RX 480 or GTX1070? Or GTX1060?, Which is better?

ALeUNe
post Jul 2 2016, 03:56 AM

I'm the purebred with aristocratic pedigree
9,692 posts

QUOTE(hyperspeed @ Jul 2 2016, 02:56 AM)
NEW SOURCE: GTX1060 IS BETTER THAN RX480
Looking at GTX1070/1080 and RX480, in terms of chip efficiency, overclock headroom and driver support, GTX1060 will be way way better than RX480.

Now the question is the price and card performance.
Price, I speculate it will be USD250 (old GTX960 price @ USD200 + USD50)
Performance, near GTX980 or 2 x GTX960

Last but not least, only 4GB version available (half ram capacity of her bigger siblings).
With OC, the performance may marginally surpass GTX980.

Just my conservative fortune-telling, kthxbai.
ALeUNe
post Jul 2 2016, 05:21 PM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(zorbyss. @ Jul 2 2016, 03:28 PM)
Haha. Only Malaysians are disappointed due to the jacked up price by greedy sellers. If it wasn't our lousy currency and greeds of sellers, otherwise the RX480 could easily cost only around RM800+- (when our currency is still in good times). Imagine paying 800+ for a 970 OC power. WHY NOT? that's why Americans are so hyped over the RX480.
Malaysians? Not so much. Thank you, dear Malaysian government.
It can never be MYR800.
It was AMD & her fanboys hyped about the price.

Remember USD200?
It was actually USD239 x 4.1 = you do the math.

I think 1099 seems like the right price.
I see price has dropped from MYR1299 to MYR1200 after 2 days.

Plenty of stock available.
Worries not, under-coconut-tree promotion soon after 1060 launches.

This post has been edited by ALeUNe: Jul 2 2016, 05:29 PM
ALeUNe
post Jul 5 2016, 07:00 PM

9,692 posts

I seriously doubt GTX1060 will be as fast as GTX980.

If you look at the benchmark of GTX960 SLI, it is between GTX970-GTX980.
So, you can estimate GTX1060 is close to GTX960 SLI.
With overclock (15% headroom), yes, it could reach GTX980 level.

This is only a conservative speculation based on how GTX1070/1080 perform against their previous generation cards.
ALeUNe
post Jul 7 2016, 07:25 PM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(hyperspeed @ Jul 7 2016, 06:19 PM)
1060 basically a 980 with plastic cooler build
nVidia is making good use of 16nm architecture.
Huge boost in performance over her old 28nm cards.

Unlike AMD, her new 14nm is worse than her own R9 390 and competitor‘s 28nm.
ALeUNe
post Jul 8 2016, 12:53 AM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(nill @ Jul 8 2016, 12:49 AM)
$70 difference is not minimal ($229 vs $299)
I think retailers will use the excuse of weaker ringgit to increase price of GTX1070 instead next month when 1060 release.
Put the FE aside, you got the prices of AMD and nVidia wrong.

P/S
This is especially GTX1060 AIB will be available on the same date, 19 July.

This post has been edited by ALeUNe: Jul 8 2016, 12:56 AM

0.0189sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 05:55 AM