6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

> myvi got weird cranking sound, car expert come pls, what is the issue?

Zhao
post Jul 1 2016, 01:20 PM

1,267 posts

sudah check fuel sensor? maybe tank kosong liao laugh.gif laugh.gif
roystevenung
post Jul 1 2016, 01:21 PM

2,173 posts

QUOTE(EdBaaBaa @ Jul 1 2016, 01:16 PM)
I dunno wor. When she told me she oredi change her old car n i was too bz laughing.

Unker, actually  Free towing under free emergency service of car insu got limit or not?
Thats why i ask which insurer she is using cause i also want to use that insurer lol

Most insurer will kasi sound if towing more than 5 times in a year. Some even got limit on the towing service like Rm200 per tow.
hcmalaya
post Jul 1 2016, 01:53 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(Aparaa @ Jul 1 2016, 10:38 AM)
This matematik no so good.

T.s no debt now. Just want to repair car. Buy new car, got debts.
Depend on perception lo
1 mth adi spent rm2k repair
How much to spend further?

Better cash out now n buy a cheap car 30-40k

TSjeffro
post Jul 1 2016, 03:42 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(roystevenung @ Jul 1 2016, 01:10 PM)
Which car insurance?
OAC insurance
TSjeffro
post Jul 1 2016, 03:45 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(Zhao @ Jul 1 2016, 01:20 PM)
sudah check fuel sensor? maybe tank kosong liao laugh.gif  laugh.gif
Lol definitely not that.. just pump petrol only sweat.gif

QUOTE(hcmalaya @ Jul 1 2016, 01:53 PM)
Depend on perception lo
1 mth adi spent rm2k repair
How much to spend further?

Better cash out now n buy a cheap car 30-40k
this 1 mth is the first month.. cashing out on this car, also still need to repair it before selling..
So regardless of buying a new car or not, still need to repair this car, right?
hcmalaya
post Jul 1 2016, 03:48 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(jeffro @ Jul 1 2016, 03:45 PM)
Lol definitely not that.. just pump petrol only  sweat.gif
this 1 mth is the first month.. cashing out on this car, also still need to repair it before selling..
So regardless of buying a new car or not, still need to repair this car, right?
Sell to 2nd hand shop
No question asked
Cash on the spot
TSjeffro
post Jul 1 2016, 03:56 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(hcmalaya @ Jul 1 2016, 03:48 PM)
Sell to 2nd hand shop
No question asked
Cash on the spot
lol so far i checked, the amount is not worth it though, 10-12k je..

if just want to sell the car to them, they don't want take myvi.. cos it's 1.0 manual and it's 9 yo
if trade in to buy another car, then they'll consider.. but interest rate is higher than buying new car, and max only 5 years..
available cars within 30-40k is another perodua myvi (slightly newer than my car) or vios-equivalent about 9 yo or older..

for new cars, cheapest sedan is saga, cheapest hatchback is axia..
they accept trade in, but the price given is lower than the 2nd hand shop..

so conclusion, not worth it.
Joey Christensen
post Jul 1 2016, 04:17 PM

Purgamentum init, exit purgamentum
3,651 posts

Faulty alternator?
TSjeffro
post Jul 1 2016, 04:26 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(Joey Christensen @ Jul 1 2016, 04:17 PM)
Faulty alternator?
mechanic called and told me it's due to cam sensory and fuel filter there.. but will show me and explain more to me tomorrow..
TSjeffro
post Jul 5 2016, 09:38 AM

62 posts

Finally, my myvi back from the workshop! smile.gif

apparently, there's quite a number of things that went bonkers..
1. Timing sensor
2. Drive shaft
3. Cam shaft
4. Cam sensor
5. Main Fuse
6. Ignition coil
7. Aircond pump

Others are still working fine, thanks for everyone's input here! I made sure I asked them on the areas mentioned by you guys! thumbup.gif
my_lov3ly_d3ar_d3ar
post Jul 5 2016, 10:09 AM

231 posts

total damage?

This post has been edited by my_lov3ly_d3ar_d3ar: Jul 5 2016, 10:09 AM
nko6213
post Jul 5 2016, 10:12 AM

51 posts

QUOTE(jeffro @ Jul 5 2016, 09:38 AM)
Finally, my myvi back from the workshop! smile.gif

apparently, there's quite a number of things that went bonkers..
1. Timing sensor
2. Drive shaft
3. Cam shaft
4. Cam sensor
5. Main Fuse
6. Ignition coil
7. Aircond pump

Others are still working fine, thanks for everyone's input here! I made sure I asked them on the areas mentioned by you guys!  thumbup.gif
Really cam shaft / spark (ignition) coil sia as some of my suspect. how much does it cost to replace the cam shaft alone?
TSjeffro
post Jul 5 2016, 10:30 AM

62 posts

QUOTE(my_lov3ly_d3ar_d3ar @ Jul 5 2016, 10:09 AM)
total damage?
QUOTE(nko6213 @ Jul 5 2016, 10:12 AM)
Really cam shaft / spark (ignition) coil sia as some of my suspect. how much does it cost to replace the cam shaft alone?
Havent done the aircond pump fix yet.. but so far it's nearing or ady 2k.. cry.gif
will provide break down later, my receipts everywhere sweat.gif
nko6213
post Jul 5 2016, 10:34 AM

51 posts

QUOTE(jeffro @ Jul 5 2016, 10:30 AM)
Havent done the aircond pump fix yet.. but so far it's nearing or ady 2k..  cry.gif
will provide break down later, my receipts everywhere  sweat.gif
ya lo..take this as a lesson and motivation to learn stuff about engines and how it works..the first time i see jerking issue; already suspect spark plug / ignition coil issue, which will lead to issues with camshafts and valve. the first mechanic really don't know how to check leh.

at the same time lots of parts kong, you need to be prepared to replace any aging parts that will break down anytime. make sure flush the coolants and service the compressor. replace the v belt if never change before.

P/S: full overhaul costs around 3k+, which is why usually i recommend top overhaul or full overhaul instead of slowly repairing by trial and error. now already cost you about 2k. and this is just myvi =(
Smackers
post Jul 5 2016, 10:36 AM

657 posts

I have a mechanic whom i go if my car got "major issues" which i dont trust other mechanics to rectify it. Trustworthy and great service, he will explain to you in detail on your car problems.

His workshop is near batu caves.PM me if you want his service.
TSjeffro
post Jul 5 2016, 11:00 AM

62 posts

QUOTE(nko6213 @ Jul 5 2016, 10:34 AM)
ya lo..take this as a lesson and motivation to learn stuff about engines and how it works..the first time i see jerking issue; already suspect spark plug / ignition coil issue, which will lead to issues with camshafts and valve. the first mechanic really don't know how to check leh.

at the same time lots of parts kong, you need to be prepared to replace any aging parts that will break down anytime. make sure flush the coolants and service the compressor. replace the v belt if never change before.

P/S: full overhaul costs around 3k+, which is why usually i recommend top overhaul or full overhaul instead of slowly repairing by trial and error. now already cost you about 2k. and this is just myvi =(
2 workshops mentioned that the car don't need overhaul yet. But yes, i'll need to be more aware of the other parts, when i go fix the aircond pump, i'll get the guys there to check out the coolant, compressor and belt too.. thumbup.gif

QUOTE(Smackers @ Jul 5 2016, 10:36 AM)
I have a mechanic whom i go if my car got "major issues" which i dont trust other mechanics to rectify it. Trustworthy and great service, he will explain to you in detail on your car problems.

His workshop is near batu caves.PM me if you want his service.
Thanks Smackers! Will know who to find if I have any major issues in the future notworthy.gif
TSjeffro
post Jul 8 2016, 01:03 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(nko6213 @ Jul 5 2016, 10:12 AM)
plug RM40
main fuse RM18
camshaft sensor RM185
ignotion coil (RM220/pcs) RM660
aircond compressor (recond) RM430
aircond condenser RM290
aircond gas RM60
lost the receipt with the drive shaft, timing sensor, etc.. that is about RM800

lyod71
post Jul 8 2016, 01:55 PM

41 posts

O..curious on the cost

This post has been edited by lyod71: Jul 8 2016, 01:57 PM
nko6213
post Jul 9 2016, 05:40 PM

51 posts

QUOTE(jeffro @ Jul 8 2016, 01:03 PM)
plug RM40
main fuse RM18
camshaft sensor RM185
ignotion coil (RM220/pcs) RM660
aircond compressor (recond) RM430
aircond condenser RM290
aircond gas RM60
lost the receipt with the drive shaft, timing sensor, etc.. that is about RM800
i don't und how ur problem relate to aircond and all. previously air cond got problem meh? if none means the workshop chop u d.
olman
post Jul 9 2016, 05:50 PM

1,998 posts

QUOTE(roystevenung @ Jul 1 2016, 01:21 PM)
Thats why i ask which insurer she is using cause i also want to use that insurer lol

Most insurer will kasi sound if towing more than 5 times in a year. Some even got limit on the towing service like Rm200 per tow.
I will look 4 u wen i wanna buy insur

6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >

0.0142sec    1.29    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 01:27 PM