's limited to use tow service 1x a month for the rest of the insurance period till renewal.
TSjeffro
post Jul 1 2016, 12:30 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(EdBaaBaa @ Jul 1 2016, 12:10 PM)
Sorry i really dont know. Need to ask insurance k/tard roystevenung maybe he know ir can find out.

a friend used towing service about 52 times (saya pun terkejut n laughed when told this) then insurance company told her after that she's limited to use tow service 1x a month for the rest of the insurance period till renewal.
lol sweat.gif
SUSEdBaaBaa
post Jul 1 2016, 12:36 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(jeffro @ Jul 1 2016, 11:45 AM)

So u 3x only, now u know bersyukur right?

I remember the 52 number bcos it's like 1x a week but actually over less than a year!! Means sometimes few times tow in a week! OMG right?
TSjeffro
post Jul 1 2016, 12:41 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(EdBaaBaa @ Jul 1 2016, 12:36 PM)
So u 3x only, now u know bersyukur right?

I remember the 52 number bcos it's like 1x a week but actually over less than a year!! Means sometimes few times tow in a week! OMG right?
ya wei notworthy.gif super #syukur!
roystevenung
post Jul 1 2016, 01:10 PM

2,173 posts

QUOTE(EdBaaBaa @ Jul 1 2016, 12:10 PM)

Which car insurance?
SUSEdBaaBaa
post Jul 1 2016, 01:16 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(roystevenung @ Jul 1 2016, 01:10 PM)
Which car insurance?
I dunno wor. When she told me she oredi change her old car n i was too bz laughing.

Unker, actually Free towing under free emergency service of car insu got limit or not?

6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >

0.0217sec    1.13    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 05:16 PM