> myvi got weird cranking sound, car expert come pls, what is the issue?

TSjeffro
post Jun 30 2016, 01:55 PM, updated 10y ago

62 posts

Car is Myvi 1.0 Manual, age of car is about 9 years +

this month my car spoiled 3 times.. suddenly the car just 'fell asleep' while driving on highway..
1st time fix: mechanic say engine plug need to change
Damage cost: nearly RM100 sad.gif
Fixed ady, then 2 weeks later same thing happened. But before the car 'feel asleep', the car was jerking.

2nd time fix: say clutch, drive shaft and timing sensor spoiled, so need change also
Damage cost: nearly RM1k rclxub.gif bye.gif
Fixed ady, then 1 day later same thing happened AGAIN! This time got metal cranking sounds, car jerking, lost of power, and yellow engine light on, and it fell asleep.
Able to start the car after a few minutes of rest (car very sleepy i think)

3rd time, want to fix: say mayb it's engine issue, if open it up, labor charge ady rm600. This price not inclusive of repair and replacement of parts.
Some things confirmed need to be replaced if the engine is opened up. cry.gif

Have you experience the metal cranking sound with car jerking issues?
What maybe the cause of this problem?

icon_question.gif Need help pls notworthy.gif
TSjeffro
post Jun 30 2016, 01:58 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(hightechgadgets8 @ Jun 30 2016, 01:58 PM)
change mechanic. he is doing trial and error
Where can you recommend nearby Sri Petaling area? My car is not able to move sad.gif
TSjeffro
post Jun 30 2016, 02:01 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(Toyoi @ Jun 30 2016, 01:59 PM)
consider untung oredi can last 9 yrs without wasting cuti sakit MC
careful driver here smile.gif
TSjeffro
post Jun 30 2016, 02:05 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(5tar5cr3am @ Jun 30 2016, 02:03 PM)
U should always check simple stuff first, such as fuel filter.

No fuel = jerk... die
Impossible to drive with no fuel.. it was nearly full tank in all 3 incidents..
do you mean the fuel pump?

This post has been edited by jeffro: Jun 30 2016, 02:05 PM
TSjeffro
post Jun 30 2016, 02:07 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(king_shazman @ Jun 30 2016, 02:05 PM)
Its myvi. what dayya expect?
should be ok ma.. myvi is a 'made out' of toyota cars.. lasted 9 years, i was hoping it goes beyond 10 actually.. blush.gif
TSjeffro
post Jun 30 2016, 02:27 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(Revamperz @ Jun 30 2016, 02:08 PM)
should be fully paid right? just let it go, old car could easily turn into money pit. all those repair could do downpayment
fully paid, but not worth selling it to buy a new one.. just got out of a loan, trying not to get back into one..
TSjeffro
post Jun 30 2016, 02:34 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(5tar5cr3am @ Jun 30 2016, 02:09 PM)
No, I mean maybe your fuel filter is clogged, have you changed them before?
i think not, first time hearing this though.. will take note..

QUOTE(homicidal85 @ Jun 30 2016, 02:10 PM)
i think ur mechanic started out doing the right thing. sounds like u have ignition issues. if it were me, my first guess would be the spark plugs too. but rm100 is a bit much (my iswara plugs just cost RM30 a set).
clutch, driveshaft and timing sensor? thats pretty unlikely in my opinion.
my second guess would have been that u havent been servicing ur car regularly and your piston rings are damaged so they let in engine oil into the combustion chamber. this slowly builds up sediment on your spark plugs which causes a failure to ignite.
if it is true, then you'll need to do a top overhaul to replace the piston rings.
how much would that cost me? sad.gif

QUOTE(am84496 @ Jun 30 2016, 02:11 PM)
Check oxygen sensor. The symptom is car suddenly stall and can be restart after a while.
oxygen sensor? If that is damaged, how much would it cost to change it?

TSjeffro
post Jun 30 2016, 02:35 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(Jasonist @ Jun 30 2016, 02:24 PM)
change to mercedes liao
no cash or sufficient fundings to do so sad.gif

QUOTE(desmond2020 @ Jun 30 2016, 02:26 PM)
Alternator
hmm.gif

QUOTE(5tar5cr3am @ Jun 30 2016, 02:16 PM)
I don`t agree on this,

1. Even if you lose one, the car won`t just die, especially when you`re driving. the engine will just feel rough due to 1 piston not igniting.

2. If the piston ring is damaged, you would see black smokes by now. do see any? black smoke is due to engine oil is burnt together with fuel due to engine oil sip through the piston ring.
No black smoke, no white smoke either..
TSjeffro
post Jun 30 2016, 02:36 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ Jun 30 2016, 02:21 PM)
Yes confirm is the high tension wire.
Go change the high tension wire. Becos the 1.0 ej-ve confirm is using high tension wire and not coil on plug.

I bangla car mechanic can confirm this is true.
how much is the high tension wire going to cost?

QUOTE(drowning @ Jun 30 2016, 02:22 PM)
9 years+ you should consider changing the car. You know most car are beyond their economical usage past 7 years.
Actually this car is as economical in terms of fuel efficiency.. Comparable to that of city, vios and axia.. can do almost 500km per full tank

QUOTE(sinbad2k @ Jun 30 2016, 02:23 PM)
if you haven't been changing engine oil and gear oil on time every service period (typically 3 months or certain mileage whichever comes first) all these while, you probably need to do an overhaul. If you've been diligently doing that, then like some of the forumers said, start with simple stuffs first. Spark plugs, fuel pump, altenator, etc..

I've been driving mine for 13+ years and I don't really need to do any overhaul because I change engine oil on time every service period.
i use fully synthetic oil, which is said to give 10,000km before next service.. but 10,000km probably take 1 whole year to achieve, cause i'm mostly in KL only. So usually i service twice a year.
This means I got to service more often?

TSjeffro
post Jun 30 2016, 02:41 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(fireballs @ Jun 30 2016, 02:37 PM)
i bet on fuel pump and fuel filter
Hopefully that'll be the end of the problem ...

QUOTE(memekfalui @ Jun 30 2016, 02:38 PM)
Send to Perodua instead of the money sucking ahbeng mechanic
i sent to Continental workshop, because perodua workshop not near my house..
my car can't go far..

This post has been edited by jeffro: Jun 30 2016, 02:43 PM
TSjeffro
post Jun 30 2016, 03:00 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(kcchong2000 @ Jun 30 2016, 02:52 PM)
Around RM 200.

I think you need to change your mechanic ler. Coz my car 10 years but 1.3 also dun have this problem as you stated. You should need the mechanic plug in a engine checker, not big device to the engine, then they will show you ur engine what error, this is where i know where my O2 sensor kong
oh that price ok la, better than rm600 on just labor charge sad.gif
mechanic plug eh? okok this one i shall ask later when i go to the workshop again..
Thanks!! notworthy.gif
TSjeffro
post Jun 30 2016, 03:03 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(Vape On @ Jun 30 2016, 03:02 PM)
Got lost electricity????
If got means alternator.
what do you mean by lost electricity? It's the engine that stopped though, can start up car without issue, but only after a few minutes of resting after it 'fell asleep'..
TSjeffro
post Jun 30 2016, 03:05 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(Vape On @ Jun 30 2016, 03:03 PM)
Need to keep vroom vroom if not car will die?
Then radio/horn not working?
If got is alternator
nope, even vroom vroom also will die.. once i hear metal cranking sounds when i stepped on the accelerator, i have only moments left before it falls asleep again..
Radio, honk, aircond all fully functional even when car stalls..
TSjeffro
post Jun 30 2016, 03:07 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(Vape On @ Jun 30 2016, 03:06 PM)
I think this.
No fuel comes in.So car sleep.
okok, thank you on that! Gonna hear what the mechanic tells me, and ask him if he has checked these two things - fuel pump and fuel filter..
notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
TSjeffro
post Jun 30 2016, 03:11 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(beetch @ Jun 30 2016, 03:10 PM)
My friend got this problem.

Turns out it was ju onn latching to the car.

went to a monk, slept with him and problem solved.

The monk planted a toy ju onn in his car.

Fyi my friend is a guy.
exorcism gone wrong yo doh.gif
TSjeffro
post Jun 30 2016, 03:21 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(deejay_krish @ Jun 30 2016, 03:15 PM)
Looks like that bastard is covering his monthly rent by charging u exorbitantly and u also another dumbhead, why go to him since problem never solve since the first fix? Theres tons of reliable mechanics out there. Or at least come here n ask lah us lah. Everytime go spend so much, unless ure super freakin rich.
cry.gif because i've been servicing my cars (family car and mine) there for a while now.. and they are nearby my house, so i figured they are trustworthy..
Gotten recommendation on other places, but so far away.. If car is able to move smoothly and not 'fall asleep' in the middle of road, then i'll gladly go there..
but unable to do so.. ayam sadzz don't scold me sad.gif
TSjeffro
post Jun 30 2016, 03:32 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(shinkawa @ Jun 30 2016, 03:22 PM)
fuel pump rosak?

try cranking your car, and listen the sound.
Better if you know how to unplug the fuel pipe  that lead to your engine. try see got fuel shooting out or not
How to crank the car? I'm not so savvy with my car's mechanics, dare not try anything..

QUOTE(rcracer @ Jun 30 2016, 03:24 PM)
should have just bring back to service centre

but people always say SC expensive
That's what i heard, but the SC is not nearby my house, and my car can't go far.

QUOTE(sinbad2k @ Jun 30 2016, 03:28 PM)
It's usually a certain mileage and 3 months WHICHEVER comes first. So yes, you should be changing the engine oil more often. This is the most common mistake most people make because the engine oil will degrade over time even if you haven't reach that mileage yet. Engine oil keeps your engine well lubricated and in turn this regulate the temperature inside the engine. If you the engine oil is degraded, it will not lubricate well and this in turn causes higher than normal operating temp of the engine. As the temp gets higher, your engine will starts to wear faster. It's worse for cars over 3-5 years as most people keep on using cheap engine oil to save costs but in fact they're doing is just wearing the engine down slowly. Cars over 3 years old should use better engine oil. The key point is, whatever moving parts that needs lubrication, use good lubricant. It's the heat that wear the parts down most of the time.
Well i'm using ZIC engine oil, which is known to be a good but pricey product. Will take note and service more often, probably 3 times a year..
Or use cheaper oil and service more often? rclxub.gif

TSjeffro
post Jun 30 2016, 04:25 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(am84496 @ Jun 30 2016, 03:54 PM)
Definitely not alternator ts. Alternator rosak battery light will lit up and can't restart your car also.
QUOTE(am84496 @ Jun 30 2016, 03:56 PM)
Bring to a workshop with a scanning tool to check for error code. If fuel pump rosak, you cannot restart also cox no petrol is coming from fuel tank. Normally fuel pump if rosak terus cannot start again. Seldom will have this symptom
How can i get this scanning tool?

QUOTE(DigitalMop @ Jun 30 2016, 04:22 PM)
consider put k20a inside
you mean engine k20a? can fit?
TSjeffro
post Jun 30 2016, 05:28 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(am84496 @ Jun 30 2016, 04:29 PM)
The shop will have the scanning tool. They will cucuk into ur car and check for any errors.
Ohh ok ok when i go there i ask them to do it..

QUOTE(azbro @ Jun 30 2016, 04:33 PM)
When a car is giving you a headache and after repeated times to repair and pour money on it and making the workshop man happy, but still breakdown

Its time to sell of the car
Not enough cash or sufficient funding to get a another car..

QUOTE(hcmalaya @ Jun 30 2016, 04:34 PM)
9yrs old Myvi 1.0 manual value how much much today?
10k?
Ur damage adi 2k and counting
Solution: Change the car
Cost of change car? Definitely much higher, if new confirm very high, if 2nd hand, then not worth it lor i think..

QUOTE(kanagawaautoparts @ Jun 30 2016, 04:37 PM)
6/7k only if sell to used car
TSjeffro
post Jun 30 2016, 05:28 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(nko6213 @ Jun 30 2016, 04:37 PM)
1st time: correct could be spark plug
2nd time: mechanic could make some mistake. ignition problem will cause valve / spark coil to go haywire which causes jerking (once the car jerks either one of this three could be the issue).
3rd time: once got metal cranking sounds, problem lai liao. got metal cranking sound means mechanical problem occur d. i suspect camshafts / valves / piston rings kong.

now, i would reckon you to perform top overhaul. definitely must do. then sell the car because these problem may come again unless if you do complete overhaul.
but but but.. really need to overhaul? i know only cars go beyond certain mileage or age need to do that.. 9 years + with approx 100,000km is quite young right?

QUOTE(popopi @ Jun 30 2016, 04:41 PM)
9yrs car... do 1 time engine top & bottom service. pain pain 1 time. then no more problem... gasket all also change new. piston ring also... every replaceable part...

expect few k for that service yooo
ya lo, i think if want pain then pain all one shot..
i compared to buying another car, this is the more economical choice.. sad.gif

2 Pages  1 2 >

0.0163sec    0.71    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 07:03 AM