7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Bottom

Car Care & Detailing [V5], Caring for your car apprearance

linkin182
post Nov 22 2017, 09:10 AM

283 posts

QUOTE(squallx840 @ Nov 21 2017, 11:05 PM)
Can anyone suggest a good torch light for inspecting swirl / scratches?

I am currently using SGCB mini torchlight and its not really doing a good job highlighting swirl / scratches on my car's metallic grey paint.
Maglite Torches. They are BRIGHT! and warm smile.gif

Else under direct sunlight. That will help (unless you're in a condo).

This post has been edited by linkin182: Nov 22 2017, 09:10 AM
linkin182
post Nov 23 2017, 12:45 PM

283 posts

QUOTE(shaniandras2787 @ Nov 23 2017, 12:05 PM)
i'm going to purchase those proper leather cleaner later today and then try and see what can it do. don't dare to use domestic methods to try and clean it otherwise later scared lebih jialat then i cry also no tears T___T
:haha: i can confirmed 100% + another 10% as bonus that is is not sweat cause my hands are dry as hell and i always make sure that my hands are clear of moisture before I lay my hands on the steering (yes, I'm a bit OCD).

There is no marks on the sewings ^^ that is just reflection of the camera flash :T___T:
Pei Si stain izzit sweat.gif sweat.gif
linkin182
post Nov 23 2017, 05:19 PM

283 posts

QUOTE(shaniandras2787 @ Nov 23 2017, 02:26 PM)
WHAT THE EFF  vmad.gif

very disgusting right XD
Haha, kidding bro.

linkin182
post Nov 27 2017, 10:04 AM

283 posts

QUOTE(cms @ Nov 25 2017, 11:18 AM)
Hi guys, i purchase the Clover DA over singles day. It came with the 5' backing plate screw tightly in. And its almost impossible to unscrew the Allan key as the backing plate will rotate as well.
Any help if a shop can help me unscrew it? Klang Valley.
Got mine too! Haven't tried unscrewing the backing plate. You got the Hex Foams or the Megs replica Foams?

linkin182
post Nov 27 2017, 03:09 PM

283 posts

QUOTE(cms @ Nov 27 2017, 01:32 PM)
The standard pads that came along the box set. Should be the megs replica no hex markings on it. Tried the maroon coloured using megs AIO mirror bright wax. Ok not bad. Minor scratches can be removed. Worth it for 12x USD inclusive shipping.

Just I still can't figure out how to unscrew. Let me know if u managed to unscrew.
Yeah definitely! I haven't had the chance to give this a run yet.
linkin182
post Dec 4 2017, 09:09 AM

283 posts

Anybody have tutorial on how to correctly apply Coating/Sealant?
I understand the quantity to apply is much much lesser than the quantity of wax?
1/3 of Wax amount (or probably lesser)?
linkin182
post Dec 4 2017, 11:28 AM

283 posts

QUOTE(blurcase @ Dec 4 2017, 11:13 AM)
Erm, coating and sealant are 2 vastly different protection types. Sealant still comes in tubs or bottles like wax, but coating comes in tiny 30/50/100ml bottles only.

Application is also very different. Sealant can apply mostly like wax, just probably thinner layer. Coating application applies and buffs off very differently.

Maybe u wanna refine your question to which product u are interested to try?
Haha, oops the noob question. Basically I've been applying only Waxes but lately I thought to myself if there is a method to stretch this out a little?

I found that at max, my waxes last me 2 weeks for Ultimate Quik Wax (though thats my regular washing routine).
Even at most with Black Wax, I can only stretch it to 1 month at max before it loses its shine/beading/sheeting.

So I'm exploring other ways to stretch this out.

*Edit:-
Oh yeah, I'm looking for a better protection for water marks and bird poop droppings.

This post has been edited by linkin182: Dec 4 2017, 11:32 AM
linkin182
post Dec 4 2017, 03:25 PM

283 posts

QUOTE(blurcase @ Dec 4 2017, 02:36 PM)
Unfortunately, in terms of water marks prevention, u wont find it with coating. Coating is a watermark magnet.
Good to know, thanks! So my option probably would be Sealant/Wax option then. No problems.

linkin182
post Dec 4 2017, 07:13 PM

283 posts

QUOTE(douglas_tong @ Dec 4 2017, 05:57 PM)
My experience, limited to a few products

Paste wax last longer than liquid wax
Liquid wax last longer than spray wax

Assuming it is of the same product.

What wax are you using now?
Ya, I think your theory is correct.
Meg Ultimate Quick Wax and Black Wax.
I seldom use liquid wax as I found Black Wax lasts longer.
linkin182
post Dec 5 2017, 09:17 AM

283 posts

QUOTE(douglas_tong @ Dec 4 2017, 07:27 PM)
Not 100% correct la, cause my carpro reload last longer than meguiars carnuaba liquid wax.
But osren synergized vs radiant coat 12 (liquid), synergized still last longer. Slightly
Yeah, I feel that way too. Sorry all Megs product.
I find the last duration goes as follows:-
Ultimate Quik Wax -> Ultimate Liquid Wax -> Black Wax (AIO)

The left being the least lasting to the right being the longest lasting.
Surprisingly, the Black Wax out lasts all of them despite being an AIO!
It is even better than my White Wax which after 2 weeks turns greyish due to water stains.

QUOTE(maxizanc @ Dec 4 2017, 10:28 PM)
Hi guys i have a very noob question.
My car is around 2.5 years and have been exposed to outdoor 70% of its lifetime.
So many scratches,  watermark etc
How many layers of polish usually people did for  this old?
And what is the difference between polishing and ceramic coating. 
Do i have to polish first before coating? Or can straight do coating?
Layers may not be the correct term.
Polish is a paste where detailers use to "correct" a panel.
Depending on the Panel, 1 particular spot may require several "steps" to correct due to a scratch.

Polish are often applied, buffed off, reapply and rebuffed off to correct 1 scratch.
If a scratch is DEEP enough, a detailer might do a wet sanding before applying compound and then apply polish.
Lastly of course being Wax/Sealant/Coating.

To properly detail a car (I'm including needed and not needed steps):-
Wash -> Clay -> (Wet Sand if needed) -> (wash again if required) -> Compound -> Polish -> Wax/Sealant/Coating

This post has been edited by linkin182: Dec 5 2017, 09:18 AM
linkin182
post Dec 20 2017, 09:11 AM

283 posts

QUOTE(blurcase @ Dec 19 2017, 10:21 PM)
Just to explain abit more, polishing/compounding is used to shave a super fine layer off your paint. Waxing/Sealant/Coating are merely to add a layer of protection on top of your paint. Swirls are super-fine scratches on your paint that needs to be shaven off.
Interesting explanation, can I say "Coating" would last longer in the long run as it seems to act like a clearcoat covering the swirls?
I suppose we can also add wax on-top of the Coating to give it that extra shine?
linkin182
post Dec 20 2017, 04:08 PM

283 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Dec 20 2017, 04:02 PM)
Anyone tried those touch up paints in supermarket?

I used hobby paint to touch up as it matches the color. However since Hobby paint Clear Coat aren't durable exposed to environment i tried the Clear Coat Autospa selling around rm10.

I find it very difficult to use as after shaking the mixture is still very thick, like glue, and either too thick applied or you try to level it it becomes smudgy like glue drying up (just within few seconds).

End up just looks like i dripped some superglue on the touched up area.
EZY Touchup sells Clear Coat separately.
linkin182
post Dec 26 2017, 02:00 PM

283 posts

QUOTE(muman7 @ Dec 26 2017, 01:43 PM)
Damm just noticed my car been scratched by something/someone..... mad.gif
There's a white mark on both right doors... Try to wipe with soapy water but still leave a lot of the marks there.
Want to know does this meant my car been scratched by a white color car? And what is the best way to remove these marks?
I don't have any polishing tools so if going to do it outside usually how much they'll charge me? Any good and reasonable price service to recommend in Penang island?

[attachmentid=9456346]
[attachmentid=9456347]
Looks very minor plus I don't think its deep enough to leave any remnants.

Try to use the polish first with a MicroFibre towel and try to rub it first.
Don't necessarily have to apply great force, the polish would do the job.

linkin182
post Jan 8 2018, 01:21 PM

283 posts

QUOTE(douglas_tong @ Jan 6 2018, 02:51 PM)
Sabar. News is the 3" da polisher will be brought in by osren after cny
Habis, there goes the ang pao money.
linkin182
post Jan 9 2018, 02:13 PM

283 posts

QUOTE(mcchin @ Jan 9 2018, 01:56 PM)
let me rephrase my earlier query

any chains of shop that carry a lot or detail products from meguirs and/or turtle wax

like brothers, etc???

looking to shop for starting kit, shampoo, clay, wax, sealant etc
ACE Hardware bro. Ace hardware carries a range of Meguiars and tutlepro products.
If there isn't any ACE Hardware stores, best bet is Lazada. Shipping is quite quick nowadays with Online Shopping.
Sabar 3-4 days sahaja.
linkin182
post Jan 9 2018, 04:18 PM

283 posts

QUOTE(vincent_on9 @ Jan 9 2018, 03:18 PM)
last time during 12 Dec /11 Nov promotion really a bargain from Lazada, dont know when next
CNY perhaps smile.gif Keep a lookout for Meguiars Direct biggrin.gif
Charmaine is pretty aggressive when it comes to promos
linkin182
post Jan 23 2018, 05:20 PM

283 posts

QUOTE(blurcase @ Jan 22 2018, 05:28 PM)
If talking about regular maintenance, there are many factors, but the most common regime I can think of is:

1) Wash your car 1 time every 1-2 weeks
2) Wax your car every 1-3 months
3) Polish your car every 1-1.5 years
4) Compound only when there are many deep surface defects that polish cannot remove
5) Claying is recommended before u wax, and definitely required before u compound/polish.
Haha, depends on individual:-
1) Wash Car 1 time every 2 weeks
- Top up wax after every wash (spray wax)
2) Top down wash,clay,polish (depends),wax 2 times a year

Occasional light scratches:-
- Wash affected panel
- Wipe clean IPA
- Compound
- Polish
- Wax
linkin182
post Jan 25 2018, 02:31 PM

283 posts

QUOTE(blurcase @ Jan 23 2018, 06:43 PM)
Agreed, definitely depends on the individual. For me I like doing complete car detailing instead of spot corrections, so I tend to accumulate defects until one point that i spend rock solid 3-4 days detailing everything back to perfection. Hehe...
Dont have that luxury sad.gif at max 2 hours of detailing. So spot correction is my only way.

QUOTE(blurcase @ Jan 24 2018, 05:20 PM)
Erm, drill minimum RPM can be quite high, too high for detailing use, personally I wont recommend.

https://www.facebook.com/sgcbautocaremalaysia/

Can consider contacting these guys and see what they offer also.
QUOTE(zapdos9 @ Jan 24 2018, 03:39 PM)
Hi guys, I'm thinking of getting a polisher for compounding and polishing job but don't know any cheap and good polisher for starters like me. I feel that getting like makita or osren DA around RM1k is quite a lot to me. I'm looking for something maybe around 300-500 only. Any recommendation?
Was thinking of getting the meguiar DA power system converter to use on my drill but wondering if my drill rpm is good enough or not.
I have the Megs DA for small spot correction. You need to have a corded drill in order to have max effect.
The Max RPM for a corded drill is 3800. Even with this number it can only do light correction, so its definitely not enough.
If you are using a wireless drill with the Megs DA, at best is just waxing. Even that would take you 2 batteries for 1 car.

Megs DA is good for bumpers and small spots. Versatile for a wireless drill to wax.
If you need to polish the whole car, a DA polisher is your go to work horse.
linkin182
post Jan 29 2018, 09:22 AM

283 posts

QUOTE(zapdos9 @ Jan 27 2018, 01:13 PM)
Thank for the info. Seems that no choice but go full size if wanna correct the whole car then.
No worries man. Thats the aim of this thread. Sharing your opinion/practices and tips!

its the THROW that CORRECTs (8mm/15mm/21mm), not the RPM/OPM.

The Megs DA has a very small throw (no specifics given) but I'd reckon like 2.5mm/3mm throw thus you could only do light corrections.
One of the CONs with the Megs DA is when you're doing top panels like Bonnet/Boot/Roof. The Angle of attack is way off with a corded drill.
It is great for side panels tho' biggrin.gif
linkin182
post Feb 14 2018, 09:02 AM

283 posts

QUOTE(Vinceyang @ Feb 14 2018, 12:29 AM)
[attachmentid=9594255][attachmentid=9594264]
Hi Sifus,
I have no idea what this stain is.
Cannot remove by polish, wax, i even try vinegar also cant remove.
It is on the surface of clear coat. Can feel roughness.

Any idea how to get rid of it?
Are those sticker/glue stains?
Try WD40 for TAR/GLUE stains.

7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.0305sec    1.03    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 01:04 PM