41 Pages « < 37 38 39 40 41 >Bottom

Plan to buy a NEW/USED car?(V3),, ASK HERE for recommendations

zenix
post May 2 2024, 02:30 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(dogbert_chew @ May 2 2024, 12:27 PM)
Would you buy a real estate without going onsite?

Why would anyone sell a 1+ year Lexus ?
saw an add recently

used 2019 tesla model 3 (i am guessing grey import)
100k cash only

sweat.gif
who is going to pay 100k for that
zenix
post May 2 2024, 04:31 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(KingArthurVI @ May 2 2024, 03:51 PM)
Hi guys, just curious for most C+ segment vehicles (sedan and SUV) is it possible to still seat two adults in the back after putting a child car seat on one of the outer rear seats? Or am I better off looking for 3-row options like the Mazda CX-8 or Volvo XC90?
depends on how big your adult friends are and how long the journey
if your MIL and Mom behind
u better invest in a 7 seater
trust me bro!
zenix
post May 2 2024, 06:18 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(KingArthurVI @ May 2 2024, 05:35 PM)
lol yeah... but most 7-seaters on the market aren't enticing to me, only the CX-8 seems like a good purchase for someone who likes cars. The rest are either too low-powered (Alza, Veloz type) or too expensive (XC90, X7). If possible I'd like to stay with 2-row vehicles or something like XC60 sad.gif
you mean you like the built-in booster seat for kids in the Volvo?

btw please use the standard form so we can understand fully then discuss not bit by bit
zenix
post May 3 2024, 10:12 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(jimmyteng18 @ May 2 2024, 11:01 PM)
Yes,but mine is Duratec 2.0 petrol engine, 4 speed auto box.
Used cars also can consider.
Thanks for the advice.
budget requirements etc
use std form at first page ya
zenix
post May 6 2024, 06:21 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(KingArthurVI @ May 4 2024, 06:28 PM)

Honda CRV: I think just skip it, there isn't too much improvement from the outgoing model but the price has been bumped up slightly. Also most of the lanewatch/assist and start-stop technology is useless. They say they've strengthen the starter so it won't break so easily but hey you're going from just turning the car on once when you start a drive to turning it on at every traffic light it will die ngam ngam when your warranty is over -- built-in obsolescence.

Nissan X-Trail: Same as Honda. This was the first car to have 360 camera but compared to the one in the Toyota Cross, it is ancient. Do get a test drive on both and know the difference yourself.

Mazda: Their best claim to fame is their naturally aspirated skyactiv engine's which will give you mileage similar to that of a diesel. The turbo for their petrol and diesel although having the same skyactiv moniker doesn't get enough love that's why it always feels like something shoehorned to their cars. The 2.2T diesel especially for Malaysia is not a choice because the diesel we have here is usually "dirty diesel" installing an app to find Euro5 diesel is a hassle, if you want to add difficulty level try install app to find EV charging locations if you like this game. Thus, if you're looking for Mazda just aim for the CX5.

Volvo: In general if their cars stated to have a 48V electric engine then it is a HEV no matter the engine designation, meaning it is a small electric engine to help the petrol engine usually designed for low-end speed so when you're puttering around town can save fuel and won't tekan pedal habis2 for pickup feel. I say it is lousy, Volvo Recharge which are the PHEV is where it is at.

If you're okay with EV but still want everything go checkout the BMW iX brows.gif

QUOTE(Snoopycute98 @ May 6 2024, 01:18 PM)

I have a friend, ex-rally driver & mechanic.
He can help you but need to work around his schedule, and "upah" is required.

zenix
post May 7 2024, 11:02 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(KingArthurVI @ May 6 2024, 06:56 PM)
I think EV not too well suited for now because I'm living in condo. Out of the few you mentioned and looking at my original requirements, which ones will you shortlist for me? blink.gif
Actually CR-V is not bad this gen, looking at C&D reviews it's actually #1 in their compact SUV segment, scored higher than CX-5 and CX-50
CRV and CX5 are good and ticks all the boxes unless you want to nit-pick, however they only seat 5, i recall you're looking for 5+2.

I recall 5+2 or 7 seater SUV's would be

Toyota Fortuner but it's built from a pickup platform so the ride height is higher and uncomfortable ride
Lexus GX and LX models have it but way over budget and size like Toyota Landcruiser
Toyota Rush/Perodua Aruz is decent if you're looking for cheap transportation but don't expect too much refinement
Mazda CX8 is quite decent actually if you can look past the fc which isn't skyactiv level.
Chery Tiggo 8 Pro has it but I feel it is overpriced
Haval H6 is also a China brand but this one has much more kit than the Chery, it is a turbo hybrid like Volvo, glass roof, auto park, alot of next gen tech, and cheaper than Chery

Those are for new......recon/unreg I'll only recommend you consider a Toyota/Lexus.

The thing is for Malaysia and Malaysians manufacturers just come out with these next gen technologies to differentiate themselves because they know Malaysians don't utilities and after initial launch some of those will be removed and replaced with things Malaysian users like, e.g. brighter and more lights on the car, leather seats, bodykits, etc.

Most people buy the highest spec for ego and wanting the best, however alot of these tech just goes unused or have to turn off which becomes a hassle.

zenix
post May 7 2024, 02:34 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(dogbert_chew @ May 7 2024, 01:09 PM)

Aruz is based on A-segment dimensions iinm, thus it is small.
I think he is looking for something better though.

Innova hmm.gif
If van body might as well just get the Honda Ortaksee if want fancy, or reliability boringness the Alphard or Vellfire laugh.gif

QUOTE(KingArthurVI @ May 7 2024, 02:23 PM)

I'd recommend to stay away from Honda Hybrids, more trouble than it is worth when the hybrid systems age.
If you're getting rid of it at the 5 year mark then go ahead, they would last the duration of the warranty.

Actually the grey import Honda Odyssey would be a good match if you're okay with a van/mpv body for 5+2.

zenix
post May 9 2024, 11:38 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(dudester @ May 9 2024, 11:24 AM)
any update on pricing? 70+K wouldnt it conflict with Ativa ?
it would sit above aruz
zenix
post May 9 2024, 12:05 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(dudester @ May 9 2024, 11:49 AM)
ARUZ 1.5 X: RM75,237.33.
ARUZ 1.5 AV: RM80,361.35.

I asked relative planning to get budget suv and looking at Ativa... i rather this if 70k+ , but i doubt it.
Ativa = A-segment SUV 5 seater
Aruz = A-segment SUV 7 seater
D66B = B-segment SUV 5 or 5+2 seater

zenix
post May 15 2024, 05:29 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(Odinn @ May 15 2024, 03:19 PM)
Hi all, want to ask for recommendations. Plan to get a sedan car, been looking at Mazda6 for years now and it's time for that change.

Am a stickler for aesthetics so looks is important to me. Apart from Mazda6, any similar car within the price range?
so you're talking about the old mazda6 can buy for 20k or the newer one at 100k

fill in the form so it is easier for us to answer
zenix
post May 20 2024, 12:58 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(Odinn @ May 15 2024, 05:43 PM)

alrighty then no issues.
nowadays 180k would be the lowest spec d-segment or highest spec c-segment.

The current Honda Accord will be the last generation for our local market because they're going to focus more on SUV's as sedan sales have dropped.
Their Civic's always do well, City is a cheap and cheerful car so won't be dying off soon.
But D-segments are dying as people transition to SUV's after C-segment models.
The last dealer I talked to gave big discounts for the Accord, if you want it pm.

Teana don't tough it, it is underpowered and the gearbox is made of glass. It is also ugly.
Seriously unless you're given it for free, don't consider.

Mazda6 current generation is very handsome and Mazda cars have been proven to be reliable and maintenance isn't a killer once out of warranty.
However, resale value will still be less than an Accord or Camry, and replacement parts except for common ones will cost a premium.

2019 Toyota Crown 2.0T - this would be around the same level as a Merc E-class or BMW 5-series but being a Toyota you can depend on it being reliable and pocket friendly upkeep. If you think you need to reserve around Camry level funds for upkeep you're in the ballpark. Any Toyota car with it's own badge (e.g. Mark X, Harrier, etc) are special and considered top of the line and would have an equal in the Lexus stable. Usually the Lexus variant will have a more luxury focus design while the Toyota variant will be sports luxury. Mazda6 2.2D? Accord 1.5T? Teana 2.0? Camry 2.0T? All 4 of them pull up to Fahrenheit 88 front jocket parking with you driving a Crown, the jockey will automatically open the valet gate for you to park in front, others? they will bring it to the back laugh.gif

QUOTE(BboyDora @ May 16 2024, 11:42 AM)

owners remorse is usually the case if you bought something with your brain than your heart.
e.g. new model already come but need to wait 1 month for car, old model still selling and clearing stock got 10-20k discount, so make the financially sound decision to take the old model then start to see the new ones on the road feel like kena cheated. yes, cannot help it one, the heart wants what it wants.

now the next move would depend on what you bought and how much commitment you're in.
if you did a 100% loan for 9 years, it is going to be a heavy loss either way.

QUOTE(jinj @ May 18 2024, 02:34 AM)

New x50? don't dream Proton's track record is sell same thing for as long as possible.
They only recently retired the Exora.

GAC is another chinese automaker, smaller one at that.
Unless you really love it and are willing to go extra mile for it's TLC, I'd say don't bother.
GWM Ora Good Cat, MG's Model 4 and BYD Dolphin would be better choice if you're going Chinese Electric.
Chinese non-electric there is Chery but after all the commotion recently do you want to take a chance?

City Sedan e-HEV is a hybrid, ask yourself why you want one.
Is it for fuel savings or the spec.
Does it have something other than the hybrid drivetrain that you want which the highest non-hybrid spec doesn't have?
Because usually hybrids demand a higher purchase price but RV drops faster than lowest spec.
Just check out the price difference of the Civic FB, the Hybrid is floating around 15-25k, while even the 1.8 is at 30k.

Pug 2008 big savings for stock clearance at MG showroom @ glenmarie
Previously Pug showroom but since Berjaya no longer representing the brand they clearing stock.
If I were you I would ask myself.....

1. am i a pug lover?
2. do i really love the looks so much that it blinds me from obvious problems
3. is my warranty and the car condition really guaranteed since the stock is probably transferred from Naza to Berjaya and now Stella.
4. I always hear bad things about Pug's, am i ready to give it the TLC or i just going to treat it like a myvi.

Toyota Corolla Sport 1.2T - if it were me with 120k budget I would aim for one of these but recon not used. Recon you can buy it like a new car, e.g. choosing your own number plate. In the car registration you will be the first name not second name, even though it is an import. This generation of corolla hatch really looks handsome and the sport has a 1200cc turbo engine which is good enough for the car. I would just go bring it for basic tuning without changing anything just more low-end torque for pickup to do city driving, you're all set.

Merc A80 1.3T - if i was going to go thru all the heartache of buying a conti burning my pocket in maintenance then I would rather get a BMW, Audi or Merc because I don't want people laughing at my life choices when I roll into the country club in a fancy pants Pug. A junior Merc is still better than other conti brands.

Toyota Mark X 2.4 v6 - so maybe after some though you want something better than what you have now, something looks cool and rare with street cred not another boring drive, but also something that won't break the bank. Let me introduce you to the Mark X, think of Camry highest spec then think one level higher then you're there. This is the twin to the Lexus IS250. This is also like the Corolla Sport an import only because it is JDM and when you hear JDM know that Japanese are selfish and keep the best for their own kind but grey imports exist so we can still enjoy it, although not first hand because the cost wouldn't make sense.

zenix
post May 20 2024, 03:15 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

jackbanner time to get v3
zenix
post May 20 2024, 08:43 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(jinj @ May 20 2024, 08:31 PM)
Tqvm for the great advice.

I considered electric cars. MG4 i think is a very good option which i assume will be lots of fun. But then i live in a condo without charger. So that's a pity.

Others that i considered includes:
x50 - Malaysia will have its facelifted version soon, some say may come with 4 cylinders, but nothing is for sure. Can't keep waiting.
GAC emzoom - 1.5 turbo. No feedback or test drive videos. Plus under tan chong.
city - Actually test drove the hybrid rs and the petrol rs. The feel is noticeably different. The petrol is draggy (not sure if is it on eco mode?). But the hybrid, a lot of torque from the electric motor and can feel the instant power when i accelerate during city drive. It was nice. The only thing is, I am not sure how well it perform at above 120km on highways when the petrol motor kicks in. Fuel efficiency is a bonus.
Pug - ya i think i will just forgo this one due to the uncertain after sales service in malaysia.

So then based on my consideration for the honda city. I looked into proton s70. And is now leaning towards the s70. Turbo, ok looking, cheaper though not by much.

I am looking into the suggestions that you have provided as well. One thing i do not really understand, pardon me. Based on the links, corolla sport recon is considered a new car but with 25k km mileage. mark X has 30k km in it. It the mark X initially a recon car and then has a previous malaysia owner or how? Or is it a used car from japan but with a bonus of low mileage?

Thanks man.
Recon/Grey import are clean slate for malaysia.
But they are still considered used.
Usually importers will use a grading system.
They will pick out the best cars from grade A to import.
These are low mileage cars some were showroom demo cars, fleet cars, etc.
Usually they are fleet cars like rental agencies or company cars that get disposed of after 2-3 years for the clients.

zenix
post May 23 2024, 09:19 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(josephcvh @ May 21 2024, 02:57 PM)

x50 is relatively new and I can't say it is a value used car buy or not.

but here are some general information to guide you.

x50 uses a 3 cylinder engine than a more common 4 cylinder format.
Why is this a problem?
4cyc is self balancing, 3cyc needs help from engine mounting to balance.
Additional stress for this part even though it is already stressed in 4cyc applications.
It needs to work harder to give

Here is a comparison between Proton x50 and it's competitors.
The Proton x50 with only 1.5L displacement and 3 cylinders delivers more than 2.0 n/a or 1.5T with 4 cylinders.
They are trying to extract a lot from it, and that adds stress to every component.
This usually makes for reduce lifespan.
Proton x50 is based on Geely's technology, technology which is China manufacturers usually aim to emulate European makes and for Geely Volvo.
European philosophy is extracting more from the components but if maintenance schedule is followed strictly, it won't fail.
As opposed to Japanese philosophy of giving a generous buffer to reduce failure rate.
This is why Japanese cars last longer even when abused with minimal maintenance.

But Zenix, they say 3 cyc is the future while 4cyc is ancient.
That is true and false at the same time.
3 cyc is considered newer and a darling all because Ford create that A4 sized 1.0T 3cyc engine few years back that won many accolades.
it is designed to be fuel efficient yet powerful, so a 1.0 naturally aspirated should output the same power as an ordinary 1.3 engine, or 1.0T output as a 1.5 or 1.6na.
and smaller form factor means design once then can fit it into many types of vehicles.
but all that is true if it is working in optimal conditions.

it works for very modernized european countries because those countries being green is very important and car leasing is popular.
so by the time the car starts to give problems when nearing warranty end (3-5 years) those vehicles are replaced.
it is very different in markets where generally people keep their cars longer due to high prices, e.g. Malaysia.
but malaysia and few other countries (i feel) has become a dumping ground for this to amortize R&D for these companies.

in summary
if u getting it really cheap from a known source like hand-me-down family car
ok lah consider

if u paying market price
heh....i dunno about u
i won't buy used or new any 3 cyc cars especially x50

QUOTE(2Egrenade2 @ May 21 2024, 08:40 PM)

https://www.golfgtiforum.co.uk/index.php?topic=282814.0

Overall, an okay choice.
7.5 is just a facelift no guarantees of improving or fixing of known bugs unlike BMW when LCI models roll out.
You don't get AWD like the Golf R but you get DCC.
You don't get a boot like the Skoda vRS but parts more readily available for Golf body in Malaysia.
Not many people will know the difference between MK7 and MK7.5 so don't feel bad about explaining your decision to every person you meet that will say 'why buy mk7 many problems u know'.

so what is my opinion?
well let's say i have 150k to burn for a fun car yet reliable, this would be my options.

2005 Mitsubishi Colt 1.5T - it uses the same 4915 engine as the Proton 1.5's, it is a solid engine but underpowered and usually matched to a lousy 3 speeder auto -- but this is one which has a better gearbox and mitsubishi turbos brows.gif much better than the pinnacle of 4g15 back in the day a gun metal grey wira 1.5 tuned to perfection at glenmarie shah alam. Is it as fun as a Golf? Maybe not but when the turbo kicks in it is still going to give you a silly smile. Plus being Malaysia and very Mitsubishi biased it is going to be more reliable and cheaper to upkeep. Then pair it with any boring reliable daily driver you want, e.g. Honda City or Toyota Vios.

2019 Toyota Corolla Hatchback 1.2T - since it is going to be 95% of the time a daily driver and just some fun on the weekends you need to worry about reliability and upkeep. The 1.2T isn't going to give you GTI levels of fun but it is fast, just don't go cucuk BMW's amd Ketam turbo, self fun on some twisty roads like Ulu Yam or up Genting is fine. Being a Toyota it is very reliable, upkeep won't break the bank, and resale value will be quite good as well.

2019 Honda Civic Hatch FK7 1.5T - yes, i hear you. A 1.2T with an all looks but no substance Toyota going to make you the laughing stock of the gang so why not up a bit of the deception but still being pocket friendly. As far as most people think only (for Malaysia) only the FK7 Civic TypeR comes in hatchback form, so get a JDM 1.5T hatchback civic with TypeR bodykits then tada you have it. More power than the 1.2T from the Corolla not quite not quite there in terms of power when compared to the Golf GTI but plenty fast for our roads, as a daily driver you'll be happy with the upkeep and fuel economy -- plus showing off once in a while or weekend fun is just 5% of the time.

2008 Mitsubishi Evo X 2.0T - if upkeep and fuel economy isn't a concern but the concern more is satisfying what the heart wants which is a fast car, something that excites you, something you can show off, and doesn't burn your pocket as much as a conti -- you can consider this it. I wouldn't recommend Subaru WRX/STI the ones abundantly available is the Version 10 quite notorious for requiring TLC from the owner else suddenly engine problem need to change whole engine sweat.gif The Evo might be more expensive to buy but upkeep is relatively better and it is more reliable overall -- as long as it is kept in stock condition don't modify it too much. You're spending about the same amount of money but getting an older car but remember on the roads there are many Golf 1.4, GTI and R but Evo X is rare, don't let fools think yours is an Inspira or Lancer......Evo's have square fuel caps, everyone else is round whistling.gif

zenix
post May 24 2024, 04:20 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(josephcvh @ May 24 2024, 03:11 PM)

I'd recommend the Honda WRV if you've the budget, or Perodua Ativa if on value buy budget.
Ativa and X50 both are using 3cyc turbo, but I'd bet Toyota group makes them more reliable than anyone else.
They're SUV's but not very high so it is easier for old folks to go in and out.

2020 Toyota Porte - this is something for your consideration, I find this car quite cute and functional for family use. It is basically a mini mpv, in terms of size and height think Perodua Alza but it only has 5 seats instead of 7 -- a bit more spacious not squeezing. The special trick of this car is the doors. It has one big van-like sliding power door for the passenger side, big door opening is easier to fetch old folks and grand parents, if not they tend to knock their head or fall to the seat coz muscles weak in a similar vehicle like Perodua Alza -- that's why MPV's sell so well here. On the other side is a normal 2 door setup for the driver and passenger. Do consider it, mpv's like this are cheaper to maintain than SUV.
zenix
post May 24 2024, 09:05 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(dogbert_chew @ May 24 2024, 07:44 PM)
Omg so cute! Love the dashboard mounted gear shifter.
Is this 4WD? 😘
i think its a 2wd
there is another for sale with wheelcab installed
zenix
post May 27 2024, 10:06 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(xtreme_xplosive @ May 25 2024, 04:27 PM)
guys 2022 x70 premium for 90k worth it or not?thanks!
interest rate difference between new and used cars on average is 1%.

Just to give you an idea, if you buy a new car at 90k this would be what you're paying for.

Now, for a used car you will be paying an extra RM50 every month.
By the end of the loan tenure you will give the bank an extra 10k in interest, just because of that 1%.

Here are the other things you should consider.

Is it a private sale or clearance from dealership.
If let's say it is a slow moving model like maybe a Renault Koleos and the demo unit has been sitting in the showroom for 2 years now they want to clear it.
That is understandable because generally people that would buy new wouldn't want a showroom car or any form of used when buying a classy car.
They wouldn't want something that so many people sit before or touch before.
So then buying a discounted car from the dealership makes sense.
But if it is a private sale (friend/uncle/etc) or something at a used car lot, then start to feel suspicious.
Why would someone want to sell it so early.
Might be too many problems with the car they just fedup with the brand want to let go of it because too much heartache. e.g. Chery Axle issue.
Or might have had some flood damage.
Or might have been through some accident and they're unhappy about keeping the car so after repair quickly let go.
The only positive is the car was repo by the bank.

Secondly, if it is from the dealership transfer of warranty and full service record is assured.
Buying it used from used car dealer or private sale technically not an issue but might have snags.
What if the previous owner never follow the schedule maintenance or service outside then warranty burned and you dunno just assume it is 2 years old and warranty is 5 years so 3 more years to go.

2021 Renault Koleos - this would be an example of a car to consider, the location of the stock is PJ Renault that means it is from the dealership itself so no worries all maintenance and service has been done by the brand owner before this and even if they didn't you don't need to worry about it effecting the warranty coz in their computers it has a full service record.

2015 Toyota Harrier - if count by age it is counted as quite old but recon cars the price usually correlates to it's age. So while this one is an outlier I just show it to you because it is within your budget, most of the stocks for this model are around RM120k and above while being manufactured between 2019-2021. So does a recon/unreg imported car makes sense? Of course you don't have a local warranty but you can buy it with a new car loan, but at minimum the used car dealer will give you a 1 year warranty to cover the major parts like engine and gearbox from failure. Using the theory above in 9 years you save up 10k by buying a car with new car loan so instead of buying used car dealer's 3rd party bullshit warranty you save RM50 into an emergency fund every month. So in the 1 year covered by the dealer you'll have already accumulated RM600 (you can save more if you want) but generally for Toyota that is enough unless kena catastrophic failure. Plus as a new car you can choose number plate.

This post has been edited by zenix: Jun 4 2024, 06:27 PM
zenix
post May 27 2024, 03:33 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(prescott2006 @ May 27 2024, 03:03 PM)

iinm the diesel is a 2.2D don't get that it is a money pit unless you can offset maintenance to your company or something similar.
The ordinary 2.0i skyactiv is good as it is only an improvement from it's previous generation.
The turbo seems okay but it is relatively new so unknown it is going to be a money pit or not.

2020 Toyota CHR 1.8 - if you're okay for used around 100k but you want something great you can consider the CHR, in terms of looks I think it is very handsome as long as it is not a family car because the rear passenger seating can feel claustrophobic if it is not a short trip to the supermarket. This variant with full bodykit and year 2020 make is over 100k, but those in the year 2019/2018 can be had for around 80-95k.

2021 Toyota Harrier - The latest imported Harrier is smaller than it's predecessor, it sits between the Honda HRV and CRV in terms of size, which can be good or bad for some people. Some like the HRV but wished it wasn't so cramped and some like the bulk of the CRV but wish it was smaller so it is easier to park. Harrier can fit between these two wants. Reliability and parts not an issue as it uses an engine and gearbox combo very similar to the Toyota Wish. Being an imported recon you can get new car loan rates and choose a number plate.

2015 Porsche Macan - Reliability and low upkeep isn't your thing you can consider this as it is a prestige brand and has the performance to go with it. It is relatively low maintenance because the Macan is more of a reskinned Audi Q3 than a Porsche like Cayenne. So it is only has good or bad as an Audi Q3 of the same generation.

zenix
post May 29 2024, 11:30 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(rexus @ May 28 2024, 10:03 PM)
Hi all,

Need a recommendation please.

1. Brand: Preferably Japanese
2. Budget: 100k
3. New/Used/Unreg: Any
4. Specs: Any
5. Transmission: Auto
6. NA or FI: -
7. Type: Sedan
8. Remarks: Currently driving an 18-year-old 1st Gen Myvi. Perhaps time to change a new car as I am approaching 30. Want something that's reliable.

Thanks guys.
if reliability is the top priority above everything else then consider a new car within your budget.
under 100k there are some interesting cars like the BYD Dolphin, Neta V, etc. but i'd recommend you stay away from EV as reliability is not assured for new technology and you have to change your lifestyle to suit the car.

that leaves you with the usual suspects in the B-segment.
i wouldn't recommend downgrading a segment and go for cars like the A-segment Bezza
or Saga, although it is B-segment I think you'd want an upgrade in comfort and class as well since a car is usually a 10 year game you don't want to make a smart financial decision but it actually gives you buyers remorse.

persona and s70 are technically c-segment cars from proton, here is a decision of old vs new.
persona while it isn't the perfect car it has reached a stage where it cannot be improved any further so if you like it then take it, if not just leave it because in terms of ride quality, fuel economy, reliability, etc. it won't be improving any further.
it is because proton would focus on s70 to replace the persona, i think they're playing it safe now with both models being sold but the persona design is too old and will be retired soon, as for the s70 it ticks all the boxes of what a budget c-segment should be. it has a good design and size giving it a good road presence, boot space is good, but i feel internal passenger space doesn't feel as big as when you look at the car from the outside, personally i hate the gigantic center console taking up so much space -- some people say it is snug and feels like a fighter jet while others say it feels claustrophobic being a driver. performance and fuel economy is respectable. however being a new car upkeep and long term maintenance cost is unknown hopefully it uses a lot of OEM parts from other Geely models so you're not forced into Proton's parts and price monopoly. Another big question mark is servicing, until now i haven't ever had a great experience with proton service centers this was one reason why Peugeot under Naza were so bad for some of their more sophisticated models, naza service network just wasn't good enough.

city and almera, both these cars uses a stretched wheelbase like a limo so the rear passenger has great leg room even if the front pushes their seats all the way to the back. this configuration allows it to be a pseudo c-segment as rear passengers can ride back to kg in more comfort, other b-segment sedans like mazda2 and vios don't have this so the rear can be cramped so think of it like a coupe, you have good space for the driver and front passenger but the rear is mostly for kids, baby chair, or if adults just short trips as seating isn't comfortable.

in terms of reliability the vios, city and mazda would be considered very reliable n/a 1500cc engines, while the city does better fuel economy like a diesel engine with the potential to give you 800km per full tank but real world driving you're looking at 450-600km which is still good as city and vios would be around 350-500km respectively. among the two vios and city long term maintenance would be cheaper as outside workshops as parts are on the cheaper side. mazda2 if it comes with 5 years warranty and free service deal grab it, then you're set for 5 years because after that although not crazy expensive upkeep but when it comes to mazda specific spare parts it can be a slight premium over toyota/honda, but it is getting better. the 1000cc turbo in the almera might be fun to drive but i suspect they're not that reliable or easy to maintain, don't see many of them on the roads.

zenix
post Jun 4 2024, 06:26 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(Snoopycute98 @ Jun 1 2024, 11:33 PM)

coz u lambat cucuk laugh.gif

i will edit it with a 99 days hosting devil.gif

QUOTE(Cyyap95 @ Jun 2 2024, 12:30 AM)

CRV and CX5 are about equal in most important departments.
Fuel consumption.
Performance.
Upkeep.
It is just the finer details people would squabble over.

QUOTE(prozfromhell @ Jun 2 2024, 08:45 PM)

so have you enjoyed your time with your myvi
relatively boring car gets you from A-B and as long as you make the routine services nothing really goes wrong, right?

you want to enter the exciting world of performance cars that'll rather stay in workshop than on the road or your house?

If you don't want hassle, stay away from anything turbo or electic (EV).

City and Vios are your only choice.
Mazda2 doesn't seem to have a sedan spec recently.
Almera is a 1.0 turbo money pit.
Proton S70 is the new boy with too many unknowns.

I think you will feel a big jump when going to City.
It has space that would give comfortable seating to 4 adults like a c-segment car.
Fuel consumption and performance is rather good, it only starts to run out of breath at 140kmh.
Upkeep is rather cheap.
It is a Honda, upgrade from local cars.
Service centers are better and overall nicer experience.

41 Pages « < 37 38 39 40 41 >Top

0.2924sec    0.92    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 12:32 PM