805 Pages « < 45 46 47 48 49 > » Bottom

Car Care & Detailing [V5], Caring for your car apprearance

piercing
post Nov 16 2016, 01:24 PM

Hi all sifus,how to fix this minor sctatch?the car is coated and the detailer told me that he already tried to polish but still cant fully remove....mayb i shld try ezytouchup?

Ps:the car is only 2 weeks old,black mica
FlamingASSH0LE
post Nov 16 2016, 03:23 PM

22 posts

Question: After using rain-x, does your window get a little hazed up, like not completely streak free... it annoys me but i usually just bare with it
douglas_tong
post Nov 16 2016, 03:32 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(FlamingASSH0LE @ Nov 16 2016, 03:23 PM)
Question: After using rain-x, does your window get a little hazed up, like not completely streak free... it annoys me but i usually just bare with it
What are your steps?

1. clean windows
2. Clay (must) or polish windows first whenever needed.
3. Clean with IPA
4. Apply rain-x
5. Let dry till it hazes
6. dry with damp mf clothes.

No streak.
milyk
post Nov 16 2016, 05:34 PM

33 posts

Recently it has been raining a lot. After each time it rains it is inconvenient for me to dry the car. I notice there are water spots. If I were to wash the car weekly, will I be able to remove the water spots before it is permanent on the car paint?
therain01
post Nov 16 2016, 05:36 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(milyk @ Nov 16 2016, 05:34 PM)
Recently it has been raining a lot. After each time it rains it is inconvenient for me to dry the car. I notice there are water spots. If I were to wash the car weekly, will I be able to remove the water spots before it is permanent on the car paint?
Yes very easy to be removed if you get your car wash weekly.
blurcase
post Nov 16 2016, 11:11 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(piercing @ Nov 16 2016, 01:24 PM)

Hi all sifus,how to fix this minor sctatch?the car is coated and the detailer told me that he already tried to polish but still cant fully remove....mayb i shld try ezytouchup?

Ps:the car is only 2 weeks old,black mica
If your car is coated, then the detailer polished the area, the coating is firstly gone in that area, so rightfully they need to reapply the coating in that area.

Secondly, how deep do u think is the scratch? has it gone through that u can see the base primer colour (usually grey)? You can try to assess the depth of the scratch by using your fingernail and lightly "scratch" across the scratch. If it feels very deep that u may need to touchup, otherwise u can try to compound it a few rounds by hand. U can use a microfiber towel and apply a dash of compound then rub on it.

Again, please remember that after u have done coating, any polishing/compounding will most likely remove the coating. So it should be reapplied.
andyfriends
post Nov 17 2016, 09:33 AM

2,326 posts

Im comparing Raget valet and ceramic pro.

which is a better option for coating?
piercing
post Nov 17 2016, 11:36 AM

QUOTE(blurcase @ Nov 16 2016, 11:11 PM)
If your car is coated, then the detailer polished the area, the coating is firstly gone in that area, so rightfully they need to reapply the coating in that area.

Secondly, how deep do u think is the scratch? has it gone through that u can see the base primer colour (usually grey)? You can try to assess the depth of the scratch by using your fingernail and lightly "scratch" across the scratch. If it feels very deep that u may need to touchup, otherwise u can try to compound it a few rounds by hand. U can use a microfiber towel and apply a dash of compound then rub on it.

Again, please remember that after u have done coating, any polishing/compounding will most likely remove the coating. So it should be reapplied.
Thx for ur response, i have no idea where the scratch comes from

When i ask to fix the sctatch (on that day after coating),the detailer told me he had tried to reduced but cant fully remove before applying coating. So the scratch is under the protected coating.

I think its only clearcoat sctatch because when the surface is wet, the scratch is temporarily disappear or hardly noticeable.

Do u think touchup pen like 'fixitpro' can solve this?

Any advice would be appreciated
blurcase
post Nov 17 2016, 01:01 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(piercing @ Nov 17 2016, 11:36 AM)
Thx for ur response, i have no idea where the scratch comes from

When i ask to fix the sctatch (on that day after coating),the detailer told me he had tried to reduced but cant fully remove before applying coating. So the scratch is under the protected coating.

I think its only clearcoat sctatch because when the surface is wet, the scratch is temporarily disappear or hardly noticeable.

Do u think touchup pen like 'fixitpro' can solve this?

Any advice would be appreciated
Hmm, don't think touch up would do much cuz u be just touching up on top of the coating. As the coating wears, the touch up will disappear and the scratch will come back. Perhaps it be best to bring back to detailer to redo that section, else wait a year or two after the coating has worn of to re-detail the car again.
piercing
post Nov 17 2016, 04:46 PM

QUOTE(blurcase @ Nov 17 2016, 01:01 PM)
Hmm, don't think touch up would do much cuz u be just touching up on top of the coating. As the coating wears, the touch up will disappear and the scratch will come back. Perhaps it be best to bring back to detailer to redo that section, else wait a year or two after the coating has worn of to re-detail the car again.
Dont think he ll redo this for me becos he said he had tried his best and this is the best result already dry.gif ...seems like i have to ignore it until i get more scratches

Anyway thx for ur comments smile.gif
FatGrass91
post Nov 17 2016, 09:25 PM

36 posts

Hey guys, any recommended shp in puchong dat can help me wif this dent?? icon_question.gif

Very sadd to see this, kena from Nail on the wall cry.gif
subaru555
post Nov 18 2016, 09:17 AM

102 posts

QUOTE(FatGrass91 @ Nov 17 2016, 09:25 PM)
Hey guys, any recommended shp in puchong dat can help me wif this dent??  icon_question.gif

Very sadd to see this, kena from Nail on the wall  cry.gif
Go visit jerry of PDR in puchong, but bear in mind the price might not be as cheap as you think.
N33d
post Nov 18 2016, 03:04 PM

896 posts

QUOTE(FatGrass91 @ Nov 17 2016, 09:25 PM)
Hey guys, any recommended shp in puchong dat can help me wif this dent??  icon_question.gif

Very sadd to see this, kena from Nail on the wall  cry.gif
prepare rm300 at least laugh.gif
FatGrass91
post Nov 18 2016, 09:08 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(subaru555 @ Nov 18 2016, 09:17 AM)
Go visit jerry of PDR in puchong, but bear in mind the price might not be as cheap as you think.
Oh shiatt cry.gif thanks btw
hueyseng84
post Nov 18 2016, 10:02 PM

880 posts

QUOTE(Jack234 @ Nov 12 2016, 09:41 AM)
Okay thank you very much
May I know when is the year end sales?
milyk
post Nov 19 2016, 05:18 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(therain01 @ Nov 16 2016, 05:36 PM)
Yes very easy to be removed if you get your car wash weekly.
Recently I just realise my roof is leaking. The roof over my car. And it has been raining and there are mineral deposits on my paint. I intend to clay it off the next time I wash my car. Any advice?
gfwong
post Nov 21 2016, 08:49 AM

135 posts

Just for sharing. Hit some road debris on one rainy night and got some scratches. Improved it with Scratch X 2.0.
See here.

I hope people would clear up properly after road accidents especially tow truck guys.

biggie
post Nov 21 2016, 09:18 AM

1,291 posts

two cars for nano coat for the weekend. Too old already to do detailing myself. Happy with the shop, who took the time to explain in detail the process and the materials used. Also quality wise is good from my point of view. They will also do house calls etc. for those who require

douglas_tong
post Nov 21 2016, 11:27 AM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(gfwong @ Nov 21 2016, 08:49 AM)
Just for sharing. Hit some road debris on one rainy night and got some scratches. Improved it with Scratch X 2.0.
See here.

I hope people would clear up properly after road accidents especially tow truck guys.
Ouch, I feel your pain! Seriously I do!

My car got kissed 2 months plus back, the tow car managed to scratch my exhaust and front skirting somehow got dislocated and some scratches from the towing, refuse to be responsible. damn pain my heart.

And just last week a stone cracked my windscreen. Trying to file a claim from plus highway now.

Not to mention I have not been practicing weekly wash. The car now requires a full detailing and it's being driven without any protection.

sherman_h
post Nov 21 2016, 01:49 PM

QUOTE(andyfriends @ Nov 17 2016, 09:33 AM)
Im comparing Raget valet and ceramic pro.

which is a better option for coating?
I have done mine at Regal Valet and they are professional and provide good after sales service. They are always willing to help if you have any issue after the coating.

But bear in mind, actually whatever coating also need maintenance or good taking care even though they provide the 4 or 5 years warranty. I don't think there is any coating can survive permanent. Especially coating can not prevent water spot. This is just my research after done some online browsing. smile.gif

805 Pages « < 45 46 47 48 49 > » Top

0.0628sec    0.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 04:13 AM