18 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Dentistry, Potential dentist gather =)

TSpangping1510
post Jan 16 2007, 01:50 PM, updated 19y ago

1,007 posts

my brother interested to study dentistry...so i think it would be good we can gather around and share informations...interested to know which private educational institutions in malaysia offer bds...for dentistry...besides the penang dental college? rclxms.gif
ifana
post Jan 21 2007, 05:38 PM

181 posts

Why not try going overseas for it? Hehe tongue.gif Anyways, i posted a thread like this awhile ago...sumwer around this month jugak..but afta a while takde reply..so i closed the thread..Just telling you, not many ppl reply when it comes to medicine, dentistry, pharmacy or veterinary!! Be prepared! I most probably will be doin dentistry or pharmacy but i'm planning to go overseas..so if in Malaysia, i dun really knoe much about the institutions!! Sorry dat i cant help!! Good Luck to your brother!!
Hevrn
post Jan 21 2007, 08:04 PM

4,017 posts

go overseas not cheap mar... summore medical-related field
gtoforce
post Jan 22 2007, 11:23 PM

SPAM AND BECOME A SENIOR MEMBER
2,967 posts

err..
i'd suggest places like australia
they are in need of dentists
but if u are really good i wud insist

TSpangping1510
post Jan 22 2007, 11:31 PM

1,007 posts

due to some prob, my bro can only study locally...hahas...why no one post har...so kiam siap yah...before u wan to get sth, u need to give!!!...apa lah...not many uni offering dentistry yah...weird...
the_registered
post Jan 23 2007, 12:35 AM

I'm not crazy, but I'm registered
844 posts

Consider Singapore? Dentistry in NUS? Cheap like hell if you take the MOE's tuition grant.

Try not to do it in Malaysia, it will be a waste, trust me
jooku1
post Jan 23 2007, 03:01 AM

704 posts

QUOTE(the_registered @ Jan 23 2007, 12:35 AM)
Consider Singapore? Dentistry in NUS? Cheap like hell if you take the MOE's tuition grant.

Try not to do it in Malaysia, it will be a waste, trust me
Why do you say that? Any experience?
gtoforce
post Jan 24 2007, 08:12 PM

SPAM AND BECOME A SENIOR MEMBER
2,967 posts

malaysian u's are still ok
do in UM
thats the best place for science and health studies
or IMU
Teong
post Jan 31 2007, 02:52 PM

479 posts

Anyone heard of DSAs? Dental surgical assistants? Apparently, there is a demand for them. Spoke to 2 dentists recently, Dr. Nathan and Dato' Dr. Sharifah, at a dentistry conference and they confirmed the demand.

DSA is a certificate level programme only but it costs in the region of RM20K for a year.
Tezuka87
post Jun 10 2007, 12:16 AM

18 posts

AHa! Dentists! Finally!

I wanna be a dentist cos really admire dentists...they can save lives y'know? The good ones can...almost like a doctor...almost...only you are more pro around the head area. In France they don't let you be a dentist until you get a degree in medicine. I think.

There are three local universities offering dentistry...UM, UKM and USM. USM is in Kelantan...the dental faculty anyway.

Then local private...PIDC of course, and AIMST (Asian Institute of Medicine, Science and Technology) in Kedah...AIMSt one costs about rm210 000 tuition fees...plus additional costs around rm220 000. Then add accommodation about rm25 000 (5 years, 450-500 a month). So adds up to about rm250 000 including homesick times when you hop up a bus back to KL...ta da! Rough estimate...

Then you can go Indonesia...also...quite cheap. I heard.

So, guys, why do you want to be dentists? I want to be a dentist cos I'm interested in putting smiles on people's faces (I'm a terrible standup comedian cry.gif , so gotta find someway else)...I'm most interested in implantology, you know, screwing on a tooth into the bone using titanium screws which bind to the bone (osseointegration) (Or something) Darn interesting! And think about it...you're seventy...your teeth fall out...then you stick a tooth in and voila! you can eat Honeyed Pork Spare ribs cool2.gif ...Since the population is getting older...people's teeth are falling out...well, I guess by the time I specialize into implantology I'll have plenty of patients! Mwahahahaha...everyone'll thank me one day...

Yaya...so all potential dentists out there...GUD LUCK man...give those thousands of medical doctors a run for their money and go ahead pursuing your dream...there won't be quite so many of us...Not that I have anything against medical doctors, they're alright in their way...only everytime I ask a straight A student what they want to become it's always a doctor...I wish there were more variety...more ambition...what happened to the artists and racecar drivers of the yesteryears? Bleah...anyway, another good thing about being a dentist is that it's less likely you'll kill anyone...worst come to worst you kill the patient's nerve endings...then they sue you, but then its much better than being sued because somebody died. Better on the emotions too.

This post has been edited by Tezuka87: Jun 10 2007, 09:09 AM
SUSradical85
post Jun 10 2007, 04:10 AM

lalala~~
625 posts

dont choose india!
if can choose somewhere close to malaysia, or at least country in which there is 'student life'. This course aint short

If u aim to become a master, u better be prepare. iianm to be master is prosthodontic, u need to study extra 4 years.

So BDS (5years) + serving malaysia boleh! (3 years) + master (4 years) = u imagine
zltan
post Jun 10 2007, 09:29 AM

695 posts

I applied for Bachelor of Dental Science in Melbourne Uni for Semester 1 2008 intake. smile.gif

Now, I just have to get the required score to get in. *sigh*
adlan911
post Oct 19 2007, 11:43 AM

25 posts

i just graduate from dental faculty of UM.now working in 1 of gvmnt hospital...so far i just love my job...IMHO if u wan good money,fun/interesting job,want to explore, further study,relax job,want to people appreciate u...this is the job for u
mooze
post Oct 20 2007, 10:36 PM

Just A Normal Person With 2 Kids
1,406 posts

QUOTE(pangping1510 @ Jan 22 2007, 11:31 PM)
due to some prob, my bro can only study locally...
why not try apply for scholarship? i'm not sure which local groups are open for education funding, but its still worth a try..
number one reason for students not going for further study "no money no go,mahhh"...
if thats the case,then how did our own dentists managed to get where they are today?

but if finance is not ur problem, then i dont know what to say... dun tell me parents dun let him travel oversea?
csrulez
post Oct 24 2007, 04:14 PM

Life is short, play hard.
1,114 posts

Aimst is not bad too, hehe. =]
pettybimbo
post Apr 5 2009, 02:31 AM

18 posts

why dont want PIDC???
MBBS siang
post Apr 5 2009, 09:34 AM

582 posts

QUOTE(pangping1510 @ Jan 16 2007, 02:50 PM)
my brother interested to study dentistry...so i think it would be good we can gather around and share informations...interested to know which private educational institutions in malaysia offer bds...for dentistry...besides the penang dental college?  rclxms.gif
imu,aimst,pidc,mahsa and mmmc(manipal) biggrin.gif All I know are these 5 local private uni offering bds programme! most expensive one is imu RM400000! brows.gif brows.gif

This post has been edited by MBBS siang: Apr 5 2009, 09:35 AM
pettybimbo
post Apr 5 2009, 03:14 PM

18 posts

which one is the best then???
MBBS siang
post Apr 5 2009, 03:33 PM

582 posts

QUOTE(pettybimbo @ Apr 5 2009, 04:14 PM)
which one is the best then???
How to judge? hmm.gif NO one can tell you which one is the best! The things is which one is more suited and fit to your needs,then which one will be the best! biggrin.gif

Aimst U
http://www.aimst.edu.my/aimst_web/facultie...stry_intro.html

IMU
http://www.imu.edu.my/pro-un-dentistry.html

PIDC
http://www.pidc.edu.my

MAHSA college
http://60.48.14.118/v2/index.php?option=co...id=41&Itemid=74

MMMC
http://www.manipal.edu/manipalsite/Users/C...=1&collegeId=22

Easy Click,easy link! find out which one suited to you!

This post has been edited by MBBS siang: Apr 5 2009, 03:51 PM
memphis
post Apr 5 2009, 06:21 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(Tezuka87 @ Jun 9 2007, 11:16 PM)
AHa! Dentists! Finally!

I wanna be a dentist cos really admire dentists...they can save lives y'know? The good ones can...almost like a doctor...almost...only you are more pro around the head area. In France they don't let you be a dentist until you get a degree in medicine. I think.

There are three local universities offering dentistry...UM, UKM and USM. USM is in Kelantan...the dental faculty anyway.

Then local private...PIDC of course, and AIMST (Asian Institute of Medicine, Science and Technology) in Kedah...AIMSt one costs about rm210 000 tuition fees...plus additional costs around rm220 000. Then add accommodation about rm25 000 (5 years, 450-500 a month). So adds up to about rm250 000 including homesick times when you hop up a bus back to KL...ta da! Rough estimate...

Then you can go Indonesia...also...quite cheap. I heard.

So, guys, why do you want to be dentists? I want to be a dentist cos I'm interested in putting smiles on people's faces (I'm a terrible standup comedian cry.gif , so gotta find someway else)...I'm most interested in implantology, you know, screwing on a tooth into the bone using titanium screws which bind to the bone (osseointegration) (Or something) Darn interesting! And think about it...you're seventy...your teeth fall out...then you stick a tooth in and voila! you can eat Honeyed Pork Spare ribs cool2.gif ...Since the population is getting older...people's teeth are falling out...well, I guess by the time I specialize into implantology I'll have plenty of patients! Mwahahahaha...everyone'll thank me one day...

Yaya...so all potential dentists out there...GUD LUCK man...give those thousands of medical doctors a run for their money and go ahead pursuing your dream...there won't be quite so many of us...Not that I have anything against medical doctors, they're alright in their way...only everytime I ask a straight A student what they want to become it's always a doctor...I wish there were more variety...more ambition...what happened to the artists and racecar drivers of the yesteryears? Bleah...anyway, another good thing about being a dentist is that it's less likely you'll kill anyone...worst come to worst you kill the patient's nerve endings...then they sue you, but then its much better than being sued because somebody died. Better on the emotions too.
haha...really agree with U...DR's income mostly come from dispensing medicine (private clinic)...so when the system change, their income myb reduced...but for dentist, most of the income come from the services....n for the instrument and tool, u charge it as u buy it for every patient (except dental unit)....there's also more than implantology, theres orthodontics (im sure U know, it becomes fashion now...even model in CLEO wears it!!!huhu), prosthodontology (more on removable denture, myb implant to)...n me, i think i want to further on oral surgery (5 YEARS MORE!!!!)...then oral maxillofacial surgery...just my plan tho...may need more time and money absolutely

18 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0231sec    1.25    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 11:07 PM