Car Care & Detailing [V5], Caring for your car apprearance

blurcase
post Apr 2 2018, 01:09 AM

418 posts

QUOTE(Moshpit94 @ Apr 1 2018, 11:05 PM)
Guys, how do you guys take care of windscreen. Mine punya windscreen bila hujan very blurry one
I bough some spray at tesco and end up it is just stupid sabun.

I also already changed to silicone wiper. I need some sort of cleanser to wash my windscreen ..
I believe the issue u have is contamination that wiper cannot wipe off and washing doesnt wash off. Try claying it and see if it helps. Else, polish it with a cerium oxide based polish cream.

QUOTE(celciuz @ Apr 1 2018, 11:50 PM)
The Meg's polish.. is cerium based like ceriglass?

Side note, want to look for these wax applicator... this came with my Fusso Coat but its really rough, too harsh. Looking for a finer version.

[attachmentid=9705364]
Which Meguiars polish are u referring to? I dont know of any product in Meguiars range that contains cerium oxide.
blurcase
post Apr 2 2018, 05:30 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(Moshpit94 @ Apr 2 2018, 01:16 AM)
Does water wax from car wash help this kind of issue? Yes you guess my issue correctly
Mmm, dont think water wax will help with your issue. Firstly, I personally do not recommend applying car waxes or sealants on windscreens as that may disturb your wiper function when u eventually need it.

Secondly, the wax as part of car wash is usually the weakest form of wax, and usually will disappear between 1-3 rain spells on your car.

I would still recommend try claying your windscreen first. I did it recently on my car's windscreen and it significantly improved the visibility during heavy rain without anything further on top to protect it. If u want to take it a few steps further, then slk's video on clay-polish-coat your windscreen would be a good idea.
blurcase
post Apr 3 2018, 02:45 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(vincent09 @ Apr 2 2018, 08:23 PM)
Just want to know what will guys do with your car after raining ?
My house without car porch just direct to the sky biggrin.gif, do you guys really wash everytime after raining ? Because I less take care my car just try need to learn to take care of it. I got see some is using cleaning water spray and wipe it but just curious that if got dirt before rain I wont dare to do it also.
So what will you guys do after rain ?
Thanks biggrin.gif
Mmm, my house car porch didnt used to have extension, so when it rained the back half of my car would usually get wet and usually more dirty than the front. To be honest, I dont wash the car after it rains each time back then, but I was more diligent to apply wax to protect the car back then. Usually I would apply wax once every 2 months.

Personally I kinda think there is only so much we can do to protect our cars from the elements of our tropical weather. I think if u apply wax regularly, then u should have little worries of rain. Just my 2 sen.

QUOTE(Chyan @ Apr 2 2018, 10:33 PM)
Cleaned with Turtlewax polishing compound (it was under the sun, rain for about 3 months) and then applied with Kiwami white. Previously I was using Soft99 Metalica and that isn't shabby either.

Love the easy application and wet look combined with porcelain-like feeling.

Looks fantastic! Keep up the good work!
blurcase
post Apr 4 2018, 12:22 AM

418 posts

QUOTE(dk999 @ Apr 3 2018, 11:21 PM)
Hi, I'm new at car detailing. Want to get some advise from people here to meet my goals.

I'm using a 10 years old black accord. Never sent for waxing, polishing. Only repainted areas which had accident or chipped paint on hood.
Main goal is prevention of rust formation for metalwork so it can last long, as my previous car had roof rust until holes form.
No looking to get the best looking car, just for damage protection

Currently going a lot of outstation and construction site and it goes dusty fast. So will send to outside car wash to get ride of dirt as normal cleaning only every month or so.

Main concern is the roof seems to have the clear coat removed (got cloudy areas) and my b pillar have a small chip until can see the metal and rust in the area.
How should i proceed to maintain my paintwork? should i respray then put ceramic coat or wax? would it be cost effective?
what would be the estimated cost. Wanting a low cost, low maintenance option to hopefully able to continue protecting for another 5 years at least
Hmm, my personal opinion is it would be a bit difficult to match low cost with low maintenance. Low cost means u require more maintenance time investment.

Washing your car only once a month or longer is not recommended as the existing dirt and grime that bakes under the hot sun would eventually deteriorate your clearcoat to that level u said (cloudy in some areas).

Perhaps I would suggest u invest in the paintwork first. Since ur car already have "dead" clearcoat areas and also rust areas, a respray would be very good start. As part of the paintwork investment, ask your painter to spray strong german clearcoat (the type they typically use in BMW/Mercs). This is much stronger than the Japanese and local clearcoat.

After that, the next step whether to apply ceramic coating or just regular wax is up to u to decide. Ceramic coating has much higher durability but also costs much more one off. Wax costs much lesser but has low durability and u probably have to wax again once every month (considering your job is in construction so I assume your car is parked under sun and rain most of the time).

Cost wise, my apologies but I wouldnt be able to give u much. I am guessing a good respray would cost RM4-5k, and coating would cost between 1-2k. A typical tub of wax cost RM100-200, and lasts pretty long as well. These are just a wide ballpark number.

Once u completed and go into regular car wash, try to increase the frequency of wash to once every 1-2 weeks at least.

Just my 2 sen. smile.gif

This post has been edited by blurcase: Apr 4 2018, 12:23 AM
blurcase
post Apr 6 2018, 11:15 AM

418 posts

QUOTE(vincent09 @ Apr 6 2018, 12:56 AM)
OK I will pm them first, because also need standby the wallet LoL  biggrin.gif
Go to their shop direct and be prepared to blow a hole in ur wallet. biggrin.gif
blurcase
post Apr 6 2018, 11:23 PM

418 posts

Sooo, I had been sick earlier this week and was recovering from flu. I thought of washing my car but saw that weather wasnt great and didnt want to over-exert myself. In the end I decided to try the Optimum No Rinse Wash & Shine (ONR) that I had in my inventory for some time. Followed the mixing methods in youtube, 2 capfuls to 2 gallons of water. 2 towels (1 to dip into ONR bucket for damp wiping the car, 1 to dry the car), and off I went. Just sharing my 2 sen thoughts about the experience:

1) Some videos showed that its recommended to have an additional spray bottle filled with the same diluted ONR to spray and pre-soak the area before damp wiping. I didnt do that as I forgot during prep.

2) During the damp wiping sessions, it is quite a fast process because hard rubbing or scrubbing is not required (and also not recommended), so pretty much its just 1-2 pass per section and its ready for drying.

3) Drying can get tedious if your microfiber drying cloth is thin, because u will need to soak up alot of excess. Good thing my drying cloth is thick.

4) Damp wipe and dried 2 cars in span of 1 hour (1 sedan, 1 small SUV). However, I didnt do the rims, wheel arches and door jambs for both cars.

5) Cleaning power wise, I would say average. ONR cleaning method is only good so long as the dirt u are cleaning does not stick hard to your paint and require scrubbing to remove. If u have bee/bird poop or bug splatter, a soapy solution is probably better.

6) Cleaning risk wise, I would say potentially higher risk than typical soap wash. In our typical soap wash, we have a first pre-rinse with water to remove as much of the bigger chunks of dirt before going in with soap and wash mitt. So ONR's method means I could be dragging some bigger dirt chunks and scratching paint with it. I have seen some videos swear that no new swirls or scratches had been added, so I guess it is just my personal fear-driven theory.

So, would I continue to use this product? Probably yes, but in selected situations only. There are the situations that I think would be generally relevant for ONR use:

1) Residents in high-rise buildings with limited access to water hose and proper wash area

2) If u want a relatively quick body clean because your car kena rain 1-3 times in last few days but rims still look relatively clean

3) If u lazy to break out your typical car wash tools for that day or lazy to do full car washing

4) The dirt on your car is generally light, not heavy or grimy

5) U want fast clean, and not too worried about swirls/scratches (especially white car owners)

Just my 2 sen on ONR. Think there are plenty of sifus here that jumped into that bandwagon much longer than I have, do shere your thoughts and experiences.

blurcase
post Apr 7 2018, 12:33 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(voscar @ Apr 7 2018, 12:07 PM)
Hi Boss, is your Turtlewax Polishing Compound paste-form? How do you apply?
I bought the same and follow their instruction to use "WET" cloth and rub, seems not much help as water stain still there? Are you apply it using WET rag as well?
Erm, generally any polishing cream should be done using a polishing pad of some sort. That is the common practice. Somehow dont think using a wet cloth is the right method to do it.

Also, water stains can be abit more stubborn, so if a polishing cream doesnt remove it, then its time to up the aggressiveness and move to compounding cream (combined with its relevant compounding pad). In Turtle Wax terms, that would be their Rubbing Compound.
blurcase
post Apr 8 2018, 12:43 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(voscar @ Apr 7 2018, 08:53 PM)
Just now try again with hand applicator, spray little water before applying to the surface. It dries so fast and become sticky! I'm having hard time to buff-off, like buffing cement..

Consumed so much time buffing, only managed to try on boot and bonnet surface, other surface I quickly use Soft 99 metaclean and found it cleans better as the applicator turn black as soon as I apply. While Turtle Wax polishing only turn the applicator to light grey-ish..
May I suggest trying Meguiars Ultimate Polish? I believe it is easier to use and also produces quite good results.

QUOTE(amdhunter @ Apr 7 2018, 10:11 PM)
guys,what light temperature use in sunny day?
got the LED pen from osren,but cant spot the swirls in sunny day.
As I know, it should be 4700k. That is the light used for DIY sun guns.

However, spotting swirls under the sun can be tough because the clear sunlight can blind u from seeing defects properly. Try instead to move it into a shaded place and test again with the LED pen u bought.

It may also depend on your car colour. Dark or black colour cars can have better viewing results using a cool white light (6500k), and light or white colour cars can have better viewing results using a warm white light (3500-4000k). There isnt a hard and fast rule to it unfortunately.
blurcase
post Apr 8 2018, 07:34 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(voscar @ Apr 8 2018, 05:41 PM)
Is Meguiar's Ultimate Polish good for hand application? hmm.gif
Meguiars Ultimate Polish is in liquid form, not paste form, so generally okay for hand application.
blurcase
post Apr 9 2018, 04:31 PM

418 posts

Just to update on my experience with Carpro PERL and Reload also. Since my last post before CNY on using these 2 products, PERL still holding strong especially at the plastic trim areas, while Reload pretty much gone. Since it is quite easy to apply, will probably reapply it again in the next car wash.

This post has been edited by blurcase: Apr 9 2018, 04:32 PM
blurcase
post Apr 10 2018, 09:05 AM

418 posts

QUOTE(vincent09 @ Apr 9 2018, 11:37 PM)
Is it need to trim those plastic & rubber area after car wash ? By the way if the plastic & rubber area coated is it can direct use spray wax direct cover it or actually those plastic & rubber area coated is using those black trim product that is call coated ?
Specifically after car wash, I dont think need to reapply anything. Plastic and rubber trim I only apply protection like how I apply wax, once every few months.

Not sure what coating u are mentioning, but I think Any waxes should test on small trim spot first. As far as I know liquid and paste wax tend to leave white marks on trim when it dries and quite annoying to remove.

QUOTE(therain01 @ Apr 10 2018, 01:30 AM)
This is what happen when people don't take care of their leather seat in just 1 year time.
Hahaha, black leather cant see dirt generally, so ppl ignore. Try imagine those that have cream leather seats. smile.gif
blurcase
post Apr 16 2018, 10:11 AM

418 posts

QUOTE(amdhunter @ Apr 16 2018, 09:56 AM)
sorry guys,have to dig out old topic.
have you found your solution bro? i have this problem too,same car same color  cry.gif
Wow, surprised u managed to dig that far back.

Usually if u still have marring after using polishing pad and polish cream, then try using even softer pad like finishing pad with the same polish cream. In Meguiars pad line up that would be the black pad, in Lake country CCS pad lineup it would be also black pad.

Also, another option is setting lower DA speed, lighter pressure and less passes (and also less liquid on pad). These are some of the viariables to experiment with to get a marring free finish.
blurcase
post Apr 16 2018, 10:27 AM

418 posts

QUOTE(amdhunter @ Apr 16 2018, 10:20 AM)
stress already keep getting this problem,so have to dig more  sweat.gif 
i have the blackpad from osren. finish with rotary + black pad osren + UC = same
i try using DA + white force disc + UC = same
DA + white disc + Perfect 20 = same

cry.gif  cry.gif
UC as in Meguiars Ultimate Compound? That is still aggressive. White force disc pad is also in polishing range, not finishing range.

Try using the softest pad with Perfect 20, and go slow and no pressure, just guide and glide the machine.
blurcase
post Apr 16 2018, 10:36 AM

418 posts

QUOTE(amdhunter @ Apr 16 2018, 10:30 AM)
sorry,its UP,ultimate polish  shakehead.gif  shakehead.gif
so u suggest that i get the black pad force disc (DA) ?
Yes, either the black flat foam pad, or force disc, or ccs pad. All 3 from osren are finishing pads. Sometimes for very soft clearcoats (like local clearcoats), polish pads can still be abit stiff when it comes to finishing.

Personally I tend to go from cutting pad to finishing pad straight and skip the polish pad when dealing for softer clearcoats. Maybe others can share a different opinion?
blurcase
post Apr 16 2018, 12:07 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(linkin182 @ Apr 16 2018, 11:50 AM)
Strange, I more often skip the cutting pad (Burgundy Pads) unless I have a deep scratch.
More than often the Polishing Pad would work and jump onto the finishing pad.

Any tips for clear coat touch ups?
What about stone chips on bonnets (repaint jer?)?
Think whether to skip cutting or polishing often depends on the type and depth of defect we're dealing with. Also, personally I go for cutting because I find it helps to level the clearcoat abit more and give it a better shine when finishing.

Mmm, I had used the touchup stuff from Autospa touchup paint before. It works decent enough that once cured and dry, one glance often cant see the defect anymore. However, dont expect it to blend in perfect like sprayed paint. If your defects are major or like u have maybe more than 20 stone chips, probably be better to just send for respray, maybe applying a strong German clearcoat along with it to reduce future stone chips.
blurcase
post Apr 16 2018, 06:52 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(amdhunter @ Apr 16 2018, 02:11 PM)
orite. i guess i need to buy that black pad DA from osren.
waiting for others before proceed with the purchase  biggrin.gif

anyways,where you guys usually buy da pads?
Since I only use Meguiars pads these days, I buy them via autogeek US. Inclusive shipping and tax still cheaper than here.
blurcase
post Apr 16 2018, 11:22 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(amdhunter @ Apr 16 2018, 07:27 PM)
i asked meguiars thru fb,cost about RM93 for 5" DA pad and RM110 for 6" DA pad.  cry.gif  cry.gif
Yup, its more expensive locally, almost double the price compared to buying from US.

QUOTE(slk @ Apr 16 2018, 07:41 PM)
how much was urs? got mine at RM59.50 each for the 5 inch DA pads from ebay
I got mine 3-pack for USD30, if include shipping divided along with other stuff, it probably cost me RM50 roughly. They also have a 6-pack offer, which is even more value for money.

https://www.autogeek.net/meguiars-5-inch-da...-discs-3pk.html

However, I do have to say first I dont ship direct from autogeek because their overseas shipping policy is USD100 and above only, and they use expensive shipping services. I have a freight forwarder service that charge me cheap and count by actual weight instead of volumetric weight, thats how I saved quite abit. The key is to keep the total price below RM500 to hopefully avoid getting taxed by customs dept.

QUOTE(vincent09 @ Apr 16 2018, 08:28 PM)
Just want to know when my car door get scratch by bang to rough wall, just a tiny scratch and can feel the rough surface on paint, so now I plan to put a rubber protector on that area, is it I need to wax it before put or just can leave it after car wash and direct put the protector until future want to fix it at detailing shop ? Paint is coated so I no dare & no technic to polish it now.
From your description, I think u are describing the edges of your car door, correct? I think u can just put on the rubber protector straight and leave it there. Just to be fair it may leave some mild stain on the rubber edges after some time, but nothing that some polish cant remove. Considering the priority is to protect the edges from future banging the wall when opening door, so some mild stains shouldnt be a big issue.
blurcase
post Apr 17 2018, 11:12 AM

418 posts

QUOTE(amdhunter @ Apr 17 2018, 07:49 AM)
wow,very cheap  thumbup.gif
lets do group buy  laugh.gif
Lol, have to remember that group buy also cannot go above RM500, else customs will check and tax. Tax for polishing pads (categorized under cleaning sponges) is 20-30% from what I remember. Kena before once, puke blood.

QUOTE(slk @ Apr 17 2018, 10:49 AM)
thats cheap... can recommend the forwarder?  biggrin.gif
The forwarder company is called Aramex, u need to visit their consumer website:

https://www.shopandship.com/en/home

Registration do need to pay though, I cant remember how much it is. But from my experience because they charge shipping rates based on actual weight vs volumetric weight, in the end definitely save much more than the membership fees also. And membership fee is 1 time pay only.
blurcase
post Apr 17 2018, 02:01 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(amdhunter @ Apr 17 2018, 11:36 AM)
thats high  doh.gif
osren just reply my inquiry,RM53 for the black pad DA low profile
Sounds like a good deal, worth trying. smile.gif

QUOTE(slk @ Apr 17 2018, 01:35 PM)
thanks!. i think registration is required to get your own "US address"
Yes, u will get address to many countries, so if u regularly order from different countries, its good value. Just remember there is a one-off membership price. Can PM me if u need and clarification on their services. smile.gif
blurcase
post Apr 19 2018, 12:12 AM

418 posts

QUOTE(michlove @ Apr 18 2018, 02:51 PM)
perhaps this question has been asked my many times but I can't seem to search for it... I just bought a white car and I'm wondering if I should do coating? Would be glad to hear some of your thoughts. Thanks.
Mmm, I have a friend that did coating for his white Myvi before using Osren coating. Works quite well, makes it easy to wash the car. However, being that its a white car, it will always look dirty very quickly, that's not something u can avoid.

QUOTE(amdhunter @ Apr 18 2018, 03:33 PM)
Check it out , OEM Lake Country

anyone try before this oem pad ?
While I have not tried this pad specifically, I have ordered similar "OEM" CCS pads from china before, and frankly speaking they are rubbish. I ordered compound and polish pad, came both pads different colour but same hardness and roughness. What's worse is original Lake Country pads always make their pads slightly bigger than the backing plate, but these china made ones cut them slightly smaller than the backing plate, which makes them extremely high risk to use.

My personal opinion is either go for good brand of pads, or go for pads from suppliers that have tested out themselves and know that its good enough to sell. Guys like Osren are a good bet.

QUOTE(jianwei87 @ Apr 18 2018, 10:14 PM)
Guy anywhere can recommend to retouch this button

[attachmentid=9741354]
If u are talking about retouch up by yourself, unfortunately I wouldnt know. However, I know a place that does interior restoration, and they could restore the button for u.

https://www.facebook.com/carzoneinterior/

52 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Top

0.0907sec    0.74    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 08:50 AM