Hardware The iPhone, First Mac OS based phones

SUSMike3300
post Jan 10 2007, 10:42 PM

6,866 posts

QUOTE(lucifah @ Jan 10 2007, 10:40 PM)
imgaine this:

6 months after spending a huge sum of money on the iphone, steve jobs announced:

iPhone Mini! u'll cry hell coz urs is obsolete

3 months on the road, iPhone Nano

micro... pico... and finally invisa

(cues taken from an infamous slapstick ad from somewhere else)
Well I guess they have to plan well and not to loose so much productivity in a year. Well, I think Apple.Inc still needs a couple more months to redefine their final last touch on the iPhone still. Make it a 100% perfect and be ready to be ship into the market.
kaiserreich
post Jan 10 2007, 11:09 PM

Pendekar Papan Kekunci
4,234 posts

There's always this saying though "Never buy a first generation Apple Product"

Keep reading it, for the macbook, for the ipod video. But wait and see then.
Timber
post Jan 10 2007, 11:25 PM

484 posts

Cool Phone!

It's good for them to release later. Judging by Apple's track record of secrecy, I don't think Steve Job spilled all the beans of the capabilities of the Iphone. Besides, I still think its still on the development table as far as the software issues is concern. I did not see Steve demo ICal or IChat capabilites on the Iphone.

Besides, they need a year in 2008 to work out with the telco provider in Asia should the want to partner with one...

I would buy it when it hits Asia. By then it won't be 1st gen phone anymore...
youngkies
post Jan 11 2007, 12:00 AM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

QUOTE(Timber @ Jan 11 2007, 12:25 AM)
Cool Phone!

It's good for them to release later. Judging by Apple's track record of secrecy, I don't think Steve Job spilled all the beans of the capabilities of the Iphone. Besides, I still think its still on the development table as far as the software issues is concern. I did not see Steve demo ICal or IChat capabilites on the Iphone.

Besides, they need a year in 2008 to work out with the telco provider in Asia should the want to partner with one...

I would buy it when it hits Asia. By then it won't be 1st gen phone anymore...
i dont think they will partner will asia specifically said malaysia telco.. just sell them as generic..
shamnemesis
post Jan 11 2007, 12:00 AM

540 posts

i would say that is the best music phone when it's available ,but it takes too long when it come to asia somewhere in 2008 ?? i guess sony and nokia could even create something suprise
H4RRY
post Jan 11 2007, 12:04 AM

393 posts

QUOTE(Humping^Panda @ Jan 10 2007, 12:15 PM)
actually i got turn off by ipods...nice look but sound quality crappy n pricy..
and its pc os...not many application support it.
but for usage wise...they r way way too over rated.

yeah if it is better than pc so wat..u still cant play many game or unable install many many apps.

it might end up like pc-mac war(which they clearly lost it)/window-mac support apps war(need to say much?)
With what other MP3 player are u comparing it with? Are u comparing it with ur comp speaker? Or ur headphone(Headphone are almost always better than earphone)?

Pricy? Look at how thin it is. Look at the UI friendly os. Compare with other MP3 player. Imagine how much time u save by easily syncing ur iPod, compare with how ALL of Creative's MP3 player sync. WMP11, yucks *vomits*

I can easily judge that u have never use a Mac in real life. Probably don't bother to.

How many percentage of the world's computer users are high-end gamers? Less than 20%. Most people play Flash and arcade games, Mac can do those. Ask any girl what type of games they play. HL2? Generals? CS? Nope.

Quantity doesn't mean quality. I would rather have 1 great software than have to install 1000 bad, crippled software with me n ending up with a crash-prone OS. Feel free to go to Download.com and waste ur time downloading 100 software just to find out that all of them suck.

If Apple has lost the PC-Mac war, then why is Apple still alive and kicking Microsoft's balls? No one is lost until they got bought by others or go bankcrupt.

Windows support apps? LOL, this is really funny. Are u saying that Windows win in the who-creates-more-problem-viruses-crashes contest? If so, i think Apple is glad that they lost the battle. It's amazing how Microsoft single-handedly create a billions dollar worth antivirus and security economy. Linux, Unix and even OS X COMBINED don't even have enough power to do that.
QUOTE(enCORe @ Jan 10 2007, 02:25 PM)
a Zune killer
Zune was dead before he was born. The real iPod Killer? iPhone, duh
QUOTE(wei @ Jan 10 2007, 02:39 PM)
- Apple did say 2 years contract with Cingular. Does this mean no other way to get it besides signing up with the service provider?
- Contract??? oh my, meaning you can't get away from just "buying one".
- Well, meaning the phone will be "lock" for the service provider only? Unlocking mean voiding warranty.... sad.gif bad news (hell no waiting for 2008 to hit asia)
That's only for the US, not for the rest of the world. These are normal things in the US.
QUOTE(karhoe @ Jan 10 2007, 04:13 PM)
Bet DIGI and MAXIS will never do it
Just wondering, possible to flash to WM5 somehow?
DiGi will innovate anything to survive against the 2 giants. And Maxis n Celcom will retaliate. Why would anyone want to flash it to WM5? The selling point is the OS, not really the hardware.
QUOTE(nagasie @ Jan 10 2007, 05:09 PM)
omg!!
this thing is big!!
need big screen protector!
2mp camera is sufficient already for handphone.
want better quality, buy digicam. much better. tongue.gif
I don't think u can put screen protector, i think.
QUOTE(suns8630 @ Jan 10 2007, 06:25 PM)
i think the other "company" will have the "similiar" product

by then ... who knows that this will be "the thing of the past "
Yeah, similar but sad, crippled, badly designed product. This thing is at least 1 years more advanced than anything in market. In US, they need to go through FCC approval which took a few months. BTW, iPhone is not 100% done yet. Expect more software when it is released.
QUOTE(lucifah @ Jan 10 2007, 06:57 PM)
ho ho ho

it's $599 with 2-yr contract from cingular

expect double price when not in contract
I don't think it's that much. Double price? $999? Who would buy such thing? Most likely around $599 for the 4GB one.

This post has been edited by H4RRY: Jan 11 2007, 12:15 AM
kei
post Jan 11 2007, 12:16 AM

112 posts

more info here -> wikipedia - iphone
better start saving $$$ now tongue.gif
UnUsUaL
post Jan 11 2007, 12:23 AM

ah jek
2,064 posts

Rather to have a 3G than 2MP cam, maybe i should wait for the 3G version of iPun. biggrin.gif
Bernard Yeo
post Jan 11 2007, 01:12 AM

570 posts

QUOTE(slumberus @ Jan 10 2007, 06:40 PM)
oily face touching the smooth touchscreen.

i can imagine myself wiping it everytime i take a call... shudder.
Attach a tissue to your ear with a double side tape. Lolz!!
Bernard Yeo
post Jan 11 2007, 01:53 AM

570 posts

QUOTE(Humping^Panda @ Jan 10 2007, 12:15 PM)
okie.. rclxms.gif hope one day i got alot extra money to join the crowd(which i wont).

actually i got turn off by ipods...nice look but sound quality crappy n pricy..
and its pc os...not many application support it.
okie those ipod thingy/imac laptop i can give them the 9/10 for design..but for usage wise...they r way way too over rated.

I think ppl buy MAC/apple just to be different bcoz they think tht can pay higher price and feel unique with tht design.

maybe i m wrong..running OSx on pc might have the different experience with running it on the mobilephone.yeah if it is better than pc so wat..u still cant play many game or unable install many many apps.

beside, i think iphone is a PDA type phone rite?
it might end up like pc-mac war(which they clearly lost it)/window-mac support apps war(need to say much?).
i wonder who will built more plugins/ extra application for the iphone.

anyway, this is just my 2cent opinion...i might be wrong. biggrin.gif well atleast i dont waste money also on such thing like this.hahaha who knw after i use the iphone i also like it...but no point to rush for such expensive thing.
If you're not a long time user of both mac and PC, and a user of a PDA phone, you are not really qualified to comment. WinXP and MacOSX each have different advantages over each other.

It's true that Apple lost the PC-Mac war, because Microsoft has a monopoly of 95% market share. But Apple's market positioning has always been Ease of Use. In this category, Apple is No. 1. In the iPhone's case, people will buy it because of physical esthetics and it's Ease of Use. It's not for everyone who need all kinds of apps on a phone.

I have an O2 mini with lots of apps. But I still like to own an iPhone. The price is within the range of any Windows Mobile 5 PDA phone. Not overpriced at all. If you don't need PDA functions, then you don't need to rush for such expensive thing.
limyusiong
post Jan 11 2007, 02:09 AM

2,815 posts

wah, superb design...2008, tat was too long, duno possible bit it from ebay, but can use in malaysia ma???

aiya, no need safe money la..nw onli 2007, stil a yr to go to 2008...in a yr, duno change hw many phone d la....

well, i think de design havent 100% finalize lo....jus wait n c...yeah!!!bye bye sony ericsson walkman phone!!!!!!!!!!
samurai1337
post Jan 11 2007, 07:48 AM

@_@
11,594 posts

Minus the hefty price tag and late release date, I think this phone goes beyond everyone's expectation.

Remember those boring ipod-ish style pictures that have been published on the web in the past few months? This is rather much more innovative tongue.gif

And yeah, will probably go for the second-gen instead depending on the feedback, no real rush in getting it as my K800 has 3G and a much better camera than this iPhone. I'm not comparing a SE Camera phone with a PDA smartphone, but I think I'm content with what I have now.

Seems like it's pretty much the same as what I predicted eh? blush.gif
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=327620

This post has been edited by samurai1337: Jan 11 2007, 07:59 AM
bhypp
post Jan 11 2007, 08:00 AM

Soviet Malaya!
1,374 posts

i like its super cool vertical-horizontal sensor....darn cool....senses its position 2 change into widescreen mode....n yea....n also its OS-X la.....of yea not 4 forget safari webbrowser...i heard it uses the same one as the computer....so shud hav packed loads of goodies inside....how i wish apple releases its safari for PC.....then i will say goodbye 2 firefox.....erm...zune?? wat zune??? hahahha
nando
post Jan 11 2007, 09:34 AM

Was Nando Morientes, Nando Torres, now is Nandos Chicken
1,650 posts

A. I think if Apple's MINIMAL target is to convince more than 50% of EXISTING IPOD users to throw away their mobile and get IPhone, they can probably make quite a reasonable profit already...

B. Next is to target non-IPOD users who uses that handphone for calls/sms/some songs/pictures. These people probably dont think its worth to buy Ipod or cannot afford. But when they want to change their handphone, they will now think..why not pay a little bit more and get something new innovative? So, got potential profit here again.

C. Hardcore Mac users who dont carry PDA but got handphone. Now with this Iphone, they are probably drooling at ability to sync PIMS, Emails, Itunes, etc and BEST OF ALL, can still makes calls. And what if the IPhone can really be expanded to carry more software? Another potential profit here...

D. Hardcore Palm, Berries, WM05 users. this is the hardest group to convince. they need and live with all the 3rd party softwares....and i dont think Iphone will satisfy them...

but does Apple really need D to survive?

for me simple only. If Jack Bauer uses Iphone in season 6, then book me one now!!! heheheheheh

This post has been edited by nando: Jan 11 2007, 09:45 AM
apisgogo
post Jan 11 2007, 09:54 AM

Audiofreakosauros 6.1
925 posts

Cisco Systems sues Apple over iPhone

just a news to share smile.gif
Bernard Yeo
post Jan 11 2007, 10:43 AM

570 posts

QUOTE(apisgogo @ Jan 11 2007, 09:54 AM)
Apple should have called it the MacinPhone, since it really is a MacOS in a phone, not an iPod OS in a phone.

This post has been edited by Bernard Yeo: Jan 11 2007, 10:44 AM
kiwimon
post Jan 11 2007, 10:57 AM

27 posts

QUOTE(youngkies @ Jan 10 2007, 11:55 AM)
advantages over 3G?

WiMAX could be the 4G (fourth generation) of the communication system..
Currently 3G is ussing a technic call W-CDMA which has far higher bandwitdh transmission compare to CDMA2000. While WiMax is using a totaly different infrastructure, think of it as WiFi with much more wider range. U can learn more about CDMA by grabbing any basic networking book.

Anyway i think one of the key feature in this iPhone is its user interface. Doesnt matter if it uses EDGE or 3G if you have a lousy interface even with superb features pack into it, you will have a hard time learning how to send a simple sms out. Just need to look at the click wheel, even my low tech sister dont need me to teach her how to use the ipod. biggrin.gif
azxel
post Jan 11 2007, 11:23 AM

moological mooster
3,421 posts

imagine this... 1 month after iPhone hits the market... watch out for the Made in China 'aiPhone' that's totally identical, very much cheaper but comes with 256 & 512MB memory variant. laugh.gif but not sure what OS though.
darkimp
post Jan 11 2007, 11:33 AM

363 posts

QUOTE(azxel @ Jan 11 2007, 11:23 AM)
imagine this... 1 month after iPhone hits the market... watch out for the Made in China 'aiPhone' that's totally identical, very much cheaper but comes with 256 & 512MB memory variant. laugh.gif but not sure what OS though.
yaya is true. they use to be a copy cat and they can copy exactly 100% 'looked alike' i phone but in terms of functionality i am doubt of it. mac will be mac. iphone will be iphone nth can change that. rclxms.gif
suns8630
post Jan 11 2007, 11:45 AM

1,122 posts

cisco sued apple over iphone ....????!!!!

aisay .... what a world of business .... sometimes can be the greatest joke of the year ...

for what you know : steven job is now having coffee with the chairman of cisco .. over the this new product ... !!!

this is call "publicity" .... apple need the ... " heat" and cisco need the " simpathay"

if the keynote is attended by approx 400o people ... you think all people are that dumb

84 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0166sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 08:55 PM