Car Care & Detailing [V5], Caring for your car apprearance

linkin182
post Feb 10 2017, 10:43 AM

283 posts

QUOTE(facktura @ Feb 9 2017, 08:23 PM)
i wanna know how frequent to go for polishing? 6 months period is advisable?

i usually went to this carwash in sunway, forget the name. but they use meguiare product for waxing last time.
Once a month, being white and all sad.gif I know its a little too much
linkin182
post Mar 9 2017, 10:59 AM

283 posts

QUOTE(deadgriever @ Mar 9 2017, 10:23 AM)
Hi guys..Im new to car detailing. Hoping to get some guide here. Recently bought few items to start.

1. Waxco Car Wash & Shine
2. Meguiar's Compuound
3. Meguiar's Polish
4. Meguiar's Quik Wax
5. Fusso Coat Wax
6. Some cheap MF cloth + drying cloth
7. Cheap foam polisher pad from ebay + grinder/drill adapter 4"
8. Bosch grinder with adjustable speed

I've started polishing with item 7 & 8, however i found it hard to control the heat & motion due to grinder RPM (slowest 2.8k RPM). Might be due to the cheap pad. Im not sure.

So i planned to add either a Rotary or a DA machine. I have a budget around RM600.
Need recommendation on type & brand of machine. Thanks biggrin.gif
Wah lao, new to detailing straight jump to rotary!
You have meg quik wax you may not need fusso wax? or the other way round?

The guys would recommend Osren DA biggrin.gif
linkin182
post Mar 9 2017, 01:10 PM

283 posts

QUOTE(deadgriever @ Mar 9 2017, 11:50 AM)
Meg quik wax = if not much time to do detailing i use this
Fusso wax = great durability + water beading, poor shine, i use this during rainy season or balik kampung ( trunk road / felda road / no hiway at all )
thanks to all for the advice. why nobody recommend rotary? is it too dangerous for newbie?  tongue.gif
hehe I dunno but I DIY, I have this mentality of going the safest route.
I have bought the Megs DA Power Tool and have been practicing on the technique of sponge contact / pressure / angle of attack etc..
So still learning kerb but I believe I'm ready for a step up to a proper DA so can't give you any sound advice smile.gif

Better wait Windskill or Douglas_Tong whom are the thread expert to advice bah biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by linkin182: Mar 9 2017, 01:11 PM
linkin182
post Mar 10 2017, 07:08 AM

283 posts

QUOTE(frozen7 @ Mar 9 2017, 03:55 PM)
Hi, may I know how is the Megs DA Power Tool performance? Thought to get one but what holding me back is worrying lack of torque. I have a Bosch GEX 125 E btw.
I think the Bosch would outperform the Megs DA Power Tool. The difference I noticed when working upon this tool is for paint correction/polish, it MUST be a wired/corded Drill.
You need that extra muscle to remove and correct in order for the DA Power Tool to work properly. Other than that, with a cordless drill it is a great waxing tool.

I've read some forums suggesting that the Bosch GEX is the better option compared to the DA Power Tool, reason being I believe the GEX has a 5mm throw compared
to the MEGs DA Power Tool which I believe was rated at 4mm throw but I believe that 1mm wouldn't matter.

Another thing is, I'm not sure how long the power cord is for the GEX but the reach of the DA Power Tool is dependent on your drills power cord length so experience may vary.

Perhaps I'll list down the pros and cons with my experience on the DA Power Tool.

Pros:-
- Great for beginners (even at max speed, you will never burn your paint)
- Great waxing tool with a cordless drill (for me, 1 battery pack per car. Once it reaches the last panel there it goes)
- Flexible (allows you to tilt and adjust your angle of attack)
- Advertised to work as it was supposed to
- Quick spot correction tool

Cons:-
- With small pads as option, it takes time to polish an entire car
- Again with small pads, compounds/polish often cake up very quickly (cleaning the pads in between correction is more often)
- Reach of this DA is dependent on your drills power cord
- Waste of effort if you plan to do correction using a cordless drill (it must be a corded drill)

This post has been edited by linkin182: Mar 10 2017, 07:11 AM
linkin182
post Mar 10 2017, 11:23 AM

283 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Mar 10 2017, 11:10 AM)
Ooh interesting biggrin.gif then get DA Power Tool biggrin.gif
linkin182
post Mar 10 2017, 01:29 PM

283 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Mar 10 2017, 11:25 AM)
i think get proper osren style DA. biggrin.gif  the megs one, very clumsy using it with a power drill.. sweat.gif
Oh I thought comparing to Bosch and Meg ma. Yeah true that. Proper Osren DA would be the option.
linkin182
post Mar 30 2017, 11:29 AM

283 posts

QUOTE(dark-venus @ Mar 30 2017, 11:13 AM)
wanna check with all sifu..any nice shop to recommend nearby kepong area ? wanna polish my car...
Kepong? Osren! haha
linkin182
post Apr 19 2017, 07:20 AM

283 posts

QUOTE(clickNsnap @ Apr 18 2017, 10:11 PM)
You are right! It took me almost 9 hours to complete the tasks by hands smile.gif ... wash>clay>wash>sealant (using GP clay & polymer sealant), the claying part took about 6 hours - my white car was super dirty, i am quite please the end result, but some scratches and marks were not removed, i did not do the compounding and scratches fixing.

Since my car worth only RM20+k, I decided to DIY myself and save some money, the GP clay, sealant, a few pcs of MF & wax cloth...cost me less than RM70.

I will follow gfwong's advise apply spray wax (Turtle express shine) after each car wash, hope this keep up the car well smile.gif

1st pix: before and after claying (left side with clayjng)
2nd pix: end result...
Add 10k into the car value rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
Awesome shine and great pics!
linkin182
post Apr 27 2017, 10:21 AM

283 posts

QUOTE(yshiuan @ Apr 27 2017, 09:15 AM)
Try find Perma Glass (PG) quick detailer kit. Inside gt clay bar n a clay bar, around rm45
Yeah, that is by far the only off the shelve product we can find.
All the claybars rembat by ghost. Seriously, cannot find it.
linkin182
post Apr 27 2017, 06:01 PM

283 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Apr 27 2017, 04:43 PM)
why not get from osren? their clay bar is not expensive and good
Would be nice if we could buy online like Megs Direct whistling.gif whistling.gif whistling.gif whistling.gif

linkin182
post Apr 28 2017, 10:18 AM

283 posts

QUOTE(windskill @ Apr 28 2017, 08:20 AM)
Yea probably can suggest to Henry about this haha.
But anyway I think you can send them an email and you can still place your order online through email. It's not straightforward but they still read your email smile.gif
thumbsup.gif I did just that haha biggrin.gif hopefully I'll get a reply
linkin182
post May 2 2017, 07:42 AM

283 posts

QUOTE(gfwong @ Apr 30 2017, 11:07 PM)
Update on Synthetic Waxes Durability Test Update: Week 2

This is a quick update on the initial post.

Note: Just for sharing and results are subjective based on personal observations.
Correct me if I'm wrong, Water Beading = Paint Protection? blink.gif
linkin182
post May 2 2017, 08:29 AM

283 posts

QUOTE(gfwong @ May 2 2017, 08:14 AM)
I doubt the "wax" in the Meg Ultimate Wash & Wax is significant enough to do anything. I did a test on the wash before. See here. Even if it does, should it not "enhance" Meg Ultimate Paste Wax? Since they are both from the same range.
Not a straight forward answer but let me share what I think. Please bear with me.

If water beads up it shows that the surface is hydrophobic and because of the surface tension of water, it will not "wet" the surface and beads up. The general idea of a hydrophobic surface is that dirty liquid will not "wet" and smear all over the surface. But if those water droplets are left to stay till to dry (and with some dirt encapsulated in them), there could potentially be water mark. So I read.

IMHO sealants protects the paint by being a sacrificial barrier. It prevents dirt from sticking directly onto the paint. Be it hydrophobic or slick. So a slick surface that sheets away water and dirt is as good as a surface that beads water. It is just that a surface that beads water gives a Wow effect. And this is where the marketing gimmick works, I guess  smile.gif
Great write up! It makes sense in your reply. Though I can't comment on other wax particularly Soft 99 (as it showed fantastic water beading), what I could only comment was on Meguiars products (Sorry not a Megs fan boy, just that it was what I started with and still having left overs sweat.gif).

For me, I've been using the Ultimate Quick Wax and the Ultimate Liquid Wax products and I must say that the water beading doesn't last long (as observed) however the water sheeting is excellent for a good 2 weeks for the UQW and a good 1 month of ULW.
linkin182
post May 5 2017, 10:14 AM

283 posts

QUOTE(gfwong @ May 5 2017, 07:53 AM)
Okay, side track a bit. I frequently get this yellow roti canai dahl spots on my car. Now I know. They are bee poop!

https://youtu.be/rTDw7PJBSbM
So thats what it is. Wah, 33 replies. This tered been very active lately. Welcome back everyone! rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
linkin182
post May 5 2017, 06:57 PM

283 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ May 5 2017, 06:21 PM)
Pad cant dry under sun? Normally u guys wash with warm water? Can i put my pad into washer maching anyway?
Depends! If its my Waxing Pad, I'll rinse it with Warm water first!
Mine is meg ultimate compound and polish, so I dunno. It looked like its non oil based, so I chuck it in tongue.gif

So yes! I chuck my pads (DA & Hand) into my washing machine biggrin.gif

Mine is front load! can set temperature too!

QUOTE(gfwong @ May 5 2017, 06:54 PM)
Lol! Side track again. Someone managed to capture a bee pooping
https://youtu.be/njtnGFHtrhc
da faq blink.gif be poop again?
linkin182
post May 9 2017, 10:12 AM

283 posts

QUOTE(holoman @ May 9 2017, 09:33 AM)
what is the best way to clean up dark spot / watermark at white car ?
normal car shampoo wont wipe them out
meguiars white wax will do ?
You need a DA bro. I have done both by hand and by DA Power Tool.
With Hand, you will get the scuff off the water marks but it wont fully remove it (you may still find water etches).
With the DA, it'll give you a better cut/finish.

I recommend using the Burgundy/Cutting (Hard) Pads.

I'm also using Meguiars White Wax.
The good thing about White Wax I noticed is you can do more passes before the polish becomes dry.
Maybe because its an oil based AIO (All in one) polish.

With other Polishes, after 1-2 pass the polish tends to "cake" and you'll have to buff and re-apply new polish to the pad.

This post has been edited by linkin182: May 9 2017, 10:13 AM
linkin182
post May 12 2017, 07:40 AM

283 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ May 12 2017, 12:52 AM)
Hello guys I have a question - does anyone know how to get those Lexus interior smell? damn they smell so nice. Wonder what kind of perfume/liquid is being used?
Buy a Lexus rclxs0.gif

Take it easy yo, just a joke. Can't resist biggrin.gif
linkin182
post Jul 3 2017, 09:17 AM

283 posts

QUOTE(Waliuuu @ Jul 2 2017, 04:33 PM)
Dear sifus,

Due to my laziness in patiently detailing my car, i often skip the waxing part until recently. Alot of rain/ watermarks that sticks to my car paint after ONE heavy rain, I get rid of them by polishing. Now I think my clear coat is almost gone lol.. My car parks under a tree sometimes and I keep getting tree saps that is super hard to remove, picture attached below. Is there any product that can let me coat my car?? Or I'm left with frequent waxing? Currently using paste wax. If I were to wax my car regularly, is there any liquid wax that is good and saves time?
Recently picked this up:-

Great in removing bug/tar/tree saps. There are other brands that offer such functionality as well.

The photo doesn't look like the clear coat is gone. Example of a gone clear coat would be something like this:-

linkin182
post Jul 7 2017, 03:45 PM

283 posts

QUOTE(Clicko220 @ Jul 7 2017, 02:45 PM)
What is the best lightning to detect water marks? Sometimes I see sometimes I don't lol. And what is the best car care to remove that? Clay bar after washing will do?
Clay Bar > Polish > Compound in that order depending on how deep the watermark is.
linkin182
post Jul 11 2017, 10:27 AM

283 posts

QUOTE(Razaelx @ Jul 10 2017, 08:42 PM)
Hi all,

Any.suggestions on where I could get this repair and roughly how much will it cost.

Thank you [attachmentid=8955683]
Ouch! that looked like it kissed the pillar.

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0633sec    0.17    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 01:47 AM