127 Pages « < 27 28 29 30 31 > » Bottom

NVIDIA GeForce Community V16 (welcum pascal), ALL HAIL NEW PASCAL KING GTX1080 out now

davidletterboyz
post Jul 8 2016, 04:46 PM

Der Kaiser
4,672 posts

QUOTE(Someonesim @ Jul 8 2016, 04:31 PM)
I used to have my rule of buying GPU not more than RM1000. That time, mid range GPU can handle all games with highest setting on my puny 1440x900  laugh.gif
Now upgrading monitor resolution = more burden on GPU  cry.gif
Thanks both sifu, guess I'll hold a bit for 1070 to drop price or promotion.
Won't drop unless GTX11x0 series come. Like what we have in GTX980Ti stock clearance.
stringfellow
post Jul 8 2016, 04:55 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Release Titan Pascal, AMD counters with whatever big chip Vega they can muster, and Nvidia return fire with 1080Ti. Every base covered. Done and done.
stringfellow
post Jul 8 2016, 04:58 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

PSA for those planning to buy Zotac 980Ti AMP! Edition that's on sale now.

https://zerothguardian.wordpress.com/2015/0...mp-extreme-gpu/

https://www.reddit.com/r/nvidia/comments/46...if_you_plan_on/

But this issue is on the AMP! Extreme model, not the AMP! Omega model that is on sale. Unless they share the same problem across all AMP! lineup.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jul 8 2016, 05:10 PM
Topet
post Jul 8 2016, 05:00 PM

schadenfreude
994 posts

QUOTE(hezda @ Jul 8 2016, 03:35 PM)
Good luck to both of us..  Lol...

Can't wait for it to arrive.
Yeah...now we play the waiting game. At 1st wanna buy super jetstream but saw the post..just buy..hope smooth transaction...
edmund_yung
post Jul 8 2016, 05:14 PM

1,198 posts

QUOTE(richard912 @ Jul 8 2016, 04:29 PM)
Yeah....I guess the RX480 was the catalyst for Nvidia to release the 1060 to market much earlier. Strategically, I would have held off on the release if not for the RX480, so that the market can first absorb the 1070 and 1080. I read somewhere that AMD is now rushing to bring to market the Vega quicker. I really hope they do so that Nvidia can then bring on the 1080TI quicker in response
I speculate VEGA is NOT going to achieve what 1080 is capable of, at least on DX11, and Nvidia can take their sweet time to release 1080 Ti in Q1'17 milking the current 1080 owners, and in Q4'17 release "2080" to milk the 1080 Ti owners.

Milking the people who wanted the best and fastest! As for VEGA, just drop the price of 1080 to counter it.
richard912
post Jul 8 2016, 05:21 PM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

QUOTE(edmund_yung @ Jul 8 2016, 05:14 PM)
I speculate VEGA is NOT going to achieve what 1080 is capable of, at least on DX11, and Nvidia can take their sweet time to release 1080 Ti in Q1'17 milking the current 1080 owners, and in Q4'17 release "2080" to milk the 1080 Ti owners.

Milking the people who wanted the best and fastest! As for VEGA, just drop the price of 1080 to counter it.
Well, pain-pain to the wallets of those who get milked. Am just happily using my 980TI for the time being since it works perfectly fine on my current 1080p monitor. The urge to get milked will arise when I ascend to a bigger 1440p monitor. Now waiting on the arrival of the X34P.
stringfellow
post Jul 8 2016, 05:37 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Heheh, the definition of "milking" here is used very loosely.

He can still sell off his 1080 for Titan Pascal or 1080Ti and top up a little bit more from the sale he made from the 1080. A new user gets an affordable 1080, and he gets a Titan Pascal or 1080Ti, both win-win?

Different person has different interpretation of how he should progress in his GPU purchases. For example, Person A stuck to their GPUs over 4-5 generations before upgrading, perhaps he games on simple, non-demanding games like CS:GO. Person B play modern games on Ultra setting and am not willing to compromise on that, hence necessitating the faster upgrade turnaround. To Person A, Person B is being "milked" for what he is, but Person A has low tolerances to shitty graphics compared to Person B. tongue.gif Person B cant stand 800x600 on low, so he chose faster upgrade, and to him, it's normal. Sure, Person B loses some money due to the topup he needs to do to get to the next highest end, but it's a need he feels that he can afford to do so. Person A could never afforded such GPU progression upgrades, hence the "milking it" impression to Person A?

Different strokes for different folks. Some dont take gaming as priority and can tolerate graphics downgrade as long as can still play, or dont play demanding games. Others had higher standard and tolerance level.

¯\_(ツ)_/¯

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jul 8 2016, 05:37 PM
Mr.Beanster
post Jul 8 2016, 05:46 PM

1,267 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Jul 8 2016, 04:58 PM)
PSA for those planning to buy Zotac 980Ti AMP! Edition that's on sale now.

https://zerothguardian.wordpress.com/2015/0...mp-extreme-gpu/

https://www.reddit.com/r/nvidia/comments/46...if_you_plan_on/

But this issue is on the AMP! Extreme model, not the AMP! Omega model that is on sale. Unless they share the same problem across all AMP! lineup.
With this discount price i now have a dilemma between the gtx980 ti amp omega or 1070 amp. From various benchmarks i can see that both card have similar performance if not only few fps difference in gaming. Should i go for the 980ti for performance/dollar ratio at RM1789 versus the 1070 AMP ~2.2k?. The price difference is huge here. I'm not into VR nor concern about power draw either.

This post has been edited by Mr.Beanster: Jul 8 2016, 05:47 PM
stringfellow
post Jul 8 2016, 06:00 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Beanster @ Jul 8 2016, 05:46 PM)
With this discount price i now have a dilemma between the gtx980 ti amp omega or 1070 amp. From various benchmarks i can see that both card have similar performance if not only few fps difference in gaming. Should i go for the 980ti for performance/dollar ratio at RM1789 versus the 1070 AMP ~2.2k?. The price difference is huge here. I'm not into VR nor concern about power draw either.
Are you sure you're not be using Pascal's other features as well? Simulteneous Multi-Projection for multi-monitor gaming is the only other reason left here but if you dont care about that either then the option is open. I rather be on the more updated side IF the price is the same between the two, but if there are price differences, only you can decide if it is worth it or not.
richard912
post Jul 8 2016, 06:02 PM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Beanster @ Jul 8 2016, 05:46 PM)
One of Pascal's forte is in VR. If it's not something you're into, the current fire-sale of the 980TI is certainly very enticing
TSskylinelover
post Jul 8 2016, 06:26 PM

Future Crypto Player😄👊Driver Abamsado😎😎
11,266 posts

QUOTE(Someonesim @ Jul 8 2016, 04:31 PM)
I used to have my rule of buying GPU not more than RM1000. That time, mid range GPU can handle all games with highest setting on my puny 1440x900  laugh.gif
Now upgrading monitor resolution = more burden on GPU  cry.gif
Thanks both sifu, guess I'll hold a bit for 1070 to drop price or promotion.
Haha then you need doubling your budget or even triple 4 insurance when you buy bigger monitor laugh.gif brows.gif
richard912
post Jul 8 2016, 06:33 PM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Jul 8 2016, 06:26 PM)
Haha then you need doubling your budget or even triple 4 insurance when you buy bigger monitor laugh.gif brows.gif
Alas, it's a phase that gamers will need to get through less they remain contented with 1080p. 1440p will become the next norm though
TSskylinelover
post Jul 8 2016, 06:44 PM

Future Crypto Player😄👊Driver Abamsado😎😎
11,266 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Jul 8 2016, 05:37 PM)
Heheh, the definition of "milking" here is used very loosely.

He can still sell off his 1080 for Titan Pascal or 1080Ti and top up a little bit more from the sale he made from the 1080. A new user gets an affordable 1080, and he gets a Titan Pascal or 1080Ti, both win-win?

Different person has different interpretation of how he should progress in his GPU purchases. For example, Person A stuck to their GPUs over 4-5 generations before upgrading, perhaps he games on simple, non-demanding games like CS:GO. Person B play modern games on Ultra setting and am not willing to compromise on that, hence necessitating the faster upgrade turnaround. To Person A, Person B is being "milked" for what he is, but Person A has low tolerances to shitty graphics compared to Person B. tongue.gif Person B cant stand 800x600 on low, so he chose faster upgrade, and to him, it's normal. Sure, Person B loses some money due to the topup he needs to do to get to the next highest end, but it's a need he feels that he can afford to do so. Person A could never afforded such GPU progression upgrades, hence the "milking it" impression to Person A?

Different strokes for different folks. Some dont take gaming as priority and can tolerate graphics downgrade as long as can still play, or dont play demanding games. Others had higher standard and tolerance level.

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
Haha sad 2 say i am still person A due 2 other commitments laugh.gif doh.gif

QUOTE(richard912 @ Jul 8 2016, 06:33 PM)
Alas, it's a phase that gamers will need to get through less they remain contented with 1080p. 1440p will become the next norm though
When 1440p bcum norm, i already in 4k zone. laugh.gif brows.gif
SSJBen
post Jul 8 2016, 06:46 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,523 posts

1440p will never become the norm. The market is just forcing everyone to go 4k instead, with the same old 60hz refresh rates. yawn.gif
Someonesim
post Jul 8 2016, 06:52 PM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Jul 8 2016, 06:26 PM)
Ya wallet hurt so much cry.gif large monitor need powerful GPU sad.gif

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Jul 8 2016, 06:46 PM)
1440p will never become the norm. The market is just forcing everyone to go 4k instead, with the same old 60hz refresh rates. yawn.gif
Hence we should go #UltraWideMasterRace cool2.gif
mulder_sam
post Jul 8 2016, 07:09 PM

233 posts

woooooo

This post has been edited by mulder_sam: Jul 8 2016, 07:10 PM
stringfellow
post Jul 8 2016, 07:24 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Jul 8 2016, 06:44 PM)
Haha sad 2 say i am still person A due 2 other commitments laugh.gif doh.gif
When 1440p bcum norm, i already in 4k zone. laugh.gif brows.gif
No worries. Everyone has their priorities. I don't mind taking a bus to KL, you probably prefer a car. I won't be saying that your car is milking you. Priorities. Everyone have them. Only different priorities for different people.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jul 8 2016, 07:32 PM
richard912
post Jul 8 2016, 07:29 PM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Jul 8 2016, 07:24 PM)
No worries. Everyone has rheir priorities. I don't mind taking a bus to KL, you probably prefer a car. I won't be saying that your car is milking you. Priorities. Everyone have them. Only different priorities for different people.
It's called the law of relativity icon_idea.gif
Someonesim
post Jul 8 2016, 08:47 PM

In my way
9,132 posts

Just post for my 970 WTS biggrin.gif gonna top up and jump into 980ti or 1070 bandwagon laugh.gif

QUOTE(TenSou @ Jul 8 2016, 01:39 PM)
There's a gtx1070 available at gemfive atm, if you can use the 12% off code on it, you should be able to save at least RM200 on one.

Edit: Just checked, it works. RM1847 (with discount) for a Palit 1070 GameRock.
QUOTE(Topet @ Jul 8 2016, 02:34 PM)
Only one left...i wanna try...
S̶O̶S̶ ̶p̶l̶s̶,̶ ̶I̶ ̶c̶h̶e̶c̶k̶e̶d̶ ̶j̶u̶s̶t̶ ̶n̶o̶w̶ ̶b̶u̶t̶ ̶c̶a̶n̶t̶ ̶f̶i̶n̶d̶ ̶9̶8̶0̶t̶i̶ ̶o̶r̶ ̶1̶0̶7̶0̶

EDIT: Found it cry.gif out of stock. RM250 discount is good bargain laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Someonesim: Jul 8 2016, 09:08 PM
Topet
post Jul 8 2016, 09:13 PM

schadenfreude
994 posts

QUOTE(Someonesim @ Jul 8 2016, 08:47 PM)
Just post for my 970 WTS  biggrin.gif  gonna top up and jump into 980ti or 1070 bandwagon  laugh.gif
S̶O̶S̶ ̶p̶l̶s̶,̶ ̶I̶ ̶c̶h̶e̶c̶k̶e̶d̶ ̶j̶u̶s̶t̶ ̶n̶o̶w̶ ̶b̶u̶t̶ ̶c̶a̶n̶t̶ ̶f̶i̶n̶d̶ ̶9̶8̶0̶t̶i̶ ̶o̶r̶ ̶1̶0̶7̶0̶

EDIT: Found it  cry.gif  out of stock. RM250 discount is good bargain  laugh.gif
There will be another...no worries

Many thanks to TenSou for this matter. If its not for him I couldn't get that price.

This post has been edited by Topet: Jul 8 2016, 09:16 PM

127 Pages « < 27 28 29 30 31 > » Top

0.0263sec    0.58    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 07:01 PM