805 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Bottom

Car Care & Detailing [V5], Caring for your car apprearance

windskill
post Jul 26 2016, 04:09 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(douglas_tong @ Jul 26 2016, 11:20 AM)
This is the first time i hear someone polishing till clear coat is gone by hand...hmmm. a lot of strength was put into the paint?
Yeap i was thinking the same thing too. Really surprise me.

QUOTE(lifeless_creature @ Jul 26 2016, 11:44 AM)
certain honda city are with single coating, meaning paint+clear coat were mixed as 1 layer...not traditional 2 layers, paint + clear coat..and its not even across the surface..that's what I heard earlier..

the compound u used earlier could be too abrasive for your paint condition, therefore the loss of 'gloss' is happening there. Luckily urs is silver? the condition is not that obvious...

if u go wif the touch-up paint route, lucky, u can cover the area and make it looks like original again, unlucky, it will look worse because even if the color code is the same, when it is applied on our car it may look different than our existing paint due to various reasons.

Alternatively, u can go wif non-abrasive polish and coat wif wax to "lighten" it up and make it less noticeable...which I think u shud try this way, as its more practical and cost effective, and less risky too compared to the above smile.gif
Hmm interesting. So that means they don't really care whether clearcoat will be on top of the paint?
lifeless_creature
post Jul 26 2016, 07:43 PM

The Kid
1,219 posts

QUOTE(windskill @ Jul 26 2016, 04:09 PM)
Yeap i was thinking the same thing too. Really surprise me.
Hmm interesting. So that means they don't really care whether clearcoat will be on top of the paint?
well, we cannot be 100% sure, whether its mixed layer, or uneven spraying, or a soft clear coat or any other reasons, unless there is a chemical tests done on it.

anyway, this is not the first case i have seen...just saying what i observed...but there are official reports says certain car makers coatings are softer, certain ones are harder.
Sanity
post Jul 26 2016, 08:01 PM

289 posts

QUOTE(douglas_tong @ Jul 26 2016, 11:20 AM)
This is the first time i hear someone polishing till clear coat is gone by hand...hmmm. a lot of strength was put into the paint?
Yea a lot of str was used as I have never used Meguiar Scratch X 2.0 before or had any knowledge of the consequences of using this product. Newbie here. It started off with a deep scratch. The product is performing well to minimise the scratch but i overdone it.

The car is the latest civic. Kinda sad but oh well....

Thx again to those who have advised me!
derail
post Jul 26 2016, 08:21 PM

76 posts

I can't find the normal cotton pads I used to buy anymore. Is there a local retailer for hand polishing pads like these?
http://www.autogeek.net/ccs-foam-hand-applicators.html
http://www.cleanyourcar.co.uk/accessories/...or/prod_280.htm
Osren sells Lake country pads but I think they don't do shipping.

derail
post Jul 26 2016, 08:29 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(Sanity @ Jul 26 2016, 08:01 PM)
Yea a lot of str was used as I have never used Meguiar Scratch X 2.0 before or had any knowledge of the consequences of using this product. Newbie here. It started off with a deep scratch. The product is performing well to minimise the scratch but i overdone it.

The car is the latest civic. Kinda sad but oh well....
Thx again to those who have advised me!
How did you apply the scratchx 2.0? Its less abrasive compared to ultimate compound and you shouldn't normally be able to rub through the clearcoat.
Sanity
post Jul 26 2016, 11:57 PM

289 posts

QUOTE(derail @ Jul 26 2016, 08:29 PM)
How did you apply the scratchx 2.0? Its less abrasive compared to ultimate compound and you shouldn't normally be able to rub through the clearcoat.
I used meguiar's applicator pad and just rubbed on the scratch.
linkin182
post Jul 27 2016, 07:47 AM

283 posts

QUOTE(Sanity @ Jul 26 2016, 11:57 PM)
Scratch X wo, you must've applied the compound with great pressure!
Its not the pressure that will fix your scratch la.. cry.gif cry.gif
gfwong
post Jul 27 2016, 09:36 AM

135 posts

QUOTE(derail @ Jul 26 2016, 08:29 PM)
Agreed. ScratchX is less abrasive than Ultimate Compound (UC). Furthermore UC is considered very safe for hand and machine.
See comparison in Meg online http://www.meguiarsonline.com/forums/showt...4bG2O4HfDoLB.97

Very sakit hati cry.gif Could it just be hazing (rougher finishing) due to compounding/cutting effect from ScratchX and not actually clearcoat gone? It is hard to tell from the picture. If it is just hazing, you will need to follow up with a finer finishing polish like Ultimate Polish. You will need to be your own judge here. How hard did you scrub and for how long (time) did you scrub with the applicator pad? If it is not to hard and just for a short time, most probably it's hazing. But if you have a deep scratch and rub like there is no tomorrow, then maybe clearcoat koyak. Maybe other sifus can help to advise.

This post has been edited by gfwong: Jul 27 2016, 09:40 AM
douglas_tong
post Jul 27 2016, 10:54 AM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

just wondering if you clayed it before polishing it?
there are chances that hazing might occur if you did not first clay it.
Sanity
post Jul 27 2016, 10:56 AM

289 posts

QUOTE(linkin182 @ Jul 27 2016, 07:47 AM)
Scratch X wo, you must've applied the compound with great pressure!
Its not the pressure that will fix your scratch la.. cry.gif  cry.gif
Undeniable cry.gif
Sanity
post Jul 27 2016, 11:02 AM

289 posts

QUOTE(gfwong @ Jul 27 2016, 09:36 AM)
Agreed. ScratchX is less abrasive than Ultimate Compound (UC). Furthermore UC is considered very safe for hand and machine.
See comparison in Meg online http://www.meguiarsonline.com/forums/showt...4bG2O4HfDoLB.97
Very sakit hati  cry.gif Could it just be hazing (rougher finishing) due to compounding/cutting effect from ScratchX and not actually clearcoat gone? It is hard to tell from the picture. If it is just hazing, you will need to follow up with a finer finishing polish like Ultimate Polish. You will need to be your own judge here. How hard did you scrub and for how long (time) did you scrub with the applicator pad? If it is not to hard and just for a short time, most probably it's hazing. But if you have a deep scratch and rub like there is no tomorrow, then maybe clearcoat koyak. Maybe other sifus can help to advise.
I would say rub like no tomorrow...if you see closely at the pic...there is a black dot which is a scratch...it was wider before i rub. I was happy that scratch X can minimise the scratch but it was too late when I realised that some clearcoat may have already gone. =(

QUOTE(douglas_tong @ Jul 27 2016, 10:54 AM)
just wondering if you clayed it before polishing it?
there are chances that hazing might occur if you did not first clay it.
Just got the car for three weeks and have gone for the car wash twice. Dun think I need to clay it right? I did wipe the area b4 I apply Scratch X.

Anyway, maybe I will drop by car paint shop soon and see wad is there advice.

This post has been edited by Sanity: Jul 27 2016, 11:04 AM
nkx0313
post Jul 27 2016, 12:37 PM

Hi everyone smile.gif, I was browsing on this threads for some car detailing products directions, but can't find it or missed it.

May I know if anyone tried before Sonax Polymer Net Shield? I wanna ask if it would be able to put on top of another layer of protection? Or strip everything off (eg. IPA/Eraser) then apply?

Sanity
post Jul 27 2016, 01:47 PM

289 posts

Just visited the paint shop. Only thing to do now is re-spray as the clear coat is confirmed gone.

If I leave it there, paint shop advised the colour will just become darker and would not rust. Can be done now or sometime in the future I suppose.
linkin182
post Jul 27 2016, 02:24 PM

283 posts

QUOTE(Sanity @ Jul 27 2016, 01:47 PM)
Just visited the paint shop. Only thing to do now is re-spray as the clear coat is confirmed gone.

If I leave it there, paint shop advised the colour will just become darker and would not rust. Can be done now or sometime in the future I suppose.
This is Honda SC or just any paint shop outside?
I would say shouldn't leave it unprotected in this kinda Malaysian weather.
Sanity
post Jul 27 2016, 03:19 PM

289 posts

QUOTE(linkin182 @ Jul 27 2016, 02:24 PM)
This is Honda SC or just any paint shop outside?
I would say shouldn't leave it unprotected in this kinda Malaysian weather.
Honda authorised paint shop. Thx for your advice.
gfwong
post Jul 27 2016, 04:39 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(nkx0313 @ Jul 27 2016, 12:37 PM)
Hi everyone smile.gif, I was browsing on this threads for some car detailing products directions, but can't find it or missed it.

May I know if anyone tried before Sonax Polymer Net Shield? I wanna ask if it would be able to put on top of another layer of protection? Or strip everything off (eg. IPA/Eraser) then apply?
I have never used this before. After searching the internet, this is some kind of an aerosol type sealant. Since it is not a coating, I don't think stripping the paint is absolutely necessary. You might want to see the comment section of this link: http://www.detailedimage.com/Ask-a-Pro/pro...mer-net-shield/

And since we are talking about stripping and IPA, I found 2 useful articles from Mike Phillips. I am sorry if this had been shared before.

To strip or not to strip: http://www.autogeekonline.net/forum/hot-to...nt-bonding.html
IPA dilution: http://www.autogeekonline.net/forum/hot-to...on-results.html

This post has been edited by gfwong: Jul 27 2016, 04:40 PM
frozen7
post Jul 27 2016, 05:20 PM

176 posts

QUOTE(gfwong @ Jul 27 2016, 04:39 PM)
I have never used this before. After searching the internet, this is some kind of an aerosol type sealant. Since it is not a coating, I don't think stripping the paint is absolutely necessary. You might want to see the comment section of this link: http://www.detailedimage.com/Ask-a-Pro/pro...mer-net-shield/

And since we are talking about stripping and IPA, I found 2 useful articles from Mike Phillips. I am sorry if this had been shared before.

To strip or not to strip: http://www.autogeekonline.net/forum/hot-to...nt-bonding.html
So to use IPA or not to use IPA? biggrin.gif
Too many opinions here and there, wonder which way to follow better.

gfwong
post Jul 27 2016, 07:40 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(frozen7 @ Jul 27 2016, 05:20 PM)
So to use IPA or not to use IPA? biggrin.gif
Too many opinions here and there, wonder which way to follow better.
To use IPA or not to use IPA? That is the question. Haha.
I'd follow Mike's suggestion.
To inspect defect removal - IPA to strip
For coating - IPA to strip
Sealant & wax - no IPA unless stated by manufacturer

E.g.
Duragloss 601 + 105/ 501. As recommended by manufacturer, no need to strip
Autoglym SRP + EGP. No need to strip and from my personal experience good durability without stripping.
Dodo Juice Lime Prime or Autoglym SRP + Finish Kare 1000P, a lot of people reported good results and durability without stripping.
Meg UP + Ultimate Wax, from my personal experience good durability without stripping.

This post has been edited by gfwong: Jul 27 2016, 09:09 PM
nkx0313
post Jul 27 2016, 09:00 PM

QUOTE(gfwong @ Jul 27 2016, 04:39 PM)

Thanks a lot, after reading the links, it clears up my doubt. Will try to apply Sonax PNS this weekend. smile.gif

This post has been edited by nkx0313: Jul 27 2016, 09:01 PM
derail
post Jul 28 2016, 04:59 PM

76 posts

Strange. I've used ultimate compound with the yellow applicator pads and it still takes some effort to remove water spots by hand.
This video shows how to remove a scratch using sandpaper, meguiars polishes.

805 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Top

0.0319sec    0.32    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 11:37 PM