24 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

RPG Chatroom, Chat about RPG's old and new.

TSpanda-man
post Apr 25 2016, 01:56 PM

2,691 posts

QUOTE(greyshadow @ Apr 25 2016, 01:45 PM)
oh, didn't saw the 11AM PT, I tot it's the usual weekend only flash sales tongue.gif
haha. well i bought the psn card. but seems verification taking long time. dunno if its gonna go through or not. they said will email me once update sweat.gif
TSpanda-man
post Apr 25 2016, 02:42 PM

2,691 posts

ok. just bought it. will DL tonight!

its a long weekend so will really grind it out haha.
greyshadow
post Apr 25 2016, 02:57 PM

I bleed it out, Diggin' deeper just to throw it away!
1,844 posts

Can't exactly remember why I didn't played Rouge Galaxy during the PS2 era

I think it gotta do with the difficulty of pirating it that time hmm.gif
SUSweretiger
post May 14 2016, 10:32 AM

FuuSuperuSenioruyuh
1,123 posts

Wild Arm3 launching ps4 may15.... US only
TSpanda-man
post May 16 2016, 02:02 PM

2,691 posts

QUOTE(weretiger @ May 14 2016, 10:32 AM)
Wild Arm3 launching ps4 may15.... US only
still working on rogue galaxy hahah. i dunno why they couldnt do something about the memory card thing.... hahaha
midnight_plue
post Jun 7 2016, 10:40 AM

283 posts

FFXII: Zodiac Age coming next year!

finally we get to see the international releaseeeeeee~~~~~

time to really finish and plat the game ahahaha

World of FF

it's gonna be busy this year end!

wonder when will FFVII Remake shows up eh?

This post has been edited by midnight_plue: Jun 8 2016, 11:22 AM
danger46
post Jun 7 2016, 11:23 AM

123 posts

did anyone here play the latest remastered version of Odin Sphere for PS4? Its a very great game!
greyshadow
post Jun 7 2016, 08:50 PM

1,844 posts

QUOTE(danger46 @ Jun 7 2016, 11:23 AM)
did anyone here play the latest remastered version of Odin Sphere for PS4? Its a very great game!
Got the demo already, haven't started
Too many backlogs, even for demo sweat.gif

greyshadow
post Jun 8 2016, 02:35 PM

1,844 posts

QUOTE(danger46 @ Jun 7 2016, 11:23 AM)
just tried the demo last night, buttery smooth compared to the PS2's framerate problem

thinking since it's a PS2 remastered game, should be cheaper and planning of grabbing it, got a shock when went into PS store and saw the price
bloody hell, they are selling it full price! USD39.90 doh.gif

gonna wait until sales with massive discounts then, or perhaps as part of IGC line up tongue.gif
El-LoboSolitario
post Jun 8 2016, 03:52 PM

90 posts

My All time favorite RPG list goes like this (not in any particular order, whatever i can reminisce):
(1) yes. I like WILD ARMS 1 & 2 ( 2) XENOGEARS
(3) FF VI (yes, only vi for some reasons) (4) Breath of Fire series (I ~ IV)
(5) Pandora Box's ONI series (SNES one)
(6) Tales series (TOPx, TOD, TOD2, TOE, TOR, TOH/R, TOTA; lesser for TOL & TOI)
(7) Star Oceans 1 ~ 3 (8) Shadow Hearts 2
(9) Valkyrie Profiles (10) Saga Frontier
(11) Lufia 2 (12)Seiken Densetsu (secret of mana) 2 & 3
(13) Legend of Dragoon (14) Arc the Lad 1 & 2
(15) Bahamut Lagoon (16) Live a Live
(17) Chrono Trigger (18) Legend of Heroes (VI~VII)
(19) Ys (20) Castlevania SOTN
(21) Alundra (22) Dark Cloud 2
(23) Brave Fencer Musashi

There are more like shining series, legend of legaia etc.. they were decent, some good but somehow I found myself unable to go back to play again after completing... i don't know if I could count Vanillaware's games like Dragon Crown, Muramasa, Odin Sphere as those may have RPG element but I treat them as my favorite action games more so...
Out of all my favorites, I'm dying to see the remake of Xenogears (feel rushed & unfinished, don't care about xenosagas), FFVI, Lufia 2 (hate the DS one), secret of mana 3 and Live a Live!!! And definitely the revival of ONI series! wishful thining i guess...

This post has been edited by El-LoboSolitario: Jun 8 2016, 04:04 PM
Poodlepaddly
post Jun 8 2016, 04:34 PM

82 posts

QUOTE(El-LoboSolitario @ Jun 8 2016, 03:52 PM)
My All time favorite RPG list goes like this (not in any particular order, whatever i can reminisce):
(1) yes. I like WILD ARMS 1 & 2               ( 2) XENOGEARS
(3) FF VI (yes, only vi for some reasons)    (4) Breath of Fire series (I ~ IV)
(5) Pandora Box's ONI series (SNES one)                   
(6) Tales series (TOPx, TOD, TOD2, TOE, TOR, TOH/R, TOTA; lesser for TOL & TOI)
(7) Star Oceans 1 ~ 3                            (8) Shadow Hearts 2
(9) Valkyrie Profiles                                 (10) Saga Frontier
(11) Lufia 2                                             (12)Seiken Densetsu (secret of mana) 2 & 3
(13) Legend of Dragoon                             (14) Arc the Lad 1 & 2
(15) Bahamut Lagoon                                (16) Live a Live
(17) Chrono Trigger                                   (18) Legend of Heroes (VI~VII)
(19) Ys                                                     (20) Castlevania SOTN
(21) Alundra                                            (22) Dark Cloud 2
(23) Brave Fencer Musashi

There are more like shining series, legend of legaia etc.. they were decent, some good but somehow I found myself unable to go back to play again after completing... i don't know if I could count Vanillaware's games like Dragon Crown, Muramasa, Odin Sphere as those may have RPG element but I treat them as my favorite action games more so...
Out of all my favorites, I'm dying to see the remake of Xenogears (feel rushed & unfinished, don't care about xenosagas), FFVI, Lufia 2 (hate the DS one), secret of mana 3 and Live a Live!!! And definitely the revival of ONI series! wishful thining i guess...
Hmm. Very similar list. I replayed Xenogear 3 times. Damn ending was sitting in a chair looking at those texts! The OST by Yasunori Mitsuda was beautiful.

My old nostalgic titles which I completed at least 90-100%
1. Legend of Mana (1 time clear)
2. Arc the Lad 2 (2 time unclear - file corrupt...)
3. Chrono Trigger (1 time clear)
4. Final Fantasy 7, 8, 9, 10, 13, 13-2. (1-2 time clear)
5. Final Fantasy Tactics (4 time clear)
5. Final Fantasy A Realm Reborn/Heavensward (2147 hours clocked)
6. Xenogears (3 time clear)
7. Saga Frontier (never clear)
8. Star Ocean (2 time clear)
9. Chrono Cross (Never finish)
10. Wild Arms (1 time clear)
11. Valkyrie profile ps2 and ps3 (2 time clear)
12. Odin Sphere (1 time clear)
14. Luna (1 time clear)
15. Ni No Kuni Wrath of the White Witch (never finish)
16. Legend of Legaia (1 time clear)
17. Tales of destiny (1 time clear)
18. Breath of fire (never finish)

Top 3 fav - Xenogears, FF A Realm Reborn. Odin Sphere. Nostalgic PS2-3 great titles that will always be great in memory.

Arc the lad. F*king memory card!! sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Poodlepaddly: Jun 8 2016, 04:40 PM
danger46
post Jun 8 2016, 06:07 PM

123 posts

ah Chrono Cross! I miss that game. Hoping a remaster from PSN in the future soon haha.
El-LoboSolitario
post Jun 9 2016, 02:03 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(Poodlepaddly @ Jun 8 2016, 04:34 PM)
Hmm. Very similar list. I replayed Xenogear 3 times. Damn ending was sitting in a chair looking at those texts! The OST by Yasunori Mitsuda was beautiful.

Top 3 fav - Xenogears, FF A Realm Reborn. Odin Sphere. Nostalgic PS2-3 great titles that will always be great in memory.
Yes, indeed, Xenogears music is so nostalgic, it's so powerful that whenever I heard it, I can recall the scenes in game, well, vaguely but that's just how brilliant the music and the story goes for Xenogears!
And Wild arms 1 comes in second!

The only thing to dis for Xenogears was its Disc 2... and it stops at episode V sad.gif ...

TSpanda-man
post Jun 9 2016, 04:54 PM

2,691 posts

QUOTE(El-LoboSolitario @ Jun 9 2016, 02:03 PM)
Yes, indeed, Xenogears music is so nostalgic, it's so powerful that whenever I heard it, I can recall the scenes in game, well, vaguely but that's just how brilliant the music and the story goes for Xenogears!

The only thing to dis for Xenogears was its Disc 2... and it stops at episode V sad.gif ...
wild arms one opening music. with the whistling. ah.... still whistle that even though havent played the game in damn damn long.

never realised the game is 20 years old...

This post has been edited by panda-man: Jun 9 2016, 04:54 PM
Zeliard
post Jun 9 2016, 04:57 PM

285 posts

QUOTE(El-LoboSolitario @ Jun 9 2016, 02:03 PM)

Got xenosaga ma.....

snipersnake
post Jun 10 2016, 09:18 AM

typical abah
2,652 posts

Just bought Rouge Galaxy biggrin.gif

will need to relive the adventure.
El-LoboSolitario
post Jun 10 2016, 09:38 AM

90 posts

QUOTE(Zeliard @ Jun 9 2016, 04:57 PM)
Got xenosaga ma.....
Dude, although it's called spiritual successor by the same team, it ain't no xenogear, that's why spiritual and with only few homage to it but are no relevance to the SE's IP at all... The creators tried too hard but I don't blame them, it's all Square's fault rolleyes.gif and I don't actually play the xsaga series, watchin' my dorm mates in college played them and I found it's just meh...

QUOTE(panda-man @ Jun 9 2016, 04:54 PM)
wild arms one opening music. with the whistling. ah.... still whistle that even though havent played the game in damn damn long.

never realised the game is 20 years old...
Haha, that one, yes! But boomerang & zed's themes are the ones that haunted me most, LOL

This post has been edited by El-LoboSolitario: Jun 10 2016, 09:42 AM
Zeliard
post Jun 10 2016, 09:44 AM

285 posts

The xenosaga series is "supposedly" prior episodes before the events in Xenogears.

Although they didn't specify the period, but it is well speculated it took place many many many years before.

Imagine prometheus, and then Alien.

The gameplay of course is a vast departure to what Xenogear offers.

El-LoboSolitario
post Jun 10 2016, 09:58 AM

90 posts

QUOTE(Zeliard @ Jun 10 2016, 09:44 AM)
The xenosaga series is "supposedly" prior episodes before the events in Xenogears.

Although they didn't specify the period, but it is well speculated it took place many many many years before.

Imagine prometheus, and then Alien.

The gameplay of course is a vast departure to what Xenogear offers.
Yes & No! No relevance at all as far as I understand, just a few homages like Abel etc... there is a detailed analysis and anatomy on plots of Xenogear-Xenosaga series out in somewhere, based on collections of interviews from creators and various team members involvement in the development... they were trying to continue the xenogear but since the IP is held by SE, and after they left the company, they couldn't bring it over to Namco, instead they created the Xenosaga which loosely based on earlier works written for Xenogears... So in a sense to you it's Xenogear universe, but in essense, it's not a xenogear, it's xenosage on its own. So no connection at all, still feeling left out from Xenogears, although some backstories were already told in a rushed way during the long narration of disc 2 ...
shakku
post Jun 10 2016, 12:11 PM

365 posts

Wow seems like everyone here on JPRG bandwagon.

I seems to be more inclined to western rpgs;

Fallout 2
Baldur's Gate
Planescape Torment
Elder scrolls
Dragon age origins
Mass Effect
SW Kotor brows.gif

JRPG memorable enough to make me awe. Recent titles gave it a pass due to grinding and lack of innovation.
Chrono Trigger
Breath of Fire
FF6
FF9
FF12
Tales series
Kingdom Hearts due to Disney and Utada Hikaru

This post has been edited by shakku: Jun 10 2016, 12:12 PM

24 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0214sec    0.41    5 queries    GZIP Disabled