Plan to buy a NEW/USED car?(V3),, ASK HERE for recommendations

FrogBlob
post Jul 9 2025, 02:38 PM

457 posts

QUOTE(iverice @ Jul 9 2025, 02:27 PM)
hi /k, was wondering if a 2023 proton persona premium , the latest facelift one with the brown colour seat, worth the price for around 49k with stated Mileage about 29k km.
Anybody can advice me on this car? Thanks in advance.
wait for the new saga facelift and see first

but if insist on persona here are a few things for a quick rundown both good and bad
1. not fuel saving due to heavy car but some would say thats a good thing cuz planted
2. cvt jerk not everyone can accept even after all the tuning from each facelift
3. but this model year interior quite good looking got armrest p2 competing car this price dont have. and i like the aircond dials. rear view mirror got usb for easy dashcam somemore.
4. dashboard squeak and rattle down the road
5. and check for the radiator cuz alot owners report rust which result in overheat
6. check if maintain service with proton bc if not cannot claim free power window failure

other than that, 6 airbags, isofix, folding mirror, auto headlight, ok la this car. but i'd wait see new saga macam mana first.
FrogBlob
post Jul 24 2025, 02:18 PM

457 posts

QUOTE(lee82gx @ Jul 24 2025, 01:33 PM)
Any recommendation for a car with these criterias:
1. Below 60k, but expandable to 80k if necessary
2. Age of car below 5 years, new also ok
3. Don't mind small car
4. Use for going to work and back, fetch children nearby. max 30km daily.
5. Easy to maintain, I don't have familiar mechanic nearby, in Penang Island.
6. Must NOT be manual.
7. 4 seater
8. Comfort and safety, I am worried about the Bezza tin kosong concern is it really one hit and all going to heaven?
2nd hand ativa. easy to get in and out, more airbags than bezza. not as bad as the bezza or axia, but it is still a thin car. but imo a great choice for pure city driving.

2020 vios & city i see there are units around 60k. i like this gen vios and city. great space and utility.

alzas and myvis will be under 60k as well. but tbh unless gunning for the pre-fl versions, perodua just go for new. unless you know the car history.

here's a more atas option that will hit that 80k. camry 2.0gx >2016. must be gx for updated safety. its quite alot older than 5 years but i think its still a good deal. but harder to maintain cuz direct injection engine.
FrogBlob
post Jul 25 2025, 10:25 AM

457 posts

QUOTE(lee82gx @ Jul 24 2025, 07:37 PM)
I kinda like Yaris.
try to get 2021+ yaris as that one is facelift year. can tell by looking, pre-fl is smiley face, fl no more smiley face.

QUOTE(dogbert_chew @ Jul 24 2025, 09:33 PM)
Yaris is 88-92K new 😳

Asean Yaris is approaching end of model life.
All A& B-segment Toyotas here will outsourced to Daihatsu manufacturing who will build new models based on DNGA platform eg Yaris Cross.

Whether Perodua will rebadge this model (hence sold at a big discount under P2) remains speculation past 2 years 😅.
If it materialise, then you have a B-seg SUV for slightly above Ativa pricing.

Yes my kid has Ativa, love the 140Nm torque at low revs in city. But also eggshell.
umw toyota didnt even bother bringing in the new yaris fl, i know someone who was waiting then gave up.

dunno if will bring new gen yaris or not also. but probably wont sold under p2 lah cannot self compete with myvi.

QUOTE(dogbert_chew @ Jul 25 2025, 09:45 AM)
New Bezza with DNGA chassis likely downgraded to WA-VE 1.2L 3-cyl engine 🤕 earliest 2027.  Still eggshell just like current DNGA models Ativa, Alza, Axia but acceptable to majority of Malaysians.
sure or not ada sauce mou brows.gif
FrogBlob
post Aug 5 2025, 10:25 PM

457 posts

QUOTE(mastedo @ Aug 5 2025, 03:00 PM)
Currently me and my wife eye on W177 A250 used. Found around RM150. Mileage 60k 2019
(loan approve, but still not sign)

She really like the car. Since it come out.

I wonder if any other model that can consider. I do consider BYD Seal or Sealion new.

Currently use Subaru XV1

I'm open to any suggestion.

1. Brand -
2. Budget -
3. New/Used/Unreg.
4. Transmission.  - Auto
5. Type. -
City driving and occasionally long distance (KL - JB)
not to be that guy but may i know why not the c class?

similar year similar price but a class utility wise lose quite a lot. especially boot space. and rwd vs fwd.

but i also like how a class looks compared to the c class. if dont take in the interior.

if youre ok with it and wife likes it, and within budget, go for it.

or if looking for other options, budget can fit civic hybrid. despite all the ricer image its a good sedan. but steering rack issue sad.
FrogBlob
post Aug 20 2025, 11:56 AM

457 posts

QUOTE(jun6065168 @ Aug 20 2025, 11:28 AM)
Hi just want to check what's the interest rate currently for hire purchase loan.
it's different for everyone
national or non-national car, how many years, and personal credit history.
refer this thread for a very general idea.
FrogBlob
post Nov 19 2025, 11:07 AM

457 posts

QUOTE(Sotsotzaii @ Nov 18 2025, 01:28 PM)
1. Brand : Proton
2. Budget : 40-50k
3. New/Used/Unreg : new
4. Specs : the highest spec ? Premium if not mistaken
5. Transmission : AT
6. NA or FI : NA
7. Type : Proton saga ( the new one )
8. Remarks :

Hello all, this is going to my first purchase of car, I plan to buy the new proton saga next year, as it fits my budget for monthly commitment, and also I want to ask for general advice on the proton saga, as well as some car financial advice.

I initially thought of going straight for the car that I wanted, but on second thought I decided against, I plan to buy the proton saga first, loan it for 7 years, own it for 3 years, then sell it off as the value will still be there, and with the money that I sold for the proton, i will then add in some extra money for a down payment the car that I initially wanted to get, so basically this saga I'm only buying it temporary because my main priority is petrol consumption, my current car is very old and it's a 2.4 CC which my dad bought over from a friend, it drinks too much petrol and I can't handle the fuel price.

So just like to ask for general advice on both the all new proton saga and this.
what was the 2.4L car? camry?

if planing to sell midway, take shorter loan. not just proton, all brands except perodua RV not viable to sell midway if taking >5 years loan. but proton higher risk sometimes their value memang drop to kesian levels of low. (looking at you x70)

i was somewhat in the same boat as you; 2.4L car before changing car. but my current car is persona, mana tau fuel consumption same same only (around 10% better only) but have to add on monthly installment. only benefit of changing is got more airbags and isofix. other than that really no benefit of changing from old luxury to modern economy.

so the question is if the fuel savings from a lower CC car can cover the fuel cost + monthly installment.

i'd suggest wait for the first batch owners receive their cars, get them to beta test first. see if the fuel consumption really that good as proton claims (iirc they claim around same as bezza).

never rush with purchase of cars. never give in to the rush and racun. this is one of the most expensive things you will be paying for.
FrogBlob
post Nov 19 2025, 03:48 PM

457 posts

QUOTE(dogbert_chew @ Nov 19 2025, 02:38 PM)
Its still the same chassis. We pay extra 3-5K for a new engine, more airbags and safety system hence the best variant might be Premium but back to Punch CVT 😅

old Saganew Saga
priceStd39K  Exe42K Pre45KStd42K  Exe45K Pre50K
Engine1.3L1.5L
HP95120
Nm120150
TimingBeltChain
Gearbox4AT4AT/CVT
HeadlampsHalogenLED
Airbags2Pre6
ExtrasAEB LDW LKA etc
i'm happy for the upgrade but all that change but no auto down power window as standard. this really irks me.

4 Pages « < 2 3 4Top

0.2423sec    0.83    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 04:16 PM