Dentistry, Potential dentist gather =)

cgan
post Feb 13 2010, 06:03 PM

83 posts

Don't you think that's just ridiculous? I'm also an A-Level student and I was seriously considering AIMST uni to do either MBBS or BDS. I feel that A-Levels students are not treated fairly in this case. We prove our capabilities by achieving outstanding results yet we are neglected just because we did not complete our pre-U @ AIMST. I truly wish that the Medical and Dental faculty of AIMST uni would rethink about their decision in not accepting A-Levels students into the BDS and MBBS programme. I know besides AIMST the options available for BDS or MBBS in Malaysia are as follows:

Bachelor of Dental Surgery (MBBS) - IMU
- Penang International Dental College
- Mahsa
- Manipal

Bachelor of Medicine and Surgery (MBBS) - IMU
- MSU
- University Kuala Lumpur Royal College of Medicine Perak
- Manipal
- Mahsa
- Penang Medical College
- Monash

cgan
post Feb 17 2010, 08:20 PM

83 posts

Yea true. The reason i chose A-Level actually is cause i figured it may give me a solid foundation as the subjects taught is rather deep (covers more than most foundation programmes) in comparison to many other pre-Us. But i'm not exactly sure if it may be the right option for me now. I know my friends who graduated from MBBS and BDS course has told me that A-Levels is a good "test" to see if one is qualified enough to study medicine or dentistry - they are implying that if a student cannot cope with A-Levels, its an indication that he or she should not be doing medicine or dentistry as MBBS and BDS would without a doubt would be much more difficult than A-Levels. This was another reason why i did A-levels. Wanted to see if i can cope with a difficult course like MBBS or BDS.

Alright its ok, now that AIMST is out i guess i have to consider other options.
cgan
post Feb 25 2010, 12:58 PM

83 posts

Same here. I'm considering MMMC for either MBBS or BDS. But unfortunately not many threads in lowyat forum talks about Malacca Manipal Medical College. Ironically since the BDS and MBBS fees at MMMC is reasonably affordable plus Manipal is known to be a reputable medical and dental school.

Anyone have any details on MMMC? Lecturers? Studying environment? I came across a thread at lowyat forum and it seems that the lecturers in the medical faculty is kinda strict (or rather too strict sad.gif ) with the medical students. How true is this rumour? (i know its not good to 'bad talk' a uni but would love some clarification on this)
cgan
post Mar 5 2010, 05:18 PM

83 posts

hi dreambig91, im also an a-level student and will be completing my A-Levels soon. I'm also thinking of doin either med or dental. As for dentistry, I've heard a little from some of my friends so this is what I can say. If financial supply is not a problem go for IMU. If u are looking for somewhere more affordable + reasonably good quality, choose one of these:
1. Manipal Melaka Medical College (First 2 years completed in Manipal Uni in India)
2. Penang International Dental College (First 2 years will be completed at Vinayaka Mission University, India)
3. AIMST uni

I'm not too sure about Mahsa but I would say that friends have confirm these 3 are among the best + most affordable dental course in Malaysia biggrin.gif - that is for PRIVATE universities. Of course government unis like USM and UM is good and cheap but its not an option for those who have completed A-Levels haha

This post has been edited by cgan: Mar 5 2010, 05:26 PM
cgan
post Mar 7 2010, 02:13 PM

83 posts

QUOTE(joscmh90 @ Mar 7 2010, 12:39 AM)
Can i know how much is the fees for dentistry at PIDC ? Couldn't find them at their website.. do they have a full local programme ?
I enquire on the total cost fees from Penang International Dental College and this is what they said. Total course fee is RM220,000. And this is inclusive of the accommodations for your first two years in India. And nope currently the only option for you is to complete your phase 1 (which is the first two years) in India. If you want to know more you can call them or send them an e-mail smile.gif
cgan
post Mar 15 2010, 10:48 PM

83 posts

Hey thanks man for the info. Appreciate it smile.gif . Ur going for the Sept intake? So i have to assume u pass through the interview ady? How was it? Mind giving some tips on what to prepare before the interview? haha thanks in advance
cgan
post Mar 22 2010, 11:47 PM

83 posts

Oh.. I'll apply after i finish my A-Levels cuz i still haven't complete my A-Lvls yet smile.gif . I am curious though to know if MMMC is strict in their interview. I have always wonder what kind of questions would they ask students in interview for those who wanna do dental. Cause the interviews for MBBS are quite typical. Not sure if its the same for BDS
cgan
post Mar 26 2010, 05:30 PM

83 posts

QUOTE(Angel-Look @ Mar 25 2010, 10:53 AM)
Hello there, my daughter is now doing foundation in science in SURYA College (Sister college of PIDC). As I know, she will be sent to VINAYAKI MISSIONS University after she'd completed her foundation for one year. But as I google, I found that VINAYAKI MISSION University in India is de-regconised by the India Government. Will Malaysia Government regcognise SURYA College and VINAYAKI MISSION University and regcognise  my daughter as a certified Dentist in future? Any Opinion? Please Help. Thank you  biggrin.gif
Hi there, you can check out the Malaysian Dental Council (MDC) website and it is stated that the Bachelor of Dental Surgery (BDS) programme by Vinayaka Mission University is indeed recognised. Check out this url http://mdc.moh.gov.my/modules/xt_conteudo/index.php?id=20. For your assurance you can also visit the Malaysian Qualification Agency (MQA) website. Penang International Dental College (PIDC) BDS 2+3 twinning programme with Vinayaka Mission University is stated there which means their dental degreee is 100% recognise by Malaysia. so, no worries biggrin.gif

Added on March 26, 2010, 5:34 pmAnybody currently studying at Manipal Melaka Medical College? I heard from a friend that beginning 2011, MMMC is restricting their Bachelor of Dental Surgery seat to only 40 seats per intake, that is very low considering that they have only 1 intake per year for their BDS. How true is this rumour? Just like some clarification on this. Thank you.

This post has been edited by cgan: Mar 26 2010, 05:34 PM
cgan
post Mar 30 2010, 05:29 PM

83 posts

I'm not exactly sure about the environment in these 2 places (Salem and Manipal) as I've not been there myself before. In fact I've never even be to India my whole life! Haha.. But I do have friends who are studying in Salem and Manipal and this is what i heard. For the Vinayaka Mission Uni, it seems that the campus is located very far from town areas - need to travel bout 1 to 2 hours to reach to the nearest town. And it can be a little boring staying there (but it is not a prob if u are the type of person who dun mind staying indoors and not goin out! lol.. But personally im not sure if i can endure that for 2 years biggrin.gif)

As for Manipal, i heard from friends that the campus in India is huge! And their facilities also is pretty impressive. But the problem is these friends of mine are medical students so they don't know much about the Dental Faculty in Manipal. But I heard that the weather in India can be quite hot so do be prepared for that.

Truthfully, I'm not really sure which uni to study as going to India for 2 years can sound kinda scary (cause I've never been away from home for that long! haha). Moreover there is a high chance one may get a massive culture shock when studying there cause the life there is very very diff. So if you are financially stable, do consider IMU. Yea though many has come to complain on their unreasonable fees for dentistry, u have to admit they are a good uni. So if you are thinking of studying dentistry maybe u can also put IMU as an option. But make sure you study super hard so that u wont have to repeat papers and pay more money haha..

Added on March 30, 2010, 5:33 pm
QUOTE(Stephi3 @ Mar 26 2010, 07:55 PM)
i am a a-level student taking only three subject nt including physic...can i get into dentistry by only these subject?
If your 3 subjects are Chemistry, Biology and Maths then yes u can biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by cgan: Mar 30 2010, 05:33 PM
cgan
post Apr 19 2010, 02:55 PM

83 posts

QUOTE(flamelye @ Apr 19 2010, 09:33 AM)
I'm planning to enroll into BDS programme this year too =]

Can anyone please enlighten me the fees for MMMC twinning manipal malacca dentistry programme? (I had previously asked for the medical programme but since Malaysiqa have 20++ uni offering medicine, thus i guess it would be a big problem during our year of graduation of medical career) I heard that it is new and the building of Dentistry in Malacca is still under construstion..

Why do I know that it isn't erected up yet? Because manipal malacca is my neighbour  rclxm9.gif
Total fees for the BDS twinning programme is RM260,000
cgan
post Jun 1 2010, 09:58 PM

83 posts

May I know does anyone have any idea what is the number of seats available for MMMC BDS programme? I know they have only one intake per year
cgan
post Aug 20 2010, 06:58 PM

83 posts

hey dreambig91, u got an offer letter from IMU for BDS? Wow.. I enquired from IMU they said that the BDS seats are very limited and the application is highly competitive - they even said for A-Levels you'll need AAB or ABB to stand a chance to enter. U must have done very well for ur pre-U.

I do wan to ask though are you planning to get a loan? Cuz if i ever apply for IMU i really dun know how to pay the fees for BDS - it cost a bomb. Until now I still can't figure out why does IMU charge so much for their local BDS? The total cost is like studying pharmacy in Australia
cgan
post Aug 23 2010, 02:46 PM

83 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Aug 23 2010, 09:36 AM)
dentistry involves many expensive equipments la. u do know that one of their chairs already cost u 120k? and for a relatively good dentistry uni in malaysia like IMU, the ratio is 2-3 students per chair. so if they take in 50 students there must be at least 25 chairs, it would cost them about 3 million.
So that means the dentistry in IMU is really worth it then? If it is i dun mind applying after i finish my a-levels next year. Cuz i'm in a really crappy college now. i dun wan to repeat my mistake by goin into a crappy uni and suffer for 5 years (especially if the degree is such a professional one like dentistry). I'm willing to pay provided i get the proper training and education

cgan
post Aug 23 2010, 08:55 PM

83 posts

Yea there's only 5 private dental schools in Malaysia. What about Manipal Melaka? Is their Bachelor of Dental Surgery good? Know anyone studyin dental there? Cause i can't seem to find any MMMC dental students.

I believe the students would give a more accurate description of the quality of the dental programme rather than asking the uni. Cuz if i ever ask the uni itself, for sure they would say its good
cgan
post Aug 23 2010, 11:50 PM

83 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Aug 23 2010, 10:24 PM)
haha..that would be the other best option la..

i have 5 friends going there in september..but its ab it more pricey as its a twinning programme..
But its still WAY more cheaper than IMU biggrin.gif
cgan
post Nov 25 2010, 12:45 AM

83 posts

Hey guys, anyone studying dentistry or know anyone studyin dentistry in Manipal Melaka Medical College? I know their BDS programme is relatively new - this year's batch of students was only the 2nd batch. I am curious to know the quality of their dental programme as I would be applying for it next year. I heard rumors of students being allowed to buy exam papers before the exam at the Manipal campus in India. How true is it? I'm not here to bad-talk on MMMC - just want to clarify.

Cause if the dental programme in MMMC is lousy I guess the ONLY good dental school in Malaysia is IMU which is definitely one of my first option if not for their crazy fees - cant afford half a million for my degree
cgan
post Dec 2 2010, 07:49 PM

83 posts

QUOTE(silvertoes @ Dec 1 2010, 06:57 PM)
my little sis would like to study dentistry after SPM, she's now in form4.. what are the normal credit requirements to apply?
If your sis is thinking of studying in government uni she has to either go for local matrix or STPM and score really really high for either one of this pre-U - dental seats in public uni are very limited.

If your sis is considering private uni then she can do any pre-U she wants (A-Levels, STPM, SAM, etc). Not sure about the other pre-Us but for A-Levels and STPM u need at least ABB to get into a good dental school in Malaysia. Overseas dental schools (eg: Australia, Singapore) will usually require AAA. Entry requirements for dentistry is similar to that of medicine
cgan
post Sep 6 2011, 10:44 AM

83 posts

Segi Damansara has now set up the sixth private dental school in Malaysia
http://www.segi.edu.my/

0.0182sec    0.68    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 03:02 PM