18 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Dentistry, Potential dentist gather =)

pettybimbo
post Apr 6 2009, 02:11 PM

18 posts

I called MDC today.. dr ili told me All unis which are stated above are not recognized yet.. haiz... should i take the risk??

Yeah i should take a look and see what subs and how is their teaching methods r like.. any PIDC student here... HELP!!!
sprint
post Apr 16 2009, 05:09 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(zltan @ Jun 10 2007, 09:29 AM)
I applied for Bachelor of Dental Science in Melbourne Uni for Semester 1 2008 intake. smile.gif

Now, I just have to get the required score to get in. *sigh*
What is the different between Dental Science and Dental Surgery?

Added on April 16, 2009, 5:15 pm
QUOTE(pettybimbo @ Apr 6 2009, 02:11 PM)
I  called MDC today.. dr ili told me All unis which are stated above are not recognized yet.. haiz... should i take the risk??

Yeah i should take a look and see what subs and how is their teaching methods r  like.. any PIDC student here... HELP!!!
Since all also not recognised.. then why after study we still need to serve government department?

What about Mahsa? No good at all? as i know only Mahsa provide 5 years study locally... although IMU as well... just the fee is almost half million... Then AIMST, PIDC, Manipal these 3 colleges are twinning program... although PIDC quite cheap among the colleges... is my information correct??? please do let me know if there are any mistake...

This post has been edited by sprint: Apr 16 2009, 05:15 PM
C-Note
post Apr 16 2009, 10:44 PM

starry starry night
3,037 posts

hey guys can anyone here provide more info on the course in other countries like Hongkong and Aus? would like to knw abt the cost and credibility of the course in other countries
wyatt615
post Apr 18 2009, 07:30 PM

97 posts

Hi! I'm thinking of applying to IMU for dentistry Feb 2010 intake. Anyone applying for the same intake?

freespy
post Apr 25 2009, 04:04 PM

37 posts

Hei,was it necessay for us to further our master after we finish our dental degree?I remembered once my friend told me,if u din specialise in dentistry,hard to get a high income.Is it true?What can we do if we don't want to further our master?
IcyDarling
post Apr 25 2009, 05:53 PM

1,372 posts

i heard places like Indonesia provide a good study field for Dentistry but .. im not really sure...

My friend told me, if u could get a job in the government sector on dentistry, its good earning
mangekyo
post May 2 2009, 03:20 PM

89 posts

can i get MARA loan if i take the dentistry program in MAHSA?
how to apply?
ghodul
post May 6 2009, 08:58 PM

Ghodul + Shoei = GhoSho
596 posts

If u a bumi or muslim, try to consider going egypt or jordan. I've a friend who is studying dental surgery at Jordan University of Science and Technology. They say that the environment there were not bad. If you want cheap, go egypt. Jordan is much more expansive that malaysia... XD
wadever
post Jun 14 2009, 12:30 PM

148 posts

let's say you finished your course + post graduate overseas with few years experience.

Do you still need to serve in government hospital for 3 years if planning to return to Malaysia?
arsenwagon
post Jun 14 2009, 02:55 PM

all ur bass are belong to usa
2,227 posts

QUOTE(sprint @ Apr 16 2009, 05:09 PM)

Added on April 16, 2009, 5:15 pm

Since all also not recognised.. then why after study we still need to serve government department?
because the license is from the govt.
its fine if you can find get a license elsewhere and dont intend to serve malaysia.
that way you dont have to have a license in malaysia.

fykk64
post Jun 16 2009, 02:23 PM

48 posts

how long must we serve in the government and what's the usual pay?
arsenwagon
post Jun 16 2009, 02:58 PM

2,227 posts

i think all included is bout 4 or 3 years (including 1 year housemanship)

pay usually around 3k+...around the same as that of doctors but lack the oncall allowance of course (but you dont have to work like crazy)
if not enough, can do locum also i think.

wen u go private can get 5k-8k easily working for someone else
SUSedge85
post Jun 17 2009, 02:02 AM

hepi hepi goyang bersama
1,299 posts

why don't you all think about the good public service you can provide when working in the government sector?

there's a lot to learn there actually.
arsenwagon
post Jun 17 2009, 06:48 AM

2,227 posts

lol, most people are busy dreaming bout owning their own practice..
that they forget the costs of buying dental equipment , overhead, suffering losses in the beginning if no one knows bout you, etc..

people say they wanna see the smiles on the faces of patients , blah blah..
how can someone smile when youre gonna charge them rm70 just for a tooth extraction.. Lol.

memphis
post Jun 22 2009, 12:40 AM

135 posts

QUOTE(wadever @ Jun 14 2009, 11:30 AM)
let's say you finished your course + post graduate overseas with few years experience.

Do you still need to serve in government hospital for 3 years if planning to return to Malaysia?
from what i know, u still need to serve in gov..but its all depend on many factor like which grad from which uni, how long u have been working, and in which country...worst condition u need to sit for an exam from dental council..

QUOTE(arsenwagon @ Jun 16 2009, 01:58 PM)
i think all included is bout 4 or 3 years (including 1 year housemanship)

pay usually around 3k+...around the same as that of doctors but lack the oncall allowance of course (but you dont have to work like crazy)
if not enough, can do locum also i think.

wen u go private can get 5k-8k easily working for someone else
for dentistry u only need to serve for 3years (no housemanship/internship)..its not the same as doctor as we got pay as general dentist, not intern..1 year in rural area and 2 years near ur place. the basic pay is rm2700 if im not mistaken..got other allowance which can make it to rm3800 (if you serve in rural area or west malaysia)..now i heard that the dental association asking the MOHE to increase the pay to rm5k..same as doctor...dentist work in normal office our (not 36 hours like doctor) but they also got on call..FYI dentist should handle head and neck injury as they are 'mastered' in those area..

in my oppinion, if u just grad from dentistry, just worked in gov 1st..myb for 5-10 years..u need to save money 1st as the dental unit cost so much...for a good one can cost around rm500k!!!n only 1 wont be enough...at least two...if u want to be orthodontist, at least 3...hehe...then u oso need x-ray..myb now its not yet compulsory but i heard it will be later...as each patient should have at least one panoramic radiograph for forensic database or law...then u oso need the thrust and 'publisity' from patient...huhu....if u are a good dentist, they will follow u everywhere u go...the best thing being a dentist is u are working office hours..for the lab work, u can send it to technicion..so u can do locum....
fykk64
post Jun 23 2009, 02:33 PM

48 posts

is it good to do dentistry in indonesia or russia?

memphis
post Jun 23 2009, 03:21 PM

135 posts

i dont relly know about russia..but if in indonesia, its all depend on university and most importantly you yourself...if u still have malaysian typical mentality, everything need to be spoon fed, then u will learn nothing here...but if u the type that curious about evrything, want to try all method, either new or conventional..then i think here is like heaven. you can met all variety of cases, and the best part it, if u want to treat them, the consulant will help u..u wont get that in europe or Aus..i heard that u cant even touch the patient..here u can even do minor surgery like odontectomy..which u cant really do in msia...huhu...so many experience and skill to explore!!!but that just me..most of the student just want to finish the requirement and just go back...
law_yew_wooi
post Jun 23 2009, 03:38 PM

154 posts

A lot of people have the mindset that Indonesia is not a good country to go for your further studies. How far is this true? How is the tuition fee like in Indonesia? What university are you admitted?
memphis
post Jun 23 2009, 03:56 PM

135 posts

for me, those people dont have a clear view about health education...for undergraduate level, the most important thing to have in a university is the faculty (prof, dr, lecturer) and the patients. all the fancy2 infrastructure might be needed but not to extend the most high-end one...coz u wont even use it in msia...so what for u learn using the high-tech machine when u cant even use the conventional one..for me, good dr should be able to make good diagnosis and proper treatment but best dr are those who can work on any condition with any instrument provided. either u are on an airplane or stuck in the midle of a jungle...huhu...so in 3rd world country like indonesia, u can learn it all..they still got the CT-scan, MRI all but not the latest one i think...the best thing is, u can treat the patient by ur self..there are so many patient, that one of my friend deliver 12 baby in a day!!!which i heard it is the requirement for whole course in UKM..if u want to continue post-graduate, then u need the latest technology to help ur research.

theres also downside of it..corruption here is really bad, that u can easily pass ur exam buy paying certain amount of money...not all uni tho..then all those nasty crisis between indo-malaysia can affect u..especially now. with manohara cases, ambalat and oso the maid..

i dont really sure the fees now...im studying in Universitas Padjadjaran, Bandung..last time i heard, it cost rm180k for medicine and 140k for dentistry. im a dental student, and during my time (2005) the fees is only rm95k..and the cost of living is so cheap (around rm400 a month alrealy luxurious)...now rm1k per month oso very hard to live here..

fykk64
post Jun 24 2009, 02:02 PM

48 posts

i hope some of you can help me in this.
i'm in quite a desperate situation.
i want to do dentistry and initially my plan was to apply for Aimst.
i just finished my alevels and my results only comes out in August and Aimst only accepts actual results. so thats out.

IMU is too expensive for my family to afford and even PIDC too.It's not that cheap to study in India, for my family at least.

so now I'm left with Indonesia which is under inspection.

so i really dont know what to do.

18 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0246sec    0.43    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 07:18 AM