41 Pages « < 35 36 37 38 39 > » Bottom

Plan to buy a NEW/USED car?(V3),, ASK HERE for recommendations

zenix
post Nov 25 2023, 01:20 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(ASoulNamedLeo @ Nov 25 2023, 12:48 PM)
Regarding this, I'm currently facing a problem, my hand-me-down Ford Fiesta 1.5 Titanium Sedan 2013 currently unable to drive at all (had to tow truck to workshop 1.5 week ago), repairing the TCM and gearbox will take RM8800 from the quotation. We're worried even after repair, the Fiesta will still break down again in 2 months' time, because we already sent the car to repair another 2 times already this year, and this is the 3rd time it broke down in the middle of the road, and need to send to repair.

We are currently thinking either
1) salvaging the car for RM0 and buy another used car (will take around RM15000, very painful to wallet), or
2) either just fix the Fiesta again for the 3rd time again for RM8800

The car hasn't been in any floods or accidents and we don't even know why it has so much problems.  cry.gif
iinm any car going through salvage process at minimum you get 3000-5000 bucks.

alternatively,
trade-in for axia rahmah, you'll probably 2000-3000 from the dealer.
at least it is a new car, axia rahmah is 22k iinm.
so loan for 5 years not that painful.

cheapest 2013 ford fiesta is rm7500
not really worth pouring anymore funds into this car
even after rm8800 spend to repair no gurantees

because rm8800 u need to pay cash
might as well buy a used car at the price but nothing really decent at that price
avoid further issues best to get a cheap new car, trade-in the ford to push the problem to someone else
zenix
post Nov 27 2023, 08:00 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(hottemper @ Nov 25 2023, 08:35 PM)

imho if you want decent highway experience the minimum is a B-segment.
however, B-segments are built still more for city driving and city highways
KL to Putrajaya still consider okay, can consider city highway
If interstate highway B-segment minimum with C-segment better for stability, NVH and fuel saving.

QUOTE(LostAndFound @ Nov 27 2023, 01:06 PM)

you need to check with your local salvage yard
do check how much used car willing to accept it as a yardstick
zenix
post Dec 11 2023, 09:20 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(hottemper @ Dec 10 2023, 02:19 PM)
Just wondering, notice alot of rebate going on for honda city E up to 5 figures, is it just a bad car or too much excessive stock?

Seems like a good buy
it is december
discount now to avoid heavier discounts in jan
zenix
post Dec 14 2023, 09:23 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(zroter @ Dec 13 2023, 09:21 PM)
kalau saya mau Honda City lagi murah , saya kena tunggu 2024 untuk beli stock 2023 ?
you want the current model even cheaper wait until 2028, 5 year old car used price will be half of new car brows.gif
zenix
post Dec 15 2023, 08:25 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(VeeJay @ Dec 14 2023, 07:34 PM)
Hello sifus, could you give me some insight on Merc GLC 250 vs 300. My brother planning to get one, as he is retiring; its for a long term usage.

iinm weak gearbox
otherwise decent
zenix
post Dec 17 2023, 11:26 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(VeeJay @ Dec 16 2023, 06:00 PM)

now that you're aware of it
you know how to care for it
it will not self destruct unless abused of course

QUOTE(Xith @ Dec 17 2023, 03:22 AM)

Myvi is pretty good workhorse but the main difference between it and Myvi would be carrying capacity.
Alza would give you capacity to carry more people
So if it is a family car and space would become an issue then upgrading to Alza is a good idea.
Myvi would be a good car to pass to your wife as a runabout to fetch kids from school or go pasar.
If you can have both cars lah.
zenix
post Dec 18 2023, 10:36 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Dec 18 2023, 04:10 PM)

This is my 2sen

Ativa is a 3cyc turbo, usually such design will have balancing issues and engine mounting dies faster.
It is made by Toyota and this setup although it is for other Toyota/Perodua/Daihatsu cars but usually found for lower end of the market.
And they're new dunno long term will be as reliable or cheap to maintain as a 4cyc n/a like Myvi.

City is a B-segment with but it has a stretched body so rear passengers have better legroom, only other to have this feature is Nissan Almera but it is kinda ugly.
Newer Almera looks nicer, however I won't bet any money on that 3cyc 1.0 turbo for long term reliability and cheap upkeep.
City at it's most basic is a 4cyc with CVT, Honda CVT's imho are the better ones, making the most of the power the engine gives.
It is able to string together the power band of each ratio so climbing up Genting is like nothing, even beats things like Camry and 3-series.
Going down, well the engine braking from a CVT ain't that great.

S70 biggest flaw is being a Proton.
Whenever Proton has a good selling car, salesman always go back to their old tricks of bad customer service.
With X70 and X50 owners complaining and crying no spare part, u really wanna jump into that ecosystem?
Go test drive their car, their turbo is kinda meh.....of course when compared again 3cyc 1.0 turbo from almera, 4cyc no turbo or city and vios mcm cun la
Is like comparing your wife against other women that don't wear make up

You can look up the dimensions here.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nissan_Almera
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Honda_City

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Proton_S70

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Honda_Civic_(...nth_generation)
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Toyota_Corolla_(E210)

So essentially the S70 when compared to the stretched B-segment cars like City and Almera you can say they all belong to B-segment plus.
Because true blue C-segment also mcm same dimensions, ya?

However, Proton having the same dimensions means nothing if they're not creative or innovative.
Gigantic center console takes up so much space.
Bulky door cards and door handles too.
This design is apparent for all Geely derived cars.
So yeah, if you're a woman or don't open legs wide wide or enjoy space.
Please buy S70. sweat.gif

zenix
post Dec 20 2023, 07:22 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(cweng93 @ Dec 20 2023, 06:57 PM)
honda city E spec having very attractive promotion - the highest rebate I saw is RM15k.
Any opinion guys?
Also, Would it have better rebate in 2024 for 2023 city?

Quite surprise they can rebate more than rm10k.
wonder why vios don't have such good rebate.
once jan 2024 rolls in, rebates will be reduced
oredi cleared stock
now sell 2024 stock
zenix
post Dec 23 2023, 04:54 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(mazannor81 @ Dec 23 2023, 01:40 PM)

If comparing against New Vios and City, I'd recommend City.
Stretched wheelbase gives better legroom space for both driver and passenger.
Power to weight ratio is better, and usually Honda comes with nice black interior as opposed to beige interior of Toyota's.

A few used options you can consider

2019 Proton Perdana - it probably doesn't feel so long ago because of Covid but this car is going to be 5 years old now, it was a better used bargain car few years back. However, value wise a newer generation Accord of year make 2020 can be had for around 90k so this car does have a sort of value for a bargain hunt. It is based off the 8th gen accord and if it wasn't abused before it would last you.

2019 Toyota Corolla - this is an unregister grey import from Japan, so it is a JDM which usually means better quality than anything you can buy locally in terms of build quality and specs. This would be one built on a 1.2T, yes it is a turbo but like the 1.5T on a Civic it ain't meant for rempiting, the turbo is meant to run lean and burn clean for high mileage and fuel efficiency. But of course being a turbo you can tune it for power but remember doing so will reduce the life and reliability of the car. But don't worry it has plenty of grunt for day to day driving but when you see something with a Myvi or 2.0T like Subaru SGT flash lights behind you on a highway -- you gotta let them pass. So in summary it has the power you want, it is C-segment so you're not doing a class down to B-segment for Vios/City, it is a hatchback like the one you have now, it is JDM&rare&toyota so RV will be good, reliability and maintenance ain't a killer unless abused. And the perks of unreg vs used? New number plate, warranty and first party insurance.

QUOTE(dogbert_chew @ Dec 23 2023, 02:54 PM)

with the current daihatsu scandal i thought people will be avoiding perodua and toyota like the plague sweat.gif

zenix
post Dec 23 2023, 06:02 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(mazannor81 @ Dec 23 2023, 05:59 PM)
That Corolla also come in Touring/Wagon version right? Maybe I'll look for that one. More boot space
iinm JDM Corolla has hatch and wagon
though imho getting a Wish would be cheaper
more common import and it has a more powerful engine and height for better vision
zenix
post Dec 26 2023, 03:41 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(VeeJay @ Dec 26 2023, 12:34 PM)
Here is my first take,

test drove Merc GLC 250, 300 coupe, and Lexus RX 300.

On the GLC250, the lack of responsiveness could be really felt.
The 300, felt better refined engine but the suspension was not as balanced and comfort was lacking compared to RX300, obviously different segment and class.

After driving the lexus, he is really torn between the GLC300 coupe and RX300, with much space and better sitting compart and cushioning as well.

No doubt it was a short 10km drive.
Just wanted top share my experience. Cheers
it is a torn between badge honour and realism?
zenix
post Dec 27 2023, 12:43 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(alphacross @ Dec 26 2023, 06:22 PM)

See above in red

QUOTE(doggycth @ Dec 27 2023, 12:50 AM)

There is also no point keeping two Myvi's in the family since you have plans to grow the family.

Sell 2009 Myvi and use her (I am assuming full NCB Insurance on the new car)
This is because a new car will have a more expensive insurance because it is calculated on the value of the vehicle.
Which is higher than her current used 2009 Myvi.
However, depending on the brand of car you get you might have free insurance and roadtax bundle.
But still the second year onwards you need to pay and full NCB saves alot.
Buy the new car under her name because insurance is under her name.

Transfer 2019 Myvi to your name.
Since the car is under your brother's name when transfer to you or sell the car you're going to start insurance NCB at Level 0.
Since it is a few years old starting from zero wouldn't matter the value has dropped.

Personally, I hate all the Geely-Proton cars.
I feel the door cards and center console is too chunky taking up too much real estate inside unless you like a cramped interior.
So that means I won't recommend any x50, x70, x90 or s70.

For the same money as Vios or City you can get a full spec Alza which would be better for your future family planning.
It has ISOFIX seats, space for a growing family, large space for strollers, 7 seats for picking up family members for outing when go back hometown and good fuel consumption.

2019 Renault Koleos 2.5 - if you want something more comfortable and powerful especially for outstation trips you can consider this, it is the twin to the Nissan X-Trail. It is more handsome with European styling inside and outside. But all important parts like engine, gearbox, aircon, etc. are sourced from Nissan so parts and more readily available and cheaper, unlike other conti where you'll find parts are expensive and even if you can afford it they might not have stock.

zenix
post Dec 29 2023, 06:13 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(alphacross @ Dec 27 2023, 09:20 PM)

in the end the decision is in your hands.

QUOTE(AeroMiku @ Dec 28 2023, 03:41 AM)

You're going to spend RM1500 monthly that means you're aiming to finish the loan quickly.
And still keep a low maintenance car until it rots?
I suggest you can look at any Honda City or Toyota Vios that fits your budget, though I suggest up the budget for full spec.

Proton S70, X50 and X70 would fit the bill in terms of comfort and specs, however their after sales service and product longevity doesn't have a good track record.
Nissan Almera does have a nice turbo engine and the cabin is quite spacious for a B-segment, however product longevity is suspect because it is a very new model.

QUOTE(Confession @ Dec 28 2023, 09:17 PM)

Your remarks reek of Toyota, Honda or Perodua laugh.gif

zenix
post Dec 30 2023, 10:08 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(pepppersalt @ Dec 29 2023, 10:54 PM)
1. Brand : Any
2. Budget : 25-30k max cash only
3. New/Used/Unreg : New/ Used with low mileage
4. Specs :
5. Transmission : Auto

Looking for car  for my wife ,going to pasar/send kids to school/occasionally once/twice a year ,jalan2 whole semenanjung . Just for  3 passenger,including me . I am looking at bezza/(2016 above) vios 2010+ 2nd or saga vvt 2020 above.Sifu please advice
currently do you have any other vehicle in your household?
because for a car that can travel on highways, it might be cheap to buy but maintenance is an issue.

QUOTE(Confession @ Dec 29 2023, 11:48 PM)
any recommendations sifu? haha . I don't mind venture to second hands as well.
myvi is a good choice
you're a first time car buyer?
if you are then it is a good starter car
the upkeep bills won't kill you but you get an idea of how to handle car ownership from a safe base
zenix
post Dec 30 2023, 02:59 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(Confession @ Dec 30 2023, 02:56 PM)
yes first time car buyer at the age of 30s haha. previously been driving my friend or family car. I do help chip in with the upkeep of the car as well.
30s is chance to build something
keep your cost low
mebbe later ur gf give u heart attack with pregnancy and stuff
zenix
post Jan 2 2024, 09:15 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(Xith @ Dec 30 2023, 10:53 PM)

CX5 is better overall, do check out your local mechs if they're comfortable working on them and how much are the spare parts.
Questions:
1. How much for normal oil change, and what interval.
2. How much to replace absorbers
3. How much to replace gaskets
If you don't have the appetite for those prices, ask for the Honda or Toyota competitor, e.g. HRV or Rush.

However, Rush is a glorified Avanza.
HRV is kind of punny when it comes to performance, and kind of a gas guzzler.

QUOTE(Patent @ Jan 2 2024, 01:44 PM)

if it is not abused, it is still a gamble
everything is about lifespan
car battery = 1 year
car wiper = < 1 year
car tire = +- 1 year
engine oil = change every 3000-5000kms

big ticket items usually last longer but fail too
suspension springs = 8 years
absorbers = +- 5 years

this is why if people have a choice
they will sell cars at 5 years old mark
because a lot of repairs will be piling up
and repairs on a car is cash can be cheap like RM50 or RM5000
new car just pay the monthly repayment
anything wrong claim warranty

if you want a good deal
look for perdana-accord
those are look down upon by most
but have honda heart
as long as not floor or abuse car
should be fine
zenix
post Jan 4 2024, 11:42 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(keepo @ Jan 3 2024, 10:18 AM)

did u book the alza because of 7 seater capacity?

QUOTE(Patent @ Jan 3 2024, 10:15 PM)

something 10 years old better find something made in japan, the so called JDM

zenix
post Jan 9 2024, 11:07 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(jcdrock @ Jan 6 2024, 09:12 PM)

What is the price of the RX300 that you saw?

There are two issues you may want to address.
Maintenance and warranty.
Generally Toyota's unless abused will be cheap to maintain and parts are everywhere.
Kia you get warranty, but once out of warranty maintenance isn't expensive but parts will become an issue if the model you bought didn't have enough critical mass.
If it doesn't have enough critical mass then stockist won't have compatible/OEM parts at cheaper prices.
If you need to go back to SC to do anything out of warranty it is going to be expensive.
e.g. a simple oil change at SC will cost you upwards of RM250, where same thing can be done for under RM250 at outside workshop.
You get warranty but are forced to go back to SC to keep the warranty "alive" if nothing goes wrong then you paid extra for nothing.

QUOTE(Kosumaledoko @ Jan 8 2024, 12:12 PM)

Nissan Latio 1.6/1.8 shares the same platform and drivetrain as the Nissan X-Gear and Livina.
If you want a crossover body you can pick the X-Gear.
MPV body can choose Livina.
and Latio has sedan/hatch body.
They use a simple variable valve timing system engine, ancient by today's standards but good enough.
They use a simple 4 speed auto, good enough and ain't going to break down unless abused.

zenix
post Jan 11 2024, 12:51 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(stereokumonomu @ Jan 9 2024, 06:50 PM)

2006 Skoda Octy 1.8T - A turbo that's going below market price grab it, generally you maintain it like a VW Passat they share many things (like Proton and Mitsubishi abang adik). Comfortable car, good performance, nice L&K sound system, only bad thing is you need to get hands dirty to do some DIY to keep cost low and find decent workshop and parts.

2012 Suzuki Kizashi 2.4 - This little gem has finally hit rock bottom, for a 12 year old car it is still a looker. Is it reliable? Yes, it is a reliable a car in the same vein as most Japanese cars as long as it is not abused. It is quite ordinary in technology so any workshop will be able to handle the routine maintenance, an issue you'll face is finding spare parts out of the usual maintenance stuff, e.g. aircon filter and oil filter not an issue but if you want to replace absorbers and springs then it gets tricky. Fun fact the headlights are made in Penang, sent to Japan for fitting.

2009 Mitsubishi Galant VRG Jerung - This uses the famous VR4 engine from Mitsubishi, it is from another pipeline of turbo engines from Mitsubishi, back then the 4G turbo's were for the evo and lancers, then galant and others uses the VR4. It is still a very capable and raw turbo, if you like old school turbo you'll like this. I had one, it was a riot. They are sought after and rare, this example fits your budget coz it looks like the owner has no more money to complete the project. But it is one with much potential.

2001 Nissan Skyline - if you wanna tell people you own a skyline and pass the lie detector this is the car, technically it is a skyline and it is also a 4 door sedan. Biggest drawback and why they're cheap is because of the gigantic 3.5L engine they usually come in. Reliability is decent and upkeep is fair, just that the roadtax is huge.
zenix
post Jan 13 2024, 12:45 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(Patent @ Jan 12 2024, 08:04 PM)
I never knew about the kizashi.. pretty cool. How hard would it be to find the replacement for absorbers and springs?

Do you have more list of cars around 20k-30k that is reliable and fairly easy to maintain wub.gif
A little trip down to Jalan Ipoh and ask any random parts supplier will give you a better answer

41 Pages « < 35 36 37 38 39 > » Top

0.2782sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 08:16 AM