Car Care & Detailing [V5], Caring for your car apprearance

linkin182
post Sep 19 2016, 07:37 AM

283 posts

QUOTE(JML @ Sep 19 2016, 01:37 AM)
i have few questions hope the sifus will help me..

1) for clay bar what lubricant should i use? Meguiar's ultimate quick detailer is quite pricey. is it ok to use just soap water?
2) compound & polish can be done by hand? or DA tools is best?
3) if DA tools is needed, can i use Meguiar´s G3500INT DA Power System on a normal SKIL hand drill? the normal drill only has 1 speed. its that ok?
4) waxing is ok to apply by hand right?
5) for the application pad, can just use normal pad? MG's pad are so expansive.
or im thinking to get the Meguiar's G3501INT DA Compound Power Pack
6) if i have not done any of the above, and use Meguiar's ultimate wash & wax, i won't be able to get the wax effect after the car wash right?
7) if i have done the above and use ultimate wash & wax, do i still need to apply ultimate quick wax after each wash?
Not really a sifu (just started myself) but tested the items you have described.

1) I used carshampoo + water. Dip the clay bar into it. Take note, there's different types of clay bars. Some are harsher.
2) For compounding, I recommend the DA tool (A DA Polisher would be best).
3) You have to use a corded drill, otherwise you wont get the desired results (Dont worry, I was worried about the speed as well. It wont dent much). DA Polishers go above 3800 RPM.
4) Waxing, you definitely can do it by hand (not much pressure is required! just swipe on, (cure), wipe off)
5) Any Waxing Pads would suffice
- MG DA Power Tool pads are definitely expensive
- If you're planning for Meguiars, get straight from MeguiarsDirect.com.my or lookout for Lazada discount codes smile.gif
- Sometimes getting Meguiars off Amazon is cheaper than both local (even + shipping).
6) If you're going for compound + polish + waxing, buy the Meguiars Gold Class Shampoo (everyone highly recommends this)
- If you've send your car for professional detailing, use the Ultimate Wash & Wax to retain that wet look.
- Otherwise, car shampoo + Ultimate Quick Wax
7) Why not? no harm topping up wax (Infact, I do that for my every wash).
linkin182
post Sep 26 2016, 07:33 AM

283 posts

QUOTE(JML @ Sep 25 2016, 09:41 PM)

thanks bro. managed to get the answers from youtube last night..

this morning i started off by cleaning my car at 10am. finish that in about 45 mins.
claying really took a while. the 3M clay bar that i use could not remove the tiny black tar marks on my white car. i had to use finger nail to really remove them.
i use about 3/5 clar bar. they kept dropping to the floor when i work  on the bottom side!
claying took about 1.5 to 2 hours  cry.gif

compound - i use foam pad, 3 pcs, and run out of foam pad. 3pcs was not enough to compound the whole car? i managed to finish about 2/3 of the car.
no choise, had to clean the foam pad and let them dry while i take a break. my arms were really tired already.
by compound, managed to get rid of the stubborn black stain on the bonnet..
compound also took about 1.5 to 2 hours  cry.gif

it was close to 5 pm already. i had to skip polish if not i won't finish in time.

finish waxing around 6.30pm using MG ultimate paste wax. it comes with black foam pad. i think i apply too much wax. 9pm and it is not fully cured yet. should i wait til tomorrow morning only buff off the wax?

no photo as i was really tired lol. i think i might get the DA tools for corded hand drill for the next car..  ranting.gif
Ouch, did I just read that you compounded the whole car by hand? 10 for effort smile.gif but say bye bye to your arms mega_shok.gif
If you're planning to compound the whole car, we recommend a proper DA Polisher. It covers a wider surface area!
The Meguiars DA Power Tool only covers a very small surface which would also take time for the whole car.

Still, the DA Power Tool is a great tool to get you started. My suggestion? try panel by panel first!
Work on the panel which needed most attention (they're typically bonnet/trunk due to hairline scratches or stone chips).
Then on days you plan on washing, work on the next panel.

If you really want to do everything in one go, use the DA Polisher (Rupes or equivalent 21mm throw DA polishers).

I remember starting waxing for the first time too. Applied too much and still had residue on the car.
A trick the kind sirs from this forum advised is when you squeeze the sponge and notice the wax oozing out, you've applied too much! sweat.gif

Anyhow, the idea is practice practice practice smile.gif You'll be flying through your car in no time.
Nothing beats the satisfaction when its done right smile.gif

Edit:-
Check out Meguiars QuikTips subforum! Great place to look out for tips and tricks! thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by linkin182: Sep 26 2016, 07:35 AM
linkin182
post Sep 28 2016, 08:22 AM

283 posts

QUOTE(JML @ Sep 28 2016, 12:41 AM)

lol.. nobody commented that compound shouldn't be done by hand.. and i thought i just start detailing, not sure if i will continue, so first try it out by hand first.. who would have known... my arms alright tho.. still feeling sore after 2 days, great workout indeed lol

after compound, i felt the white car is more white now. and i buff off the wax monday morning, it pretty much cured and i can feel a layer of wax that's smooth. will wait til this weekend to wash & see. will apply spray wax also.
i'll leave the polishing to another time when the wax wear out i guess..
and noted taken, next time i'll just apply a thin layer of wax  biggrin.gif

by the way, how many times can a car paint sustain compound before the paint wears out? i assume by compound you actually remove a thin layer of the undercoat or the paint?

great, will read up more as you suggest, thanks  rclxms.gif
Thats because the white car looks clean! biggrin.gif It is true, whites do not show much shine compared to darker colours.
I envy my wifes black car over my white one with the same amount of effort put in doh.gif

This might help:-
http://www.surfcitygarageforums.com/index....coat-thickness/
It would take a while before it reaches the paint. It has to go through the clear coat first.
linkin182
post Oct 10 2016, 09:40 AM

283 posts

QUOTE(shaniandras2787 @ Oct 10 2016, 09:09 AM)
i see, i see =(

i'm already very light handed already when applying the wax, just a 1/8 of a turn and i applied very light pressure while applying and still this occurred =/

i guess the form applicator that comes with the wax isn't really good -.- i'm going to use the Meguiars applicator for my other parts and see if this problem happens.

thanks for your insight =D i thought for a minute that i "burned" the paint =(
You can never burn the paint by hand unless you're sun goku.
Its not about light handed, its the amount of wax you took with the sponge applicator.

A light dab of the sponge/wax is sufficient.
linkin182
post Oct 14 2016, 06:47 AM

283 posts

QUOTE(JML @ Oct 14 2016, 01:00 AM)
hi guys

i use the two pail system but haven't get the grit guard, but i try not to stir too hard.

will consider to get grit guard from osren. anyone know how much are theirs?
Meguair's cost around RM70 i feel is too expansive..
talking about pressure washer, i have a unit but too lazy to use it. is it recommended after i've done paste waxing? will the pressure washer somehow remove the wax because of the high pressure? lol
Check out gfwong's blog! there is an inexpensive solution!
linkin182
post Oct 15 2016, 12:50 PM

283 posts

QUOTE(JML @ Oct 15 2016, 12:25 PM)
linkin182
toonny
ok thanks, i actually wanted to ask if anyone how much Osren is selling. will make a call there or visit them after i come back...
You referring to the grid guard? Not sure as I dont use a grid guard. Give them a call.
I'm hosing and 1 pailing wash. Plus i'm using a micro fibre sponge which doesnt sink.

linkin182
post Oct 28 2016, 02:46 PM

283 posts

QUOTE(KeithYen @ Oct 27 2016, 06:23 PM)
GC more expensive. Err are we talking bout the same GC? Paiseh new in this car wash thingy...
GC is more expensive is because its in a bigger bottle.
Wash n Wax is gentler thus lesser cleaning ability.
This is a good choice if you're on a weekly top up wash plus quickwax.

QUOTE(frankzane @ Oct 28 2016, 02:23 PM)
But does GC has the Wax ability?
GC doesnt have any waxing ability. It cleans better for a better prep for compound/polishing.

Detailing, its all about the prep before doing anything else.

This post has been edited by linkin182: Oct 28 2016, 02:47 PM
linkin182
post Oct 31 2016, 06:41 AM

283 posts

QUOTE(KeithYen @ Oct 29 2016, 11:50 AM)
I just wanna wash only, not planning to do anything else. Do you recommend GC then? Thanks.
I'll say go for Wash n Wax if you're just planning on washing only.
linkin182
post Nov 3 2016, 10:14 AM

283 posts

QUOTE(JIUHWEI @ Nov 3 2016, 10:08 AM)
What is the difference between a polish and a compound?
I have both and I bought the meg's ultimate compound mainly to deal with the swirl marks better.

But I really have close to no understanding behind what it does to my clear coat.
A compound has more or higher abbrasives.
Polish has lesser and smaller abbrasives.

Compound for serious defects.
- Scratches
- Oxidation

Polish for light defects.
- Light Swirls
- Watermarks
linkin182
post Nov 3 2016, 12:03 PM

283 posts

QUOTE(JIUHWEI @ Nov 3 2016, 11:31 AM)
Ohhhhhhh

Thank you so much bro!

Matilah I went one round compound my whole car unnecessarily  doh.gif
Nothing wrong with that. So now you know you don't have to compound anymore rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
Just Polish > Wax all the way smile.gif

If you did it by hand (Compound), then you have nothing to worry about.
Normally Compound produces the best results with a machine (DA) polisher.
linkin182
post Nov 8 2016, 06:40 AM

283 posts

QUOTE(incredibless @ Nov 7 2016, 02:10 PM)
About 1 year plus. Almost twice a month I wax myself with Meguiars ultimate wax and apply spray wax after each car wash.

Worst come to worst, I would just repaint the whole car few years later or once the condition get worst since White solid paint is cheap. laugh.gif
Meguiars White Wax. Thats your go to for a white car. What douglas_tong suggested was correct too.
Trust me (white car owner here), I've done the 3 steps and it still comes back yellow.

White wax, peace of mind rclxms.gif Polish + Wax. If you want extra wet look, Ultimate Compound + White Wax.
linkin182
post Nov 8 2016, 01:28 PM

283 posts

QUOTE(blurcase @ Nov 8 2016, 11:45 AM)
When I was running my shop previously, my biz partner has a white Myvi that has also turned yellow from wear and tear. After polishing he applied coating for his car and it managed to maintain the whiteness of the car for a much longer period of time. So, if you prefer to keep your white car white for a longer period of time without constantly repolishing, I would suggest applying coating instead.
Any sealant to recommend?
linkin182
post Nov 9 2016, 08:11 AM

283 posts

QUOTE(incredibless @ Nov 8 2016, 05:00 PM)
thanks for the tip. Do you send your car to professionals or diy yourself? Any recommendation?
A bit of both.

My white car, I started with Sierra Glow.
At times I will work on certain panels such as roof/bonnet/boot which are prone to water marks.
If I'm up to it, I'll detail myself. Otherwise I'll send it for touch up to Sierra Glow (RM200 last I recall).

My black car, DIY all bymyself.

Still in the learning process but I think I'll make the jump to a DA next.

So far I've only experienced with Sierra Glow (good detailer so far).
You may want to get more advice from others if you're planning to send it to the pros.
linkin182
post Nov 23 2016, 07:05 AM

283 posts

QUOTE(ipanTatum @ Nov 23 2016, 12:50 AM)
Hi guys, need opinion on buying either meguiars Gold Class Car Wash Shampoo or Ultimate Wash & Wax.

i usually will wax my car with Kit Wax about once a month.

so if i use the meguiars Ultimate Wash & Wax before waxing the car, will the Kit wax actually removes the meguiars wax?

or if i already wax my car with the Kit wax, will the meguiars Ultimate Wash & Wax later removes the already applied wax??
AFAIK, wax'es doesn't have cleaning abilities thus I dont think you waxing the car after that would remove the meguiars wax.
Unless you are using a cleaner wax, then that might be a different story.
If you're compounding/polishing, then it would also remove your layer of wax.

linkin182
post Dec 22 2016, 07:22 AM

283 posts

QUOTE(WiLeKiyO @ Dec 21 2016, 08:05 PM)
Thanks for the tips. I guess I really put too much wax.(the more the better mentality.)

Buffing off the wax is really a pain in the ass. It takes me almost 2 hours to wax and buff off the wax, and the whole car is covered with wax dust.  mad.gif
Heh? Wax leave wax dusts? Which product did you use? blink.gif blink.gif
linkin182
post Jan 10 2017, 06:59 AM

283 posts

QUOTE(JML @ Jan 9 2017, 06:23 PM)
im using  Meguair's ultimate paste wax on my white car, apply late sept, now also need re-apply already.
but before re-aplply new wax need to compound again, the paint surface got blackish dirt mark. due to i was busy and wash only every 2 weeks.. seems like after wax u can't be lazy and need to do weekly wash... lol
or the UPW is over rated?
read some say use dishwashing detergent can remove old wax - im not sure..
This Meguair's forum say u can use ScratchX or Ultimate compound to remove old wax
Any compound/polish/claying will remove the wax layer.
If you're just washing, very minimal. People usually top up with UQW (Ultimate Quik Wax) after wash.

linkin182
post Jan 10 2017, 07:06 AM

283 posts

QUOTE(mot88 @ Jan 9 2017, 08:07 PM)
Osren did a video on this. The link as below.
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=OxK-NZnIqSc

Btw, how much is the bottle?
Wah, so many steps for a clear glass blink.gif
I just clay and spray quik wax jer. blush.gif
linkin182
post Jan 18 2017, 08:55 AM

283 posts

QUOTE(alexander.ch_1992 @ Jan 18 2017, 07:55 AM)
Hi there everyone, I'll be picking up my car this week.  It's a second hand City (used 1 year +).  Can anyone recommend some good car wash/wax/polish workshop? Planning to send it in for a one time fix.

Read a lot of bad reviews on Cars International.

Thanks a lot! =)
Sierra Glow! biggrin.gif
linkin182
post Jan 20 2017, 09:00 AM

283 posts

QUOTE(slk @ Jan 20 2017, 07:36 AM)
tq2. erm 6-ish hours a day? it was raining during the evening so i had to stop working
Awesome yo, just awesome rclxms.gif rclxms.gif . Makes me wanna swap colors now
linkin182
post Jan 24 2017, 01:25 PM

283 posts

QUOTE(Sawamura @ Jan 23 2017, 04:10 PM)
All i can say..

[attachmentid=8431654]
Ya well I guess you're right. I believe it was high time for me to post what I've learned in this thread.

Took the Megs DA Power tool through its paces.
- Washed
- Clayed with car shampoo
- Ultimate Compound!
- Meguiars White Wax

Alot of work but not bad for the DA Power Tool!

This post has been edited by linkin182: Jan 24 2017, 01:26 PM

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0289sec    0.72    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 03:02 PM