Car Care & Detailing [V5], Caring for your car apprearance

linkin182
post Mar 20 2016, 12:55 PM

283 posts

QUOTE(Tech26 @ Mar 19 2016, 11:23 PM)
Damn it.. My car just 1 week didn't wash ( White ).. Just now evening washing and notice the front hood the dirt mark / water mark below side mirror was unable to wash away ady.. Shit.. Is it any way to remove the mark other than using polish machine?? Polish by hand is possible?? White car is indeed not easy to maintain huh...
Polish itself have cleaning capabilities, you don't have to use a machine to have the cleaning effect. Most often polishes in the market are designed to be hand applied instead.

White cars are prone to baked dirt on the clear coat which gives that rather yellow/grey stain (if parked under the sun).

Recommend a Polish n wax method to help prolong that white shine. White cars have to wash regularly.

This post has been edited by linkin182: Mar 20 2016, 12:56 PM
linkin182
post Mar 21 2016, 01:11 PM

283 posts

QUOTE(Axile @ Mar 21 2016, 11:50 AM)
Anyone purchase their items from Hypercoat before? Is their price offered cheaper than ACE hardware?
I've purchased stuff from Meguiarsdirect.com.my before if thats what you're asking?
Never tried Motormad as they have limited selection.
It is cheaper than ACE Hardware if thats what you mean.

Tip - Depending on what you're planning to buy, at times buying from Amazon + shipping is cheaper than both these sites (look out for deals!)
linkin182
post Mar 24 2016, 02:46 PM

283 posts

QUOTE(alxlimcg @ Mar 24 2016, 02:07 PM)
Alright. Thanks for the info.
As for the rims. Its Alloy.
Polish would suffice for your body panel.
For the rims, nothing much you can do but a refurb.
linkin182
post May 3 2016, 11:12 AM

283 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ May 1 2016, 09:51 PM)
Is it worth while to invest in a RM200++ polisher / waxing machine?
Most would recommend a Dual Action Polisher. Would make you save enormous chunk of time.

linkin182
post May 5 2016, 10:55 AM

283 posts

QUOTE(Axile @ May 5 2016, 09:13 AM)
Yeah, I think it was mentioned before in past threads that Soft99 (the blue tin I suppose?) is the most abrasive.
If you have a DA Polisher, you can correct this with other milder correctors like Megs SwirlX and/or Ultimate Compound (its still not as abrasive as Soft99).

Swirl X itself however is very mild and may require a few application. You can skip polishing after this if you like as I typically wax my car after this process.

Had a similar results with Soft99 in the past, didn't use it ever since (unless for small correction spots).
linkin182
post May 5 2016, 10:56 AM

283 posts

QUOTE(douglas_tong @ May 3 2016, 05:43 PM)
you can get from :
aikka.com.my - 600++
antirain.com (ryobi) - ??
Osren.com (dap8/dap15) 750/950
Aikka looks tempting yo sad.gif

This post has been edited by linkin182: May 5 2016, 10:57 AM
linkin182
post May 5 2016, 01:46 PM

283 posts

QUOTE(douglas_tong @ May 5 2016, 01:03 PM)
based on the design, it seems like a older model. Currently i'm using osren's dap15 da polisher. Love it.
it has a larger throw of 15mm and vibration is not as bad as others.
Plan to get a rupes bigfoot next year if permissible.
Saw one similar to Rupes Bigfoot called Clover from Ali Express.
Currently going for US $138.65 total price including shipping.

Anybody have a similar one?
linkin182
post May 9 2016, 07:09 AM

283 posts

QUOTE(Axile @ May 7 2016, 08:22 PM)
Thx for your advice! Meaning after clay you will normally proceed with waxing?
Haha no thats not what I meant.

I dont clay all the time per se depending on situation but no harm in claying all the time if you want smile.gif

If I find bird poo or tree saps then I usually clay but not all the time. A simple rinse with water or car shampoo would be sufficient.

Sorry if I may sound like a Meguiars fan boy but I'm not! biggrin.gif Its just that I started with these set of products

Ocassionally:-
Wash + clay (optional) + Swirl X / Ultimate Polish + Ultimate Liquid Wax

Usually:-
Wash + White Wax (Has Polishing + Waxing agent All In One)

This post has been edited by linkin182: May 9 2016, 07:10 AM
linkin182
post Jun 23 2016, 09:02 AM

283 posts

Wow, still can apply voucher code?
Want to top up my MEGs supply but cannot seem to be able to apply any codes?
linkin182
post Jun 23 2016, 10:39 AM

283 posts

QUOTE(douglas_tong @ Jun 23 2016, 09:49 AM)
Wait till buka puasa tonight. Then use the same code of buka30. Alternatively search in lalalaxx.com

Compare the prices with meguiarsdirect.com.my first, ongoing 20% discount. I only find this paint protect worth buying from lazada at the moment, rest is still expensive
Yeah I did, wanna buy Wash & Wax and planning to top up my UQW.
But Megs Direct out of stock blink.gif

Both out of stock bye.gif bye.gif bye.gif
linkin182
post Jul 1 2016, 01:15 PM

283 posts

QUOTE(gfwong @ Jul 1 2016, 10:42 AM)
If you are looking for UQW, get this instead. It's the same thing and goes by the gallon. Cheaper if compare price/volume.
http://www.lazada.com.my/meguiars-dyntheti...on-9225769.html
Does it need to be mixed? like part 1 cup Synthetic X-Press and 4 cups water?
I bought liao, so..maybe in the future.

This post has been edited by linkin182: Jul 1 2016, 01:15 PM
linkin182
post Jul 11 2016, 07:38 AM

283 posts

QUOTE(Waliuuu @ Jul 10 2016, 10:57 PM)

Clay: By using a clay bar and warm water as lubricant, wipe the clay over all surfaces to pull out dirt which aren't trapped by the microfiber cloth. After claying, dry the car completely and start polishing.

Thanks in advance!  notworthy.gif
Just warm water? I recommend adding some car shampoo to add some lubrication.
With Saps/Tar/Gum at times even with Clay it doesn't cut it.

At times I resort to my trusty WD-40 bruce.gif

All in all, sounds like a fun project. Enjoy!

This post has been edited by linkin182: Jul 11 2016, 07:54 AM
linkin182
post Jul 11 2016, 09:39 AM

283 posts

QUOTE(Waliuuu @ Jul 11 2016, 08:53 AM)
Ok noted. So I should blend some car shampoo in with water for better lub property? Btw, I shouldn't add too much "lub" while claying? Or the more the better?
WD 40 works on tree saps? Cool  drool.gif  Might use WD40 instead then. After using I should use shampoo and clean again right? Else the WD40 residue might damage my paint  hmm.gif
Sorry but I dunno the ratio for this (some lubiration for your clay to slide across).

With WD40, yeah I would give it another quick rinse. At times when I'm lazy, instead of washing the entire car I just wash the worked areas.
You could also do it in section, work on your door panels, wash your door panels. Work on your bonnet, wash your bonnet and etc etc.
linkin182
post Jul 14 2016, 07:46 AM

283 posts

QUOTE(HappyHampers @ Jul 13 2016, 07:01 PM)

Just now I went to wash car centre and I also opt for car polishing + wax around RM130. Original price for polishing is RM200 and waxing only is RM100, but the centre gave discount to RM130 for polish + wax after I ask can give discount or not. So I think it is worth the price since long long time like 4 years never polish my car and can see stains,swirls and light scratches on car paint.

After they wash my car and dried it, they applied wax compound (from what I see is white color paste from Waxco Wax, not sure it got polish + wax effect) to whole car body and waited for 10 minutes for the compound to dry out. Afterwards, they use the polishing machine with wool to polish the wax on the car. After completed, they wipe the car with dry cloth and told me polish and wax completed.

So, does this mean my car is polished already ? Cos i still can see swirls and stain marks on my car paint although it is shiny now. I thought polish will remove the marks and swirls.....
Yeah, they did polish and wax your car but what they did not do was to correct your car.
All in one polish + wax have lesser abrasives so you may not entirely correct the car.

4 years, might be best to start from scratch again smile.gif otherwise send it to the experts.

It took me from White/Black Wax > Swirl X > Ultimate Compound to truely correct certain panels.
Even that, I did not get the swirls off completely (there are still hairline swirls but I can live with that).

I'm just missing the all important DA!

This post has been edited by linkin182: Jul 14 2016, 07:49 AM
linkin182
post Jul 15 2016, 07:30 AM

283 posts

QUOTE(windskill @ Jul 14 2016, 03:40 PM)
Where do you stay? I can borrow my DAS-6 8mm DA to you if we stay nearby  smile.gif
Haha, UGPM.

QUOTE(HappyHampers @ Jul 14 2016, 09:21 PM)
I went to those Indian car wash centre that has snow wash and water wax service, located in Sri Petaling.
Meh, cannot jadi la. Those wont cut it.

This post has been edited by linkin182: Jul 15 2016, 07:33 AM
linkin182
post Jul 20 2016, 07:59 AM

283 posts

QUOTE(Rambo_is_real @ Jul 19 2016, 11:21 PM)
anyone bought things from autogeek.net before?

thinking to order something from them.

car care product can ship to malaysia ah?
Autogeek.net or Autogeek.com.my?
linkin182
post Jul 20 2016, 11:47 AM

283 posts

QUOTE(Rambo_is_real @ Jul 20 2016, 10:34 AM)
Hi, it's autogeek.net from USA.

Autogeek.com.my very limited choices.
Sorry mate sad.gif cant help you there
linkin182
post Jul 21 2016, 07:55 PM

283 posts

QUOTE(Rambo_is_real @ Jul 21 2016, 03:46 PM)
Guys, there's alot of light swirls around the car paint ( can easily observed under some light), last time used to let those ahnehneh wash my car  bangwall.gif

now got more time during weekend so I wash my car every week and wax every 1/2 months.

since my car still quite new (8months), should I use ultimate compound then follow with ultimate polish then wax? or just ultimate polish? or maybe ScratchX 2.0 then wax?
Scratch - X is used for light scratches.

However, Ultimate Compound is a good solution to swirl marks.

You can try Swirl X to Scratch X and to a more aggressive compound like Ultimate Compound.
Swirl X > Scratch X > Ultimate Compound.

If you're doing by hand, you definitely need that elbow workout.
Often people have a misconception on this, elbow grease = harder.
No, its the "Action" or "small circles" that you work the compound.

I've done by hand, and ultimately took the DA 3500 to lightly correct it (burgundy sponge).
Its lotsa scrubbing if its without the tool. (an excellent waxer IMO)

I recommend a DA polisher if you're going serious.

Dont worry if you go wrong with a DA, its designed NOT to burn the paint.

On a polisher machine however, you risk more harm on an untrained hands.

My 2 cents icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by linkin182: Jul 21 2016, 07:57 PM
linkin182
post Jul 27 2016, 07:47 AM

283 posts

QUOTE(Sanity @ Jul 26 2016, 11:57 PM)
I used meguiar's applicator pad and just rubbed on the scratch.
Scratch X wo, you must've applied the compound with great pressure!
Its not the pressure that will fix your scratch la.. cry.gif cry.gif
linkin182
post Jul 27 2016, 02:24 PM

283 posts

QUOTE(Sanity @ Jul 27 2016, 01:47 PM)
Just visited the paint shop. Only thing to do now is re-spray as the clear coat is confirmed gone.

If I leave it there, paint shop advised the colour will just become darker and would not rust. Can be done now or sometime in the future I suppose.
This is Honda SC or just any paint shop outside?
I would say shouldn't leave it unprotected in this kinda Malaysian weather.

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.8801sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 11:39 PM