The Official Blu-ray Thread v17, Check 1st page 1st post for value FAQ :)
tripleB
Jun 24 2020, 06:24 PM

QUOTE(fadthil @ Jun 24 2020, 02:47 AM)  i went to SPEEDY at Subang Parade yesterday evening and bought these two titles – Puss in Boots (BD) & Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Out of the Shadows (3D-BD) for RM10 each... not bad deal at all!  actually i took the Puss in Boots 3D-BD but the sales lady told me that this release only comes in 3D disc only without the normal blu-ray, so she allowed me to take the normal BD from the 7 BD for RM35 selection instead. i want to get Shrek 2 & Shrek The Third (both 3D) for RM10 each too... but there is no Shrek & Shrek Forever After for a complete set, so i pass... nothing much for the 7 BD for RM35 ones...  maybe can check at One Utama again later this week... Dreamworks 3D titles are usually 2 in 1. The 3D disc also contains the 2D version. If you play it on a non 3D TV it will play the 2D version. I happen to have quite a few of them.
fadthil
Jun 24 2020, 07:29 PM
QUOTE(underworld @ Jun 24 2020, 10:43 AM) SP Speedy any nice 4k UHD titles ? they have quite a bit i think, but i did not check any titles in detail. they shelved all 4K BDs at the counter area. when i was there, there are customers at counter area so i dont want to hang around there too close to them
fadthil
Jun 24 2020, 07:51 PM
QUOTE(Hartigan @ Jun 24 2020, 01:16 PM) Mind to share what bd titles they offer for sales if you happen to drop by at 1 Utama outlet later? Thanks. ok will do. hopefully that 1 Utama will have more titles since outlet is bigger
fadthil
Jun 24 2020, 07:53 PM
QUOTE(tripleB @ Jun 24 2020, 06:24 PM) Dreamworks 3D titles are usually 2 in 1. The 3D disc also contains the 2D version. If you play it on a non 3D TV it will play the 2D version. I happen to have quite a few of them. ayak... should've grabbed the 3D version then, not that i have a 3D capable tv or player to play it on...  btw, thanks for that info!
fadthil
Jun 25 2020, 05:15 PM
gone to SPEEDY 1 Utama earlier this afternoon, luckily today no more long queue… no queue in fact! actually this outlet has a much bigger collection of DVDs, BDs & even 4Ks than Subang Parade's but nothing interesting on the BD selection, at least for me la… i think most good or newer ones already kena sapu when they announced they’re closing down early last week.  btw, the best titles on BDs are not the Buy 7 for RM35, but only the 20% off ones and there are quite a bit of unheard / unpopular movies in 3D that they have like 20 stocks unsold.... i don't understand why stock-up so many unknown titles!?! anyway, i can share some 4Ks that i saw – terminator dark fate, solo, godzilla king of the monsters, venom, meg, aquaman, deadpool, spider-man far from home, hobbs & shaw, aladdin (2019) amongst others.  they are either discounted 20% or to buy 2 for RM199... but they mixed them up, so to differentiate only by the labeled stickers on them. This post has been edited by fadthil: Jun 25 2020, 05:17 PM
Hartigan
Jun 26 2020, 11:06 AM

QUOTE(fadthil @ Jun 25 2020, 05:15 PM) gone to SPEEDY 1 Utama earlier this afternoon, luckily today no more long queue… no queue in fact! actually this outlet has a much bigger collection of DVDs, BDs & even 4Ks than Subang Parade's but nothing interesting on the BD selection, at least for me la… i think most good or newer ones already kena sapu when they announced they’re closing down early last week.  btw, the best titles on BDs are not the Buy 7 for RM35, but only the 20% off ones and there are quite a bit of unheard / unpopular movies in 3D that they have like 20 stocks unsold.... i don't understand why stock-up so many unknown titles!?! anyway, i can share some 4Ks that i saw – terminator dark fate, solo, godzilla king of the monsters, venom, meg, aquaman, deadpool, spider-man far from home, hobbs & shaw, aladdin (2019) amongst others.  they are either discounted 20% or to buy 2 for RM199... but they mixed them up, so to differentiate only by the labeled stickers on them.  Nice, good for sharing Bd's on 7 for rm35 section are known for not the best selling titles, every outlets are the same stock I assumed. For the rm10 bd section, have to depends on luck, mostly 3d+2d bluray Well, since bluray selection was a bit odd, not much choices, I more eyeing into the imported dvd section like 7 for rm35, like those tv series, one boxsets with more than 4 discs only cost rm5! That's a good bargain price I must say...
fadthil
Jun 27 2020, 03:43 AM
QUOTE(dex-brz @ Jun 26 2020, 05:09 PM) RM199 for 2 4K UHDs are still expensive compared to imports  ya true, absolutely agree.... although i dont have 4K tv and player yet, i do own three 4K titles namely Batman v Superman, Deadpool 2 & Jurassic World Fallen Kingdom because when i bought the price was darn cheap, well even cheaper than normal blu-ray at that time; around RM50 and below each  bought during black friday of course... This post has been edited by fadthil: Jun 27 2020, 03:44 AM
Andrewtst
Jun 27 2020, 08:28 PM
Though can grab some, too bad Speedy branch at Aeon Kulaijaya already closed
Not sure at Aeon Tebrau one still open or not.
fadthil
Jun 28 2020, 12:31 AM
QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Jun 27 2020, 08:28 PM) Though can grab some, too bad Speedy branch at Aeon Kulaijaya already closed Not sure at Aeon Tebrau one still open or not. oh... they must have cleared everything pretty quickly i guess not sure when exact date when all SPEEDY outlet will roll-down its doors... end of june, july? This post has been edited by fadthil: Jun 28 2020, 12:33 AM
Andrewtst
Jun 28 2020, 01:40 AM
QUOTE(fadthil @ Jun 28 2020, 12:31 AM) oh... they must have cleared everything pretty quickly i guess not sure when exact date when all SPEEDY outlet will roll-down its doors... end of june, july? No idea, maybe end of July. Later going to check out another branch see still open or not. That will be the last branch in JB if not wrong.
Hartigan
Jun 28 2020, 01:45 PM

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Jun 28 2020, 01:40 AM) No idea, maybe end of July. Later going to check out another branch see still open or not. That will be the last branch in JB if not wrong. JB do still have 2 outlets, one is Aeon Tebrau, another one i believe is the much new opening at Mid Valley South Key
Andrewtst
Jun 28 2020, 03:56 PM
QUOTE(Hartigan @ Jun 28 2020, 01:45 PM) JB do still have 2 outlets, one is Aeon Tebrau, another one i believe is the much new opening at Mid Valley South Key Oh ya, thanks, I forgot about Mid Valley, haha! Did you pass by? any title worth to grab?
Andrewtst
Jun 28 2020, 06:32 PM
I manage to grab some but it's RM 10 per title one. All 3D Blu-ray + Blu-ray. I ask the shop, they told me open until August, 2020 only. So grab while you can.
Hartigan
Jun 28 2020, 07:20 PM

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Jun 28 2020, 03:56 PM) Oh ya, thanks, I forgot about Mid Valley, haha! Did you pass by? any title worth to grab? Hmm...I wish to buy, but I'm stayed at where all speedy outlets were closed Really wish to purchase on the spot, those experience were unbeatable, but now only left memories
Hartigan
Jun 28 2020, 07:24 PM

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Jun 28 2020, 06:32 PM) I manage to grab some but it's RM 10 per title one. All 3D Blu-ray + Blu-ray. All bd's with slipcover always looks nice, a collectible item. QUOTE I ask the shop, they told me open until August, 2020 only. So grab while you can. I guess it's really an end of an era
Andrewtst
Jun 28 2020, 11:56 PM
QUOTE(Hartigan @ Jun 28 2020, 07:20 PM) Hmm...I wish to buy, but I'm stayed at where all speedy outlets were closed Really wish to purchase on the spot, those experience were unbeatable, but now only left memories Oh, maybe go further a bit. QUOTE(Hartigan @ Jun 28 2020, 07:24 PM) All bd's with slipcover always looks nice, a collectible item. I guess it's really an end of an era  Ya, I am very happy found some of it.  Ya, possible since Speedy is the last selling those. Now everything go digital, even PS5 also have digital version.
Andrewtst
Jun 28 2020, 11:59 PM
QUOTE(tripleB @ Jun 24 2020, 06:24 PM) Dreamworks 3D titles are usually 2 in 1. The 3D disc also contains the 2D version. If you play it on a non 3D TV it will play the 2D version. I happen to have quite a few of them. QUOTE(fadthil @ Jun 24 2020, 07:53 PM) ayak... should've grabbed the 3D version then, not that i have a 3D capable tv or player to play it on...  btw, thanks for that info!  If the disc only 1 single disc and label 3D only, then that copy don't have 2D version. They do have such version selling in speedy, so need to be very careful as 3D version need 3D player + 3D TV, else it won't play. 2 disc version will have proper label Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray. This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Jun 28 2020, 11:59 PM
tripleB
Jun 29 2020, 07:05 PM

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Jun 28 2020, 11:59 PM) If the disc only 1 single disc and label 3D only, then that copy don't have 2D version. They do have such version selling in speedy, so need to be very careful as 3D version need 3D player + 3D TV, else it won't play. 2 disc version will have proper label Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray. I'm aware of the titles with 2D+3D discs in the package of course. I own a ton of 3D movies. The majority of 3D titles do have separate 2D and 3D discs. You can't play the 3D version on a non 3D TV as you said. But there ARE certain titles that actually contain the 2D and 3D versions on one disc. Most of them are from Dreamworks. And some are from Fox. These are the titles I personally own, which I bought from Speedy a long time ago. Shrek Forever After Monsters VS Aliens Rio Ice Ace 4 All the Shrek movies should be the same, although I don't own Shrek 1-3 on 3D. But the majority of other 3D titles can't play on non 3D TVs though. Anything from Sony or Disney. Anything from Paramount. Same with Universal.
Andrewtst
Jun 29 2020, 07:49 PM
QUOTE(tripleB @ Jun 29 2020, 07:05 PM) I'm aware of the titles with 2D+3D discs in the package of course. I own a ton of 3D movies. The majority of 3D titles do have separate 2D and 3D discs. You can't play the 3D version on a non 3D TV as you said. But there ARE certain titles that actually contain the 2D and 3D versions on one disc. Most of them are from Dreamworks. And some are from Fox. These are the titles I personally own, which I bought from Speedy a long time ago. Shrek Forever After Monsters VS Aliens Rio Ice Ace 4 All the Shrek movies should be the same, although I don't own Shrek 1-3 on 3D. But the majority of other 3D titles can't play on non 3D TVs though. Anything from Sony or Disney. Anything from Paramount. Same with Universal. In this case, it is like battle, kind of danger, haha!