QUOTE(HenryJay @ Jul 3 2016, 10:52 PM)
with or without performance drop? RX 480 or GTX1070? Or GTX1060?, Which is better?
RX 480 or GTX1070? Or GTX1060?, Which is better?
Jul 3 2016, 11:03 PM
11,305 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Jul 4 2016, 08:14 AM
366 posts Joined: May 2010 |
we might get another driver release to
Maybe goldfries need to do another review. If performance drop, i doubt any Malaysian retailers will drop price. |
Jul 4 2016, 12:52 PM
124 posts Joined: Jun 2007 |
QUOTE(goldfries @ Jul 2 2016, 01:31 PM) I don't know why people WANT to be disappointed. They're just fooling themselves. of course we're disappointed. what drives a larger cost in Malaysia compared to US?C'mon la, before RX 480 was launch - what kind of performance can you get from RM 1,300 graphics card? The answer is NONE - At most it's R9 380X. You want GTX 970 / R9 390 performance, pay RM 1,700 or more. That also GTX 970 and R9 390 draws a lot more power than RX 480. distributor markup ? tax? emerging market costs should be something amd seriously looks at. |
Jul 4 2016, 03:31 PM
50 posts Joined: Jun 2016 |
QUOTE(damien5119 @ Jul 4 2016, 12:52 PM) of course we're disappointed. what drives a larger cost in Malaysia compared to US? Have you seen the Indian pricing for RX 480, it's even outrageous and it's the distributors that set it.distributor markup ? tax? emerging market costs should be something amd seriously looks at. |
Jul 4 2016, 04:25 PM
Forum Admin
44,415 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(damien5119 @ Jul 4 2016, 12:52 PM) of course we're disappointed. what drives a larger cost in Malaysia compared to US? but hor, surely you guys are not born yesterday.Have you never realize that it's been donkey years already price has never been set according to currency conversion? |
Jul 4 2016, 04:59 PM
15,022 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Damansara Jaya/Bandar Utama |
QUOTE(missingNo @ Jun 29 2016, 11:18 PM) You have been fooled, thats for sure, but not by AMD. I bought 2nd hand GTX 970 for RM 1.2k months ago.You have been fooled by rumors and your own expectation. Also, pretty sure that R9 390 have been known to be a Grenada gpu long before its release, I am not sure what and how do you expect it to be any different. RX 480, as it name implied, is a replacement for R9 380 with a much more attractive price point, performance and power draw. For us, Malaysian, A RM1.3k for GTX970 tier GPU with 8GB of ram is a damn good deal. Lagi good deal. |
Jul 4 2016, 05:17 PM
QUOTE(Blue Soul @ Jul 4 2016, 03:31 PM) Have you seen the Indian pricing for RX 480, it's even outrageous and it's the distributors that set it. probably the same reason here in MY.i was thinking of getting a rx480 for another PC at home, but will probably just get something else that is alot cheaper. It's not my main rig anyway. too bad. lost sale |
Jul 4 2016, 05:19 PM
Jul 4 2016, 05:28 PM
50 posts Joined: Jun 2016 |
QUOTE(Matrix @ Jul 4 2016, 04:59 PM) I think can get for 1k if you were very lucky few months ago. But a lot tend to overvalue their card back then, especially Nvidia cards. Now the price is more at RM1k range with some as low as RM950, which is well worth it. |
Jul 4 2016, 05:37 PM
15,022 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Damansara Jaya/Bandar Utama |
Jul 4 2016, 05:39 PM
1,191 posts Joined: Nov 2004 From: Ipoh, now PJ |
Jul 4 2016, 06:21 PM
Forum Admin
QUOTE(damien5119 @ Jul 4 2016, 05:19 PM) so basically your saying its been always like that so just accept it? Just telling you how things are.ok good advise. If you got the capacity to make the change then go ahead. Even distributors can be powerless in many cases, you should get to know them distributors or shops first then you understand better how things are not as simple as it is. Other countries like Canada and Australia also face the same thing, price is 30% higher than the SRP announced. |
Jul 4 2016, 07:51 PM
QUOTE(goldfries @ Jul 4 2016, 06:21 PM) Just telling you how things are. can you share why distributors are powerless? im interested to know.If you got the capacity to make the change then go ahead. Even distributors can be powerless in many cases, you should get to know them distributors or shops first then you understand better how things are not as simple as it is. Other countries like Canada and Australia also face the same thing, price is 30% higher than the SRP announced. i believe maybe together all of us here can perhaps pave the way for some change? you seem to have lots of contacts in the industry, maybe you can be the voice of change |
Jul 4 2016, 07:59 PM
Forum Admin
QUOTE(damien5119 @ Jul 4 2016, 07:51 PM) can you share why distributors are powerless? im interested to know. Powerless as in prices set by AMD / Nvidia. Nothing they can do. i believe maybe together all of us here can perhaps pave the way for some change? you seem to have lots of contacts in the industry, maybe you can be the voice of change For the record, I did E-mail AMD on the pricing matter. |
Jul 5 2016, 01:15 AM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
137 posts Joined: Oct 2010 From: On the net! Woooohooo! |
QUOTE(bamkai @ Jul 3 2016, 08:49 PM) Rx 480 disappoint me because a used gtx 980 (good condition under warrenty) is just rm1300. Gtx 970 is under 1k . Custom Before RX 480 existence GTX 970 used is within RM1200+ territory whilst used GTX 980 still hover around RM1600+.Few days after lunch came with this Pcie power overdraw issue. You would still be paying these price if not because to RX 480, so how can you call it a disappointment when it is the main cause of these massive price drop? Even if you dislike how RX 480 turned out, you could at least appreciate what it did to the market. |
Jul 5 2016, 01:46 AM
Forum Admin
That's the problem when people disappointed about NEW by comparing it with USED.
Jul 5 2016, 03:21 AM
11,305 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(missingNo @ Jul 5 2016, 01:15 AM) Before RX 480 existence GTX 970 used is within RM1200+ territory whilst used GTX 980 still hover around RM1600+. Price drop effect like these are part and parcel of every new GPU launch, not exclusively because of RX480 alone. Every new generation launch, it happens. The reason why people are disappointed with the RX480 is that, it's only matching the 970OC at best, a 2 year old tech. Are we supposed to be appreciative and excited for a 2 year old tech with performance you can get 2 years ago? The price was the only reason it was championed as a good budget card, but even there that is not the case here. You would still be paying these price if not because to RX 480, so how can you call it a disappointment when it is the main cause of these massive price drop? Even if you dislike how RX 480 turned out, you could at least appreciate what it did to the market. The reality is, AMD is way behind the GPU tech curve when it comes to providing graphics cards with performance that can ignite the excitement of people following up on GPU news. Instead, it ignites controversy with its corners-cut quality control (overcurrent via PCIE) and only manage to fetch the performance/watt efficiency of what Maxwell did last generation release a year ago. It's evident on how they trying to mask the RX480 as "efficient" because they stubbornly want to release the card in 6-pin configuration to show the world, "hey look, we improved on our power consumption" when in fact, they didn't. The only cheering point was the price, and even that isn't a cheering point here, see how the card is priced here. What's left to be appreciative and excited about again? Price correction happens every launch, in fact this time, it goes to the opposite effect that AMD intended, they wanted to undercut 970 and/or 980 with their RX480, then hit with this PCIE bus fiasco, and people who initially selling off970 secondhand now, smelling opportunity to be had with their card still the better card when it comes to performance and none of the mess like RX480, bumped back their secondhand price back up to RM1,200, when at one time it was RM950. Who doesnt want to sell of their secondhand card higher when they can? |
Jul 5 2016, 04:02 AM
137 posts Joined: Oct 2010 From: On the net! Woooohooo! |
QUOTE(stringfellow @ Jul 5 2016, 03:21 AM) Price drop effect like these are part and parcel of every new GPU launch, not exclusively because of RX480 alone. Every new generation launch, it happens. The reason why people are disappointed with the RX480 is that, it's only matching the 970OC at best, a 2 year old tech. Are we supposed to be appreciative and excited for a 2 year old tech with performance you can get 2 years ago? The price was the only reason it was championed as a good budget card, but even there that is not the case here. Price correction happens, but rarely in this segment of market, nor close to this degree.The reality is, AMD is way behind the GPU tech curve when it comes to providing graphics cards with performance that can ignite the excitement of people following up on GPU news. Instead, it ignites controversy with its corners-cut quality control (overcurrent via PCIE) and only manage to fetch the performance/watt efficiency of what Maxwell did last generation release a year ago. It's evident on how they trying to mask the RX480 as "efficient" because they stubbornly want to release the card in 6-pin configuration to show the world, "hey look, we improved on our power consumption" when in fact, they didn't. The only cheering point was the price, and even that isn't a cheering point here, see how the card is priced here. What's left to be appreciative and excited about again? Price correction happens every launch, in fact this time, it goes to the opposite effect that AMD intended, they wanted to undercut 970 and/or 980 with their RX480, then hit with this PCIE bus fiasco, and people who initially selling off970 secondhand now, smelling opportunity to be had with their card still the better card when it comes to performance and none of the mess like RX480, bumped back their secondhand price back up to RM1,200, when at one time it was RM950. Who doesnt want to sell of their secondhand card higher when they can? Close to 40% devaluation in mid-range segment is something that we haven't experience ever since HD4850/4870 I've paid close attention to GTX970 used market the past couple of month and I assure you that whoever is buying it at RM1200 and trying to sell it at that price is simply ignorant towards the current market situation. I am not sure where you're looking to find such an irresponsible asking price , but I want to suggest Lowyat.com very own Display Card garage sales. You can find all these used GTX970 at a very, very attractive price over there. |
Jul 5 2016, 04:02 AM
Forum Admin
It is efficient by AMD's standard.
R9 380X price for R9 390 performance at R7 370 power draw, it's a huge improvement for AMD. All their previous releases never provided this good price to performance and power to performance ratio. AMD's last good product range was the HD 7xxx range. After that the R9 2xx and 3xx were dismal, even the Fury / Nano were disappointing. If it's not the power issue (most of it) then it's the price (Nano). |
Jul 5 2016, 04:05 AM
106 posts Joined: Jan 2009 |
Its okay the existence of Rx480 change the current market price for gpu. If not, we will suffer the price of the green team. Me is getting gtx1070 later after all this Rx480 hype.
| Change to: | 0.0245sec
Time is now: 25th December 2025 - 01:52 AM |