24 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Bottom

RX 480 or GTX1070? Or GTX1060?, Which is better?

missingNo
post Jul 5 2016, 08:25 AM

137 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Jul 5 2016, 07:38 AM)
Sure, it's worth celebrating, if you have not tasted what the RX480 can do 2 years back. Entry fee higher back then, have to wait 2 years now to taste what it is. Budget gamer category.

Look at it from the enthusiast point of view. Not super enthusiast that splurges on 980Ti or Titan X. Just enthusiast who had cash to spend on 970 2 years back. It is NOT a tall order to be able to afford the 970, 349USD. Price in RM locally fluctuates too wildly to rely as a steady reference between the devaluation of RM what it was previously and what it is now, so I'm gonna take the USD as the barometer.

Someone with a USD349 in his pocket 2 years ago have tasted what someone with a USD239 in his pocket now. The difference, USD110 is the price Nvidia users pay to be 2 years ahead of what AMD users are using now. That is where all my points are from, you pay USD110 to be ahead by 2 years. A performance that has been tasted 2 years ahead, isn't something worth celebrating now. It is only worth celebrating now if you have never tasted that performance 2 years ago, and can only taste it now because "the barrier", that performance entry fee, has dropped from USD349 to USD239. For that, I echo your sentiment. But for the lot of Nvidia users who make up the majority that had the 970 2 years back, it's nothing to shout about. Cool and awesome, the fraction of people that gets "left behind" now can finally get onto the performance "bus" and see what they missed, but the people who had been ahead, stays ahead, but at that price difference they paid for. In the case of 970 and 480, it's USD110.

Choice. At that point in time, users are faced with a choice. Pay that USD110 premium now, and hop onto that bandwagon now and experience it 2 years early, or choose not to pay that premium and get to experience it later. Some folks are okay with that USD110 premium to get ahead, some dont. Those who do (and there are lots of them, the 970 is a bestselling card) has 2 years head start ahead of those who decline to pay that premium 2 years early, and can only experience it now in the form of RX480.

Now you get why I said there's no big deal about it? It is a big deal if you declined to take up the premium of USD110 2 years ago. But the experience that used to cost USD349 2 years ago, becomes common and cheaper now, that at USD239, it's mostly "meh" to those who had taken the option to pay the premium and experience it early. Take it that USD110 is the price they pay to experience it earlier. Like movie tickets, release day movie tickets costs RM18 and no concession tickets for early bird special or half price on certain dates, UNTIL the movie grow stale and gone into the smaller theatre hall. Sure, you get to watch Star Wars Episode VII for RM7 when others get to watch it a month earlier at RM18-20. That's a big price difference. But only the ticket purchaser decides if it is worth watching it early, or if he wants to save and/or can only watch it when it's cheap. Guess where the bulk of money for movie box-office are made from? wink.gif

So, me here, giving this RX480 a pat in the back, is like me congratulating someone who gets to watch Episode VII one month later. He gets to watch it cheap, but that's only because he can only get to see it while it's cheap. Others had watched it earlier, and the price to see it on release day is not CRAZY expensive either, unlike watching in GOLD CLASS cinema hall. See how anticlimactic that is?

If the release price figure for the 970 is not accurate, then replace them with whatever's accurate. The sentiment remains.
I err...whaaaat?
This guys really is on a different level lol.

Did you or did you not agree with my statement because I didn't see a single argument or fact against my original statement in these long ass post.
I am a bit confused at what you're trying to achieve here, you came off as being denial in my opinion with all these excuse, diversion and an analogy (that is worse than a food analogy! Imagine that!)

I do think however, owe you an apology.
If I knew you were such an interesting person I wouldn't drag this argument this long, and just leave it cold like that.
It must be awful writing all those, and I apologize for making you do it.

missingNo
post Jul 5 2016, 08:31 AM

137 posts

QUOTE(vengeful_revenge @ Jul 5 2016, 08:15 AM)
Can you confirm this? GTX1070 at only RM1,999? Its performance beats GTX980TI yet that affordable?

GTX1060 will KO RX480 if it priced just slightly higher, people don't mind forking out 200 extra for the better card.
Yep, almost 1:1 exchange rate with US price!
Can't wait for GTX 1060!

Hurrah for corporate rivalry~

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Jul 5 2016, 08:17 AM)
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3983179/all

RM1999. And yes, it matches 980Ti in some cases, and beats it in others.
Palit Jetstream look better and priced the same.
I'd go with Palit over Gigabyte for Nvidia.
stringfellow
post Jul 5 2016, 08:33 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(missingNo @ Jul 5 2016, 08:25 AM)
I err...whaaaat?
This guys really is on a different level lol.

Did you or did you not agree with my statement because I didn't see a single argument or fact against my original statement in these long ass post.
I am a bit confused at what you're trying to achieve here, you came off as being denial in my opinion with all these excuse, diversion and an analogy (that is worse than a food analogy! Imagine that!)

I do think however, owe you an apology.
If I knew you were such an interesting person I wouldn't drag this argument this long, and just leave it cold like that.
It must be awful writing all those, and I apologize for making you do it.
Read. Comprehension required. Otherwise, I'll leave you with your anime.

I agreed with you on some point, but I encourage you to look from another perspective. From your way of posting, you only want people to see from your point of view. I agreed on some of your points. Reciprocate.

Only got 239? You get to experience it later. Got extra 110 on top of that? You get to experience it earlier. Majority chose to experience it earlier judging from the amount of 970 sold. Those majority who had experienced it earlier congratulates those who gets to experienced it now finally, but patting those who gets to experiences it now on the back, makes it sound patronizing.
stringfellow
post Jul 5 2016, 08:34 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(missingNo @ Jul 5 2016, 08:31 AM)
Yep, almost 1:1 exchange rate with US price!
Can't wait for GTX 1060!

Hurrah for corporate rivalry~
Palit Jetstream look better and priced the same.
I'd go with Palit over Gigabyte for Nvidia.
Personal preference. That GPU brand sounds like someone's wiping my ass.
missingNo
post Jul 5 2016, 08:45 AM

137 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Jul 5 2016, 08:33 AM)
Read. Comprehension required. Otherwise, I'll leave you with your anime.

I agreed with you on some point, but I encourage you to look from another perspective. From your way of posting, you only want people to see from your point of view.

My POV is FACT and DATA. Its a factual data, you can't see it in any different perspective.
Trying to spin it from a different view is what you have been doing all day long.
I have not attached my argument with emotion, analogy or reference.

Y Price before X existence = 1400
Y Price after X existence = RM1000

And thus X is the cause of Y price drop. The end.

Also why wouldn't anybody prefer this over Gigabyte stuff?

stringfellow
post Jul 5 2016, 08:51 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(missingNo @ Jul 5 2016, 08:45 AM)
My POV is FACT and DATA. Its a factual data, you can't see it in any different perspective.
Trying to spin it from a different view is what you have been doing all day long.
I have not attached my argument with emotion, analogy or reference.

Y Price before X existence = 1400
Y Price after X existence = RM1000

And thus X is the cause of Y price drop. The end.

Also why wouldn't anybody prefer this over Gigabyte stuff?

And I've mentioned that as common at every new GPU release. Why is this something that's significant? Has it happened any different? The RX480 causes the drop this time. Card X causes the drop last year. Card Y causes the drop 2 years back. What's the big deal? It routinely happens.

Why would anyone prefer pink haired fantasy girls over blond real ones? Why would someone prefer real TV shows over anime? Personal preference. I point to your attitude again that you only see things from your perspective, and refuse to see from others.
stringfellow
post Jul 5 2016, 08:53 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(vengeful_revenge @ Jul 5 2016, 08:32 AM)
Wow wee...... Hooray!! rclxm9.gif  Uhm... I bought GPU already sad.gif big waste if I dump the few months old R9 390X. I'll stick to it for 1-2 years before getting the newer GTX1080TI better. I'll pass the option to go crossfire unless R9 390X price drop to less than RM1k. Less likely local stores would do that, neither AMD. Back then maybe.
With no competition at the top, it may be a while back before we see the GTX1080Ti. Competition needs to hurry up and get there.
missingNo
post Jul 5 2016, 09:03 AM

137 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Jul 5 2016, 08:51 AM)
And I've mentioned that as common at every new GPU release. Why is this something that's significant? Has it happened any different? The RX480 causes the drop this time.
...did you even try to read any single post I made?
I've already addressed this matter by stating this fact : For the past 5 years such drop in price have not happened.

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Jul 5 2016, 08:51 AM)
Card X causes the drop last year. Card Y causes the drop 2 years back. What's the big deal? It routinely happens.
Actually it doesn't, not by much.

You may not realize this, but the gpu generation jump have been almost stagnated by the same process that halted the GPU price/perf progression of the past 6 years.
Price declination is extremely snailpaced and made worse with our awful exchange rate and GST recently.

Also, you can stop looking through my post history and this personal attack lol.
You just make yourself look worse.

This post has been edited by missingNo: Jul 5 2016, 09:06 AM
stringfellow
post Jul 5 2016, 09:11 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(missingNo @ Jul 5 2016, 09:03 AM)
...did you even try to read any single post I made?
I've already addressed this matter by stating this fact : For the past 5 years such drop in price have not happened.
Actually it doesn't, not by much.

You may not realize this, but the gpu generation jump have been almost stagnated by the same process that halted the GPU price/perf progression of the past 6 years.
Price declination is extremely snailpaced and made worse with our awful exchange rate and GST recently.

Also, you can stop looking through my post history and this personal attack lol.
You just make yourself look worse.
Across all segment no drops? I find that hard to believe. Because the release AMD made this year is reversed (they release budget first, when they usually release high end cards first with trickle down to budget before this). Other segments overlaps over each other, when one segment is not getting the valued proposition of performance/$$$, the drop happens in another segment. Just that in the 480's case this year, it happens in the budget, compared to earlier years.

That is why I dont look at our currency, for this argument to have a stable point of reference, use USD. Then you can compared price depreciation compared to earlier releases. Here, distributors and resellers sells at their own pricetag, where's the point of reference?

What personal history and personal attack? I can clearly see your avatar there, dude. Pink haired anime girl. You however, insinuated way much more in this exchange that I've held my tongue more often than you have been. Even when you've explained your points and I concur with them, and implore you to reciprocate with mine.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jul 5 2016, 09:13 AM
bamkai
post Jul 5 2016, 09:15 AM

167 posts

QUOTE(missingNo @ Jul 5 2016, 04:17 AM)
It doesn't change the market....yet here you are stating that you can get used GTX980 for RM1300 and GTX 970 for RM1000...
May I ask you one thing dear fellow LYN forumer, how much is the asking price of these used graphic cards used just a mere a month and a half ago?

I am a consumer, I don't give a fuck what or which company do as long as I benefit from either of them.
So please spare me these disappointments of yours and focus on the fact.
1 word Speculation. Gtx 1060 . Rx 480. Previous cards was undervalued. After rx480 review theres less 980 970 in the market bcos it was better
Point is ppl said amd lower card market price. Yes i do agree it does. But mainly not. More of because speculation and nvidia newer card itself. 1060 replacing 980 1070 replacing 980ti
Hence disappointment
Honestly im not a fan of both side. I just buy whats worth for the money (price performance) but i dont see its worth to buy the 480 because it was worst than the 2yrs old card which is cheaper. U get to experience the tech 2yrs ago why u want to wait today? Sadly but i have to say polaris card has no attraction at least for me atm.

missingNo
post Jul 5 2016, 09:34 AM

137 posts

QUOTE(bamkai @ Jul 5 2016, 09:15 AM)
1 word Speculation. Gtx 1060 . Rx 480. Previous cards was undervalued. After rx480 review theres less 980 970 in the market bcos it was better
Point is ppl said amd lower card market price. Yes i do agree it does. But mainly not. More of because speculation and nvidia newer card itself. 1060 replacing 980 1070 replacing 980ti
I disagree with GTX1060 being the reason of the current price drop, if anything it will held the current price/perf that have been set up by RX 480.
We've heard nothing about GTX 1060 performance until just a couple of days ago, and even then the speculation regarding GTX 1060 price and performance is rather 'wary' instead of all the gungho RX 480 have.

Will GTX 1060 change the market price when its officially announced? Just like most speculators, its a big MAYBE for me.
victor_hoh
post Jul 5 2016, 09:38 AM

pump my muscles
1,191 posts

The sad truth is mid range graphic cards for 1080p has moved up to the range of RM1.3K. Couple years back, it was around RM1K. We can all blame it on everything, but life will be better if we just accept it since we can't do much.

For me, there is a bit of disappointment in RX 480. First off, it is just a product to fill the gap before the flagship hits market. Secondly, the stupid power issue. Also, it does not provide a huge saving compared to similarly performing previous generation cards.

So I am going to forget about RX 480, and wait for GTX 1060. Hopefully it lives up to the hype of "980 performance".
missingNo
post Jul 5 2016, 09:40 AM

137 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Jul 5 2016, 09:11 AM)
What personal history and personal attack? I can clearly see your avatar there, dude. Pink haired anime girl. You however, insinuated way much more in this exchange that I've held my tongue more often than you have been. Even when you've  explained your points and I concur with them, and implore you to reciprocate with mine.
Oh you didn't mean it? I mean, why even bring it up?

Also, most of my attack is against your words and your words only.
Please do not take it personally, and I apologize if somehow you did.
stringfellow
post Jul 5 2016, 09:42 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

The only "gungho" that the RX480 has are from their fanbase who has hyped it to high heavens. It's not hard to empathize when your lineup of cards has been stagnating in the performance/watt segment and when something as "breakthrough" as the RX480 comes along, it gets lauded as the Second Coming.

Which is why the post I quoted earlier comes to meaning: The users who have been using Nvidia cards have seen this kind of performance before way back, so it's not something that they go out of our way to pat the RX480 on its back for achieving something that is common today. May be uncommon to you lot, but the rest of the Nvidia card using world is past that point already.

Nvidia card users are now more looking forward to performance/watt skyrocket with the 1070 and 1080 Pascal, more so than a "Maxwell" AMD card in 2016 (RX480). Been there, done that in 2014.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jul 5 2016, 10:09 AM
stringfellow
post Jul 5 2016, 09:46 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(missingNo @ Jul 5 2016, 09:40 AM)
Oh you didn't mean it? I mean, why even bring it up?

Also, most of my attack is against your words and your words only.
Please do not take it personally, and I apologize if somehow you did.
It was brought up to elucidate the point of "personal preference" I pointed out. Personal preference: anime or real TV show. Preference: pink haired anime girl or a blond girl. Unless you find that people calling out you liking animes and pink haired anime girls as derogatory or insulting. Is it?

Are you really a girl in real life? Over-sensitiveness like these are usually common trait of the gentler gender. Cant say anything "gentle" about your tongue though, or maybe I should, it's because you're of that gender? No hard feelings, just curious.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jul 5 2016, 10:10 AM
SUSMatrix
post Jul 5 2016, 10:25 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(victor_hoh @ Jul 5 2016, 09:38 AM)
The sad truth is mid range graphic cards for 1080p has moved up to the range of RM1.3K. Couple years back, it was around RM1K. We can all blame it on everything, but life will be better if we just accept it since we can't do much.

For me, there is a bit of disappointment in RX 480. First off, it is just a product to fill the gap before the flagship hits market. Secondly, the stupid power issue. Also, it does not provide a huge saving compared to similarly performing previous generation cards.

So I am going to forget about RX 480, and wait for GTX 1060. Hopefully it lives up to the hype of "980 performance".
RM sudah turun. Salah tu orang RM 2.6b....
Btw, i don't think RX480 is a gap to fill flagship....IT IS THE FLAGSHIP for AMD. They can't compete at the high-end (wasting more R&D cash and not selling....like Potong), so they opt to focus on mid-range.

It was all good until they hit this fiasco with the power consumption. All i can say is Nvidia simply has a history of making better cards running stable.

I still remember the days i need to vacuum my HD 4850 every 3 months to prevent overheat....Never need to do any such thing with any of my Nvidia cards.
TShyperspeed
post Jul 5 2016, 01:45 PM

106 posts

QUOTE(vengeful_revenge @ Jul 5 2016, 08:28 AM)

RM3.3k GTX1080 beats all GPU Titan, GTX980TI  :thumbsup:
RM2k GTX1070 beats GTX980TI  rclxms.gif
GTX1060 that beats GTX980 will be priced at affordable RM1.3k?  rclxm9.gif

I like this statement
Blue Soul
post Jul 5 2016, 05:38 PM

50 posts

QUOTE(vengeful_revenge @ Jul 5 2016, 01:45 PM)
GTX1060 that beats GTX980 will be priced at affordable RM1.3k
Dream only, 1.3k lol. This is Nvidia we are talking about.

QUOTE(missingNo @ Jul 5 2016, 01:15 AM)
Before RX 480 existence GTX 970 used is within RM1200+ territory whilst used GTX 980 still hover around RM1600+.
You would still be paying these price if not because to RX 480, so how can you call it a disappointment when it is the main cause of these massive price drop?

Even if you dislike how RX 480 turned out, you could at least appreciate what it did to the market.
You are right.

Sadly it is hard to see for Nvidia fans. Not everyone can afford GTX 1070 that upped a price tier or drop close to 4k for a GPU.

And if back then you bought GTX 970, you should've bought a 390 8GB instead. Should've bought a 390, yeah it's even a meme. But diehard NV fans will still be happy with 3.5GB 970, although similarly priced to R9 390 before Polaris/Pascal.

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jul 5 2016, 04:18 AM)
LOL you guys keep praising Nvidia's GTX 970.

Looks guys, GTX 970 is 2 years old, even 1 month ago still costs RM 1,700 and draws some 200W when in operation.

If RX480 is exactly like GTX 970 then I do understand your disappointment but this is not the case. It performs like GTX 970 at around 60% power consumption and at around 60% the price.

Another thing that you guys are doing wrong is you assume that all RX 480 is having power draw issue which is not the case.

This is unlike Nvidia's GTX 970 that's 3.5GB + 5GB confirmed for ALL of it.

Credit where it's due man. In every new generation of card there will be something that replaces the performance of another, RX 480 did just that with lower price and lower power draw.

Take the GTX 960 for example. It draws more power than RX 480, and performs like R9 380 and costs a bit more than the R9 380. With the RX 480, the GTX 960 doesn't even look attractive when priced at RM 800 range.

Anyway while you guys are insisting it's a disappointment, I will now go sulk at one corner because I am now not able to sell my GTX 960 / R9 390 for good price. tongue.gif
Cannot agree more, at least you are non bias which is very important for known reviewer.

This post has been edited by Blue Soul: Jul 5 2016, 06:52 PM
Blue Soul
post Jul 5 2016, 06:23 PM

50 posts

Actually GTX 970 is close to $200-$250 or even less now if you check hardwareswap. In Malaysia, people tend to value Nvidia cards more, even though AMD cards peform better. Just see used R9 290/280x price compared to GTX 960/770.

If you are buying new cards for building your new rig, I've not personally seen a single respected reviewer recommend to buy a 970 over the RX480 now, although you can argue about the 480 Malaysian price.

The 970 is EOL soon, and unless you can get it for RM1k and below it is not worth that much anymore, and not everyone wants used cards with almost dead warranty.

It can be worth it if you plan to upgrade again in a year because by then, drive optimizations for Maxwell is almost peaking, more games coming out with dx12/Vulkan, and use more than 3GB vram.

So unless you're happy with older games, turning down settings, or upgrading again, spending much more on a Gsync monitor, RX 480 is a better bet down the road. The same can be said for 980 4GB, the 1060 is rumored to be at that level and with additional 2GB vram. If it indeed does deliver, then it all boils down to Malaysian markup and pricing again.

By then aftermarket RX 480s should be out (August), and with that you can have 8GB vram, r9 390 level performance at very least, with hardware support for dx12/vulkan. Vulkan is another graphics API descended from Mantle, and is important for people not wanting to be locked to Windows 10. Games like Dota 2 already has functional Vulkan mode, as will DOOM. More game engines will be onboard too: EPIC is adding vulkan and DX12 support to UE4. Frostbyte already showing off DX12 w/ BF1. Crytek on board. Unity shouldn't be far behind.

By moving forward with DX12 multi-engine and crossplatform development tech will make for better, more detailed, and more optimized games for the PC.

As for Async Compute, we dont know yet if it will be widely used. But it is already used in current gen console gaming, which is why Sony/Microsoft have selected AMD for their consoles.

NVidia's problem with hardware Async is because it is half-baked, they removed most of the scheduling units from their GPU design so they could get better performance-per-watts, and thus it appears to be superior in power consumption.

Even Nvidia Engineer, Tom Peterson says "no comment" on Nvidias Async problem. When Volta comes out, and if it supports Async, we'll see that nVidia's performance-per-watt isnt that different compared to that of AMDs. You can read more here: http://ext3h.makegames.de/DX12_Compute.html

Sure you can upgrade again by the time with another Nvidia GPU with the hardware support, which is why Nvidia users feel the urge to upgrade whenever new card replaces the last gen.

Anyway Steam updated their hardware survey in June:
http://store.steampowered.com/hwsurvey
ALeUNe
post Jul 5 2016, 07:00 PM

I'm the purebred with aristocratic pedigree
9,692 posts

I seriously doubt GTX1060 will be as fast as GTX980.

If you look at the benchmark of GTX960 SLI, it is between GTX970-GTX980.
So, you can estimate GTX1060 is close to GTX960 SLI.
With overclock (15% headroom), yes, it could reach GTX980 level.

This is only a conservative speculation based on how GTX1070/1080 perform against their previous generation cards.

24 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Top

0.0256sec    2.31    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 09:07 PM