18 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Dentistry, Potential dentist gather =)

memphis
post Jun 25 2009, 09:43 PM

135 posts

i heard that Indonesian entrance exm already finished...so there no way u can enter here except applying next year or undergo taking premed again here...only UNPAD and AIRLANGGA recognized now for medicine and dentistry..others, u need to take exm from MDA when u graduated, and do houseman(like medicine) for 3years...
fykk64
post Jun 29 2009, 06:53 PM

48 posts

is PIDC recognised?
white_black
post Jun 30 2009, 11:31 AM

hey there.. stpm student here..
has high hope 4 aimst but too bad they said their BDS is fully taken up by their foundation student..
IMU is impossible coz their fees cost me a bomb..
so left PIDC n MMMC.. which one is better.. lecturer wise? environment wise? system wise?

Added on June 30, 2009, 11:48 pmn not to forget .. MAHSA..

This post has been edited by white_black: Jun 30 2009, 11:48 PM
starzyx710
post Aug 22 2009, 07:24 PM

hey is ther anyone here going for the BDS programme at Melaka Manipal Medical College? smile.gif Have ald went for the interview and supposed to pay up soon because they're leavin on Sept 13! But still in doubt sad.gif anyone out there care to enlighten me whether the course conducted at MMMC is good or bad.. ? :S
Ts-Double U
post Aug 24 2009, 12:39 AM

Hey, am planning to study dentistry in the coming future. I am just wondering how do u guys find the lectures is it interesting? may i know what are the lectures about for Dental Sciences 1, Community Oral , Health 1, Behavioural Science & Professional & Personal Development? thx
dreambig91
post Nov 5 2009, 05:10 AM

Assuming all dental institutions offer dentistry at the same cost, will you choose your institution based on quality of lecturers or credibility of the degree in terms of recognition?
e.g. IMU, AIMST and MAHSA offer dentistry at the same cost, which would you choose?

And for working dentists, what does your cert do besides indicating you have graduated and is now allowed to begin practicing? Whenever i go to the dentist, i don't look at his cert although it might be hanging somewhere in his clinic. This might sound like a silly question but, how is IMU dental degree different compared to MAHSA/AIMST dental degree?

From what i heard, IMU/MAHSA/AIMST dental degrees are not yet recognised. Do correct me if i'm wrong.

I'm planning to do dentistry but not sure which institution to go to. Hopefully some of you can share your opinions.

Thx!

This post has been edited by dreambig91: Nov 5 2009, 05:33 AM
memphis
post Nov 9 2009, 01:18 AM

135 posts

myb i also not know for sure...but from what i remember, IMU is already recognized...MAHSA and AIMST not yet...

for me, i look for better system, quality faculty....u will learn and gain more from it...glorious name just to satisfy your patients later..but they will not complain if your work is good rite?

what i heard from my father is,its all depend on individual..got student grad from ireland but can do nothing in intership...then also got student grad from indonesia and russia but work are same level as MO or DO...so its all depend on u actually...if u search more, u will learn and gain more..typical m'sian student just want to 'cukup makan'...just complete the sylabus and requirement...
jiaqi1007
post Dec 11 2009, 11:47 PM

I wish to take dentistry...
ijuz finish SPM tis year...
May i noe wat is the fastest and cheapest route to bedome a qualify dentist???
Any idea??
Help me, i really no idea...
uncontrolled
post Dec 12 2009, 11:03 PM

249 posts

QUOTE(dreambig91 @ Nov 5 2009, 05:10 AM)
Assuming all dental institutions offer dentistry at the same cost, will you choose your institution based on quality of lecturers or credibility of the degree in terms of recognition?
e.g. IMU, AIMST and MAHSA offer dentistry at the same cost, which would you choose?

And for working dentists, what does your cert do besides indicating you have graduated and is now allowed to begin practicing? Whenever i go to the dentist, i don't look at his cert although it might be hanging somewhere in his clinic. This might sound like a silly question but, how is IMU dental degree different compared to MAHSA/AIMST dental degree?

From what i heard, IMU/MAHSA/AIMST dental degrees are not yet recognised. Do correct me if i'm wrong.

I'm planning to do dentistry but not sure which institution to go to. Hopefully some of you can share your opinions.

Thx!
Yeah.. I think IMU is recognised..since government sent d JPA student to study there...

blynn123
post Dec 13 2009, 12:42 PM

221 posts

aimst recognised too .
jpa sends their scholar to study dentistry there too .
beyond_99
post Dec 23 2009, 07:42 PM

1,035 posts

-edited-

This post has been edited by beyond_99: Dec 29 2009, 12:52 PM
dreambig91
post Jan 4 2010, 01:36 PM

what is the difference between the Doctor in Dental Surgery (DDS) in MAHSA and Bachelor in Dental Surgery (BDS) in AIMST and IMU?
MBBS siang
post Jan 4 2010, 10:47 PM

582 posts

QUOTE(pangping1510 @ Jan 23 2007, 12:31 AM)
due to some prob, my bro can only study locally...hahas...why no one post har...so kiam siap yah...before u wan to get sth, u need to give!!!...apa lah...not many uni offering dentistry yah...weird...
Probably AIMST University is a good choice. Tuition fees is cheapest among other Universities and the reputation is also quite good. smile.gif

Added on January 4, 2010, 10:51 pm
QUOTE(dreambig91 @ Jan 4 2010, 02:36 PM)
what is the difference between the Doctor in Dental Surgery (DDS) in MAHSA and Bachelor in Dental Surgery (BDS) in AIMST and IMU?
Basically, MAHSA offer a dental degree from Trinity University, Indonesia. AIMST and IMU are offering their own degree. Actually, no much different between these two degree but just name. Btw, they are the same. icon_rolleyes.gif No matter which degree you are granted will end you up as a dentist. Cheers!

Added on January 4, 2010, 10:57 pm
QUOTE(uncontrolled @ Dec 13 2009, 12:03 AM)
Yeah.. I think IMU is recognised..since government sent d JPA student to study there...
IMU's dental degree not yet fully recognized by MDC but soon. Don't really worry about the recognition of critical courses which conducted by local institution like medicine,pharmacy and dentistry.

Our government does not have the gut to de-recognize or not to recognize it unless that particular institution really stupid. tongue.gif

Added on January 4, 2010, 11:01 pm
QUOTE(starzyx710 @ Aug 22 2009, 08:24 PM)
hey is ther anyone here going for the BDS programme at Melaka Manipal Medical College? smile.gif Have ald went for the interview and supposed to pay up soon because they're leavin on Sept 13! But still in doubt sad.gif anyone out there care to enlighten me whether the course conducted at MMMC is good or bad.. ? :S
Nobody know that for sure. These kind of questions are very subjective especially the quality of lecturer. Please specify your question. blush.gif

This post has been edited by MBBS siang: Jan 4 2010, 11:01 PM
loveless90
post Jan 7 2010, 01:00 PM

411 posts

Im a A level graduate and im intending to become a dentist in the future. I just called up IMU and asked abt the application for dentistry feb intake year 2010 and they told me its closed so now im really confused on going where to study. I'm personally considering university gadjah mada in indonesia as i've checked thru the internet and found out that the uni is pretty reputable in indonesia in comparison to other universities. Also, i've found out that hungary universities are very good too in the field of dentistry, having international recognition from countries like canada and the US. Does anyone here knw anything abt this? please tell me more if possible. wud really appreciate it. thanks.

This post has been edited by loveless90: Jan 7 2010, 01:29 PM
dreambig91
post Jan 16 2010, 02:07 AM

I may have asked this before but have not settled on a particular uni yet.

My mum is asking me to go to IMU because she feels its more reliable compared to MAHSA.
The problem is, I personally heard from a dentist friend that IMU is way overpriced in terms of fees and I myself agree on that point.

MAHSA on the other hand, is affordable but the facilities and environment is nothing compared to the likes of IMU and AIMST.

At the end of the day, as long as i graduate from either IMU or MAHSA, i can start my career as a dentist.
Since both degrees enables me to be a dentist, why should i pay almost double the amount in fees.

Really confused and lost now. Im about to complete my Alevel program this coming June so I only have a couple of months to decide. Intake for MAHSA is August while intake for IMU is in Feb.

Someone care to offer me some advice. Thanks in advance.
MBBS siang
post Jan 16 2010, 11:50 AM

582 posts

QUOTE(dreambig91 @ Jan 16 2010, 03:07 AM)
I may have asked this before but have not settled on a particular uni yet.

My mum is asking me to go to IMU because she feels its more reliable compared to MAHSA.
The problem is, I personally heard from a dentist friend that IMU is way overpriced in terms of fees and I myself agree on that point.

MAHSA on the other hand, is affordable but the facilities and environment is nothing compared to the likes of IMU and AIMST.

At the end of the day, as long as i graduate from either IMU or MAHSA, i can start my career as a dentist.
Since both degrees enables me to be a dentist, why should i pay almost double the amount in fees.

Really confused and lost now. Im about to complete my Alevel program this coming June so I only have a couple of months to decide. Intake for MAHSA is August while intake for IMU is in Feb.

Someone care to offer me some advice. Thanks in advance.
Do consider AIMST. smile.gif
loveless90
post Jan 20 2010, 10:11 PM

411 posts

AIMST is pretty hard to get in i heard and they are not accepting A level students d starting this year my fren said (im an A level graduate for tat matter).

PIDC or Manipal or Mahsa...which is more popular among students?
cgan
post Feb 13 2010, 06:03 PM

83 posts

Don't you think that's just ridiculous? I'm also an A-Level student and I was seriously considering AIMST uni to do either MBBS or BDS. I feel that A-Levels students are not treated fairly in this case. We prove our capabilities by achieving outstanding results yet we are neglected just because we did not complete our pre-U @ AIMST. I truly wish that the Medical and Dental faculty of AIMST uni would rethink about their decision in not accepting A-Levels students into the BDS and MBBS programme. I know besides AIMST the options available for BDS or MBBS in Malaysia are as follows:

Bachelor of Dental Surgery (MBBS) - IMU
- Penang International Dental College
- Mahsa
- Manipal

Bachelor of Medicine and Surgery (MBBS) - IMU
- MSU
- University Kuala Lumpur Royal College of Medicine Perak
- Manipal
- Mahsa
- Penang Medical College
- Monash

limeuu
post Feb 13 2010, 06:56 PM

12,295 posts

it's up to them to decide who they accept.........and they will obviously prefer their own foundation students......

in any case, a-levels is NOT a msian pre-u qualification, and it is also NOT accepted in ipta generally.........
cgan
post Feb 17 2010, 08:20 PM

83 posts

Yea true. The reason i chose A-Level actually is cause i figured it may give me a solid foundation as the subjects taught is rather deep (covers more than most foundation programmes) in comparison to many other pre-Us. But i'm not exactly sure if it may be the right option for me now. I know my friends who graduated from MBBS and BDS course has told me that A-Levels is a good "test" to see if one is qualified enough to study medicine or dentistry - they are implying that if a student cannot cope with A-Levels, its an indication that he or she should not be doing medicine or dentistry as MBBS and BDS would without a doubt would be much more difficult than A-Levels. This was another reason why i did A-levels. Wanted to see if i can cope with a difficult course like MBBS or BDS.

Alright its ok, now that AIMST is out i guess i have to consider other options.

18 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0288sec    0.30    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 03:54 PM