Car Care & Detailing [V5], Caring for your car apprearance

blurcase
post Jun 5 2018, 11:20 AM

418 posts

QUOTE(happyhaka @ Jun 5 2018, 11:08 AM)
Great advice. I think in general getting it washed one every two/three weeks is standard depending on the weather.

From what they said? It’s 5 years warranty against loss of hydrophobic effect, watermarks, and stains. Should a panel be damaged it would also be reapplied to the affected part.

Sounds decent?
Erm, the reapplication requires payment or FOC? Often when it comes to car accidents, entire panels are changed.
blurcase
post Jun 5 2018, 05:05 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(douglas_tong @ Jun 5 2018, 04:37 PM)
after coating ka?

best to wash weekly.

if rain that week, wash it more often.
if lazy,take the car out for a spin to have the water droplets blown off the car. will slightly reduce watermarks visibility.
Never use tap water and flush without drying it. watermarks will be worst.
Maybe an alternative to spinning the car around to blow off the water droplets is to have a leaf blower handy? Just a thought.
blurcase
post Jun 5 2018, 08:04 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(VeeJay @ Jun 5 2018, 05:12 PM)
lol..probably vacuum blower would do.  blink.gif

ANyways, I have many of my friends and relatives who had done coating, sad to say none of them are happy after 6mths, a year....for the price they could have easily maintained some other ways.

I may be biased, since I DIY, but I feel its just a waste of money.
That's sad to hear. For me personally I've only done my own coating application after polish, after over a year still beading nicely, only issue is watermarks as I mentioned earlier. Guess it is expected also since my wife drives the coated car to work and regularly parks her car outside both office and home.

Guess for us who DIY, coating may be abit of an excessive cost. However, there are daily drivers that also like to see their car clean and shine, so often detailing shops target them via their marketing.
blurcase
post Jun 6 2018, 01:37 AM

418 posts

QUOTE(voscar @ Jun 5 2018, 11:00 PM)
damn, I think a mistake of applying sealant to my cars. the surface was slick and smooth and could've causes wild cat to use maximum "paw power" to crawl my cars. both cars saw deep scratches few days after i apply sealant (different occasion).
Mmm, dont think u did a mistake there. Application of sealant or wax is meant to be slick so that it protects your car from weather and environment conditions. However, cat wanting to climb onto your car to sleep on is not something the sealant/wax can protect from unfortunately, just like it also cannot protect from other ppl ding your car door when they open their car door. Perhaps to try reduce the chance of cat coming to your place to climb on your car is to either have some plants or spray something that smells something cats dont like.
blurcase
post Jun 7 2018, 09:09 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(vindroid @ Jun 7 2018, 06:10 PM)
Anyone can suggest where can buy flat fan nozzle hand pump sprayer
Look up douglas_tong, he posted this video some time back:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6RYu2EEvR0k

He can hook u up if interested on this sprayer. smile.gif
blurcase
post Jun 10 2018, 07:46 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(tkh_1001 @ Jun 10 2018, 11:17 AM)
a newbie question here. any other method to maintain the car outlook if not coating? polishing 6 months once?
Think polishing intervals is always subject to car condition. If u have good washing and protection application (wax/sealant) discipline, u may not require to polish for up to even some years.

Maintaining a car's outlook is never about applying something and expect it to defeat the weather all the time without any maintenance. A car cannot clean itself (despite whatever the coating shops say). U will still need to regularly wash it. If u are hardworking enough or disciplined enough to regularly wash your car (once a week or 2 weeks), and maybe apply wax/sealant once every 2-3 months (depending on your wax/sealant durability), then coating probably isnt necessary.
blurcase
post Jun 10 2018, 10:32 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(tkh_1001 @ Jun 10 2018, 09:24 PM)
That means i just need to regularly wash my car like once a week and then send the car for waxing frequently yea?

Is coating very expensive?
Think shop coating easily charge RM1000 and above, and each shop have their own terms and conditions and warranty periods.
blurcase
post Jun 11 2018, 05:41 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(danielcmugen @ Jun 11 2018, 03:51 PM)
Any recommended product to clean matte black wheels?

So far i just use water. Doesnt seem to clean well, the black looks a little brownish now. Is regular car shampoo alright?

If possible, I also wanna give it a bit of shine. Some say it's ok to just apply some tyre shine on it, but some say it's gonna peel off the paint.

Any suggestions?
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QOLYh6xZCVM

Not an expert on matte surfaces or plastidip surfaces, but from this video and some others, it seems that dish washing soap works pretty good, so I suspect regular car wash shampoo should be okay too. This is just my assumption, if ur rims are plastidip, then best ask the shop that did your plastidip for advice.
blurcase
post Jun 12 2018, 04:44 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(amdhunter @ Jun 12 2018, 08:28 AM)
guys,need your input on clay bar & clay mitt? which one you guys prefer?
Just to add to douglas_tong's comment, for clay mitt/cloth, the ideal way to store when not in use is in a water container. Last time we used to store 4-5 clay cloths in 1 round plastic cookies container filled with water, that way the rubbery surface wont dry up or stick to each other.

From a preference standpoint, personally I have gotten used to and like using claybar because when it comes to plastic bag test and claying repetition, once I know how many sides of the claybar I require to use to clean (spot test), then I can repeat the process throughout most of the car with minimal amount of further doing plastic bag test. Example is, few months ago I clayed my car (hasnt been maintained over a year), and it took me 4 clean claybar sides to get it to silky smooth surface. Just yesterday I clayed my car again, and it only required 2 clean claybar sides to get it to silky smooth surface.

The other advantage I get is I purchased Meguiars Professional Detailing Clay (Red/Aggressive). I cut this claybar into 4 pieces, and it can last me a very long time.

This post has been edited by blurcase: Jun 12 2018, 04:45 PM
blurcase
post Jun 12 2018, 11:51 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(amdhunter @ Jun 12 2018, 10:29 PM)
rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
how much you bought the meguairs clay bar?
I ordered it from Autogeek US. If include shipping divided out, I paid rought RM150 for it. Personally I think its value for money because it can be used for a very long time for me.
blurcase
post Jun 14 2018, 03:13 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(g88 @ Jun 14 2018, 02:44 PM)
you newbie ex-sifu ?  ohmy.gif  biggrin.gif ...

1. Any car shampoo will do - washing and drying method is the concern.
2. Yes for sure, can even wax and polish
3. Cannot. Brightener is acidic bases.
I dont think its right to say that u can polish after coating application unless u want to remove the coating. Polishing contains abrasives that will shave the coating.

This post has been edited by blurcase: Jun 14 2018, 03:14 PM
blurcase
post Jun 15 2018, 12:39 PM

418 posts

Ok, just wanna share something I discovered today.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7IozvwgAgBU
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E9NP0_nF2ak

The cleaning product, I'm not too convinced. It sounds like a fairly abrasive substance, but process wise doesnt sound that different from wetsanding. In my personal mind and opinion, spraying on a hazy surface perhaps doesnt make as much sense for me as well, as after wetsanding I can also polish it back to clarity prior to spraying.

However, the 2nd product, which is a headlight coating, is the interesting bit. I think on the last discussion we all had regarding ChrisFix's headlight restoration method, the main issue is finding that specific UV-resistant clear spray paint can locally. On top of that, based on the 2nd video (and more importantly its comments below), it seems that ChrisFix's method actually isnt as lasting as we would hope for.

This second product, Meguiars Headlight Coating, if I were to understand it correctly from the demo video, is actually a clear spray paint aerosol can as well. That's why in the demo video they covered the sides of the car paint with newspapers to prevent overspray. The more interesting bit is that this product is made by a big detailing company, so I believe it can be easily found locally.

For anyone keen to restore their headlights or have tried this product kit, please share your review or comments about it. Thanks.
blurcase
post Jun 15 2018, 11:43 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(slk @ Jun 15 2018, 10:20 PM)
this is easier to use as you wont get overspray.
https://www.facebook.com/22ple/videos/86985...kyODM0MTg2NTcx/
Wow, that's a new product, and very interesting indeed. Will probably check out more reviews and see if the durability is as good. Thanks for sharing! smile.gif
blurcase
post Jun 18 2018, 04:14 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(Theeban @ Jun 18 2018, 11:19 AM)
Hi guyz,where can i buy sealant and what brand do you guys suggest.tq
My recommendation: Carpro Reload. U can try their 100ml bottle for RM38 first and see if u like it.

To buy: http://cquartz.com.my/

QUOTE(PaperClips @ Jun 18 2018, 11:23 AM)
Best place to do coating for honda city ?
Erm, maybe can share where u from then ppl can give recommendation based on your location or nearby area?

QUOTE(RichardN @ Jun 18 2018, 11:40 AM)
Hi I have been searching for some liquid spray kind. I dunno what you guys called it, but I saw at the car detailing place that the guys spray on the car and using soft brush (like for kids painting brush) it will clean out some black contamination near the BADGES, headlamps, tail lamps.

Anyone can advice?

Besides, anyone can advice what item do i need to buy to take care of white car? especially prevent it turning yellowish.

Also, taking care of the windscreen from having contamination causing mark at where the wiper blade don't reach
From your description of the task done, the liquid spray doesnt sound anything special but instead would probably be some APC or dish washing soap. I believe APC is the common product used for spraying areas like badges and agitated with a soft bristle brush (most small and soft paintbrush should work fine). When they spray and agitate, is there foam created?

For white car based on the frequent discussions in this thread in the recent months, it is commonly agreed that regular wash regime is most important. Also, regular application of some type of protection such as sealant or wax is equally important.
blurcase
post Jun 18 2018, 07:24 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(RichardN @ Jun 18 2018, 04:44 PM)
No, don't have foam but can see the liquid turns into black color and drooling down. I was wondering is it rubbing liquid? If it is, any recommendation?

What is sealant? what does it do?

I saw u recommended car pro products, which I also saw on youtube. Those 500ml sealant can last how many time application? and use it after every wash? Quite costly.

Besides, I check out the site u gave, then dun have the TR.IX which was shown on the youtube (carguru something)
Hmm, I have not heard of rubbing liquid of any form before, only rubbing compound but that is basically an aggressive polish cream. If there was no foam when agitated, there is a possibility its diesel, as that is the only other type of chemical I know that some detailing shops like to use to clean out dirty streaks that cant be removed via regular washing. However, I dont think it is advisable to use diesel based on reading some other forums.

https://www.lenosgarage.com/blogs/news/wax-...re-a-difference
https://adamspolishes.com.au/blogs/news/pai...-sealant-vs-wax

From Adam Polishes:
The 3 categories for paint protection:

Wax- Car waxes can come in the form of liquids or hard pastes. Each feature a specific ratio of naturally-occurring wax as the main ingredient. Waxes are intended to protect the paint and/or increase the depth of gloss. They usually offer that signature wet look shine and are usually easy to apply and remove. Traditional waxes will diminish through repeated washes and exposure to the elements. Car waxes usually provide protection for 1-4 months depending on their composition, quality and contents. Some hard paste waxes on average last longer than liquid waxes as the carnauba wax ratio is higher in paste waxes.

Sealant- Paint sealants are liquids that contain manmade polymers, resins and synthetics to increase their durability and longevity of protection. Paint sealants offer an easy application processes and offer a extremely tight molecular barrier to a paint surface for increased bonding capability and structure.

Coating- A paint protection product that contains man-made or synthetic protection ingredients. They bond to the paint to both provide a barrier of protection as well as create a clear, high gloss finish. The products available in this category are considered “permanent” coatings because they cannot be removed unless you remove them via abrasion (polishing) or you neglect them.

As for the Carpro Reload, I must apologize that I wouldnt know how many applications u can use for a 500ml bottle, but my guessing estimate is u may be able to apply it about 10 times or more depending on your car size. Considering a sealant durability is longer than wax (sealant about 3-6 months), 500ml bottle should last 1 car about 2-3 years roughly. It is not meant to be used after every wash.

Any product that is under Carpro banner but u dont see in Cquartz Malaysia, u just need to text or call the number provided in the website. Cquartz Malaysia website isnt very updated, but I have been to their office before and they carry a bigger range than what their website shows.
blurcase
post Jun 19 2018, 12:55 AM

418 posts

QUOTE(Axile @ Jun 18 2018, 11:53 PM)
Hi sifu, anyone can advise how to fix key scratches? Do I use sand paper then polish and compound?
Erm, it depends on the depth of the key scratch. Usually key scratches are abit too deep to sand/compound/polish. U can try that method on a small spot and see if the scratch line is removed, however I would have to say not to have too high hopes on it. Alternatively is to touchup paint and clearcoat if your paint colour is from factory. After touchup then u can try sand/compound/polish to even it out.
blurcase
post Jun 19 2018, 11:09 AM

418 posts

QUOTE(IMBeta305 @ Jun 19 2018, 08:10 AM)
Where can I find a 3M claybar? or can you guys recommend me a claybar to get?
Lazada sellers are selling fakes apparently
Hmm, genuine 3M claybar is quite hard to find, if u can find it at all. The only safe places to find are probably from US websites, even then many of them wont carry.

https://www.amazon.com/38070-Perfect-III-Cl...y/dp/B000TT4FVW

If not mistaken, this should be how the actual 3M claybar looks like in terms of packaging.

Perhaps u can consider off the shelf Meguiars claybar, or can buy from Osren also.

QUOTE(RichardN @ Jun 19 2018, 10:06 AM)
I am planning to do ceramic coating, can I use the sealant after I done ceramic coating?

Besides, I heard that the ceramic coating hydrophobic will wear off after 1-2years, any good recommendation to reapply hydrophobic agent for later?
Whether or not u can apply something on top of your coating, u will need to consult the detailing shop that u doing with or coating manufacturer. As I know many would say not recommended to apply, however u can also experiment if u want.

Usually the coating manufacturer would have a package for u to use to maintain your coating, which includes a form of coating-friendly cleansing wash and hydrophobic agent topup.
blurcase
post Jun 20 2018, 11:20 AM

418 posts

QUOTE(GeekinE90 @ Jun 20 2018, 10:44 AM)
Good find.  Thanks for sharing.  Description does sound like Carpro Reload and is about RM50 cheaper per bottle smile.gif

Genrally there are 2 types of coatings.  Ceramic based and SiO2 based.  Ceramic is more durable in general while SiO2 gives better clarity (i.e. glass like shine). 

Coat friendly detailer sprays also have SiO2 based or ceramic based.  Carpro Reload is a good choice for SiO2 detailer spray (about 5% SiO2 content) which can be applied about once a month to maintain the shine and slickness of surface.

For ceramic coats, you can try ceramic based detailer spray like Feynlab detailer spray.  There are not many ceramic based detailer sprays (with ceramic content).  It's quite an amazing product in terms of slickness and wet oily look shine.  The hydrophobic qualities of this spray is also extremely good. 

Hmm, is it just me or that 500ml bottle looked more like a 50-100ml spray bottle? I can see the 500ml label there, but that bottle itself definitely dont look 500ml.
blurcase
post Jun 20 2018, 07:48 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(greyshadow @ Jun 20 2018, 02:44 PM)
My local CeramicPro shop says need 3 days for the silver package, for my MPV
need that long meh?  I thought only need one whole day? hmm.gif
My guess is they are doing a proper job. Defect removal alone (washing, claying, compounding, polishing) should take a day if require to be done properly. 2nd day may spill over if first day not yet finish, then on to coating. 3rd day is purely curing process before collection.
blurcase
post Jun 21 2018, 05:41 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(N33d @ Jun 21 2018, 02:35 PM)
just bought myself a carpro perl.. after a year of hesitation (due to too many products LOL). the below happening motivated me to look for new trim dressing to test

one sad thing occurred to me recently is my myvi radio antenna rod cracked!
well taken care of... i usually coat it with car wax or trim dressing but what destined to fail will fail ultimately.
Surface, everything is still shinny and new which is the testimony of my effort. Structurally, it gave up as the plastic become so brittle that it become power even some light knocking on it
Hmm, not sure what type of plastic/rubber combo that is used to insulate the myvi antenna, but my guess is eventually when the rubber dries and harden, it will become brittle and break. Perhaps a rubber specific lube could keep it working, but apart from tyre gels, not sure if other products do the same.

QUOTE(DaBai89 @ Jun 21 2018, 03:52 PM)
Hi all sifus
A few questions to ask for silica coating maintenance

1. Can meguairs deep crystal top coat used for maintenance? Or meg quik detailer better? For any application of protection on top of your coating, u should refer to the shop that did your coating, because they give u warranty and should know their product better.

2. Can i clay bar a silica coated surface ? Will the claybar strip the coat? (Correct claybar technique used) Claying may not strip the coating outright, but it will scratch and damage the coating surface. Personally not recommended, regardless of technique used.

3. Meg gold class vs nxt car wash, which one better for silica coated surfaces? As in more lub and stronger cleaning abilities. Personally I prefer stronger cleaning abilities, and I dont think NXT soap is aggressive enough to damage your coating. After all, we dilute it in a wash bucket anyways.

Tq all sifus.
Some of my personal 2 sen answers. smile.gif

52 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Top

0.2242sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 08:59 PM