18 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Dentistry, Potential dentist gather =)

JeanneHoe94
post Mar 29 2010, 12:53 AM

QUOTE(cgan @ Mar 26 2010, 05:30 PM)
Hi there, you can check out the Malaysian Dental Council (MDC) website and it is stated that the Bachelor of Dental Surgery (BDS) programme by Vinayaka Mission University is indeed recognised. Check out this url  http://mdc.moh.gov.my/modules/xt_conteudo/index.php?id=20. For your assurance you can also visit the Malaysian Qualification Agency (MQA) website. Penang International Dental College (PIDC) BDS 2+3 twinning programme with Vinayaka Mission University is stated there which means their dental degreee is 100% recognise by Malaysia. so, no worries  biggrin.gif

Added on March 26, 2010, 5:34 pmAnybody currently studying at Manipal Melaka Medical College? I heard from a friend that beginning 2011, MMMC is restricting their Bachelor of Dental Surgery seat to only 40 seats per intake, that is very low considering that they have only 1 intake per year for their BDS. How true is this rumour? Just like some clarification on this. Thank you.
Oh, Thanks a lot for the link and your reply smile.gif Appreciate that. Well, I would like ask whether VINAYAKA MISSION university is better or Manipal University is better in terms of like environment, cleanliness etc? Heard that Manipal's qualification is higher. Hope to hear from you soon. Thanks~ Oh, Im helping my mum to reply this, hehe.

This post has been edited by JeanneHoe94: Mar 29 2010, 12:56 AM
cgan
post Mar 30 2010, 05:29 PM

83 posts

I'm not exactly sure about the environment in these 2 places (Salem and Manipal) as I've not been there myself before. In fact I've never even be to India my whole life! Haha.. But I do have friends who are studying in Salem and Manipal and this is what i heard. For the Vinayaka Mission Uni, it seems that the campus is located very far from town areas - need to travel bout 1 to 2 hours to reach to the nearest town. And it can be a little boring staying there (but it is not a prob if u are the type of person who dun mind staying indoors and not goin out! lol.. But personally im not sure if i can endure that for 2 years biggrin.gif)

As for Manipal, i heard from friends that the campus in India is huge! And their facilities also is pretty impressive. But the problem is these friends of mine are medical students so they don't know much about the Dental Faculty in Manipal. But I heard that the weather in India can be quite hot so do be prepared for that.

Truthfully, I'm not really sure which uni to study as going to India for 2 years can sound kinda scary (cause I've never been away from home for that long! haha). Moreover there is a high chance one may get a massive culture shock when studying there cause the life there is very very diff. So if you are financially stable, do consider IMU. Yea though many has come to complain on their unreasonable fees for dentistry, u have to admit they are a good uni. So if you are thinking of studying dentistry maybe u can also put IMU as an option. But make sure you study super hard so that u wont have to repeat papers and pay more money haha..

Added on March 30, 2010, 5:33 pm
QUOTE(Stephi3 @ Mar 26 2010, 07:55 PM)
i am a a-level student taking only three subject nt including physic...can i get into dentistry by only these subject?
If your 3 subjects are Chemistry, Biology and Maths then yes u can biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by cgan: Mar 30 2010, 05:33 PM
Angel-Look
post Apr 4 2010, 04:31 PM

84 posts

QUOTE(vulgaregg @ Mar 6 2010, 04:47 PM)
I have a friend doing nursing in Mahsa and from the feedback i get from her is that Mahsa's management is very bad. Class schedules are always changing at the last minute. Holidays are also changed with very short notice. but this is for the nursing course. so im not sure if the dentistry course is under the same management. If it is then it's gonna suck. Besides, Mahsa college is situated in a horrible area la. Parking will costs a bomb if u drive everyday and traffic is just plain bad 24-7.

I'm going to to India this April for PIDC's dental twinning course with VMU. FYI JPA scholars are sent to VMU for dentistry. PIDC's management are very considerate when it comes to paying fees and stuff like that. AS for Manipal's dentistry course i've got no info about it.

Another good option is AIMST in Kedah. It might be one of the more expensive ones compared to Mahsa and PIDC but they are fully equipped for dentistry. I would've gone to Aimst last september if there wasnt any political issues with the MIC. Parents were afraid that with MIC being unstable AIMST uni might be affected too.
Hi ! As you mentioned you are going to VMU this month. Are you doing science foundation in Surya College too?
SUSflamelye
post Apr 19 2010, 09:33 AM

40 posts

I'm planning to enroll into BDS programme this year too =]

Can anyone please enlighten me the fees for MMMC twinning manipal malacca dentistry programme? (I had previously asked for the medical programme but since Malaysiqa have 20++ uni offering medicine, thus i guess it would be a big problem during our year of graduation of medical career) I heard that it is new and the building of Dentistry in Malacca is still under construstion..

Why do I know that it isn't erected up yet? Because manipal malacca is my neighbour rclxm9.gif
cgan
post Apr 19 2010, 02:55 PM

83 posts

QUOTE(flamelye @ Apr 19 2010, 09:33 AM)
I'm planning to enroll into BDS programme this year too =]

Can anyone please enlighten me the fees for MMMC twinning manipal malacca dentistry programme? (I had previously asked for the medical programme but since Malaysiqa have 20++ uni offering medicine, thus i guess it would be a big problem during our year of graduation of medical career) I heard that it is new and the building of Dentistry in Malacca is still under construstion..

Why do I know that it isn't erected up yet? Because manipal malacca is my neighbour  rclxm9.gif
Total fees for the BDS twinning programme is RM260,000
sweett22
post May 18 2010, 11:23 PM

13 posts

can anyone pls tell the differences between the dentistry course offered by usm ,um, and ukm?i was just graduated from gov matrix....i cant get much info from their website..T.T....do help m ya...thanks!
loveless90
post May 20 2010, 03:47 PM

411 posts

if you're considering which uni to put as first choice...IMO, UM is more established hence u should put UM as first choice, after all its the first dental school in malaysia. But personally to me, i think if i can enter public university, it wont matter to me which one i'm offered as long as i got a place in public uni for dentistry.
dreambig91
post May 24 2010, 11:48 PM

anyone knows the deadline for dentistry course for manipal melaka twinning programme?
loveless90
post May 25 2010, 02:59 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(dreambig91 @ May 24 2010, 11:48 PM)
anyone knows the deadline for dentistry course for manipal melaka twinning programme?
Well, i couldnt exactly tell u the deadline for now(who knws they change their deadline). However, the last time i checked (few months ago), the deadline is 30th of July. Hence, that means u still have time to apply for it. Good luck in applying. XD thumbup.gif
caslyncheng
post Jun 1 2010, 12:22 AM

QUOTE(dreambig91 @ May 24 2010, 11:48 PM)
I just went to their interview last tues and it seems that the seats for BDS are full.
Anyway you can try to call them up to clarify with them. Who knows you get lucky and got 1? =]
cgan
post Jun 1 2010, 09:58 PM

83 posts

May I know does anyone have any idea what is the number of seats available for MMMC BDS programme? I know they have only one intake per year
dreambig91
post Jun 8 2010, 08:38 PM

i have a question. i just finished my last paper for my A level programme today and i have a feeling my results may end up AAD.

Now if i were to get a seat and the conditional offer is CCC for manipal, how will they see my result?

will the AA outweigh the D or a D is simply unacceptable?
loveless90
post Jun 8 2010, 10:58 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(dreambig91 @ Jun 8 2010, 08:38 PM)
i have a question. i just finished my last paper for my A level programme today and i have a feeling my results may end up AAD.

Now if i were to get a seat and the conditional offer is CCC for manipal, how will they see my result?

lol...what made u so sure that its gonna be a D? u dint finish the whole paper? or u simply write anything in there?

tell me, what is your grade normally during test/exam...i'm sure it wont be that bad as to get a D if normally u can get A/B....

as for the Q u asked, i cant answer u cos i don knw and i doubt anybody here knows unless that 'anybody' is someone from the student recruitment department in MMMC. but no harm trying to apply, let them do the choosing...just pray hard that u can get in... biggrin.gif
limeuu
post Jun 8 2010, 11:08 PM

12,295 posts

QUOTE(dreambig91 @ Jun 8 2010, 08:38 PM)

ccc?.......the selection cut off so low?!!! shocking.gif
loveless90
post Jun 8 2010, 11:12 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Jun 8 2010, 11:08 PM)
ccc?.......the selection cut off so low?!!! shocking.gif
LOL u dint know???

MMMC medic and dentistry also CCC.... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by loveless90: Jun 13 2010, 06:01 PM
ncm_0928
post Jul 13 2010, 12:38 PM

anyone is penang international dental college students ?
i wan to ask, overall nid hw much to pay for the text books n the dental materials? coz i nid to do payment le .. thx u ..
chongcy
post Aug 14 2010, 11:35 AM

QUOTE(ncm_0928 @ Jul 13 2010, 12:38 PM)
anyone is penang international dental college students ?
i wan to ask, overall nid hw much to pay for the text books n the dental materials? coz i nid to do payment le .. thx u ..
hi...are u going for september 2010 intake ??
i heard from my friends that 1st year books and dental materials are provided by the uni...
anyway i am not sure though hehe
dreambig91
post Aug 20 2010, 02:22 AM

I already got my ALE results and to my disbelief, i managed to get an offer from IMU. MMMC however claims that the seats are fully occupied and i'm placed 2nd on the waiting list.

SO, any seniors from IMU willing to prepare me for what i am about to face next year when i enroll in the FEB 11 BDS programme?

Any advice is very much appreciated. Thanks!
zstan
post Aug 20 2010, 09:49 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(dreambig91 @ Aug 20 2010, 02:22 AM)
I already got my ALE results and to my disbelief, i managed to get an offer from IMU. MMMC however claims that the seats are fully occupied and i'm placed 2nd on the waiting list.

SO, any seniors from IMU willing to prepare me for what i am about to face next year when i enroll in the FEB 11 BDS programme?

try not to get so excited when u see the facilities for dentistry(if u haven't seen them). tongue.gif
limeuu
post Aug 20 2010, 10:14 AM

12,295 posts

QUOTE(dreambig91 @ Aug 20 2010, 02:22 AM)

so what's the imu cut off for dentistry........?and your offer is for the local or pds programme?....

18 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0242sec    0.49    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 07:38 PM