Hardware The iPhone, First Mac OS based phones

H4RRY
post Jan 11 2007, 12:04 AM

393 posts

QUOTE(Humping^Panda @ Jan 10 2007, 12:15 PM)
actually i got turn off by ipods...nice look but sound quality crappy n pricy..
and its pc os...not many application support it.
but for usage wise...they r way way too over rated.

yeah if it is better than pc so wat..u still cant play many game or unable install many many apps.

it might end up like pc-mac war(which they clearly lost it)/window-mac support apps war(need to say much?)
With what other MP3 player are u comparing it with? Are u comparing it with ur comp speaker? Or ur headphone(Headphone are almost always better than earphone)?

Pricy? Look at how thin it is. Look at the UI friendly os. Compare with other MP3 player. Imagine how much time u save by easily syncing ur iPod, compare with how ALL of Creative's MP3 player sync. WMP11, yucks *vomits*

I can easily judge that u have never use a Mac in real life. Probably don't bother to.

How many percentage of the world's computer users are high-end gamers? Less than 20%. Most people play Flash and arcade games, Mac can do those. Ask any girl what type of games they play. HL2? Generals? CS? Nope.

Quantity doesn't mean quality. I would rather have 1 great software than have to install 1000 bad, crippled software with me n ending up with a crash-prone OS. Feel free to go to Download.com and waste ur time downloading 100 software just to find out that all of them suck.

If Apple has lost the PC-Mac war, then why is Apple still alive and kicking Microsoft's balls? No one is lost until they got bought by others or go bankcrupt.

Windows support apps? LOL, this is really funny. Are u saying that Windows win in the who-creates-more-problem-viruses-crashes contest? If so, i think Apple is glad that they lost the battle. It's amazing how Microsoft single-handedly create a billions dollar worth antivirus and security economy. Linux, Unix and even OS X COMBINED don't even have enough power to do that.
QUOTE(enCORe @ Jan 10 2007, 02:25 PM)
a Zune killer
Zune was dead before he was born. The real iPod Killer? iPhone, duh
QUOTE(wei @ Jan 10 2007, 02:39 PM)
- Apple did say 2 years contract with Cingular. Does this mean no other way to get it besides signing up with the service provider?
- Contract??? oh my, meaning you can't get away from just "buying one".
- Well, meaning the phone will be "lock" for the service provider only? Unlocking mean voiding warranty.... sad.gif bad news (hell no waiting for 2008 to hit asia)
That's only for the US, not for the rest of the world. These are normal things in the US.
QUOTE(karhoe @ Jan 10 2007, 04:13 PM)
Bet DIGI and MAXIS will never do it
Just wondering, possible to flash to WM5 somehow?
DiGi will innovate anything to survive against the 2 giants. And Maxis n Celcom will retaliate. Why would anyone want to flash it to WM5? The selling point is the OS, not really the hardware.
QUOTE(nagasie @ Jan 10 2007, 05:09 PM)
omg!!
this thing is big!!
need big screen protector!
2mp camera is sufficient already for handphone.
want better quality, buy digicam. much better. tongue.gif
I don't think u can put screen protector, i think.
QUOTE(suns8630 @ Jan 10 2007, 06:25 PM)
i think the other "company" will have the "similiar" product

by then ... who knows that this will be "the thing of the past "
Yeah, similar but sad, crippled, badly designed product. This thing is at least 1 years more advanced than anything in market. In US, they need to go through FCC approval which took a few months. BTW, iPhone is not 100% done yet. Expect more software when it is released.
QUOTE(lucifah @ Jan 10 2007, 06:57 PM)
ho ho ho

it's $599 with 2-yr contract from cingular

expect double price when not in contract
I don't think it's that much. Double price? $999? Who would buy such thing? Most likely around $599 for the 4GB one.

This post has been edited by H4RRY: Jan 11 2007, 12:15 AM
H4RRY
post Jan 11 2007, 04:13 PM

393 posts

QUOTE(shaznizzle @ Jan 11 2007, 02:33 PM)
With the lack of the main high-end specifications, such as the obvious 3G, GPS, External Memory Card and a VGA internal camera. All these features cannot be upgraded as it requires hardware installation.

Some of you may or already did mention some lack of software features, such, Voice Recognition, Hand Writing Recognition, Java/ Flash Games and Applications, Office applications (Word, Excel, PDF, etc)

With all this disadvantages mention, would one buy an iPhone? I would, not because its an Apple. Its because they did Reinvented the phone, in its unique design and how a phone works. It is 1st of its kind, thus its is incomparable with any phone that is out in the market. Its not a Smart phone, not a PDA phone and not a phone. Its a whole new  kind of phone. Its an iPhone.
Not everyone uses GPS. It should be coming but dude, this is the first version, what do u expect? With 4GB of flash, why they hell would anyone want memory cards that will make it thicker? And when Apple say that it's a 2MP, it is one. No upscaling.

The Safari is a full web browser. Chances are that it can play Java/Flash games. There's plenty of stuff that u mentioned, but how many of those cellphones does everything good. I've tried those high-end phones n their UI is hard to use, their feature is confusing. Don't judge how good a camera is by the megapixel hype. Cause my 3MP Canon can beat a hell lot of 5MP cameras. Uuu, look, i got a Nokia with Carl-Zeiss lens. Bullshit, for all u know they just sign agreement to use Carl-Zeiss name. Show me some photos, then decide. I don't blindly eat all those marketing hype after being scammed by Sony E anymore. It's about time someone scare the big players to give something that users want. If they can't even make loading the contacts fast enough, don't bother showing me the music player.

Have fun waiting 3 sec just to load ur contacts.
H4RRY
post Jan 15 2007, 06:11 PM

393 posts

By 2008, 2nd revision will be out.
Most likely including more features that will appeal to Asian, most likely Japanese. Apple revise their products at least every year. So, if we don't want those imports, wait till the 2nd revision out.

Also, there's some rumors that another smaller version of iPhone is coming. This is almost guaranteed, i guess. But how? Less feature? More expensive?
H4RRY
post Jan 17 2007, 12:39 AM

393 posts

QUOTE(mokhzaini @ Jan 16 2007, 12:06 PM)
perhaps, Steve Jobs can clarify the processor speed used in the Iphone.
But, nevertheless, it is a great device and I am looking foward to have one.
Clarify how much Mhz it has doesn't prove anything as far as i'm concern.
Different chips has different performance. What if the software is very optimized?
Show me how fast it does stuff or do some intensive stuff, then we compare, ok?
QUOTE(cafuheva @ Jan 16 2007, 01:29 PM)
if the iphone nano, sure the screen size is too small and not practical. iphone shuffle?? hmm.gif
iPhone nano, seems plausible, but it won't be the best seller like iPhone.
OMG, iPhone shuffle, shuffle ur calls, u won't know who picks up the phone, discover new friends or suddenly called ur ex while she's dating with a new bf. Endless social possibilities.
QUOTE(crash @ Jan 16 2007, 01:58 PM)
I believe 'OS X' as Steve Jobs mentioned isn't the same as Mac OS X as used on Mac desktops and portables.
They mentioned OS X probably because it will run on Darwin, the UNIX variant underneath OS X. A stripped down Darwin with a custom interface is what i think. UNIX...*drools* Can hack become Linux.
H4RRY
post Jan 30 2007, 07:49 PM

393 posts

QUOTE(signboard @ Jan 26 2007, 10:05 AM)
just hate to switch phone number and register to the contract. i think the phone should be available for those who are using prepaid services.
Number portability should be implemented by then, hopefully...
QUOTE(shaznizzle @ Jan 30 2007, 06:13 PM)
For a start the M8 has what the iPhone most obviously lacks: 3G, it also sports a 3.3in 720 x 480 high resolution touch screen and a three megapixel camera as well as PMP abilities. There's an ARM 11 processor at its heart which is capable of recording video at 30fps and Bluetooth and WiFi make it onboard.
I wouldn't hold my breath waiting for those. Yeah, it looks almost as cool as iPhone. But when u got it, the OS crash, takes all your mp3 with it, slow as hell, the screen scratches worst than the iPod and probably broken in a few months.
With Apple, the QC is guaranteed.
H4RRY
post Sep 16 2007, 03:27 PM

393 posts

QUOTE(wei @ Sep 14 2007, 07:02 PM)
iPhone without contract from apple will not be in the price you see now.
Apple get a cut from ATT as ppl subscribe to the call plans. And ATT also have a deal of bearing some cost for the iPhone. That's why it's ATT exclusive. If not, why you think Apple want to play nice with ATT... lol.
The price for iPhone compnents is actually just around USD199. So, seeing how Apple is selling it at 599 and now 399, they're making enough money to pay back their research cost. They're tied to AT&T because of the 10% revenue sharing and so they can roll out features like Visual Voicemail. They could have easily not do so, just less $$ for them and since they have no experience, it's a good move. They tried it with Motorola, and now AT&T, soon they might even start becoming a telco themselves

1million iPhones with 10% revenue is like 7 million per month without doing anything. 2 years = 168million. Check ur facts.

This post has been edited by H4RRY: Sep 16 2007, 03:33 PM

0.0341sec    0.69    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 07:25 AM