18 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

Dentistry, Potential dentist gather =)

cgan
post Aug 20 2010, 06:58 PM

83 posts

hey dreambig91, u got an offer letter from IMU for BDS? Wow.. I enquired from IMU they said that the BDS seats are very limited and the application is highly competitive - they even said for A-Levels you'll need AAB or ABB to stand a chance to enter. U must have done very well for ur pre-U.

I do wan to ask though are you planning to get a loan? Cuz if i ever apply for IMU i really dun know how to pay the fees for BDS - it cost a bomb. Until now I still can't figure out why does IMU charge so much for their local BDS? The total cost is like studying pharmacy in Australia
dreambig91
post Aug 23 2010, 04:14 AM

@zstan I've seen them. You a dentistry student there? smile.gif

@limeuu Conditional offer ABB. Local programme.

@cgan I am planning to apply for the ptpn loan and probably scholarships?

This post has been edited by dreambig91: Aug 23 2010, 04:22 AM
zstan
post Aug 23 2010, 09:36 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(cgan @ Aug 20 2010, 06:58 PM)
hey dreambig91, u got an offer letter from IMU for BDS? Wow.. I enquired from IMU they said that the BDS seats are very limited and the application is highly competitive - they even said for A-Levels you'll need AAB or ABB to stand a chance to enter. U must have done very well for ur pre-U.

I do wan to ask though are you planning to get a loan? Cuz if i ever apply for IMU i really dun know how to pay the fees for BDS - it cost a bomb. Until now I still can't figure out why does IMU charge so much for their local BDS? The total cost is like studying pharmacy in Australia
dentistry involves many expensive equipments la. u do know that one of their chairs already cost u 120k? and for a relatively good dentistry uni in malaysia like IMU, the ratio is 2-3 students per chair. so if they take in 50 students there must be at least 25 chairs, it would cost them about 3 million.

if u wan cheap cheap then go aimst lo, 4-5 students sharing one chair IINM. how to learn like that?

QUOTE(dreambig91 @ Aug 23 2010, 04:14 AM)
@zstan I've seen them. You a dentistry student there? smile.gif

@limeuu Conditional offer ABB. Local programme.

@cgan I am planning to apply for the ptpn loan and probably scholarships?
haha. nope. went there to have a look.
cgan
post Aug 23 2010, 02:46 PM

83 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Aug 23 2010, 09:36 AM)
dentistry involves many expensive equipments la. u do know that one of their chairs already cost u 120k? and for a relatively good dentistry uni in malaysia like IMU, the ratio is 2-3 students per chair. so if they take in 50 students there must be at least 25 chairs, it would cost them about 3 million.
So that means the dentistry in IMU is really worth it then? If it is i dun mind applying after i finish my a-levels next year. Cuz i'm in a really crappy college now. i dun wan to repeat my mistake by goin into a crappy uni and suffer for 5 years (especially if the degree is such a professional one like dentistry). I'm willing to pay provided i get the proper training and education

zstan
post Aug 23 2010, 04:48 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(cgan @ Aug 23 2010, 02:46 PM)
So that means the dentistry in IMU is really worth it then? If it is i dun mind applying after i finish my a-levels next year. Cuz i'm in a really crappy college now. i dun wan to repeat my mistake by goin into a crappy uni and suffer for 5 years (especially if the degree is such a professional one like dentistry). I'm willing to pay provided i get the proper training and education
of all the IPTS that offers dentistry, yes its one of the best(u dun have much choices either). biggrin.gif
cgan
post Aug 23 2010, 08:55 PM

83 posts

Yea there's only 5 private dental schools in Malaysia. What about Manipal Melaka? Is their Bachelor of Dental Surgery good? Know anyone studyin dental there? Cause i can't seem to find any MMMC dental students.

I believe the students would give a more accurate description of the quality of the dental programme rather than asking the uni. Cuz if i ever ask the uni itself, for sure they would say its good
zstan
post Aug 23 2010, 10:24 PM

15,856 posts

haha..that would be the other best option la..

i have 5 friends going there in september..but its ab it more pricey as its a twinning programme..
cgan
post Aug 23 2010, 11:50 PM

83 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Aug 23 2010, 10:24 PM)
haha..that would be the other best option la..

i have 5 friends going there in september..but its ab it more pricey as its a twinning programme..
But its still WAY more cheaper than IMU biggrin.gif
vulgaregg
post Aug 24 2010, 01:18 AM

QUOTE(dreambig91 @ Aug 20 2010, 02:22 AM)
I already got my ALE results and to my disbelief, i managed to get an offer from IMU. MMMC however claims that the seats are fully occupied and i'm placed 2nd on the waiting list.

SO, any seniors from IMU willing to prepare me for what i am about to face next year when i enroll in the FEB 11 BDS programme?

Any advice is very much appreciated. Thanks!
are you sure you got a confirmed offer from IMU or u just got an offer to be interviewed??? COs u have to pass the interview before you are confirmed a place in IMU. it's two completely different things you know.

Added on August 24, 2010, 1:22 am
QUOTE(cgan @ Mar 30 2010, 05:29 PM)
I'm not exactly sure about the environment in these 2 places (Salem and Manipal) as I've not been there myself before. In fact I've never even be to India my whole life! Haha.. But I do have friends who are studying in Salem and Manipal and this is what i heard. For the Vinayaka Mission Uni, it seems that the campus is located very far from town areas - need to travel bout 1 to 2 hours to reach to the nearest town. And it can be a little boring staying there (but it is not a prob if u are the type of person who dun mind staying indoors and not goin out! lol.. But personally im not sure if i can endure that for 2 years  biggrin.gif)

As for Manipal, i heard from friends that the campus in India is huge! And their facilities also is pretty impressive. But the problem is these friends of mine are medical students so they don't know much about the Dental Faculty in Manipal. But I heard that the weather in India can be quite hot so do be prepared for that.

Truthfully, I'm not really sure which uni to study as going to India for 2 years can sound kinda scary (cause I've never been away from home for that long! haha). Moreover there is a high chance one may get a massive culture shock when studying there cause the life there is very very diff. So if you are financially stable, do consider IMU. Yea though many has come to complain on their unreasonable fees for dentistry, u have to admit they are a good uni. So if you are thinking of studying dentistry maybe u can also put IMU as an option. But make sure you study super hard so that u wont have to repeat papers and pay more money haha..

Added on March 30, 2010, 5:33 pm

If your 3 subjects are Chemistry, Biology and Maths then yes u can  biggrin.gif
Salem town is only max 30 minutes away from campus!!!
wherever you choose, it solely depends on your own hardwork!
IMU and PIDC teaching styles are completely opposite.
IMU = Self Study ,lots of distractions , high living cost
PIDC = Lots of lectures just like high school , not much distractions, super low living cost and with a whole lot of Malaysian's living together life in India isn't that difficult actually.

Added on August 24, 2010, 1:26 amYeap.. Have been there for the past 4 months.

Personally, I am enjoying myself in India.

Lecturers are pretty good except for biochem but that's probably due to the subject being really dry. I dont think lecturers play a huge role anyway, for a course like dentisty 80% depends on your own effort and determination to study anyway. Be prepared to do lots of drawings cos they love diagrams and neat answers for exams. You need really good practical skills for carving and dental material classes.

Facilities are just so-so. Cant expect much when you're India but basic essentials are ensured like clean distilled water, aircond (the local student hostel DO NOT have airconds), fridge, fully furnished room (cupboard, bed, sheets, chairs, study tables), you even have a cleaner lady who will be there everyday to clean your rooms if u want to. Transport is also provided in the morning and at the end of class. even if u miss the bus it's only a 10-15 minute walk back to the hostel. Wireless internet is sucky at times but still more than enough to survive.

Text books and dental materials are all provided when u arrive.
Whereas for food, if u can take spicy food then you wouldn't have a problem at all, if you do not then your choices are limited but still bareable.

Coming to India for dentistry has been the best decision i made. I have no regrets at all.. The distraction level here is very low so you will concentrate on your studies. The huge diff between IMU and PIDC is that in IMU it's pretty much a SELF STUDY style of teaching where you only have few hours of lectures a week. On the other hand, in PIDC you will have lectures from 9am-4pm from monday to friday.

I would say that almost the whole of my batch does not regret choosing coming to India and even two of them transfered from IMU to PIDC.

btw.. town IS NOT 1-2 hours away. Town is only a 30 minutes Auto (taxi) ride. LIVING COST in india is super cheap. meals here are super cheap and you can eat without having to think twice about the price.

just post up any other questions and i'll answer them when i'm free.

This post has been edited by vulgaregg: Aug 24 2010, 01:26 AM
dreambig91
post Aug 25 2010, 03:30 PM

@vulgaregg went for the interview, got a conditional offer and i met the conditions already. now i just hav to pay the initial fees.
peachfuzz89
post Sep 8 2010, 01:12 AM

Hi am goin to manipal for batch 2 dentistry:) this month...anyone else?
Walts
post Sep 14 2010, 09:47 PM

18 posts

How come I check trough the Malaysian Dental council it stated there only three local university which are UM,USM and UKM being recognized?
hunter1012
post Sep 27 2010, 10:28 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(vulgaregg @ Aug 24 2010, 01:18 AM)
are you sure you got a confirmed offer from IMU or u just got an offer to be interviewed??? COs u have to pass the interview before you are confirmed a place in IMU. it's two completely different things you know.

Added on August 24, 2010, 1:22 am
Salem town is only max 30 minutes away from campus!!!
wherever you choose, it solely depends on your own hardwork!
IMU and PIDC teaching styles are completely opposite.
IMU = Self Study ,lots of distractions , high living cost
PIDC = Lots of lectures just like high school , not much distractions, super low living cost and with a whole lot of Malaysian's living together life in India isn't that difficult actually.

Added on August 24, 2010, 1:26 amYeap.. Have been there for the past 4 months.

Personally, I am enjoying myself in India.

Lecturers are pretty good except for biochem but that's probably due to the subject being really dry. I dont think lecturers play a huge role anyway, for a course like dentisty 80% depends on your own effort and determination to study anyway. Be prepared to do lots of drawings cos they love diagrams and neat answers for exams. You need really good practical skills for carving and dental material classes.

Facilities are just so-so. Cant expect much when you're India but basic essentials are ensured like clean distilled water, aircond (the local student hostel DO NOT have airconds), fridge, fully furnished room (cupboard, bed, sheets, chairs, study tables), you even have a cleaner lady who will be there everyday to clean your rooms if u want to. Transport is also provided in the morning and at the end of class. even if u miss the bus it's only a 10-15 minute walk back to the hostel. Wireless internet is sucky at times but still more than enough to survive.

Text books and dental materials are all provided when u arrive.
Whereas for food, if u can take spicy food then you wouldn't have a problem at all, if you do not then your choices are limited but still bareable.

Coming to India for dentistry has been the best decision i made. I have no regrets at all.. The distraction level here is very low so you will concentrate on your studies. The huge diff between IMU and PIDC is that in IMU it's pretty much a SELF STUDY style of teaching where you only have few hours of lectures a week. On the other hand, in PIDC you will have lectures from 9am-4pm from monday to friday.

I would say that almost the whole of my batch does not regret choosing coming to India and even two of them transfered from IMU to PIDC.

btw.. town IS NOT 1-2 hours away. Town is only a 30 minutes Auto (taxi) ride. LIVING COST in india is super cheap. meals here are super cheap and you can eat without having to think twice about the price.
just post up any other questions and i'll answer them when i'm free.
Thanks for the feedback on studying in India, but meh, bias review towards other universities.... By others I meant IMU.. Lol...

This post has been edited by hunter1012: Sep 27 2010, 10:29 PM
tehtmc
post Sep 29 2010, 07:27 PM

Validating
1,333 posts

Of the two twinning programmes for dentistry, which is better - MMMC or PIDC?
zstan
post Sep 29 2010, 08:47 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(tehtmc @ Sep 29 2010, 07:27 PM)
Of the two twinning programmes  for dentistry, which is better - MMMC or PIDC?
manipal has a better track record IMO..
awesomeness
post Oct 3 2010, 04:38 PM

I'm considering Dentistry/ Medicine in the Melaka-Manipal program.
I'm having difficulty in choosing between the both of them.
My pre-U results should be out by dec 2010, then I would need to apply.

However, any advise for prospective students in Manipal?
Any negative/positive remarks about Manipal or the program?

zstan
post Oct 3 2010, 04:39 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(awesomeness @ Oct 3 2010, 04:38 PM)
I'm considering Dentistry/ Medicine in the Melaka-Manipal program.
I'm having difficulty in choosing between the both of them.
My pre-U results should be out by dec 2010, then I would need to apply.

However, any advise for prospective students in Manipal?
Any negative/positive remarks about Manipal or the program?
my friend just went there..

i just found out this is only their 2nd year doing this twinning program..
imlazy
post Oct 3 2010, 05:28 PM

13 posts

hi i am IMU BDS student sem 2, i saw a lot of post bout IMU. If u need me to clear any doubt, feel free to ask smile.gif
C-Note
post Oct 3 2010, 05:31 PM

starry starry night
3,037 posts

Placements for Dentistry in IMU are much less than for Medicine right?
imlazy
post Oct 3 2010, 05:38 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(Walts @ Sep 14 2010, 09:47 PM)
How come I check trough the Malaysian Dental council it stated there only three local university which are UM,USM and UKM being recognized?
The reason is the dentistry is a new course for most of the private universities, according to my dean Prof Toh, IMU dentistry is consider earliest dentistry course provided by private universities, and our earliest batch is going to finish their year 3 by the end of this year. So there are no proven graduates from any private universities yet, so in the end only 3 private IPTA are recognized

Added on October 3, 2010, 5:39 pm
QUOTE(C-Note @ Oct 3 2010, 05:31 PM)
Placements for Dentistry in IMU are much less than for Medicine right?
Medicine= 250++ seats
Dentistry=50+ seats

and yes there are some students have quit dentistry in IMU

This post has been edited by imlazy: Oct 3 2010, 05:39 PM

18 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.1019sec    0.60    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 03:08 AM