RX 480 or GTX1070? Or GTX1060?, Which is better?

missingNo
post Jun 29 2016, 11:18 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(vengeful_revenge @ Jun 29 2016, 11:01 PM)
Last year's rumor before I buy r9 390x. Many suggested to.wait for rx480 if i'm not interested with fury. This rx480 reminds me of AMD fooling people when launching r9 390 that turned out to be same old Hawaii architecture gpu that is improved version of r9 290. I suppose this rx480 is improved version of r9 380. Is there rx490?
You have been fooled, thats for sure, but not by AMD.
You have been fooled by rumors and your own expectation.
Also, pretty sure that R9 390 have been known to be a Grenada gpu long before its release, I am not sure what and how do you expect it to be any different.

RX 480, as it name implied, is a replacement for R9 380 with a much more attractive price point, performance and power draw.

For us, Malaysian, A RM1.3k for GTX970 tier GPU with 8GB of ram is a damn good deal.

missingNo
post Jul 5 2016, 01:15 AM

137 posts

QUOTE(bamkai @ Jul 3 2016, 08:49 PM)
Rx 480 disappoint me because a used gtx 980 (good condition under warrenty) is just rm1300. Gtx 970 is under 1k . Custom
Few days after lunch came with this Pcie power overdraw issue.
Before RX 480 existence GTX 970 used is within RM1200+ territory whilst used GTX 980 still hover around RM1600+.
You would still be paying these price if not because to RX 480, so how can you call it a disappointment when it is the main cause of these massive price drop?

Even if you dislike how RX 480 turned out, you could at least appreciate what it did to the market.

missingNo
post Jul 5 2016, 04:02 AM

137 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Jul 5 2016, 03:21 AM)
Price drop effect like these are part and parcel of every new GPU launch, not exclusively because of RX480 alone. Every new generation launch, it happens. The reason why people are disappointed with the RX480 is that, it's only matching the 970OC at best, a 2 year old tech. Are we supposed to be appreciative and excited for a 2 year old tech with performance you can get 2 years ago? The price was the only reason it was championed as a good budget card, but even there that is not the case here.

The reality is, AMD is way behind the GPU tech curve when it comes to providing graphics cards with performance that can ignite the excitement of people following up on GPU news. Instead, it ignites controversy with its corners-cut quality control (overcurrent via PCIE) and only manage to fetch the performance/watt efficiency of what Maxwell did last generation release a year ago. It's evident on how they trying to mask the RX480 as "efficient" because they stubbornly want to release the card in 6-pin configuration to show the world, "hey look, we improved on our power consumption" when in fact, they didn't. The only cheering point was the price, and even that isn't a cheering point here, see how the card is priced here.

What's left to be appreciative and excited about again? Price correction happens every launch, in fact this time, it goes to the opposite effect that AMD intended, they wanted to undercut 970 and/or 980 with their RX480, then hit with this PCIE bus fiasco, and people who initially selling off970 secondhand now, smelling opportunity to be had with their card still the better card when it comes to performance and none of the mess like RX480, bumped back their secondhand price back up to RM1,200, when at one time it was RM950. Who doesnt want to sell of their secondhand card higher when they can?
Price correction happens, but rarely in this segment of market, nor close to this degree.
Close to 40% devaluation in mid-range segment is something that we haven't experience ever since HD4850/4870

I've paid close attention to GTX970 used market the past couple of month and I assure you that whoever is buying it at RM1200 and trying to sell it at that price is simply ignorant towards the current market situation.
I am not sure where you're looking to find such an irresponsible asking price , but I want to suggest Lowyat.com very own Display Card garage sales.

You can find all these used GTX970 at a very, very attractive price over there.
missingNo
post Jul 5 2016, 04:17 AM

137 posts

QUOTE(bamkai @ Jul 5 2016, 04:06 AM)
and u have to wait 2 years for its performance as the gtx 970 how is not a diappoinment as its just about the same price?

u answer ur own question. its 1200 and perform as gtx 970 which is available 2 years ago. it doesnt change the market

i could get a used custom gtx 980(which is better) at 1300. or a used 970 at 1k +/-

ya its a new card but its a shitty reference with bad oc. custom will cost more
It doesn't change the market....yet here you are stating that you can get used GTX980 for RM1300 and GTX 970 for RM1000...
May I ask you one thing dear fellow LYN forumer, how much is the asking price of these used graphic cards used just a mere a month and a half ago?

I am a consumer, I don't give a fuck what or which company do as long as I benefit from either of them.
So please spare me these disappointments of yours and focus on the fact.
missingNo
post Jul 5 2016, 04:51 AM

137 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Jul 5 2016, 04:28 AM)
the thing is, once the sellers of 970s caught wind of the 480's issues, what's stopping them from jacking up the price higher? Those who dont, kudos to them, but when the potential buyers dismisses the 480 due to its myriad of problems, what other options is there left? Save up another RM600 for 1070. Wait for 1060. Buy a 2 year old tech that is the same as what they expected from 480. Kinda harsh options if you ask me.
Like I said, please, please spare me of you and that other forumer disappointments.
I am not interested on talking about any of these cards in particular, I am only interested on talking about the effect of these cards on the markets, the context of these conversation and argument.

Should I BEG you to spare me from all these nonsense, out of context blurb you're spouting?

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Jul 5 2016, 04:28 AM)
I was looking at the LYN garage sales, there were at one time selling at below RM1k, at RM950 obviously it was jumped upon and thread closed. Now? Even the cheapish Leadtek ones are asking for RM1050 used. Some even do a "PM me" too instead. Sellers knew they can push the card prices higher when can take advantage of the RX480 fiasco.
You've SPECULATED that GTX 970 owners will start to haggle for higher price but how can they do that when a NEW GTX 970 can be acquired for less than RM1200? If you want a better cooler splurge a bit more for Palit Jetstream for RM1350, NEW. There's a couple more choices that can be bought if you can stretch your budget a bit.

Soon the market will be filled with amazing lineups from both side, GTX 1060 from Nvidia, partner boards for RX 480 and AMD RX 470 that is expected to offer an even better price/perf than RX 480.
Manufactures are already anticipating these and starting to rebate the distributor, and soon, we, as a fellow customer, will reap a benefit out of these healthy rivalry.

missingNo
post Jul 5 2016, 05:39 AM

137 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Jul 5 2016, 05:04 AM)
Not a speculation when it already happened.

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...ts+GTX970+RM950

An RM950 970 was sold previous and now it has risen above RM1000 because of the RX480 mess.
A mere RM50 difference is negligible.
Like what @Matrix stated a couple page back, he got a GTX 970 for a GOOD DEAL at RM1200 a couple month ago.
Right not that is considered as a rip off.

So spare me your conjectures as well. They dont need to haggle, AMD's RX480 mess has done that for them. Potential buyer says, I offer you RM950, seller says nope, I want RM1xxx. Buyer say he go for RX480. Seller says okay. Buyer saw RX480, and now stuck, wanna take the risk with all those mess, or go back to the current 970 sellers with their RM1xxx priced secondhand cards.
Like I said before, distributor already significantly dropped the price of 9xx series lineup a couple of days ago (maybe last week, only noticed it on Monday).
A NEW GTX 970 can be bought as low as RM1200

RX 480 opened the channel for sub RM1k price for used GTX 970, and these new price cut will normalize these price even further.
You will have a VERY hard time selling GTX 970 for anything above RM1k, unles of course it was a super special edition or something.

Also, nice imagination you got there, not sure how it would fare well in a proper argument tho.

I dont give a fuck about you vulturing about market pricing, it is how you surmised that is solely because of RX480's doing.
But that is EXACTLY what happened.
Even the mere reveal of it stirred the used market price.
Seen it happened right before my eyes because of my 'vulture' habit, and I take that as a compliment thank you.

Because that is far from what historically it was: every new launch, old cards drops price.
I already stated it happen before no? During HD4850/4870 laucnh.

So what if 2 months ago it was 1300 and now it's 1000? Oh it's because of the 480 came out?  It's bound to happen to all graphics cards secondhand market price the longer you wait, to the point the new cards come in and replaces the old ones.
If you have been monitoring used price market over the last 5 years and through 3 gens then you know that this kind of thing have not happen, at least not in this scale, at least not in Malaysia.
For years the new GPU have worse or same price/perf, at least in Malaysia mind you, than the current options on the market.
Old gpu pricing have been dropping in a steady manner, with the new lineup have almost no effect to the markets.

It is not until AMD new aggressive price with RX 480 that bring a massive step down in the mid range segment when it comes to price/perf.

Wait even longer? Price drop even further, whooptie-fucking-doo. Not even the epiphany level revelation worth mentioning. If price is your sole currency and not performance (or its disappointment against what it should be priced as rather than what it is right priced right now), then by all means, wait even longer.
Or course~
Longer? Maybe because I don't expect GTX 1060 to have the same effect as what RX 480 has brought to us, but it'll sure be a firm yardstick, a reference that would stabilize the current market after the issue with RX 480 that raised the market price by RM50 (which is like you said, whooptie-fucking-dog).
Be I am sure that RX 470 will be quite a competitor.

Aaaahhh I am so happy with these release~
missingNo
post Jul 5 2016, 06:48 AM

137 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Jul 5 2016, 05:54 AM)
Dude, my contention with your claim is that you are basing on these price drops SOLELY on RX480's presence, when this is not something that hadn't happened before. Trying to raise the status of the RX480 to that level means nothing when every freaking new releases does the same bloody thing!. You can analyse all you want about market price and all, but price drops when new cards come out isnt anything new. And the RX480's appearance dropping market prices does not warrant any special mention because every freaking card before this does the same song and dance as well.

I'm inclined to think you're pretty young and new for not noticing that trend, but that goes across as something insulting. tongue.gif

Long story short, RX480 is nothing special. Price drops are normal when new cards comes out. I can dial back time and state every AMD previous releases as  "special" in that case since every price drop that happens when AMD card drops is sung and praised as a "seismic event". rolleyes.gif

Not surprised though, people these days celebrate mediocrity. When there's little to cheer about, cheer what's left there is to cheer and make a mountain of a molehill of that achievement. thumbup.gif

And I quoting myself in another post:
In the last 5 years we have a STEADY DECLINE in market price.
In the last 5 years a launch of new gpu lineup HAVE NOT GIVE THE MARKET PRICE ANY SIGNIFICANT CHANGE.
I have linked up you the review of GTX 970, its launch price and how it barely effect the price and performance ratio of the current market.

It is not until the launch of RX 480 that we got an almost 40% of value drop in the segment this card compete, a significant, dramatic drop for the market.

What is your argument against these fact? Nothing! Absolutely NOTHING.
No CHART, no DATA.

You keep attacking this card as if you have personal vendetta at it, as if this card is an individual that you must devalue despite its apparent contribution to the market, and by extension us consumer.

Why? Why do you hate this GPU soo much, soo hard that you refuse to admit a FACT that you have yet refuted.

...and QUOTING YOURSELF? Really? You're one heck of a fellow I tell ya that.

This post has been edited by missingNo: Jul 5 2016, 06:49 AM
missingNo
post Jul 5 2016, 07:15 AM

137 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Jul 5 2016, 06:59 AM)
Sure, let's celebrate the 40% market value drop of a GPU that is one to two years late.
Yeah, I think that is worth celebrating no?
You finally admit what I have been trying to point out, thank you.

Also, FYI GTX 970 have not dropped that far from launch price ever since it was launched.
So yeah, it took a slapping from this tiny little GPU for it to drop significantly after 2 years of dominating the market.

Lets thanks RX 480 for that, at least give it a pat in the back will ya?

missingNo
post Jul 5 2016, 08:25 AM

137 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Jul 5 2016, 07:38 AM)
Sure, it's worth celebrating, if you have not tasted what the RX480 can do 2 years back. Entry fee higher back then, have to wait 2 years now to taste what it is. Budget gamer category.

Look at it from the enthusiast point of view. Not super enthusiast that splurges on 980Ti or Titan X. Just enthusiast who had cash to spend on 970 2 years back. It is NOT a tall order to be able to afford the 970, 349USD. Price in RM locally fluctuates too wildly to rely as a steady reference between the devaluation of RM what it was previously and what it is now, so I'm gonna take the USD as the barometer.

Someone with a USD349 in his pocket 2 years ago have tasted what someone with a USD239 in his pocket now. The difference, USD110 is the price Nvidia users pay to be 2 years ahead of what AMD users are using now. That is where all my points are from, you pay USD110 to be ahead by 2 years. A performance that has been tasted 2 years ahead, isn't something worth celebrating now. It is only worth celebrating now if you have never tasted that performance 2 years ago, and can only taste it now because "the barrier", that performance entry fee, has dropped from USD349 to USD239. For that, I echo your sentiment. But for the lot of Nvidia users who make up the majority that had the 970 2 years back, it's nothing to shout about. Cool and awesome, the fraction of people that gets "left behind" now can finally get onto the performance "bus" and see what they missed, but the people who had been ahead, stays ahead, but at that price difference they paid for. In the case of 970 and 480, it's USD110.

Choice. At that point in time, users are faced with a choice. Pay that USD110 premium now, and hop onto that bandwagon now and experience it 2 years early, or choose not to pay that premium and get to experience it later. Some folks are okay with that USD110 premium to get ahead, some dont. Those who do (and there are lots of them, the 970 is a bestselling card) has 2 years head start ahead of those who decline to pay that premium 2 years early, and can only experience it now in the form of RX480.

Now you get why I said there's no big deal about it? It is a big deal if you declined to take up the premium of USD110 2 years ago. But the experience that used to cost USD349 2 years ago, becomes common and cheaper now, that at USD239, it's mostly "meh" to those who had taken the option to pay the premium and experience it early. Take it that USD110 is the price they pay to experience it earlier. Like movie tickets, release day movie tickets costs RM18 and no concession tickets for early bird special or half price on certain dates, UNTIL the movie grow stale and gone into the smaller theatre hall. Sure, you get to watch Star Wars Episode VII for RM7 when others get to watch it a month earlier at RM18-20. That's a big price difference. But only the ticket purchaser decides if it is worth watching it early, or if he wants to save and/or can only watch it when it's cheap. Guess where the bulk of money for movie box-office are made from? wink.gif

So, me here, giving this RX480 a pat in the back, is like me congratulating someone who gets to watch Episode VII one month later. He gets to watch it cheap, but that's only because he can only get to see it while it's cheap. Others had watched it earlier, and the price to see it on release day is not CRAZY expensive either, unlike watching in GOLD CLASS cinema hall. See how anticlimactic that is?

If the release price figure for the 970 is not accurate, then replace them with whatever's accurate. The sentiment remains.
I err...whaaaat?
This guys really is on a different level lol.

Did you or did you not agree with my statement because I didn't see a single argument or fact against my original statement in these long ass post.
I am a bit confused at what you're trying to achieve here, you came off as being denial in my opinion with all these excuse, diversion and an analogy (that is worse than a food analogy! Imagine that!)

I do think however, owe you an apology.
If I knew you were such an interesting person I wouldn't drag this argument this long, and just leave it cold like that.
It must be awful writing all those, and I apologize for making you do it.

missingNo
post Jul 5 2016, 08:31 AM

137 posts

QUOTE(vengeful_revenge @ Jul 5 2016, 08:15 AM)
Can you confirm this? GTX1070 at only RM1,999? Its performance beats GTX980TI yet that affordable?

GTX1060 will KO RX480 if it priced just slightly higher, people don't mind forking out 200 extra for the better card.
Yep, almost 1:1 exchange rate with US price!
Can't wait for GTX 1060!

Hurrah for corporate rivalry~

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Jul 5 2016, 08:17 AM)
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3983179/all

RM1999. And yes, it matches 980Ti in some cases, and beats it in others.
Palit Jetstream look better and priced the same.
I'd go with Palit over Gigabyte for Nvidia.
missingNo
post Jul 5 2016, 08:45 AM

137 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Jul 5 2016, 08:33 AM)
Read. Comprehension required. Otherwise, I'll leave you with your anime.

I agreed with you on some point, but I encourage you to look from another perspective. From your way of posting, you only want people to see from your point of view.

My POV is FACT and DATA. Its a factual data, you can't see it in any different perspective.
Trying to spin it from a different view is what you have been doing all day long.
I have not attached my argument with emotion, analogy or reference.

Y Price before X existence = 1400
Y Price after X existence = RM1000

And thus X is the cause of Y price drop. The end.

Also why wouldn't anybody prefer this over Gigabyte stuff?

missingNo
post Jul 5 2016, 09:03 AM

137 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Jul 5 2016, 08:51 AM)
And I've mentioned that as common at every new GPU release. Why is this something that's significant? Has it happened any different? The RX480 causes the drop this time.
...did you even try to read any single post I made?
I've already addressed this matter by stating this fact : For the past 5 years such drop in price have not happened.

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Jul 5 2016, 08:51 AM)
Card X causes the drop last year. Card Y causes the drop 2 years back. What's the big deal? It routinely happens.
Actually it doesn't, not by much.

You may not realize this, but the gpu generation jump have been almost stagnated by the same process that halted the GPU price/perf progression of the past 6 years.
Price declination is extremely snailpaced and made worse with our awful exchange rate and GST recently.

Also, you can stop looking through my post history and this personal attack lol.
You just make yourself look worse.

This post has been edited by missingNo: Jul 5 2016, 09:06 AM
missingNo
post Jul 5 2016, 09:34 AM

137 posts

QUOTE(bamkai @ Jul 5 2016, 09:15 AM)
1 word Speculation. Gtx 1060 . Rx 480. Previous cards was undervalued. After rx480 review theres less 980 970 in the market bcos it was better
Point is ppl said amd lower card market price. Yes i do agree it does. But mainly not. More of because speculation and nvidia newer card itself. 1060 replacing 980 1070 replacing 980ti
I disagree with GTX1060 being the reason of the current price drop, if anything it will held the current price/perf that have been set up by RX 480.
We've heard nothing about GTX 1060 performance until just a couple of days ago, and even then the speculation regarding GTX 1060 price and performance is rather 'wary' instead of all the gungho RX 480 have.

Will GTX 1060 change the market price when its officially announced? Just like most speculators, its a big MAYBE for me.
missingNo
post Jul 5 2016, 09:40 AM

137 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Jul 5 2016, 09:11 AM)
What personal history and personal attack? I can clearly see your avatar there, dude. Pink haired anime girl. You however, insinuated way much more in this exchange that I've held my tongue more often than you have been. Even when you've  explained your points and I concur with them, and implore you to reciprocate with mine.
Oh you didn't mean it? I mean, why even bring it up?

Also, most of my attack is against your words and your words only.
Please do not take it personally, and I apologize if somehow you did.

0.3273sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 02:18 AM