55 Pages « < 39 40 41 42 43 > » Bottom

The Official Blu-ray Thread v17, Check 1st page 1st post for value FAQ :)

fadthil
post Dec 24 2019, 01:16 PM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

QUOTE(maskedchan @ Dec 24 2019, 11:12 AM)
I did buy few from 1u speedy as well early of this year.
can't remember the price but should be RM50 for 3 too
oh ok, cool... hmm maybe that was "2 for RM50", no? i dont remember Speedy sales this low before until now... but maybe i was wrong. the only other time lower than this was "1 for RM10", but only selected and unsellable titles
munchoong
post Dec 24 2019, 02:53 PM

414 posts

QUOTE(maskedchan @ Dec 23 2019, 04:08 PM)
I do go down there checked last week. RM50 for 3 titles, nothing are interesting.
I picked up X-Men: Apocalypse 3D and Resident Evil: The Final Chapter 3D from the '2 for RM88' section
munchoong
post Dec 24 2019, 02:57 PM

414 posts

QUOTE(fadthil @ Dec 20 2019, 12:09 AM)
anyone else received their black friday stuff? do share... icon_rolleyes.gif
My Black Friday orders received over the past 2 weeks...

Hartigan
post Dec 24 2019, 05:56 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(fadthil @ Dec 24 2019, 01:41 AM)
bought these three from Speedy sale of '3 for RM50' rclxms.gif . i have not owned these before but have intentions to own these for a long time!! i don't think amazon.com will get close to this price if i added shipping fee to each title tongue.gif  with the exception of Stuart LIttle 2 & Disturbia, Ninja Turtles is the only other blu-ray title i ever bought that is manufactured locally (or at least from Asia) since my Avatar steelbook back in 2010

Good deals then rclxms.gif
But i guess they don't have many of those old bd titles for sales anymore, like the 90's film example "Face/Off", "Broken Arrow", "The Rock"....just to name a few, i have seen these titles for sales at speedy outlets a long time ago, but now it seems they almost non-existence, can't find them

fadthil
post Dec 24 2019, 11:16 PM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

QUOTE(munchoong @ Dec 24 2019, 02:57 PM)
My Black Friday orders received over the past 2 weeks...

nice 4K collection... thumbup.gif i missed that mission: impossible 6-movie collection on blu-ray when it dropped to USD12.99 for just a short period doh.gif

btw that nolan collection and matrix trilogy bought from amazon uk? hmm.gif
fadthil
post Dec 24 2019, 11:28 PM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

QUOTE(Hartigan @ Dec 24 2019, 05:56 PM)

But i guess they don't have many of those old bd titles for sales anymore, like the 90's film example "Face/Off", "Broken Arrow", "The Rock"....just to name a few, i have seen these titles for sales at speedy outlets a long time ago, but now it seems they almost non-existence, can't find them
agreed. maybe they're clearing up old or catalogue titles... and once sold, they're not going to reorder/stock-up blush.gif the '2 for RM88' is not too bad actually – i saw GoTG 1 & 2, Thor, Captain America Winter Soldier and some other Marvel titles in this category, Jurassic World and some other top titles thumbup.gif although it's not that cheap, but certainly RM44.00 each is much2 better than the normal but ridiculously priced RM79.90 or RM99.90! doh.gif
TSmaskedchan
post Dec 26 2019, 08:24 AM

6,022 posts

QUOTE(fadthil @ Dec 24 2019, 01:16 PM)
oh ok, cool... hmm maybe that was "2 for RM50", no? i dont remember Speedy sales this low before until now... but maybe i was wrong. the only other time lower than this was "1 for RM10", but only selected and unsellable titles
getting old now, cant remember much.
if I remember correctly, I take 4-5 titles and total not more than RM100
munchoong
post Dec 26 2019, 01:13 PM

414 posts

QUOTE(fadthil @ Dec 24 2019, 11:16 PM)
nice 4K collection... thumbup.gif i missed that mission: impossible 6-movie collection on blu-ray when it dropped to USD12.99 for just a short period doh.gif

btw that nolan collection and matrix trilogy bought from amazon uk? hmm.gif
Yeah. the Nolan Collection and Matrix Trilogy are UK versions.

The Nolan Collection is loooong out of print in the US, and Matrix Trilogy US version was almost double the price of the UK version.
TSmaskedchan
post Dec 26 2019, 02:25 PM

6,022 posts

QUOTE(munchoong @ Dec 26 2019, 01:13 PM)
Yeah. the Nolan Collection and Matrix Trilogy are UK versions.

The Nolan Collection is loooong out of print in the US, and Matrix Trilogy US version was almost double the price of the UK version.
did Matrix Trilogy US Version become limited edition?
How much it could fetch now?
good price maybe can sell it drool.gif brows.gif
munchoong
post Dec 26 2019, 04:08 PM

414 posts

QUOTE(maskedchan @ Dec 26 2019, 02:25 PM)
did Matrix Trilogy US Version become limited edition?
How much it could fetch now?
good price maybe can sell it  drool.gif  brows.gif
No, it's just that it didn't go on deep discount during Black Friday. smile.gif

In my experience, for big boxed sets usually UK version become cheaper than US version during Black Friday.
munchoong
post Dec 26 2019, 04:19 PM

414 posts

QUOTE(fadthil @ Dec 24 2019, 11:28 PM)
agreed. maybe they're clearing up old or catalogue titles... and once sold, they're not going to reorder/stock-up blush.gif the '2 for RM88' is not too bad actually – i saw GoTG 1 & 2, Thor, Captain America Winter Soldier and some other Marvel titles in this category, Jurassic World and some other top titles thumbup.gif although it's not that cheap, but certainly RM44.00 each is much2 better than the normal but ridiculously priced RM79.90 or RM99.90! doh.gif
Just take care TO AVOID Captain America: Civil War.

The Asian release of Civil War has lossy DTS-HD HR 7.1 audio, instead of the lossless DTS-HD MA 7.1 audio.

AFAIK all other MCU BDs do not have this weird problem.
fadthil
post Dec 27 2019, 12:00 AM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

QUOTE(munchoong @ Dec 26 2019, 04:19 PM)
Just take care TO AVOID Captain America: Civil War.

The Asian release of Civil War has lossy DTS-HD HR 7.1 audio, instead of the lossless DTS-HD MA 7.1 audio.

AFAIK all other MCU BDs do not have this weird problem.
good advice... btw already owned captain america civil war US version years ago during black friday. that is one reason why i'm not that fond on buying any asian region A blu-ray;other than the usual bad quality packaging printing!! doh.gif
TSmaskedchan
post Dec 27 2019, 09:05 AM

6,022 posts

QUOTE(munchoong @ Dec 26 2019, 04:08 PM)
No, it's just that it didn't go on deep discount during Black Friday. smile.gif

In my experience, for big boxed sets usually UK version become cheaper than US version during Black Friday.
even without BF, usually UK version boxset cheaper than US version.
However, I only owned few UK boxset due to ugly design and bulky casing.

QUOTE(fadthil @ Dec 27 2019, 12:00 AM)
good advice... btw already owned captain america civil war US version years ago during black friday. that is one reason why i'm not that fond on buying any asian region A blu-ray;other than the usual bad quality packaging printing!! doh.gif
probably due to lazy packaging designer. just cut, copy and paste then done job doh.gif
fadthil
post Dec 28 2019, 12:51 PM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

QUOTE(maskedchan @ Dec 27 2019, 09:05 AM)
plus the annoying "nipple" on them laugh.gif

probably due to lazy packaging designer. just cut, copy and paste then done job  doh.gif
i wont necessary have issue with cut n pate job since that is the master artwork from the movie studio... but the not-so-great printing job done by local printers. i think apart from quality and features of the PQ/AQ of the disc, it is the packaging overall quality... seems to be one of the reason we collect and keep the so-called "physical" media; now that "digital" or "streaming" has been the popular choice among general audiences cool2.gif
munchoong
post Dec 28 2019, 04:32 PM

414 posts

QUOTE(fadthil @ Dec 28 2019, 12:51 PM)
plus the annoying "nipple" on them  laugh.gif
Apa tu? tongue.gif
munchoong
post Dec 28 2019, 04:33 PM

414 posts

probably due to lazy packaging designer. just cut, copy and paste then done job  doh.gif
I think you're meaning those ugly fat Ecopaks?

I kena with the UK box sets for Star Trek: The Next Generation, Star Trek: Enterprise, Downton Abbey, and How I Met Your Mother sad.gif
fadthil
post Dec 28 2019, 07:40 PM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

QUOTE(munchoong @ Dec 28 2019, 04:32 PM)
Apa tu? tongue.gif
it's an analogy that me and maskedchan came up together long ago with reference to this, which to us quite annoying unlike the US version which has none on the cover... laugh.gif

TSmaskedchan
post Dec 31 2019, 08:58 AM

6,022 posts

QUOTE(fadthil @ Dec 28 2019, 12:51 PM)
i wont necessary have issue with cut n pate job since that is the master artwork from the movie studio... but the not-so-great printing job done by local printers. i think apart from quality and features of the PQ/AQ of the disc, it is the packaging overall quality... seems to be one of the reason we collect and keep the so-called "physical" media; now that "digital" or "streaming" has been the popular choice among general audiences  cool2.gif
do you consider to design your on cover page or print image from internet for BD and replace those ugly one?

QUOTE(munchoong @ Dec 28 2019, 04:33 PM)
I think you're meaning those ugly fat Ecopaks?

I kena with the UK box sets for Star Trek: The Next Generation, Star Trek: Enterprise, Downton Abbey, and How I Met Your Mother sad.gif
Yeah. I prefer boxset that have slim casing, e.g. Matrix Trilogy from US.

I thought Europe countries will have better idea on environmental friendly by reducing plastic use, but the UK BD casing speak louder whistling.gif

fadthil
post Jan 1 2020, 12:07 PM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

QUOTE(maskedchan @ Dec 31 2019, 08:58 AM)
do you consider to design your on cover page or print image from internet for BD and replace those ugly one?
ermm... if only i have spare time to do so. but i dont really matter much the original cover design so far released by studios although i may prefer a certain design of a movie for a format i won't be buying; for instance i may prefer a 3D blu-ray cover release instead of the standard blu-ray one which i'm owning. wink.gif

QUOTE(maskedchan @ Dec 31 2019, 08:58 AM)
Yeah. I prefer boxset that have slim casing, e.g. Matrix Trilogy from US.

I thought Europe countries will have better idea on environmental friendly by reducing plastic use, but the UK BD casing speak louder  whistling.gif
aik, i heard you recently mentioned you'd prefer to fill-up your shelf... so a thicker casing of a boxset title is better than a slim-case one, no...? whistling.gif
personally i'd prefer a slimmer-case too – my favourite is the Austin Powers Triple Feature; it's so thin all three casing combined almost the same thickness as a normal single case bluray! thumbup.gif
TSmaskedchan
post Jan 2 2020, 10:19 AM

6,022 posts

QUOTE(fadthil @ Jan 1 2020, 12:07 PM)
ermm... if only i have spare time to do so. but i dont really matter much the original cover design so far released by studios although i may prefer a certain design of a movie for a format i won't be buying; for instance i may prefer a 3D blu-ray cover release instead of the standard blu-ray one which i'm owning.  wink.gif
aik, i heard you recently mentioned you'd prefer to fill-up your shelf... so a thicker casing of a boxset title is better than a slim-case one, no...? whistling.gif
personally i'd prefer a slimmer-case too – my favourite is the Austin Powers Triple Feature; it's so thin all three casing combined almost the same thickness as a normal single case bluray! thumbup.gif
filling up the shelf with same size is ok.
suddenly have an eyesore fat casing with a nipple in between is no no vmad.gif

55 Pages « < 39 40 41 42 43 > » Top

0.0247sec    0.64    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 11:21 AM