Celcom Data Roaming Scam, IS "roaming partner" A TRAP????

TSadam7979
post Apr 11 2016, 05:36 PM, updated 9y ago

26 posts

Here is my story.

My parents went to China last week. While I am dead sure that the "Data roaming" option on his Galaxy Note 4 is turned off, few days after his vacation he received this:

And soon he hit his credit limit and his line was barred.

After he returned to Malaysia I called up Celcom careline to find out what went wrong, the answer I got was "sorry, this month's bill still not yet generated. You have to wait till the bill cycle". (What the hell.....) Fine, i'll wait.

So, bill came, and I saw this:

GREAT! So I lodged a complaint via their customer self service portal. 2 days later this is what I got:

So, I called 1111 to follow up on the case number to only find out that the case was actually already closed without further notice/discussion!
Immediately I requested the agent to file an appeal for me over the weekend, and today I login again into customer self care portal and it's again, closed without contacting me or any response:

To further "convince" myself, I traveled to Stulang Laut, Johor Bahru and did this:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jK1tVJiT26g

Basically what I did was after making sure data roaming is turned off, I connect to one of the so called "celcom roaming partner"'s network and tried to fool around before switching back to home network. The result?

And, it seems that I'm not the only victim
http://www.complaintboard.com/celcom-l2392.html

and L Ng quoted an example of this happening (http://www.iphoneincanada.ca/carriers/rogers/fido-charging-iphone-data-roaming-setting-off/) and the Telco operator admitted its their fault and made a refund.

The next experiment I'd probably do is connect to CELCOM ROAMING PARTNER and this time, even with "cellular data" turn off before I turn to MCMC for help...

UPDATE 12/4/2016 5:15pm
Wrote to CFM and in less than an hour after i furbished CFM with all the details:

RM0 RM144 rebate has been approved and will be reflected in ur next month's Celcom bill. Stay connected on the fastest network. TQ

BRAVO CFM!

UPDATE 15/4/2016
As advised by grazy, i tried again at the same spot, same roaming partner, local data on, but network "3G or below" only, and VOILA! no charge.

Obviously Celcom needs to fix this shit ASAP.

This post has been edited by adam7979: Apr 17 2016, 12:10 AM
TiF
post Apr 11 2016, 05:39 PM

1,192 posts

ok, time to port out everyone.
adiwarna
post Apr 11 2016, 06:48 PM

2,669 posts

thats why onexox not allowed data roaming
kurangak
post Apr 11 2016, 06:52 PM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

if u use 4G, it still gonna transmit a small amount of data, even when u turn data transfer/roaming.

some forummer suggest to switch to 3G line in order to avoid this hassle... i cant remember who... i think its OKLY ?

This post has been edited by kurangak: Apr 11 2016, 06:53 PM
westbowl
post Apr 11 2016, 06:56 PM

QUOTE(adiwarna @ Apr 11 2016, 06:48 PM)
kit2
post Apr 11 2016, 06:59 PM

2,292 posts

welcome to malaysia!

*all* telcos are the same..mcmc is sleeping...so port to where? smile.gif
nexona88
post Apr 11 2016, 07:10 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,543 posts

someone mention bring / use old school phone.

mean those basic phone. No surfing internet / WhatsApp etc. capabilities. confirm no Data Roaming problem
Chrono-Trigger
post Apr 11 2016, 07:12 PM

BY SELF ONE IS DEFILED AND PURIFIED
4,310 posts

even if data roaming is off, your phone still handshake with the roaming telco.

I tried to use u mobile once at Brunei , cellular data on, roaming off - the iPhone data usage will register "data roaming :few kB)

but u mobile didn't charge me a single sen for it.

I think this is just a confirguration issue on the celcom network. I know for one that you need to disable your voicemail if you travel overseas on celcom.

issues like this make me hesitant to return to celcom

This post has been edited by Chrono-Trigger: Apr 11 2016, 07:20 PM
kit2
post Apr 11 2016, 07:23 PM

2,292 posts

QUOTE(Chrono-Trigger @ Apr 11 2016, 07:12 PM)
even if data roaming is off, your phone still handshake with the roaming telco.

I tried to use u mobile once at Brunei , cellular data on, roaming off - the iPhone data usage will register "data roaming :few kB)

but u mobile didn't charge me a single sen for it.

I think this is just a confirguration issue on the celcom network.
umobile postpaid now gives 50mb for data roaming, so you are safe for now.

once i was using umobile prepaid abroad, topped up my card online, then turned on my phone to check balance....
and then shocked to find all my credit gone!

This post has been edited by kit2: Apr 11 2016, 07:25 PM
uexpress
post Apr 11 2016, 07:34 PM

187 posts

I also kena, last month was overseas to HK when came back my bill kena RM1++.
I lodged a complaint via their customer self service portal too and get the same email reply. As usual when overseas i always switch off data, and before i'm at oversease the TTDI staff where i activated my roaming tell me must use celcom partner smartone which i did but end up kena charge.

Let me know if you want to complain to MCMC i will join.

wil-i-am
post Apr 11 2016, 11:16 PM

10,001 posts

Suggest TS to lodge complaint with MCMC
nexona88
post Apr 11 2016, 11:32 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,543 posts

QUOTE(kit2 @ Apr 11 2016, 07:23 PM)

once i was using umobile prepaid abroad, topped up my card online, then turned on my phone to check balance....
good for Umobile to give some quota for data thumbsup.gif
victorywp
post Apr 12 2016, 03:41 AM

V.I.P
11,741 posts

so that time you managed to get all your credits back?
UN1T3D
post Apr 12 2016, 08:19 AM

847 posts

QUOTE(adiwarna @ Apr 11 2016, 06:48 PM)
Also no data roaming on Altel, BuzzMe, Friendi, Merchantrade, Tron and XOX .....
TSadam7979
post Apr 12 2016, 08:32 AM

26 posts

QUOTE(uexpress @ Apr 11 2016, 07:34 PM)
I also kena, last month was overseas to HK when came back my bill kena RM1++.
I lodged a complaint via their customer self service portal too and get the same email reply. As usual when overseas i always switch off data, and before i'm at oversease the TTDI staff where i activated my roaming tell me must use celcom partner smartone which i did but end up kena charge.

Let me know if you want to complain to MCMC i will join.

called up 1111 again last night and quarreled with them for over 20 minutes before they created another ticket number for me. If i managed to claim my money back i'll share my report number here so that you can quote and ask for the same refund. Good luck to you and me.
lingseng91
post Apr 12 2016, 08:36 AM

73 posts

oh mai..gonna pull out my sim before going SG next week............LOL
UN1T3D
post Apr 12 2016, 08:38 AM

847 posts

Rather unfortunate that umobile no longer offers free 50mb data roaming for prepaid nor postpaid .....

TSadam7979
post Apr 12 2016, 08:52 AM

26 posts

*Deleted*

This post has been edited by adam7979: Apr 12 2016, 11:09 AM
TSadam7979
post Apr 12 2016, 08:54 AM

26 posts

some reported here that they managed to claim back the money after approaching MCMC and/or CFM. Looks like it's useless to approach celcom.

shame on you celcom, another example of "double standard"
kit2
post Apr 12 2016, 11:29 AM

2,292 posts

QUOTE(UN1T3D @ Apr 12 2016, 08:38 AM)
Rather unfortunate that umobile no longer offers free 50mb data roaming for prepaid nor postpaid .....
oh yes...checked website again and it's gone now..
easy money for telco...umobile finally gotten smarter eh?

QUOTE(victorywp @ Apr 12 2016, 03:41 AM)
so that time you managed to get all your credits back?
no, that time i thought it was a bug with my phone...
until i got hit again with another phone and with another telco's prepaid.

This post has been edited by kit2: Apr 12 2016, 11:33 AM
kit2
post Apr 12 2016, 11:31 AM

2,292 posts

QUOTE(UN1T3D @ Apr 12 2016, 08:19 AM)
Also no data roaming on Altel, BuzzMe, Friendi, Merchantrade, Tron and XOX .....
some of them have no roaming at all..
when roaming, most people want voice and sms, but data is definitely not desirable.
maraippo
post Apr 12 2016, 02:17 PM

~PoPoPoPoPo~
1,165 posts

posting in potential viral tered. owaii

they just stop that service if its not working properly yet. have another round of testing
spreeeee
post Apr 12 2016, 02:43 PM

♠ . ♥ . ♣ . ♦
3,812 posts

contact CFM for faster response.. same case as mine.. got the money waived back..
TSadam7979
post Apr 12 2016, 05:33 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(spreeeee @ Apr 12 2016, 02:43 PM)
contact CFM for faster response.. same case as mine.. got the money waived back..
Fxxxing incredible! i got my money back in a few hours!
spreeeee
post Apr 12 2016, 05:38 PM

♠ . ♥ . ♣ . ♦
3,812 posts

QUOTE(adam7979 @ Apr 12 2016, 05:33 PM)
nice.. really need to show them colors rclxm9.gif
uexpress
post Apr 12 2016, 09:42 PM

187 posts

QUOTE(adam7979 @ Apr 12 2016, 05:33 PM)
Bro you call cfm directly??

This post has been edited by uexpress: Apr 12 2016, 09:51 PM
danielmckey
post Apr 12 2016, 09:55 PM

1,053 posts

So many problem but the government still sleeping without doing anything?

Celcom Sucks!
TSadam7979
post Apr 13 2016, 12:01 AM

26 posts

QUOTE(uexpress @ Apr 12 2016, 09:42 PM)
Bro you call cfm directly??
I emailed them.
betaray
post Apr 13 2016, 01:03 AM

68 posts

QUOTE(adam7979 @ Apr 13 2016, 12:01 AM)
I emailed them.
can you share the email here so others can adapt it for their own use if they encounter similar problem.
goldfries
post Apr 13 2016, 01:21 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

Just note that TS has updated the first post.

QUOTE(adam7979 @ Apr 11 2016, 05:36 PM)
Wrote to CFM and in less than an hour after i furbished CFM with all the details:

RM0 RM144 rebate has been approved and will be reflected in ur next month's Celcom bill. Stay connected on the fastest network. TQ

BRAVO CFM!
I for one never had issue with Celcom when in other countries.

No bills as long as DATA is not connected. Calls / SMS work fine.
TSadam7979
post Apr 13 2016, 06:22 PM

26 posts

Did another experiment today. ALL data turned off. Still kena charge after connected to M1. GG celcom
grazy
post Apr 13 2016, 06:32 PM

457 posts

QUOTE(adam7979 @ Apr 13 2016, 06:22 PM)
Did another experiment today. ALL data turned off. Still kena charge after connected to M1. GG celcom
Try off 4G, switch voice to 3G/2G only
aeiou228
post Apr 13 2016, 10:42 PM

5,867 posts

To prevent accidental data connection while roaming abroad, follow these 3 easy settings before boarding the plane.
1) Turn off Cellular Data.
2) Turn off Data Roaming.
3) Disable voicemail service. (Must call service provider to disable it)

If you have done these 3 settings but data still leak out and connect to a roaming network, then the only culprit I can think is virus or bad apps.

So far I never had roaming data leakage problem while abroad.
kit2
post Apr 13 2016, 10:42 PM

2,292 posts

QUOTE(grazy @ Apr 13 2016, 06:32 PM)
Try off 4G, switch voice to 3G/2G only
when mobile data is turned off, what G does the phone use?
grazy
post Apr 13 2016, 10:52 PM

457 posts

QUOTE(kit2 @ Apr 13 2016, 10:42 PM)
Even data is off, phone will still on 4G network, so if possible make sure they are set to 3G/2G.
tympg
post Apr 13 2016, 10:57 PM

3,104 posts

QUOTE(kit2 @ Apr 13 2016, 10:42 PM)
Usually the network will still try to put the phone on the highest G allowed. (But when on Starhub, it forced my Maxis-account phone down to H, whereas on Singtel it tried its best to keep my phone on 4G.)
mrdj2000
post Apr 15 2016, 01:59 AM

Hi guys,

After hearing complaints from friends, I decided to call up celcom to check out the reason behind the roaming charges by celcom.

Basically, once you're connected to their telco partners in respective countries, you will automatically be charged RM 38/day for limited data roaming (usually 500 MB / day) regardless if you use the data roaming or not.

To avoid this, you must manually select your phone network to non-celcom partners overseas. You can find out which networks are celcom partners from their website.

https://www.celcom.com.my/personal/plans/in...HQWSBoCfZ7w_wcB

For example, Celcom's partners in Australia are Vodafone and Telstra. Once you're connected to either of these networks, celcom automatically charges RM 38 / Day for 500 MB / day data roaming even if you deactivate your data roaming on your phone. To avoid this we must manually connect other networks.

Apparently Celcom just updated this policy in this month. I have been using Celcom for more than 10 years and this is something really new to me. It's definitely shame for Celcom.

I'm not sure about other Telcos, my maxis user friend also told me recently that he was also charged RM 38 for sending a SMS in Singapore. Can anyone verify? Maybe it's a government policy instead of carrier policy.

So, remember to manually connect non-celcom partners at overseas to avoid unnecessary data roaming charges if you don't plan to use it..

Cheers
TSadam7979
post Apr 15 2016, 07:20 AM

26 posts

QUOTE(mrdj2000 @ Apr 15 2016, 01:59 AM)
Hi guys,

After hearing complaints from friends, I decided to call up celcom to check out the reason behind the roaming charges by celcom.

Basically, once you're connected to their telco partners in respective countries, you will automatically be charged RM 38/day for limited data roaming (usually 500 MB / day) regardless if you use the data roaming or not.

To avoid this, you must manually select your phone network to non-celcom partners overseas. You can find out which networks are celcom partners from their website.

For example, Celcom's partners in Australia are Vodafone and Telstra. Once you're connected to either of these networks, celcom automatically charges RM 38 / Day for 500 MB / day data roaming even if you deactivate your data roaming on your phone. To avoid this we must manually connect other networks.

Apparently Celcom just updated this policy in this month. I have been using Celcom for more than 10 years and this is something really new to me. It's definitely shame for Celcom.

I'm not sure about other Telcos, my maxis user friend also told me recently that he was also charged RM 38 for sending a SMS in Singapore. Can anyone verify? Maybe it's a government policy instead of carrier policy.

So, remember to manually connect non-celcom partners at overseas to avoid unnecessary data roaming charges if you don't plan to use it..

Cheers
Not exactly. As advised by grazy, did another experiment last night, with data option "3G or lower only" and VIOLA! No charge anymore.

This is a crazy bug which they'd have to tackle ASAP

This post has been edited by adam7979: Apr 15 2016, 07:22 AM
fyironman
post Apr 15 2016, 10:50 AM

I also encounter the same issue, the best part is their reply to me ....

uexpress
post Apr 15 2016, 11:12 AM

187 posts

QUOTE(mrdj2000 @ Apr 15 2016, 01:59 AM)
Hi guys,

Cheers
Before that when i went to TTDI branch for roaming activation, The staff did said must use celcom partner in overseas to avoid high charge. So i did, but the staff never inform that celcom will charge RM38/day. My case is only use my phone for emergency call only without using any data still kena charge.

Submit my complaint to CFM and now waiting for Celcom to reply. And i need to capture this as my case was happen in march 2016.
g_kw2
post Apr 15 2016, 04:39 PM

317 posts

I have exactly the same issues.
Went to Singapore for 11 days and was charged with RM494 for data roaming which I didn't use.

The officer said "when you use wifi on your phone, it tend to trigger the data roaming and as long as you're using it we'll charge RM38/day."
And other officers said "Maybe you accidentally turned it on" as if we don't know how to turn off.

That's the weirdest claims I heard. I've file complaint to Celcom and they said they investigated and it is valid and close my case.
aeiou228
post Apr 15 2016, 06:03 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(g_kw2 @ Apr 15 2016, 04:39 PM)
I have exactly the same issues.
Went to Singapore for 11 days and was charged with RM494 for data roaming which I didn't use.

The officer said "when you use wifi on your phone, it tend to trigger the data roaming and as long as you're using it we'll charge RM38/day."
And other officers said "Maybe you accidentally turned it on" as if we don't know how to turn off.

That's the weirdest claims I heard. I've file complaint to Celcom and they said they investigated and it is valid and close my case.
494 is exactly 38 x 13days.
Maybe the extra 2days are arrival date till 11.59pm charge 1 day then the departure date after 12.00 am another day.

Did you turn off the 3 settings ie 1) mobile data, 2) data roaming and 3) voicemail service before entering Singapore ?
spikey2506
post Apr 15 2016, 07:44 PM

Professional Bum
1,839 posts

CFM Portal

The portal address for CFM. Do note that they require you to lodge a report with Celcom first and get their reference number which you then enter into their form. I have filed mine as I was also charged RM38 for my trip to Bali last month. I also referenced this thread to CFM so that they take note of others who got scammed by Celcom with this

This post has been edited by spikey2506: Apr 15 2016, 07:47 PM
Alex
post Apr 16 2016, 09:32 AM

36 posts

I have the same problem when traveling oversea last month. I have file a complain to celcom and got the same negative replied. Next, I have file a complain to CFM and wait about 2weeks, celcom sms me and granted me the rebate.
mr11
post Apr 16 2016, 09:25 PM

1,017 posts

same problem here during my transit from few country in a day... SG > HK > MAINLAND...rm4xx extra charges in 6days
xSean
post Apr 17 2016, 10:17 PM

2,769 posts

no only celcom, maxis also got this issue but maxis will waive it once they found out the 4g connection made to oversea telcos. I asked them how they know, she said each packet of 50kb continuous for few times...
spikey2506
post Apr 19 2016, 04:19 PM

Professional Bum
1,839 posts

When CFM is involved, all telcos will work fast. Haha
nexona88
post Apr 19 2016, 04:27 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,543 posts

QUOTE(spikey2506 @ Apr 19 2016, 04:19 PM)
hahaha good one thumbsup.gif

next time any problem. report to CFM cool2.gif devil.gif
wil-i-am
post Apr 19 2016, 04:59 PM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(spikey2506 @ Apr 19 2016, 04:19 PM)
They r paid to perform the job
uexpress
post Apr 20 2016, 10:37 AM

187 posts

got my refund too. time to port out to umobile with better roaming. rm10/day unlimited data.

kit2
post Apr 20 2016, 05:38 PM

2,292 posts

same problem with digi too

http://community.digi.com.my/t5/Postpaid/R...m-p/12516#M2746
kanan
post Apr 20 2016, 07:40 PM

Adam, who is CFM please?

QUOTE(adam7979 @ Apr 11 2016, 05:36 PM)

Here is my story.

My parents went to China last week. While I am dead sure that the "Data roaming" option on his Galaxy Note 4 is turned off, few days after his vacation he received this:

And soon he hit his credit limit and his line was barred.

After he returned to Malaysia I called up Celcom careline to find out what went wrong, the answer I got was "sorry, this month's bill still not yet generated. You have to wait till the bill cycle". (What the hell.....) Fine, i'll wait.

So, bill came, and I saw this:

GREAT! So I lodged a complaint via their customer self service portal. 2 days later this is what I got:

So, I called 1111 to follow up on the case number to only find out that the case was actually already closed without further notice/discussion!
Immediately I requested the agent to file an appeal for me over the weekend, and today I login again into customer self care portal and it's again, closed without contacting me or any response:

To further "convince" myself, I traveled to Stulang Laut, Johor Bahru and did this:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jK1tVJiT26g

Basically what I did was after making sure data roaming is turned off, I connect to one of the so called "celcom roaming partner"'s network and tried to fool around before switching back to home network. The result?

And, it seems that I'm not the only victim
http://www.complaintboard.com/celcom-l2392.html

and L Ng quoted an example of this happening (http://www.iphoneincanada.ca/carriers/rogers/fido-charging-iphone-data-roaming-setting-off/) and the Telco operator admitted its their fault and made a refund.

The next experiment I'd probably do is connect to CELCOM ROAMING PARTNER and this time, even with "cellular data" turn off before I turn to MCMC for help...

BRAVO CFM!
UPDATE 15/4/2016
As advised by grazy, i tried again at the same spot, same roaming partner, local data on, but network "3G or below" only, and VOILA! no charge.

Obviously Celcom needs to fix this shit ASAP.
kanan
post Apr 20 2016, 07:43 PM

Adam, who is CFM and how do I contact them?

I have an issue with YES, they are cheating me big time on quota.

I have been reading that many others are having the same problem, and I would like to lodge a complaint with a regulatory body
Boy96
post Apr 21 2016, 02:44 AM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

Few years back my mom got charged for data roaming with Celcom, she was using a Samsung Galaxy W back then which had no 4G, I checked her phone many times before she left the country and confirmed that data roaming was off, only cellular data was on, yet she got charged for data roam use..
TSadam7979
post Apr 21 2016, 07:59 AM

26 posts

QUOTE(kanan @ Apr 20 2016, 07:43 PM)
Adam, who is CFM and how do I contact them?

I have an issue with YES, they are cheating me big time on quota.

I have been reading that many others are having the same problem, and I would like to lodge a complaint with a regulatory body
http://www.complaint.cfm.org.my
g_kw2
post Apr 26 2016, 10:43 AM

317 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Apr 15 2016, 06:03 PM)
494 is exactly 38 x 13days.
Maybe the extra 2days are arrival date till 11.59pm charge 1 day then the departure date after 12.00 am another day.

Did you turn off the 3 settings ie 1) mobile data, 2) data roaming and 3) voicemail service before entering Singapore ?
Totally off everything....
aeiou228
post Apr 26 2016, 11:00 AM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(g_kw2 @ Apr 26 2016, 10:43 AM)
Totally off everything....
I have seen at least 3 threads complaining about the same problem already. Celcom must do something to prevent force usage of data roaming when customer is not prepared to use it.
g_kw2
post Apr 26 2016, 07:33 PM

317 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Apr 26 2016, 11:00 AM)
I have seen at least 3 threads complaining about the same problem already. Celcom must do something to prevent force usage of data roaming when customer is not prepared to use it.
Latest update. After 3 complaints filed to Celcom without any good response. I've reported it to CFM and they refunded me within 2 days and they credit the amount to my phone account.

It makes my account with more than -RM400++

And I found a way to go Singpore without the data roaming. That is to select Singtel (who is not the data roaming partner of Celcom). Celcom will keep send you sms ask you to select M1. If you select M1 or Starhub it will surely happen again.

I think they should just ask their partner not to bill for anything less than 100KB.
memying
post May 6 2016, 04:56 PM

19 posts

my mom using celcom too. i bring along her to travel at taiwan
but she didnt have the issue as you. wonder is it randomly or what? lol
TSadam7979
post May 6 2016, 07:45 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(memying @ May 6 2016, 04:56 PM)
my mom using celcom too. i bring along her to travel at taiwan
but she didnt have the issue as you. wonder is it randomly or what? lol
What's her phone model? Does her phone connect to 4G network?
paddylam
post May 7 2016, 12:47 AM

25 posts

cool Down guys.. as my travelling experience so far there is no any roaming fee charges and only one time fee. I want to share my experienced , three months ago when i know need to going Singapore for business trip the next day and i got no time to call Telco M connect my roaming.. Mana tahu, i just use there side's Telco. After i came back, check the bill...Walaoeh, shock me with the XXX amount. Luckily can claim from the company.
Regina Tan
post May 7 2016, 01:06 AM

15 posts

QUOTE(paddylam @ May 7 2016, 12:47 AM)
cool Down guys.. as my travelling experience so far there is no any roaming fee charges and only one time fee.  I want to share my experienced , three months ago when i know need to going Singapore for business trip the next day and i got no time to call Telco M connect my roaming.. Mana tahu, i just use there side's Telco. After i came back, check the bill...Walaoeh, shock me with the XXX amount. Luckily can claim from the company.
Terrible la if the amount XXX charged. i really got no knowledge on roaming this kind of things.
I will be travelling to Japan another 3 months. i trying to check any hotels or tourist places whether got provide WIFI service. But how you said only one time fee? Can you explain it to me ? Many thanks.
paddylam
post May 7 2016, 10:57 AM

25 posts

QUOTE(Regina Tan @ May 7 2016, 01:06 AM)
Terrible la if the amount XXX charged. i really got no knowledge on roaming this kind of things.
I will be travelling to Japan another 3 months.  i trying to check any hotels or tourist places whether got provide WIFI service.  But how you said only one time fee? Can you explain it to me ? Many thanks.
Sorry late reply you as i was asleep. There is two types. RM38/day or RM138/week with unlimited data internet. It's auto Subscription when you on your data roaming. Please make sure your roaming is applied before you going to travel. As i know Telco M also provided but only single preferred operator
Regina Tan
post May 7 2016, 11:41 AM

15 posts

QUOTE(paddylam @ May 7 2016, 10:57 AM)
Sorry late reply you as i was asleep.  There is two types.  RM38/day or RM138/week with unlimited data internet.  It's auto Subscription when you on your data roaming. Please make sure your roaming is applied before you going to travel.  As i know Telco M also provided but only single preferred operator
May i know RM38/day and RM138/week is from which Telco? i more interested on this roaming. Can you explain more on this to me plsss?
spikey2506
post May 7 2016, 11:47 AM

Professional Bum
1,839 posts

QUOTE(Regina Tan @ May 7 2016, 01:06 AM)
I will be travelling to Japan another 3 months.  i trying to check any hotels or tourist places whether got provide WIFI service.  But how you said only one time fee? Can you explain it to me ? Many thanks.
Buy a Japan SIM card better. I bought mine for one week internet access at Osaka Kansai airport for around 3000 yen through a vending machine. Their LTE speed is awesome
paddylam
post May 7 2016, 11:45 PM

25 posts

As refer from my fren's experience info, he did compare with it and found out the Japan Sim have limited data download up to 500MB only.

if for 7 days. He will suggest us to use Celcom as there is a package called Wonderoam 1-week only RM138. This have unlimited calls & sms but Japan sim card didn't provided.
More info:-
https://www.celcom.com.my/personal/plans/in...p=1360826523383

mengsuan
post May 7 2016, 11:56 PM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

Don't use LTE networks when you don't have internet plan. Even when mobile data is switched off, set to 2G/3G to be safe.

This post has been edited by mengsuan: May 7 2016, 11:56 PM
fantasy
post May 8 2016, 12:31 AM

184 posts

any sample on what to write when report to cfm?
ireneyeo
post May 8 2016, 12:53 AM

QUOTE(paddylam @ May 7 2016, 11:45 PM)
As refer from my fren's experience info, he did compare with it and found out the Japan Sim have limited data download up to 500MB only.

if for 7 days. He will suggest us to use Celcom as there is a package called Wonderoam 1-week only RM138. This have unlimited calls & sms but Japan sim card didn't provided.
More info:-
https://www.celcom.com.my/personal/plans/in...p=1360826523383
Orange Telco user here. RM36 per day but if x 7 days. The total amount will be RM252. Walao eh..damn expensive. Now i just realized the Celcom 1 week only RM138.
paddylam
post May 8 2016, 01:11 AM

25 posts

QUOTE(ireneyeo @ May 8 2016, 12:53 AM)
Orange Telco user here. RM36 per day but if x 7 days. The total amount will be RM252. Walao eh..damn expensive. Now i just realized the Celcom 1 week only RM138.
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif Now you know which one is worth to sign right? You may go change the telco company if you got no any contract with the orange Telco.
ireneyeo
post May 8 2016, 01:30 AM

i got the contract with orange Telco but until end of this month. Don't know still got time to change or not as i just got informed by my boss this morning and i might need to travel to HK end of next month...pray pray
paddylam
post May 8 2016, 01:45 AM

25 posts

hahah..so ngam the timing. we all pray so you got time to change your telco and enjoy the good service by Celcom ya.
ireneyeo
post May 8 2016, 08:32 AM

Thanks. i will try to convince my boss delay the triip...ehehe
jychow
post May 9 2016, 01:07 PM

1,169 posts

QUOTE(mengsuan @ May 7 2016, 11:56 PM)
Don't use LTE networks when you don't have internet plan. Even when mobile data is switched off, set to 2G/3G to be safe.
I think celcom charges data roaming because volte is activated. It is voice over LTE service. Maybe we should disable that service?
TSadam7979
post May 14 2016, 08:07 PM

26 posts

My colleague, another victim...

spikey2506
post May 14 2016, 09:16 PM

Professional Bum
1,839 posts

QUOTE(adam7979 @ May 14 2016, 08:07 PM)
Ask your colleague to get a waiver from Celcom. If they refuse, get CFM to be involved. But for the one on 19th April, I don't think they will waive as the data use is significant
nexona88
post May 14 2016, 11:01 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,543 posts

the one on 8 Apr? did he use that much data? hmm.gif hmm.gif

that one sure cannot get waiver biggrin.gif
victorywp
post May 14 2016, 11:33 PM

V.I.P
11,741 posts

QUOTE(spikey2506 @ May 14 2016, 09:16 PM)
Ask your colleague to get a waiver from Celcom. If they refuse, get CFM to be involved. But for the one on 19th April, I don't think they will waive as the data use is significant
you mean 8th or 19th? 19th is very small amount only.
nexona88
post May 15 2016, 12:25 AM

The Royal Club Member
48,543 posts

QUOTE(spikey2506 @ May 14 2016, 09:16 PM)
19 & 20 Apr I guess ccan get some waiver hmm.gif hmm.gif
spikey2506
post May 15 2016, 12:33 AM

Professional Bum
1,839 posts

QUOTE(victorywp @ May 14 2016, 11:33 PM)
you mean 8th or 19th? 19th is very small amount only.
Ah sorry. The 8th one.
wil-i-am
post May 15 2016, 07:42 AM

10,001 posts

Speak to the CS for clarification
TSadam7979
post May 15 2016, 10:34 AM

26 posts

Yeah, I told him the story from head to tail, and the 19MB I guess his hand itchy...
nexona88
post May 15 2016, 01:54 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,543 posts

QUOTE(adam7979 @ May 15 2016, 10:34 AM)
Yeah, I told him the story from head to tail, and the 19MB I guess his hand itchy...
hand itchy see / download what brows.gif devil.gif
wil-i-am
post May 15 2016, 03:50 PM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(adam7979 @ May 15 2016, 10:34 AM)
If still itch, apply mopiko
samuraiprincess
post May 20 2016, 09:26 AM

if got for holiday without data is difficult oh. cannot upload photos on insta
Wabbittutu
post May 21 2016, 02:32 AM

QUOTE(samuraiprincess @ May 20 2016, 09:26 AM)
if got for holiday without data is difficult oh. cannot upload photos on insta
yea. my last trip to thailand, i didnt get any data other than wifi at hostel =(
stevenlee
post May 21 2016, 01:43 PM

look @ my Star *o* ...hoho
3,158 posts

Those on Celcom hv to be careful
Thier international roaming will auto charge daily when you connected to their partner and data automatically on even your phone did not use thier data..
They charge on daily basic ..
That is why I off my wife international roaming when she sign up...
Hv to read tnc guy when sign up

This post has been edited by stevenlee: May 21 2016, 01:44 PM
Ubipro
post May 21 2016, 11:39 PM

yea tnc is important and make sure to also get the person's name so if anything happens u may refer. plus by asking their name, they will not simply promise.

allow me to explain what i understand(not guaranteed correct) but i think if we didnt switch off international roaming and we're in a place where celcom partner is available, it makes sense to connect because celcom has engaged with them as their partner. so the partner will acknowledge our number and thus this connection to the partner is like us reconnecting (eg from flight mode). so the data just automatically restored?

but this's just my rant and purely guessing. perhaps someone knowledgeable can share this with us =)
samuraiprincess
post May 21 2016, 11:46 PM

but recently celcom just launch their wonderoam. maybe they have improved or upgraded? now its rm38 per day or rm 138 per wk. sounds really good
kenlui
post May 22 2016, 09:48 AM

2,380 posts

During my last trip to europe in March, I turned off data on my phone, and wasn't charged anything.
stevenlee
post May 22 2016, 10:25 AM

3,158 posts

QUOTE(samuraiprincess @ May 21 2016, 11:46 PM)
but recently celcom just launch their wonderoam. maybe they have improved or upgraded? now its rm38 per day or rm 138 per wk. sounds really good
this service is auto charge even though you din use their international roaming in other country.
as long as you connected to their partner, you will be charge according to their daily rate.

QUOTE(kenlui @ May 22 2016, 09:48 AM)
During my last trip to europe in March, I turned off data on my phone, and wasn't charged anything.
probably that time yet to hv wonderoam package or you not connected to their partner.
if you not connect to their partner, you still able to receive call but not data.
But once connected to their partner, the daily rate RM38 will be charge automatically.
kenlui
post May 22 2016, 10:30 AM

2,380 posts

QUOTE(stevenlee @ May 22 2016, 10:25 AM)
this service is auto charge even though you din use their international roaming in other country.
as long as you connected to their partner, you will be charge according to their daily rate.
probably that time yet to hv wonderoam package or you not connected to their partner.
if you not connect to their partner, you still able to receive call but not data.
But once connected to their partner, the daily rate RM38 will be charge automatically.
that's absurb la. no point using the international roaming then, or perhaps shouldn't connect to their partner at all. I just need the line to receive bank tac smses.
stevenlee
post May 22 2016, 11:26 AM

3,158 posts

QUOTE(kenlui @ May 22 2016, 10:30 AM)
that's absurb la. no point using the international roaming then, or perhaps shouldn't connect to their partner at all. I just need the line to receive bank tac smses.
Maybe you can try double confirm with Celcom..
But this is what I get to know last month when my wife visit Japan..
Ask the CS then share the result here smile.gif
TSadam7979
post May 23 2016, 09:09 AM

26 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ May 15 2016, 07:42 AM)
Speak to the CS for clarification
useless one. my own line, March complained to CFM for full refund, april kena again so lodge another complaint. They dare to use the same excuse again and refuse to give me full refund. Really hopeless. Gonna wait till May's bill come out then i kena them gau gau....
wil-i-am
post May 23 2016, 10:58 PM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(adam7979 @ May 23 2016, 09:09 AM)
useless one. my own line, March complained to CFM for full refund, april kena again so lodge another complaint. They dare to use the same excuse again and refuse to give me full refund. Really hopeless. Gonna wait till May's bill come out then i kena them gau gau....
Escalate d complaint to MCMC
samuraiprincess
post May 24 2016, 12:56 PM

QUOTE(stevenlee @ May 22 2016, 10:25 AM)
in tht case, i better check with the call centre before my trip oh. but if just rm38 per day for unlimited data i am fine.
Wabbittutu
post May 25 2016, 12:29 AM

so if im interested, what should i do to subscribe? like celcom instantly know i need when om overseas? like line detector or once connect to their partner?
Ubipro
post May 26 2016, 08:03 PM

QUOTE(Wabbittutu @ May 25 2016, 12:29 AM)
so if im interested, what should i do to subscribe? like celcom instantly know i need when om overseas? like line detector or once connect to their partner?
i got to know that u have to call customer service to subscribe.
Wabbittutu
post May 26 2016, 09:42 PM

QUOTE(Ubipro @ May 26 2016, 08:03 PM)
i got to know that u have to call customer service to subscribe.
i wonder if this rm38 per day plan also for cambodia...
samuraiprincess
post May 26 2016, 09:50 PM

QUOTE(Wabbittutu @ May 26 2016, 09:42 PM)
i wonder if this rm38 per day plan also for cambodia...
ya its same. not just cambodia, seems that Singapore, Japan and even in Hong Kong and Macao too.
Ubipro
post May 26 2016, 09:55 PM

QUOTE(samuraiprincess @ May 26 2016, 09:50 PM)
ya its same. not just cambodia, seems that Singapore, Japan and even in Hong Kong and Macao too.
they also have a week plan at rm138...
Ubipro
post May 26 2016, 09:55 PM

samuraiprincess
post May 26 2016, 10:03 PM

QUOTE(Ubipro @ May 26 2016, 09:55 PM)
ya if go for long trip then its worth but how often do we go for a week holiday. so the one day for rm38 is most suitable
Wabbittutu
post May 26 2016, 10:22 PM

quite limited countries but gd enough for me

QUOTE(Ubipro @ May 26 2016, 09:55 PM)
tht's b gd if to cambodia and indonesia, cheaper rates hahaha
samuraiprincess
post May 26 2016, 10:30 PM

QUOTE(Wabbittutu @ May 26 2016, 10:22 PM)
i guess there'll expand in time. ya now thailand also more expensive because tourist spot d
Ubipro
post May 26 2016, 10:41 PM

QUOTE(Wabbittutu @ May 26 2016, 10:22 PM)
haha yea we can spend less and enjoy more in cambodia and indonesia. in fact, i like the fact tht celcom is offering wonderoam at rm 38 because i can use this for the first day then can consider on any local telco like traveller sim or something. at least my first day is guaranteed with data.
samuraiprincess
post May 26 2016, 10:47 PM

QUOTE(Ubipro @ May 26 2016, 10:41 PM)
haha yea we can spend less and enjoy more in cambodia and indonesia. in fact, i like the fact tht celcom is offering wonderoam at rm 38 because i can use this for the first day then can consider on any local telco like traveller sim or something. at least my first day is guaranteed with data.
gd plan.. i go backpack myself too and usually first day toughest to find directions..esp to hostel
Ubipro
post May 27 2016, 09:47 AM

QUOTE(samuraiprincess @ May 26 2016, 10:47 PM)
gd plan.. i go backpack myself too and usually first day toughest to find directions..esp to hostel
furthermore the rm 138 is unlimited calls but data limited to 3gb. so for us travellers, rm38 unlimited data more conventional
atrocitines
post Jun 4 2016, 01:03 AM

343 posts

Hi guys,i wanna buy sth in europe using my credit card but unable to complete transaction because i do not have the means to receive the msos code because i use a local sim card. Once i switch back to celcom sim, connect to their partner network and receive the msos code sms, will i be charged?
MilesAndMore
post Jun 4 2016, 01:25 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(atrocitines @ Jun 4 2016, 01:03 AM)
Hi guys,i wanna buy sth in europe using my credit card but unable to complete transaction because i do not have the means to receive the msos code because i use a local sim card. Once i switch back to celcom sim, connect to their partner network and receive the msos code sms, will i be charged?
To receive an SMS while on roaming is free. You will only be charged when you answer a call, make a call or or send an SMS out while on roaming.
kit2
post Jun 4 2016, 08:12 AM

2,292 posts

QUOTE(atrocitines @ Jun 4 2016, 01:03 AM)
you might get a rm38 charge like what many people have complained here.

take an old school 2g phone with you and put your celcom sim card into it?

This post has been edited by kit2: Jun 4 2016, 08:13 AM
capix
post Jun 12 2016, 09:39 AM

467 posts

This sihit happen to me now...they charge me 12day of data roaming. Arguiging almost an hour with the customer service. But they keep saying that based on their data counter, it was quite amout of data usage..but i cant received any of my whatapps etc when i away from my office wifi..

How to have that msg kind of billing check
jychow
post Jun 12 2016, 03:33 PM

1,169 posts

I'm sharing an experience with roaming recently to Thailand. I brought along an old phone and locked it down to 2G only. Making sure that data roaming is off.

I've since returned from the trip for more than a week. No charges or whatsoever as verified on the online customer service portal.

I suspect that the culprit to the roaming data is VOLTE. Voice over lte. Maybe don't let your phone roam on 4g and that may save you hours of grief.

Hope this helps.
royalz
post Jul 19 2016, 09:59 PM

642 posts

i recently called celcom CS to ask about internet roaming... i will be travelling to bangkok..

the CS advise me to connect to network manually and choose non-partner telco so that I wont get charge for data roaming..got such thing?

i just want to receive call and not planning to use data roaming...pls advise
JohnL77
post Jul 20 2016, 08:12 AM

1,887 posts

Why don't you just switch off your SIM when you are overseas?
TSadam7979
post Jul 21 2016, 09:05 AM

26 posts

QUOTE(royalz @ Jul 19 2016, 09:59 PM)
i recently called celcom CS to ask about internet roaming... i will be travelling to bangkok..

the CS advise me to connect to network manually and choose non-partner telco so that I wont get charge for data roaming..got such thing?

i just want to receive call and not planning to use data roaming...pls advise
easiest way: put your sim card into old school phone and you'll be fine
complicated a.k.a. smartphone a.k.a. troublesome way:
1) switch off mobile data (yes, that sounds stupid but just as precaution)
2) switch off data roaming
3) switch mobile network to GSM only
Tigerr
post Jul 28 2016, 08:15 PM

3,033 posts

Me too kena....had argued with the CS n report lodged 3 times after each time they kept insisted they not wrong and the charges remain valid. after the 3rd report only managed to get the 5 days charges waived but I still have the gst charges not waived....talked to the CS about it and he sounds like blur can't understand what I talking about....finally, I gave up...that gst just treat it as my gift to govt
ckyow1
post Jul 28 2016, 08:28 PM

416 posts

QUOTE(Tigerr @ Jul 28 2016, 08:15 PM)
Me too kena....had argued with the CS n report lodged 3 times after each time they kept insisted they not wrong and the charges remain valid. after the 3rd report only managed to get the 5 days charges waived but I still have the gst charges not waived....talked to the CS about it and he sounds like blur can't understand what I talking about....finally, I gave up...that gst just treat it as my gift to govt
Roaming charges is not subject to gst lah... icon_idea.gif
Tigerr
post Jul 28 2016, 08:56 PM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(ckyow1 @ Jul 28 2016, 08:28 PM)
Roaming charges is not subject to gst lah...  icon_idea.gif
just checked my bills...oh yes...the international roaming charges are no gst charges....tongue.gif

all the while the I saw my itemized billing the gst charges got shown amount for usage/call charges with an amount. only need me to go break down what are the call Charles being charged only see those roaming call charges are without gst.
icyblanca
post Aug 1 2016, 03:25 PM

368 posts

this is what i did:

- off data roaming in phone setting
- switch off auto-select network (although inconvenient)
- switch to 2G/GSM only

And.. i didnt incur any data roaming charges...
WongPhan
post Aug 10 2016, 05:16 PM

272 posts

QUOTE(paddylam @ May 8 2016, 01:45 AM)
hahah..so ngam the timing. we all pray so you got time to change your telco and enjoy the good service by Celcom ya.
You working with Celcom?
stormer.lyn
post Aug 27 2016, 10:47 AM

1,132 posts

You know what? This is the typical BS you get in Boleland.

If you use 1 byte oso the telco knows. Call extra 1 second oso they know. They have so much technology at their fingertips. How come telco cannot charge pay-as-u-use rate until it hits RM38, then switch to flat rate? That way if the phone does a sync or something, the user will pay a minimum amount. The reason then, can only be because they want overcharge you and make money.

And then you have CFM la, and MCMC la and SKMM la and what not more alphabet organization. Supposed to protect the user against the telco using their dominant position to skroo us. Do nothing against this promotions and let them skroo us anyway.

If your usage is under RM 38, but the telco charges you RM 38 for it, it is overcharging.

Telco blatantly do it, alphabet organizations do nothing. Semua pun bole
ragk
post Sep 17 2016, 07:10 PM

BooBoo~
2,354 posts

I just came bck from Europe, change my mobile data setting to 2G ONLY, and never turn on mobile data, 1st month is ok, this month i get RM100 on roaming charge...

This post has been edited by ragk: Sep 17 2016, 07:11 PM
ragk
post Sep 17 2016, 07:29 PM

BooBoo~
2,354 posts

Btw TS, what is CFM? I just logged report, but as a bolehland company i think they wont refund to me.
kit2
post Sep 18 2016, 10:24 PM

2,292 posts

QUOTE(ragk @ Sep 17 2016, 07:10 PM)
I just came bck from Europe, change my mobile data setting to 2G ONLY, and never turn on mobile data, 1st month is ok, this month i get RM100 on roaming charge...
always put your malaysian sim into an old school 2g phone when going abroad.
UbuntuClient
post Sep 19 2016, 12:02 PM

1,417 posts

Is there any Celcom ambassador here??
Fazab
post Dec 13 2016, 10:15 PM

519 posts

Kena from Celcom also >RM50 data charges. 100% sure my data connection was switched OFF.

Already logged two complains with them but they insist no refund.

So will try the CFM. At least give them bad name.

If thru this post I can persuade just ONE person to not subscribe to Celcom, game even already.

We are consumers who pay them, we shouldn't have to be burden with things like this. Have to switch off this and that, cannot use 4g what nots. They need to improve, and stop feeding off unethical tactics like this.
cicak.fakir
post Dec 14 2016, 08:38 AM

387 posts

For Celcom

IR ON
IR OFF

Send to 28882. Will take few minutes to process. Keep the sent and confirmation SMS as proof.

Avoid sending at midnight - I sent at 1:03am earlier, and it responded with "failed for now", probably due to system maintenance period.

If still got charges after disabling, you can argue that "IR OFF" per the SMS.

edit:
attachments from "28882 and "Celcom"

TSadam7979
post Dec 20 2016, 04:09 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(Fazab @ Dec 13 2016, 10:15 PM)
Kena from Celcom also >RM50 data charges. 100% sure my data connection was switched OFF.

If thru this post I can persuade just ONE person to not subscribe to Celcom, game even already.

We are consumers who pay them, we shouldn't have to be burden with things like this. Have to switch off this and that, cannot use 4g what nots. They need to improve, and stop feeding off unethical tactics like this.
you're not alone rclxms.gif

anyway i jumped to maxis since the coverage at my house is horrible
TSadam7979
post Dec 20 2016, 04:10 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(cicak.fakir @ Dec 14 2016, 08:38 AM)
For Celcom

IR ON
IR OFF

Send to 28882. Will take few minutes to process. Keep the sent and confirmation SMS as proof.

Avoid sending at midnight - I sent at 1:03am earlier, and it responded with "failed for now", probably due to system maintenance period.

If still got charges after disabling, you can argue that "IR OFF" per the SMS.

edit:
attachments from "28882 and "Celcom"

damn, wish i could this earlier and i can do another experiment and screw them up gao gao....

This post has been edited by adam7979: Dec 20 2016, 04:11 PM
katz79
post Dec 21 2016, 10:18 AM

99 posts

i did send IR OFF at 28882 but the reply is 'You are not subscribed to International Roaming Service'. I'm on celcom basic rm38 plan. Hopefully nothing happen but anyway I'll just buy new sim card when reach singapore next week.
cicak.fakir
post Dec 21 2016, 10:36 AM

387 posts

QUOTE(katz79 @ Dec 21 2016, 10:18 AM)
i did send IR OFF at 28882 but the reply is 'You are not subscribed to International Roaming Service'. I'm on celcom basic rm38 plan. Hopefully nothing happen but anyway I'll just buy new sim card when reach singapore next week.
that means you were never subscriber to it in the first place.

to those with access to OCS,
when you send in "IR ON" or "IR OFF",
you should be able to see that service ticket(s) to modify subscription are actually generated for the requesting number.
cicak.fakir
post Dec 21 2016, 10:40 AM

387 posts

Fazab
post Dec 22 2016, 08:50 AM

519 posts

QUOTE(Fazab @ Dec 13 2016, 10:15 PM)

Update:

After filing a complain with CFM webiste, a week later, Celcom refunded my RM45. thumbup.gif

So they will listen if you keep keep keep pressing the buttons.

So I put on hold porting out to Maxis........

Fazab
post Dec 22 2016, 08:59 AM

519 posts

Incidentally, my phone salesman buddy suggested a partial solution :

Some models of phones have dual SIM slots; one of which will only work on 2G.
e.g. Lenovo etc.

So when overseas, pop the M'sian SIM card into the 2G slot. Can still SMS and receive calls
Then buy a local prepaid and pop it in the 4G slot. Use data on local network.
Or leave empty and survive on Wifi.

Time to change phone......
mamamia
post Dec 23 2016, 05:18 PM

6,429 posts

Whoever using celcom, if u don wan to have shock bill due to unexpected data roaming charges, please call to celcom n ask them to direct u to roaming Team to change ur roaming setting from full roaming to half roaming (mean only voice n SMS, no data roaming), after u subscribe to half roaming, u still can manually SMS to activate if u need data roaming
deadravel
post Jan 13 2017, 11:16 AM

free RAM =wasted RAM
2,763 posts

QUOTE(cicak.fakir @ Dec 21 2016, 10:36 AM)
that means you were never subscriber to it in the first place.

to those with access to OCS,
when you send in "IR ON" or "IR OFF",
you should be able to see that service ticket(s) to modify subscription are actually generated for the requesting number.
i just found out this, i got charged RM38 few times in the pass few months already,
when i call celcom n ask they said auto cahrged whenever connected to prefered network.

just now when i sent IR OFF, its telling me im not subscribed to international roaming.
does thsi means i can complaint n get my refund back? doh.gif
JuneResources
post Jan 13 2017, 02:01 PM

ONE Stop Resources
4,178 posts

QUOTE(UbuntuClient @ Sep 19 2016, 12:02 PM)
Is there any Celcom ambassador here??
There is no Celcom ambassador..
But what I know there is called Celcom biz with monthly commitment RM2...

Refer to there, https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3925329/+1480

I'm also waiting got somebody can assist for this kind of services.
If there is no more this Celcom package, then I won't switch for this telco..

Their system and customer service extremely poor.. can say "First Lousy Telco in Malaysia"..
That why now the celcom postpaid comes with "First" package such as First Blue, First Gold and so on...

This post has been edited by JuneResources: Jan 13 2017, 02:01 PM
cicak.fakir
post Jan 13 2017, 02:55 PM

387 posts

QUOTE(JuneResources @ Jan 13 2017, 02:01 PM)
There is no Celcom ambassador..
But what I know there is called Celcom biz with monthly commitment RM2...

Refer to there, https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3925329/+1480

I'm also waiting got somebody can assist for this kind of services.
If there is no more this Celcom package, then I won't switch for this telco..

Their system and customer service extremely poor.. can say "First Lousy Telco in Malaysia"..
That why now the celcom postpaid comes with "First" package such as First Blue, First Gold and so on...
cannot have your cake and eat it at the same time lorrr

JuneResources
post Jan 13 2017, 03:44 PM

ONE Stop Resources
4,178 posts

QUOTE(cicak.fakir @ Jan 13 2017, 02:55 PM)
cannot have your cake and eat it at the same time lorrr
Ya, I understand this theory... laugh.gif

People are getting greedy if you have poor income..
If a cake cannot eat it at the same time, then never mind lor.. whistling.gif
It's no harm for me or die if I cannot eat cake at the same time too.. cool2.gif

At least I will say "I want that cake, only I can join".
If you cannot get that cake, I'm sorry.. I can't help you~ blush.gif
tauruskong
post May 27 2017, 09:48 AM

76 posts

When to china and hong kong last week so i subcribe to celcom 7 days pass rm138 but i got billed Rm42k lodge a complian will get back to me in 5 days.

westlife
post May 27 2017, 12:47 PM

14,303 posts

QUOTE(tauruskong @ May 27 2017, 09:48 AM)
When to china and hong kong last week so i subcribe to celcom 7 days pass rm138 but i got billed Rm42k lodge a complian will get back to me in 5 days.
Rm42k?!! shocking.gif

That's why I will never use the data roaming service by telco overseas, if I am on postpaid. If it is prepaid, maybe still ok. Too risky as u will not know how much they charge.
shaktiv8
post May 27 2017, 01:26 PM

363 posts

Has your final bill come out yet? My unbilled amount went to 1k when I was using the one day roaming pass.

When the final bill came it was rebated

Can't complain thumbsup.gif

This post has been edited by shaktiv8: May 27 2017, 01:27 PM

KannaSai1
post May 28 2017, 07:25 PM

6,933 posts

They will claim the promotion is valid for celcom partner only. U data roaming wrong partner. So the charges is valid.
tauruskong
post May 29 2017, 04:11 PM

76 posts

Case still not yet close and also no reply
AhRon
post May 29 2017, 04:49 PM

84 posts

The 4G handshake data roaming charge is still there....

If you turn off data roam, but your phone is on 4G network overseas, I am 100% sure you will get billed data roam charge from CELCOM, with NO DATA kilobyte used shown on the bill because it is data for 4G handshake!!

It doesn't happen on my other overseas SIM card when my phone roam into 4G network elsewhere with data roam off.

Celcom knows this and they are milking it, I am sure.
westlife
post May 29 2017, 06:39 PM

14,303 posts

QUOTE(AhRon @ May 29 2017, 04:49 PM)
The 4G handshake data roaming charge is still there....

If you turn off data roam, but your phone is on 4G network overseas, I am 100% sure you will get billed data roam charge from CELCOM, with NO DATA kilobyte used shown on the bill because it is data for 4G handshake!!

It doesn't happen on my other overseas SIM card when my phone roam into 4G network elsewhere with data roam off.

Celcom knows this and they are milking it, I am sure.
U need to ask Celcom to change all auto roaming to 'half' - default auto roaming (voice/SMS) only, with this, no data roaming charge will be charged as Long as data roaming option is off.
AhRon
post Jun 1 2017, 01:15 AM

84 posts

Will try to talk to customer service later today and see they understand the "half" data roaming.

skylinelover
post Jun 13 2017, 02:18 PM

Future Crypto Player😄👊Driver Abamsado😎😎
11,265 posts

Any updates? laugh.gif hmm.gif
rx330
post Jul 25 2017, 03:59 PM

11,811 posts

damn, my wife kena this issue as well
as the data packet was quite a lot, it wasnt a handshake thing
worst part is, at the stated dates, she wasnt in singapore either

and she did not turn on her data roaming at all, any way to void the charges?
Drian
post Sep 27 2017, 05:18 PM

4,999 posts

I think Celcom deliberately not fix this issue so that they can milk more money.

sewe
post Dec 5 2017, 06:09 PM

QUOTE(ThorLim @ Dec 5 2017, 01:11 AM)
any update to this ? would like to hear the results LOL
rm 42k man.... can i see the bill ? haha , i gonna wash my eye for it .
malaysia only celcom has the worldwide roaming as for now, is that right?
i think so, only celcom has more than 155 overseas roaming partner.
btw, is that any misunderstanding ?
rm42k is really a big amount, but didn't heard any new on this issue. hmm.gif

sewe
post Dec 5 2017, 06:15 PM

QUOTE(Tahal @ Dec 5 2017, 04:26 AM)
seriously rm 42K !? how can this happen, should have the new public in newspaper ?
i think they sure will give to clear this la.....not possible to get you pay for rm42k....
rm420 still acceptable with the point.
btw just went to vietnam last week , my bill rm 38 only lol lucky
that's right, i heard their international roaming only cost rm38 per day,
and now they are doing double data promotion.
so it's strange got tis amount.
Faker.ASG
post Dec 6 2017, 07:15 AM

QUOTE(sewe @ Dec 5 2017, 06:15 PM)
that's right, i heard their international roaming only cost rm38 per day,
and now they are doing double data promotion.
so it's strange got tis amount.
What is that... plan or wifi oversea? Double quota seems good. i think its is better to check back the price and term and condition 1st dont you think so?
Faker.ASG
post Dec 6 2017, 07:18 AM

Thats insane... system error? How can it be that much. lets say even u keep calling oversea.. will it charge like RM1000 per day or something... most likely got a bug or something. just call them up and ask them.. or online and ask would also be better.
Hassan ablxy
post Dec 6 2017, 07:37 AM

Now adays... still have so much issue with telco overcharging. and if we keep quite they will call and ask for payment. its not something they will solve within their management only send to us. definitely the bill will be over like crazy... cant spot it?
tauruskong
post Dec 6 2017, 02:58 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(Faker.ASG @ Dec 6 2017, 07:18 AM)
Thats insane... system error? How can it be that much. lets say even u keep calling oversea.. will it charge like RM1000 per day or something... most likely got a bug or something. just call them up and ask them.. or online and ask would also be better.
At last the charge me for Rm4++ but I still need to pay more then what I subcribe (Rm138 + Rm80 Monthly)
KiRa Nura
post Dec 7 2017, 06:56 AM

QUOTE(tauruskong @ Dec 6 2017, 02:58 PM)
At last the charge me for Rm4++ but I still need to pay more then what I subcribe (Rm138 + Rm80 Monthly)
How long were you oversea? If thats the case it is still acceptable. coz i still can see that happening. but you purchase their promotion plan right? why did you not show them that?
viceGem
post Dec 7 2017, 07:01 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(Drian @ Sep 27 2017, 05:18 PM)
I think Celcom deliberately not fix this issue so that they can milk more money.
you should really check with celcom with this issue. my cousin just came back from oversea using celcom plan and taking their promotion for roaming.. no issue and works well.. You might need to check with celcom before you go oversea.. just to confirm.

0.0940sec    0.72    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 05:39 PM