Plan to buy a NEW/USED car?(V3),, ASK HERE for recommendations

andrewyu2005
post Jun 30 2016, 01:41 PM

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Jun 30 2016, 02:24 PM)
omaigod.... x habis habis....
1)it is not for us to decide for you, we have already told you what we feel about it.....
2)lol compared up against these 3? they are in a completely different price range/category from the honda city, jazz and mazda 2... this is again like paultan comparing the axia with the iris.... heck why not compare the iris with a bmw since our ministers say, and i quote "Proton is on par with other premium vehicle brands like BMW"
3)if u want 100% (or 99%) positive feedback go ask paul tan (he has an account here in lyf pls go pm him)

now... u keep asking which is best... i have said once and for all i would pick the suprima given that you dont take price into consideration....
the only cons of the suprima compared to the iris i can think of are:
+ price - u never mentioned a price range so scratch this, not a con for you
+ larger size - useless drivers would have issues navigating the larger car into parking lots
+ maintanance costs - technically has a turbo, turbos needs to be serviced sometime later on. Also more exp tyres

now about performance... The satria neo which in my opinion is already not a fast car, just decent performer is faster than the iris... so in my honest opinion the iris has a lackluster engine (not that the fc is really that great)
since you say like that,.Lets hope that proton preve cfe,exora cfe,Iriz vvt and Suprima S can change the people's perspective about proton. Syed Zainal Abidin is a great man and look at proton right now.They have fixed the oil cooler which is the biggest problem in the history of proton from rubber to metal which is the most important things to the people of Malaysia.I would have picked Suprima S CFE but i have to see other people's perspective about proton iriz,exora cfe,suprima s cfe and Preve CFE. Thanks Lsm1991.

This post has been edited by andrewyu2005: Jun 30 2016, 04:01 PM
andrewyu2005
post Jun 30 2016, 02:50 PM

QUOTE(jnhh @ Jun 30 2016, 03:36 PM)
1. Brand : Any Brand
2. Budget : 50-60K
3. New/Used/Unreg : Used
4. Specs : 2.0
5. Transmission : AT
6. NA or FI :  NA
7. Type : SUV
8. Remarks : The spec shd b reliable and less issue as using by old folk only for outstation driving.

I'm looking for a SUV type of used car. That car will be utilized by old folk which main usage is for long distance journeys. Their mileage of using is about 8K per year.

Hope our forumers able to provide some advise for which brand are worth to choose. Currently been survey for Honda CRV 2007-2009 & Hyundai Tucson 2011-2012 which cost 60K ++.

My dilemma is to choose between them. But if got other choices will consider it as well. So far, I've been heard Honda CRV for year 2007-2009 are quite good condition and seldom got any issue except it hydraulic pump which need to change after 80-100K mileage of using. For Hyundai Tuscon 2011-2012, I do not have any feedback yet but due to it is a CBU unit so afraid the repairing cost will quite high due to their spare parts hardly to find.

I'd appreciate any feedback from fellow forumers who able to provide me some precious advise about any SUV worth to own and with regards to ride, handling, comfort, reliability, maintenance fees, fuel consumption, etc for the Honda CRV 2007-2009 and Hyundai Tuscon 2011-2012. Most importantly, which car brand is the cheapest to maintain?

if you really want a car that is good. then pick honda crv 2009 over hyundai tucson.
(http://www.mudah.my/2009+Honda+CR+V+2+0+A+i+vtec+CRV+Facelift+4WD-46581203.htm)
(http://www.mudah.my/2009+Honda+CR+V+2+0+A+CRV+LEATHER+SEAT+LIKE+NEW-46880956.htm)

This post has been edited by andrewyu2005: Jun 30 2016, 04:03 PM
andrewyu2005
post Jun 30 2016, 04:16 PM

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Jun 30 2016, 05:11 PM)
Vehicles that fit the bill perfectly.
Honda CRV (from your pick)
-its found everywhere on our roads, parts are no issue all in all, a proven car.
Nissan X-Trail
-also a solid car, less common but reliable nonetheless

vehicles that kinda miss it by abit (this bunch are on the luxurious side)
Nissan Murano
-nice car, only issue? 2.5L tax~
Harrier
-also a nice car BUT the older 2.2L models are pretty old and looking abit dated now and the newer 2.5L models are nicer looking but cost quite abit more

+both cars are very reliable and are basically mechanically speaking, bulletproof... luxury cars
-both cars do drink fuel rolling around in town

cars that i dont think you should consider BUT because i like to pop up with silly ideas that only appeal to me, let me throw in these 2 (jangan marah saya, i just really like these 2)
Toyota Caldina
Mitsubishi Airtrek
+both are 2.0L turbo vehicles, both very powerful, both sport oriented
+both share many parts in its others in their respective families....
-unfortunately they can cost abit to maintain cause... power and budget never go hand in hand
-yeah turbos~ u did mention na but i like power
yes ask him to get honda crv. For me i still stick with Iriz Mt 1.6 exec thank you for your advice. How come iriz is similar to hyundai i10.No it is not even similar to each other.Suprima S, Exora CFE and Preve CFE are the flagship cars of Proton. And Iriz is also one of the flagship cars of proton.
1) Suprima S
2) Preve CFE
3) Exora CFE
4) Iriz VVT

This post has been edited by andrewyu2005: Jun 30 2016, 04:53 PM
andrewyu2005
post Jul 1 2016, 10:09 AM

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Jul 1 2016, 10:35 AM)
you are using the term flagship wrong...
why? because there is no more inspira left so suprima s is the flagship car of proton right now. and Zenix, paul tan ask me to buy iriz mt.
andrewyu2005
post Jul 1 2016, 10:10 AM

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Jul 1 2016, 10:35 AM)
you are using the term flagship wrong...
why? because there is no more inspira left so Iriz is the flagship car of proton car right now. and Zenix, paul tan ask me to buy iriz mt.

This post has been edited by andrewyu2005: Jul 1 2016, 10:56 AM
andrewyu2005
post Jul 1 2016, 11:34 AM

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Jul 1 2016, 12:22 PM)
have to say... it looks a heck lot better than the x-trail, mechanical parts should be very similar i guess? (at least engine wise definitely the same)... only thing would be the interior trim and the exterior panels/trim, but its not like one needs to replace those often. nod.gif
the current flagship would be the accordana......
dont know how many times i have repeated this.... but i take issue with the fake pipes..... puke.gif Ahbengness x2 for not only one fake pipe but 2 fake pipes~ shakehead.gif
i am stuck between proton waja cps and exora cps and iriz mt.Which proton car do you recommend me to buy?
andrewyu2005
post Jul 1 2016, 12:35 PM

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Jul 1 2016, 01:25 PM)
u mentioned, paul tan already recomended the iris to you.... and also said the iris is a 'flagship'..... go ahead and buy the 'flagship', what are you waiting for..... go buy it and be done with doh.gif
However, maybe i will follow your advice because i do not really trust paul tan that much because i have no confident towards iriz mt so i will get waja cps.what do you think? But paul tan say Iriz 1.3 standard,exec,1.6 premium and exec mt are the best car to date but i still do not believe in what they say. Do not worry Lee shi Ming/lsm1991 doh.gif but(paultan) they say Proton Iriz Mt is the best most affordable car because it beat myvi,axia,rio,i10,picanto,vios and almera.the reason that i have to get Waja CPS is because LSM1991 say it is a very decent car. If you deny,here is the evidence.waja looks good if you want something cheap, relatively decent.4 weeks ago,you make this statement. For now, i will stick with Proton Waja CPS.What do you think about it?proton waja cps is my favourite late 2000s proton car.(http://xxxxx.org/2008/08/10/proton-waja-cps-test-drive-review/)

(http://www.mudah.my/2009+Proton+Waja+1+6+A+Leather+seat-46725806.htm)
(http://www.mudah.my/2010+Proton+Waja+1+6+M+High+Spec+model-47010851.htm)

This post has been edited by andrewyu2005: Jul 1 2016, 01:12 PM

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
andrewyu2005
post Jul 1 2016, 01:10 PM

QUOTE(face @ Jul 1 2016, 02:02 PM)
hmm what's the con bettwen elantra n sonata ?
(http://www.fivestarhyundaiofmacon.com/2016-Hyundai-Elantra-vs-Sonata-Macon-GA.html) You can check the link that i have just sent to you.

This post has been edited by andrewyu2005: Jul 1 2016, 01:11 PM
andrewyu2005
post Jul 1 2016, 03:27 PM

[quote=lsm1991,Jul 1 2016, 02:43 PM]
doh.gif tak habis habis~~

Looking at this gives me a headache~~ dude structure your sentences!!!!

bolded section:
So~ if i say a car is 'relatively decent' you will get it, even if it was not the car i mentioned was the best??(u asked best between just about every proton in existence) I also did mention to dark90 that the caldina and airtrek are cars i personally liked, why not you get those instead..... heck you know what, the car i actually own would be even better since i would not have bought a car i didn't actually like right? why not buy that?(if you can find my fb page, my car pic is used as my cover pic, have a go at finding me~) or even better still, why not get every single car i have ever mentioned was decent....... u dont have a set budget (or licence) afterall.

ok lsm1991,i will get iriz 1.6 mt exec
andrewyu2005
post Jul 1 2016, 05:02 PM

QUOTE(face @ Jul 1 2016, 05:02 PM)
but both same price as 2nd hand car == which should i pick ?
maybe if you want fc, Hyundai Elantra is better than Hyundai Sonata but i am not sure about it. Please check the specs here.
Category Passenger Car
Model Name Elantra
Body Type 4 Door
Seats 5 Seats
* Price MYR92,288.47
Performance
Engine
Engine Label Gamma 1.6 Dual CVVT
Engine Capacity 1.6
Fuel System MPI
Displacement (cc) 1591
Max. Power Label 130 / 6,300
Max. Power (ps) 130
Max. Power (kW) 95.3
Max. Power (rpm) 6300
Max. Torque Label 16.0 / 4,850
Max. Torque (kg.m) 16
Max. Torque (Nm) 157
Max. Torque (rpm) 4850
Number of Cylinders 4
Valves of Cylinder 16
Transmission
Transmission Type 6 Speed Automatic FWD
Drive Type Automatic
Gear (Speed) 6
Drive Configuration FWD
Dimension
Exterior
Overall Length (mm) 4550
Overall Width (mm) 1775
Overall Height (mm) 1445
Wheel Base (mm) 2700
Front Wheel Tread (mm) 1549
Rear Wheel Tread (mm) 1562
Front Over Hang (mm) 865
Rear Over Hang (mm) 985
Wheels
Boot Capacity
Boot Area(SAE) 420
Boot Area(VDA) 485
Wheels & Tire
Front Wheels 6.5JX16
Rear Wheels 6.5JX16
Front Tires 205/55R16
Rear Tires 205/55R16
in comparison i agree with lsm1991 that hyundai Sonata is better than Hyundai elantra but as usual i prefer Proton and Toyota over Hyundai and Kia

This post has been edited by andrewyu2005: Jul 1 2016, 05:05 PM
andrewyu2005
post Jul 1 2016, 05:03 PM

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Jul 1 2016, 05:21 PM)
imo its really about what/need you want in a car and if you can afford it....
as mentioned, one will cost you more in to run ..... tax, insurance, fuel, tyres all cost more for the sonata.

why did you narrow down your choices to this 2 in the first place? Theree has to be several reasons.
you should figure out what you want in a car first. do you need the space? is it about the image of the car?(sporty/luxurious/classy kinda car) what about maintanance (some here say kimchis cost around the same to maintain and are as easy to maintain as a similarly classed sushi car. i would like to disagree, but have no evidence to back me up unless it comes to chevy.... then i have lots to say)

side note: you should really mention what year, spec cars you are comparing...... maybe even an example would be great
here is the specs for hyundai sonata
Category Passenger Car
Model Name Sonata
Body Type 4 door
Seats 5 Seats
* Price MYR139,295.24
Performance
Engine
Engine Label Nu 2.0 MPI
Engine Capacity 2.0
Fuel System MPI
Displacement (cc) 1999
Max. Power Label 154 / 6,200
Max. Power (ps) 154
Max. Power (kW)
Max. Power (rpm) 6,200
Max. Torque Label 19.8 / 4,000
Max. Torque (kg.m) 19.8
Max. Torque (Nm) 194
Max. Torque (rpm) 4000
Number of Cylinders 4
Valves of Cylinder 16
Transmission
Transmission Type 6 Speed Automatic FWD
Drive Type Automatic
Gear (Speed) 6
Drive Configuration FWD
Dimension
Exterior
Overall Length (mm) 4,855
Overall Width (mm) 1,865
Overall Height (mm) 4,475
Wheel Base (mm) 2,805
Front Wheel Tread (mm) 1,602
Rear Wheel Tread (mm) 1,609
Front Over Hang (mm) 965
Rear Over Hang (mm) 1,085
Wheels
Boot Capacity
Boot Area(SAE) 462
Boot Area(VDA) 510
Wheels & Tire
Front Wheels 7.0JX17
Rear Wheels 7.0JX17
Front Tires 215/55R17
Rear Tires 215/55R17
@face if you want a cheaper car, GET NEW Hyundai Elentra 1.6 because the price is cheaper. It is $79348.00 after promotion for hari raya

This post has been edited by andrewyu2005: Jul 1 2016, 05:08 PM
andrewyu2005
post Jul 1 2016, 07:22 PM

QUOTE(zenix @ Jul 1 2016, 08:16 PM)
Yes, they're like twins.
One pretty another ugly.
But on the inside they're the same.
Usually upkeep is all about maintenance cost and spare parts cost.
So that usually means engine/aircon/gearbox/suspension.
Since these two share the same stuff then it is like Proton Wira using Mitsubishi Lancer parts or vice versa.
I think the door panels are compatible but definitely the front and back are incompatible.
But like I said those only need to be changed if an accident happen if nothing happens you don't need to change.
Usually for accident either own insurance or 3rd party insurance pay so the cost for those things aren't really a factor for me.
Which is why keeping a Galant for me is kinda cheap coz just use Perdana parts  laugh.gif
Talking about Perdana here is some info...

Perdana G1 = 1994-1997
Perdana G2 = 1997-2010 (although it was discontinued earlier)
Perdana G3 = 2010-2016 (CKD Accord 8gen rebadged)
Perdana G4 = 2016-now (Accord 8gen reskin/makeover)

The most funny part about the Perdana G4 is not the fake exhaust everyone does it now but the ESC.
Proton shouting everywhere even the smallest of their cars the Iriz has ESC even the base model.
But Perdana G4 2.0 tarak ESC while Accord 8gen all spec got VSA.

VSA = ESC = stability control
i'm tempted to say whichever that kills you faster but i won't.

when all is said and done the choice is yours.

what you really need and can afford. then you look for cars. you don't look at everything under the sun then only think about it.
Elantra - C-segment sedan, engine 1600cc-1800cc variants
Sonata - D-segment sedan engine 2000cc-2400cc variants

Let's say you're not comparing with anything else but these two cars, the maintenance of the Elantra would be cheaper by virtue of it having a smaller engine (less engine oil u need to buy) and less complicated. Usually for any manufacturer their D-segment saloon cars is their flagship model thus parts will cost more because they're also engineered better, e.g. bigger brakes (4 pot vs 2 pot), bigger lower arms, complicated suspension (multi-link vs torsion), etc.

I know Hyundai and Kia are having renaissance right now with better design of their cars and also better value for consumers so their sales are going up, in smaller countries like Singapore/Brunei they've overtaken smaller Japanese brands like Daihatsu, Suzuki, etc. in certain segments. However, their engine's aren't still as robust and fuel efficient as Japanese ones.

If you're buying a Korean you're buying it for the design, value (accessories/toys they add in the car) and lower price.

In terms of maintenance cost and parts availability that would be dependent on your area if it has a large following of Hyundai owners or not. E.g. Peugeot was pretty much dying everywhere else in Malaysia except Ipoh, Perak because there is a strong community of owners and new buyers there.

Elantra does look nice even with some simple bodykits....too bad it has a wimpy engine.  puke.gif
my choice is the king of b segment car.the car that i am talking now is it beats honda jazz, volkswagen polo,perodua myvi,proton saga flx,toyota vios,hyundai i10,kia picanto and rio sedan and hatchback and mazda 2 and honda city and jazz and nissan almera and ford fiesta. Guess what car is it? which car is it? The question is so easy that everyone can answer it.

This post has been edited by andrewyu2005: Jul 1 2016, 07:32 PM
andrewyu2005
post Jul 1 2016, 10:11 PM

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Jul 1 2016, 08:59 PM)
i knew that the base 2.0 had no ESC....   when its funny when you compare them like that....  doh.gif

even Iriz,Exora CFE and CPS,Suprima S and Preve CFE are better than this car.If i want a proton d segment car, then i will go for v6 over the new perdana.If i want a Mpv, I will go for Exora CFE over innova,avanza,alza and grand livina. If i want a B segment car, i will go for iriz 1.6 exec mt easily over jazz,city,vw polo,iriz cvt,almera,vios,myvi and axia and fiesta and mazda 2. but if i want a good and cheap car, i will go for waja cps it cost 53.000.00 for proton iriz 1.6 exec mt ,it will be a hard decision because exora cfe mt cost RM67,000.00 so i will get exora cfe cvt because it is worth to get it and it is value for money

This post has been edited by andrewyu2005: Jul 2 2016, 09:03 PM
andrewyu2005
post Jul 2 2016, 03:08 PM

QUOTE(Lovemyfamily @ Jul 2 2016, 03:53 PM)
Do you mind to explain why?
why? yes it is just better because it is better than grand livina,avanza and innova and alza in terms of handling,suspension,performance,nvh,safety and others except fc and build quality.Enough I win. Look at exora cfe. they have fixed the oil cooler from rubber to metal.I will still defend my statement against you.I am just stating the fact about Exora CFE and CPS.well which proton car do i like the most.It is definitely Iriz VVT and Exora CFE and CPS. Enough talk. I win. you cant beat me in terms of choosing cars. Iriz is better than Axia,Myvi and Picanto and vios and almera and swift and jazz and city and mazda 2 and i10 are obvious

This post has been edited by andrewyu2005: Jul 2 2016, 04:36 PM
andrewyu2005
post Jul 2 2016, 05:29 PM

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Jul 2 2016, 05:37 PM)
Don't mind him, he is just 'overenthusiastic'.... This is me being as nice as I can be
yes exactly, i love proton cars.

This post has been edited by andrewyu2005: Jul 3 2016, 09:31 AM

andrewyu2005
post Jul 3 2016, 06:45 PM

QUOTE(tekplyrX @ Jul 3 2016, 07:25 PM)
I thought I was the only one...
ok guys i am sorry about it. smile.gif It is Ok. May I know which proton car is a better car for me to drive when i am going to have driving license in august 2016? I want a proton car that beat honda,nissan,toyota and mazda and hyundai and kia cars in terms of handling,performance,suspension,nvh,comfortable seat, reliability,engine,safety and others

This post has been edited by andrewyu2005: Jul 3 2016, 07:09 PM
andrewyu2005
post Jul 3 2016, 11:49 PM

QUOTE(tekplyrX @ Jul 4 2016, 12:21 AM)
I'm guessing you're really trolling or smoking some really good shit if you really think proton cars are better than any of the models you listed above in ANY way or form. Proton as far as I'm concerned is a company used by a few people to loot/extort malaysians of their earnings and deprive them of the experience of driving good quality cars, period.
I am serious right now.Which Proton Current model of cars can be better those car that i mention?
andrewyu2005
post Jul 3 2016, 11:53 PM

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Jul 3 2016, 08:51 PM)
u gona try beat them in all the aspects (in italics) listed? good luck.....
one example, a gtr beats any proton in handling,performance,suspension,nvh,comfortable seat, engine,safety BUT maybe not in reliability
so option 2, mark x, in all the mentioned aspects, probably considered the winner~
*note that noone mentioned price, running costs or maintenance

conclusion: i think you should wait maybe 50 years? maybe then proton will have a car that can beat the current cars the others have to offer.... yeah best you stay off the roads till then~
I am serious man and i am not trolling or joking because i want to know which proton can beat the car that i mention. I will call you hater of proton cars. Real fan of Proton Cars are not like that because they know what are they talking about.

This post has been edited by andrewyu2005: Jul 3 2016, 11:58 PM
andrewyu2005
post Jul 3 2016, 11:54 PM

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Jul 3 2016, 08:58 PM)
i honestly wonder if he is just trolling or.... its really just the way he is......

but ..... that repork button is getting tempting

**wait ur right... me thinks someone reported him some time back....  too bad he was in bora bora when the forums were down for maintenance
It is ok guys enough i am sorry about it.
andrewyu2005
post Jul 4 2016, 12:02 AM

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Jul 4 2016, 12:55 AM)
and i gave you a serious answer, at this point i dont even know why im even trying to come up with answers for you.... re-read what i said... the answer is pretty clear
Thanks. Do you want me to stick with proton iriz 1.6 exec mt or go for perodua myvi or toyota vios mt or nissan almera mt or alza or avanza or innova my 2nd favourite mpv car or grand livina 1.6 or 1.8 or exora cfe?I think vios is a good car for me to use since you say like that.What do you think?

This post has been edited by andrewyu2005: Jul 4 2016, 12:19 AM

8 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0294sec    0.22    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 05:07 AM