Car Care & Detailing [V5], Caring for your car apprearance

blurcase
post May 1 2018, 05:22 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(TOHNO @ May 1 2018, 09:21 AM)
Thanks good mate ! ahh never knew that's how waxing works ...
yeah they offer free membership if you spend RM250 + in a receipt so yep

anyways for a repaint will it be pricey? any recommendations ?
Repaint works do have a variety of prices, so my recommendation is shop around. My own car repainter is based in Setapak, so not sure if that's convenient for u. I also know of one at Taman Wahyu, but only heard ppl say that he's good but personally never tried.

I suggest u ask among your friends and family on car repainters as they are ppl u can trust to give u good recommendations also.

QUOTE(slk @ May 1 2018, 09:26 AM)
Had no issues buying stuff direct them for many years. But few years back we have few "runners" to get products from Hypercoat Singapore which is wayy cheaper than here...... unfortunately runner no longer available sad.gif
Yes, given half the chance I would parallel import many of Meguiars professional line stuff then buy here cuz Hypercoat Malaysia prices can be abit often ridiculous.

Only major problem is when it comes to chemicals, it can get abit troublesome with frieght forwarders and customs as they may not ship or charge very high just to ship them. If u got any suggestions on shipping in chemicals please do share. Thanks. smile.gif
blurcase
post May 1 2018, 11:06 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(carbonfibre @ May 1 2018, 10:41 PM)
Guys where can I find such a set ? For a decent price

What is the preferred wattage and color temperature for detailing usage
Not sure where u can find a set, but I know that u can use camera tripods to mount that floodlight. U will just need to find the right sized nut and bolt and washer, cuz those spotlights have the D handle with some holes that u can use to fit and lock it down. U will need to remove the existing screw from the camera tripod top.

The floodlight u can go to either CIMA lighting or any lighting shop and they should carry. For the tripod, try buying from lelong or lazada, cheap ones should work just fine.

In terms of wattage, my past experience we used 30w works just fine, but u need to place it in an angle and also polish in an angle as u dont want to have the light reflect back to your eyes and damage them. Generally the recommended colour temp is around sunlight range, which is slightly warm white between 4300-4700k, but experiences may vary depending on paint colour also.
blurcase
post May 2 2018, 10:41 AM

418 posts

QUOTE(carbonfibre @ May 2 2018, 04:29 AM)
Thanks for this. Will start looking around then.

Anyways do you guys DIY your own quick detailer sprays ?

I saw some videos from the US that it’s a great and cheaper option than buying an actual product.

But many of those featured products aren’t available. Noticed they use rinseless wash solutions and dilute it down to use on a spray bottle. Was wondering what do you guys recommend if such application is required. Cheers
Personally I dont use quick detailer sprays. I own Meguiars Last Touch and also ONR, but I use Last Touch diluted as clay lube, and ONR I use it as actual rinseless wash.

If u are looking for budget solution to quick detailer sprays, then I think ONR should fit the bill just fine, and its available from a seller in this forum itself. Just search for him in the trade section.

QUOTE(carbonfibre @ May 2 2018, 05:18 AM)
Sorry another question.

Hey guys I’m gonna pick up some compound and polishes for my DIY Project soon. I have a car with oxidized paint, swirl marks and what not. I bought a rotary as well. Since I haven’t bought the compound and polishes.

What are your recommendations ?

My purchase list was :

Menzerna Heavy Cut Compound 400
Menzerna Medium Cut Polish 2800
Menzerna Super Finish Plus 3800
Menzerna Sealing Wax Protection

Do advice !
Hmm, how bad is your level of oxidized paint? Is clearcoat peeling? Depending on the severity of your defect, u may need to have a small selection of 1500-3000 grit sandpaper as well for wetsanding.

My personal go-to has always been Meguiars M105/M205 combo with microfiber pads for cutting and black foam pads for polishing/finishing. However, I use DA polisher machines, and M105 isnt as friendly with rotary because of its quick drying issue.

As I see u seem to be a Menzerna fan, I think nothing wrong with ur purchase list, just as douglas_tong mentioned u will need some pads, wool for heavy cut, foam cut, foam polish and foam finish pads. I would suggest for the foam pads is to buy 2 of each, because halfway through your machine cycle u may need to change the pad to give it a chance to get cleaned and rest.
blurcase
post May 2 2018, 04:06 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(voscar @ May 2 2018, 03:02 PM)
strange, i just applied "sealant" to my car 3 weeks ago. with frequent rain i'm not able to wash car until yesterday. it was so so so dirty with black strips like "tear drops" especially around door handle portion. why is it so? is it the sealant not doing proper job (I expecting rain droplets won't stick to paint surface thus is should be dry and clean even no need car wash).
Can u share what sealant u used and how u applied it?
blurcase
post May 2 2018, 06:13 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(slk @ May 2 2018, 04:45 PM)
I hate M105 because of its dust. Changed to M101 or M100 or D300 or Menzerna FG400. I like D300 the most because of its almost no dust biggrin.gif
I used to hate M105 too due to quick flashing and drying up too soon, especially with rotary. However, after starting to use Kevin Brown's method of spraying abit of water to wet it, it seems much more manageable now.

I also have M100 and M101, but I keep that only for situations of more serious defect removal. I feel their cutting power abit strong for even doing medium level compounding.

QUOTE(voscar @ May 2 2018, 05:31 PM)
using Carplan Mirror Gloss Sealant. After wash car just spray and wipe with sponge...
i did wash through those area during washing car, or need "special" detergent to clean it thoroughly?
Errmm, it's liquid-based synthetic sealant, not traditional wax. it doesn't absorb dust which wax does. i guess something like opti-seal...
but it seems particularly make the car looks dirtier in rain condition..
Perhaps I can suggest trying it again when the car is dry instead of spraying when wet? The results may improve.
blurcase
post May 2 2018, 06:48 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(voscar @ May 2 2018, 06:31 PM)
actually i applied the sealant after drying the car..
the "slickness" still there after i wash the car, but i still don't understand how come the car more dirtier during rainy season. hmm.gif
To be fair, the rainy season has been abit sporadic, so after days of sun and dust, the rain brings the dust in the air down and sticks on our cars.

While in some ways I agree with VeeJay that during rainy season we should wash more regularly, you could still do some additional experiments. One experiment that I can think of is to clay your car before applying your sealant the next round. See if that helps in improving the performance of your sealant.
blurcase
post May 2 2018, 11:25 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(carbonfibre @ May 2 2018, 09:58 PM)
What’s the best sealant out there after doing paint correction ?
Mmm, thats a hard question to answer as everyone would have a different view on what is best. From a durability standpoint, Fusso Coat seems to be a reasonably clear winner.

QUOTE(e_X @ May 2 2018, 11:13 PM)
Hi, what chemical brand they use at the car wash to remove the hard dirt & oil stain
If u are talking about what those roadside car wash use to clean hard dirt and oil stains, if not mistaken they use diesel. However to a professional detailer and also most enthusiasts, that is a big no-no. For oil stain removal u could start with most typical APC, and if needed move to degreasers. For stubborn dirt streaks, commonly ppl use cleaner wax to remove them.
blurcase
post May 3 2018, 12:56 AM

418 posts

QUOTE(e_X @ May 3 2018, 12:43 AM)
They not using diesel, they just usually spray on the rims then blast it with a water jet. I just need the usual brand they use because planning to buy water jet later on.
For rims there are specific products called wheel cleaners, usually either acid or alkaline based, or some are even neutral based. Not sure what shops tend to use, but personally I have used Meguiars Wheel Cleaner (acid based) before during my shop days, and nowadays I use Cartec Wheel Cleaner (alkaline based). But I should set the expectation straight first, as while demonstrations show that u spray on the chemical, let it sit 1-3 mins, then hose off with waterjet and it looks clean, but in reality I find that sometimes some dirt still requires abit of scrubbing.
blurcase
post May 3 2018, 10:27 AM

418 posts

QUOTE(slk @ May 3 2018, 07:29 AM)
Why not go with Menzerna PO203S / Sonax EX04-06 / Osren PC20 with White pad for medium cut?
Well, to be honest I dont fancy the idea of using multiple different types and brands of products, as I may end up confused when facing different cars. Now that I only detail my home cars and no longer doing detailing biz, I prefer to stick to only few products from same brand and change technique to reduce my own confusion.

Thanks for sharing anyway, I may consider other products if the need arises later on. Much appreciated. smile.gif

QUOTE(slk @ May 3 2018, 07:33 AM)
True... That's why i stopped buying wheel cleaners and stick to car shampoo/APC/Degreaser for rims/tyres/wheel wells are they certainly need a bit of agitation to be clean.
Agreed, in fact I'm on my last diluted spray bottle of Cartec Wheel Cleaner, just need to be more hard working when it comes to cleaning rims, results still as clean and good.

QUOTE(slk @ May 3 2018, 07:42 AM)
For practical detailing, on daily drivers, i prefer Meguiar's NXT 2.0 as it has cleaners, darkens the car and does a little bit of filling. Problem is it streaks sometime on black/dark coloured cars, but a little bit of QD can remove it, and durability is a bit poor. Durability wise, i normally spray wax after each wash as it is very easy and fast to apply. If you are lazier, can use spray wax as you dry the car  cool2.gif

But recently i got a chance to try Autogylm's Super Resin Polish (the new formulation)... damnnn nice leh on black!
Wow! Eye-blinding shine! Great work! smile.gif
blurcase
post May 3 2018, 06:16 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(carbonfibre @ May 3 2018, 11:34 AM)
I want a sealant that doesn't cut but gives me a long lasting gloss and shine.. Because the polish i use before that will do all the require cutting..
Mmm, as far as I know sealants and waxes have no cut whatsoever. Polish is commonly the last cut u will get before applying sealants or waxes. Unless u are talking about AIO polish creams.

QUOTE(chaics85 @ May 3 2018, 05:06 PM)
went to a detailing dealer few weeks back and i ask for a paint correction work on my 3yr old jazz. he told me they will only able to do a 20% correction and their reason is doing a 100% swirl free correction will burn the clear coat of the vehicle and was told it is not recommended to do so.

my question is, is it true that correcting the paint will burn our clear coat or paint? i was actually quite surprise only 20% correction can be done.
Assuming the key word the shop used is "BURN CLEARCOAT", then the shop obviously doesnt have the right skills and tools to do paint correction work. With the right technique and most importantly patience, u can get swirl free correction without burning the paint. If these guys are burning clearcoat when doing paint correction, then they are buffing the same spot for too long, which is a noob mistake and shouldnt happen in shops.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cHEpqYGuUHI

So happen Larry AMMONYC was just talking about wetsanding/compounding/polishing topic and using a paint depth gauge to measure. At the late part of the video it shows u how much clearcoat he removed to get a swirl-free shine, and it didnt burn through any clearcoat.

QUOTE(vindroid @ May 3 2018, 05:29 PM)
Claying during car wash does improve without stripping the existing sealent applied.
Hmm, as I know claying generally does remove sealant and wax protections. Unless there are very strong sealants now that are resistant to claying, which I wouldnt know.
blurcase
post May 5 2018, 12:46 AM

418 posts

QUOTE(chaics85 @ May 4 2018, 05:05 PM)
nope. didnt even look at the car. Just quoted me a price and inform they are not able to make it swirl free.  just wanna ask, is the Honda taffeta white clear coated? or its a single stage paint?

i'm from sarawak, cant come out lim teh.  biggrin.gif

was thinking of correcting it myself. gonna get the Osren DA first and slowly learn on the techniques
Well, since the 1980s, most cars already started to have the additional clear-coated. However, one way to tell if a car has clearcoat or not is to do a spot polish. If no clearcoat, then whatever the car colour will transfer onto the pad. The fair guess is most cars today with factory paint have clearcoat, but resprays need to test and confirm. Generally I see taxis dont have clearcoat as they save the cost when the car is resprayed, thats why their paint tend to dull quicker than others.

https://www.best-auto-detailing-tips.com/car-clear-coat.html

If u are picking up a DA to try out machine polishing, may I suggest u also get polish and finishing pads. Considering u mentioned your car is Honda, their clearcoat is abit softer, so sometimes a finishing pad helps to get the swirl free results. Just my 2 sen.

This post has been edited by blurcase: May 5 2018, 12:48 AM
blurcase
post May 8 2018, 02:11 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(lkoky @ May 8 2018, 02:06 PM)
anyone care to recommend a garden hose? with reel preferably.

there are so many options on Lazada or shop; kind of confuse and dont knw which one to get for my car wash regime
Personally I like Claber, because the head has a variety of fittings u can choose from. The aqua stop system is convenient for connecting and disconnecting hose. They also sell entire sets with it.
blurcase
post May 8 2018, 03:00 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(lkoky @ May 8 2018, 02:25 PM)
that is one option. alternatively if u live in klang valley area u can head to either midvalley or ikano power center, ace hardware carries a bigger range of their products.
blurcase
post May 8 2018, 07:18 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(amdhunter @ May 8 2018, 04:47 PM)
thats alot of product u have there bro  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
thinking of osren bubble wax at the moment.

anyone using carpro hydro2 ?
QUOTE(jyane @ May 8 2018, 05:09 PM)
how about reset and ironx snow? anyone has review on it?
Abit off-topic as I have neither used hydro2 not reset or ironx snow. However, I have used ironx and Reload and these are my opinions:

1) IronX - not worth using, nothing to should about and doesnt save your time claying. Better to just clay your car as u get much better results.
2) Reload - good stuff, easy to apply sealant, quite cost effective and fast wipe-on-wipe-off product. Great to use if u are lazy to apply wax.

Feel free to search back my post history as I wrote more extensively on both these products.
blurcase
post May 15 2018, 01:28 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(amdhunter @ May 15 2018, 10:10 AM)
anyone using microfiber cutting disc/foam wool pad for compounding?
I use microfiber cutting pad from Meguiars, aggressive, but very good in leveling paint. Downside is need to clean more regularly than foam pad during detailing session.
blurcase
post May 18 2018, 11:09 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(syaaron @ May 18 2018, 05:01 PM)
Sorry its dark stains to be exact. Cleaner wax like the current one (WAXCO) I'm using will do ?
Any brand polisher you would recommend ?
I see thanks for the tips.
So i need to do polish first , then wax to protect it ?
Mmm, there's a difference between regular wax and cleaner wax. Basically, cleaner wax has very mild abrasives (like polish) meant to remove very very light defects (like your dark stains), and protect it with wax at the same time. Regular wax does not have any abrasives, and serves purely as protection only.

Dont really know WaxCo brand much, apart from seeing it in Jusco. Maybe if u read their product description it may give u a better idea on what u are using.
blurcase
post May 21 2018, 11:14 AM

418 posts

QUOTE(eehs @ May 21 2018, 10:47 AM)
HI all,

I have 4 rust spots like this on my car paint.
What should I do to cover it? Possible with touch up paint ex: http://www.ezytouchup.com/store/ ?

U can try to touchup the paint, but I will be honest first that since rust has started to grow, it will only get worse over time even though the area has been covered with touchup paint. From personal experience, rust can still grow underneath paint once it starts forming. The best action u can do is to send for respray, as the respray shop usually will sand down the rust spots off first before respraying. Just my 2 sen.
blurcase
post May 21 2018, 02:33 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(g88 @ May 21 2018, 01:32 PM)
don't scare him la...that dot of rust won't spread..you think 15 years ago paintwork and antirust paintwork meh..it just that someone the paint got chip off ..simple is wrap a very fine sandpaper e.g 1000-2000 gift (if you worry) to a cotton bud etc...slowly remove the rust and fill it back with some paint (just go to any car paintship ask bit for it, no one going to charge u...if can do few more layers after one another dried up....
Well, as I said, based on my personal experience. Probably I'm not aware that new technologies have developed for the antirust primer coats, but I've seen enough cars that grow rust veins underneath the paint due to rust from paint chips. Of course touchup paint is the budget way to try, and by all means if tried and the rust doesnt come back then good. However, if it does come back, then its still back to the body shop for repaint.
blurcase
post May 21 2018, 10:08 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(g88 @ May 21 2018, 05:27 PM)
don't take my word 'don't scare him la' too heavy as in hammer you...  what i meant is chill...small fix no need with big/multiple step...where 'scarify' the unnecessary

You can see here : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qEhbCgMMYj8 > just dip back the drop...instead of doing this https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1hZ8uDG4NGY  :thumbsup:
I have randomly watched both videos before. Sorry to say but I dont agree with either methods. The idea from first video of squirting a random blob of polish and vigorously rubbing with a cloth like no tomorrow may remove or reduce the rust spot but at the same time create defect at the area surrounding it.

For the second video, as u say small fix no need big multiple step, and the second video is a big multiple step. I would only recommend that to those either dont care about colour outcome or is good with a spraycan.

Like I said in the initial post, he can use touchup paint, but I just share risks that come with it since rust has already formed.
blurcase
post May 22 2018, 07:36 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(jackleeth @ May 22 2018, 04:24 PM)
guys, any good auto detailing shop in KL/selangor areas for recommendation? Want to coat my CX-5
Try Sierra Glow in USJ? Or Glamour Surface in Sri Rampai? These are the 2 that I know apart from those like Regal Valet.

QUOTE(amdhunter @ May 22 2018, 06:35 PM)
do you guys have Carpet & Upholstery Vacuum Cleaner ?
any recommendation? thinking for karcher SE 4001  biggrin.gif
Never used a carpet and upholstery vacuum cleaner before, but before u invest, may I suggest maybe a budget way for interior cleaning? From experience, APC and a few brushes can do wonders to clean the entire interior, just more elbow grease required. Else, an entry level Karcher steam cleaner can also work wonders already.

Just sharing cheaper alternatives, unless u intend to have heavy use of the upholstery vacuum cleaner.

52 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Top

0.5987sec    1.65    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 05:12 PM